DETAILED ACTION
Specification
Applicant is reminded of the proper language and format for an abstract of the disclosure.
The abstract should be in narrative form and generally limited to a single paragraph on a separate sheet within the range of 50 to 150 words in length. The abstract should describe the disclosure sufficiently to assist readers in deciding whether there is a need for consulting the full patent text for details.
The language should be clear and concise and should not repeat information given in the title. It should avoid using phrases which can be implied, such as, “The disclosure concerns,” “The disclosure defined by this invention,” “The disclosure describes,” etc. In addition, the form and legal phraseology often used in patent claims, such as “means” and “said,” should be avoided.
The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because it contains legal phraseology. A corrected abstract of the disclosure is required and must be presented on a separate sheet, apart from any other text. See MPEP § 608.01(b).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 25-41 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 25 recites, “[a] containment connector for containing a joint…a space between an interior of the connector and at least a portion of an external surface of the joint…” It is not clear to the Examiner exactly what Applicant is attempting to claim. The original disclosure recites, “[s]uch means is a containment connector 10, shown in the perspective view of Fig. 1A and in the corresponding cross-section drawing of Fig. 1B…The connector 10 comprises a female part 30 and a male part 35 which mate with each other…” Clearly the containment connector is only a female part, male part and an O-ring structurally, so reference to anything else cannot be considered part of the containment connector structurally. For this Office Action only, the Examiner will only consider the connector to be a female part, male part and an O-ring only, and reference to any other elements, such a joint of pipes, will be considered an extensive of the non-limiting preamble. Applicant should amend claims accordingly.
Claim 39 recites, “[a] containment connector for containing a joint…a space between an interior of the connector and at least a portion of an external surface of the joint…” It is not clear to the Examiner exactly what Applicant is attempting to claim. The original disclosure recites, “[s]uch means is a containment connector 10, shown in the perspective view of Fig. 1A and in the corresponding cross-section drawing of Fig. 1B…The connector 10 comprises a female part 30 and a male part 35 which mate with each other…” Clearly the containment connector is only a female part, male part and an O-ring structurally, so reference to anything else cannot be considered part of the containment connector structurally. For this Office Action only, the Examiner will only consider the connector to be a female part, male part and an O-ring only, and reference to any other elements, such a joint of pipes, will be considered an extensive of the non-limiting preamble. Applicant should amend claims accordingly.
Claim 38 recites, “[t]he connector of claim 13”; however, claim 13 has been cancelled.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 25, 29, 32 and 36-41 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 20030141718, Biderbeek.
In regards to claim 25, in Figure 1 and paragraphs detailing said figure, Biderbeek discloses a containment connector for containing a joint joining at least one first fluid pipe and at least one second fluid pipe, the connector comprising: a. at least one female part (42), each having a coupling end for hermetically coupling the respective female part to one of the at least one first pipe, and a female mating end having an internal thread (near 58) for mating with one of at least one male part; b. each of said at least one male part (40) having a coupling end for hermetically coupling the respective male part to one of the at least one second pipe, and a male mating end having an external thread (near 56) for mating with one of said at least one female part; c. at least one of (i) a circular groove (near 74) in each female mating end for receiving an O-ring (74) for sealing the connector by forcing the O-ring against a flat smooth surface on an opposite male mating end, and (ii) a circular groove in each male mating end for receiving an O-ring for sealing the connector by forcing the O-ring against a flat smooth surface on an opposite female mating end; d. a space (70) between an interior of the connector and at least a portion of an external surface of the joint, the space being isolated from interior flow passage of the pipes and configured for receiving a fluid leaking out of the joint; and e. at least one port (72) allowing a connection of the space with an exterior of the connector.
In regards to claim 29, in Figure 1 and paragraphs detailing said figure, Biderbeek discloses a port is installed in at least one of (i) a male part and (ii) a female part to allow connecting the space with the exterior of the connector.
In regards to claim 32, in Figure 1 and paragraphs detailing said figure, Biderbeek discloses each of the at least one female part and each of the at least one male part has the mating end wider than the coupling end, the widening defining part of the space for receiving leaked fluid.
In regards to claim 36, as best understood, in Figure 1 and paragraphs detailing said figure, Biderbeek discloses the pipes and the joint are configured to withstand a predetermined maximal fluid pressure, and the connector is configured to withstand a pressure larger than said maximal fluid pressure by at least 30%.
In regards to claim 37, in Figure 1 and paragraphs detailing said figure, Biderbeek discloses each of the at least one male part and at least one female part of the connector include metallic or polymer materials.
In regards to claim 38, in Figure 1 and paragraphs detailing said figure, Biderbeek discloses each of the at least one male part and at least one female part of the connector consists of a polymer material, the polymer being elastic and configured to provide a lasting, flexible and tight seal when the mating ends are fastened together.
In regards to claim 39, in Figure 1 and paragraphs detailing said figure, Biderbeek discloses a containment connector for containing a joint joining at least one first fluid pipe and at least one second fluid pipe, the connector comprising: a. at least one female part, each having a coupling end for hermetically coupling the respective female part to one of the at least one first pipe, and a female mating end for mating with one of at least one male part; b. each of said at least one male part having a coupling end for hermetically coupling the respective male part to one of the at least one second pipe, and a male mating end for mating with one of said at least one female part; c. means for urging each female mating end against an opposite male mating end, in a direction essentially parallel to a length of a pipe coupled to the male part of the male mating end or the female part of the female mating end, and for sealing a gap between female mating end against an opposite male mating end; d. a space between an interior of the connector and at least a portion of an external surface of the joint, the space being isolated from an interior flow passage of the pipes and configured for receiving a fluid leaking out of the joint; and e. at least one port allowing a connection of the space with an exterior of the connector.
In regards to claim 40, in Figure 1 and paragraphs detailing said figure, Biderbeek discloses means for urging each female mating end against an opposite male mating end are selected from a group consisting of. threads, clamps, clasps, and a combination thereof.
In regards to claim 41, in Figure 1 and paragraphs detailing said figure, Biderbeek discloses means for sealing a gap between female mating end against an opposite male mating end are selected from a group consisting of: O-rings, gaskets and a combination thereof, the sealing means being axially compressed between the mating ends so as to provide a hermetic seal and to direct any leakage from the joint to the space.
Conclusion
/AARON M DUNWOODY/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3679