DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claims 2 and 5 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Regarding Claim 2
Line 1 recites the language “converting pressure energy of the first fluid”. For consistency and clarity in the claims, the claim language should be amended such that it reads –converting the pressure energy of the first fluid—
Regarding Claim 5
Line 1 recites the language “converting heat energy of the first fluid”. For consistency and clarity in the claims, the claim language should be amended such that it reads –converting the heat energy of the first fluid—
Line 3 recites the language “transferring heat energy from the first fluid”. For consistency and clarity in the claims, the claim language should be amended such that it reads –transferring the heat energy from the first fluid—
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 5-9, and 11-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being clearly anticipated by Jiang, CN 102384046 A (translation paragraphs are referenced).
Regarding Claim 1
Jiang discloses a method of operating a geothermal power system (10, 20) (Jiang, Figure 1), comprising:
producing a first fluid [
C
O
2
] from a subterranean formation (Jiang, [0022], Figure 1);
converting pressure energy of the first fluid [
C
O
2
] into electricity using a first generator (Jiang, [0022], Figure 1); and
converting heat energy of the first fluid [
C
O
2
] into electricity using a second generator (21) (Jiang, [0023], Figure 1).
Regarding Claim 2
Jiang discloses the method of claim 1. Jiang further discloses converting pressure energy of the first fluid [
C
O
2
] into electricity using the first generator comprises flowing the first fluid through a turbine (12) coupled to the first generator (Jiang, [0022], Figure 1).
Regarding Claim 3
Jiang discloses the method of claim 2. Jiang further teaches that flowing the first fluid [
C
O
2
] through the turbine (12) includes applying a back-pressure to the first fluid [
C
O
2
] [inherent to one of ordinary skill in the art that the pressure drop across the turbine results in a back-pressure on the fluid upstream of the turbine] (Jiang, Figure 1).
Regarding Claim 5
Jiang discloses method of claim 1. Jiang further discloses converting the heat energy of the first fluid [
C
O
2
] into electricity using the second generator (Jiang, [0023], Figure 1) comprises:
transferring heat energy from the first fluid [
C
O
2
] to a second fluid [Rankine cycle working fluid] at a heat exchanger (13, 14) (Jiang, [0023], Figure 1);
conveying the second fluid [Rankine cycle working fluid] from the heat exchanger (13, 14) to an expander (21) coupled to the second generator (Jiang, [0023], Figure 1); and
flowing the second fluid [Rankine cycle working fluid] through the expander (21) (Jiang, [0023], Figure 1).
Regarding Claim 6
Jiang discloses the method of claim 5. Jiang further discloses conveying the first fluid [
C
O
2
] to the heat exchanger (13, 14) from a turbine (12) (Jiang, [0022], Figure 1) coupled to the first generator (Jiang, [0022], Figure 1).
Regarding Claim 7
Jiang discloses the method of claim 5. Jiang further discloses a binary cycle power plant [20, Rankine cycle] includes the expander (21) (Jiang, [0023], Figures 1 and 3).
Regarding Claim 8
Jiang discloses a method of operating a geothermal power system (10, 20), comprising:
producing a first fluid [
C
O
2
] from a subterranean formation (Jiang, Figure 1);
flowing the first fluid [
C
O
2
] through a turbine (12) coupled to a first generator [to output electrical energy] (Jiang, [0022], Figure 1);
generating electricity using the first generator (Jiang, [0022], Figure 1);
transferring heat energy from the first fluid [
C
O
2
] to a second fluid [Rankine cycle working fluid] at a heat exchanger (13, 14) (Jiang, [0022]-[0023], Figure 1);
conveying the second fluid [Rankine cycle working fluid] from the heat exchanger (13, 14) and through an expander (21) coupled to a second generator [to output electrical energy] (Jiang, [0023], Figure 1); and
generating electricity using the second generator (Jiang, [0023], Figure 1).
Regarding Claim 9
Jiang discloses the method of claim 8. Jiang further teaches that flowing the first fluid [
C
O
2
] through the turbine (12) includes applying a back-pressure to the first fluid [
C
O
2
] [inherent to one of ordinary skill in the art that the pressure drop across the turbine results in a back-pressure on the fluid upstream of the turbine] (Jiang, Figure 1).
Regarding Claim 11
Jiang discloses the method of claim 8. Jiang further discloses conveying the first fluid [
C
O
2
] from the turbine (12) to the heat exchanger (13, 14) (Jiang, [0022], Figure 1).
Regarding Claim 12
Jiang discloses the method of claim 8. Jiang further discloses the second fluid [Rankine cycle working fluid] circulates in a binary cycle power plant [20, Rankine cycle] (Jiang, [0023], Figure 1).
Regarding Claim 13
Jiang discloses the method of claim 8. Jiang further discloses injecting the first fluid [
C
O
2
] back into the subterranean formation (at injection well (17)) (Jiang, [0022], Figures 1-2).
Regarding Claim 14
Jiang discloses the method of claim 13. Jiang further discloses that:
producing the first fluid [
C
O
2
] from the subterranean formation comprises producing the first fluid [
C
O
2
] from a production zone (11) of a well (11, 17) (Jiang, [0022]-[0023], Figure 1); and
injecting the first fluid [
C
O
2
] back into the subterranean formation comprises injecting the first fluid [
C
O
2
] into an injection zone (17) of the well (11, 17) (Jiang, [0022]-[0023], Figure 1).
Regarding Claim 15
Jiang discloses a geothermal power system (10, 20) (Jiang, Figure 1), comprising:
a binary cycle power plant (20) [Rankine cycle] configured to operate with a working fluid [Rankine cycle working fluid] (Jiang, [0023], Figure 1), the binary cycle power plant (20) including:
a heat exchanger (13, 14) (Jiang, [0023], Figure 1);
an expander (21) fluidically coupled to the heat exchanger (13, 14) (Jiang, [0023], Figure 1); and
a first generator coupled to the expander (21) [to output electrical energy] (Jiang, [0023], Figure 1);
a turbine (12) configured to operate with a geothermal fluid [
C
O
2
], the turbine (12) fluidically coupled to the heat exchanger (13, 14) (Jiang, [0022], Figures 1-3); and
a second generator coupled to the turbine (12) [to output electrical energy] (Jiang, [0022], Figure 1).
Regarding Claim 16
Jiang discloses the geothermal power system of claim 15. Jiang further discloses that the heat exchanger (13, 14) is downstream of the turbine (12) (Jiang, Figure 1).
Regarding Claim 17
Jiang discloses the geothermal power system of claim 15. Jiang further discloses that the heat exchanger(13, 14) is upstream of the expander (21) (Jiang, Figure 1).
Regarding Claim 18
Jiang discloses the geothermal power system of claim 15. Jiang further discloses that the working fluid in the binary cycle power plant (20) is segregated from the geothermal fluid (Jiang, Figure 1).
Regarding Claim 19
Jiang discloses the geothermal power system of claim 15. Jiang further discloses a pump (16) configured to inject the geothermal fluid into a well (17), wherein the pump (16) is downstream of the heat exchanger (13, 14) (Jiang, [0022], Figures 1 and 2).
Regarding Claim 20
Jiang discloses the geothermal power system of claim 19. Jiang further discloses that the turbine (12) is downstream of the well (17), and receives the geothermal fluid from the well (17) [via production well (11)] (Jiang, [0022]-[0023], Figures 1 and 2).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4 and 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jiang, CN 102384046 A (translation paragraphs are referenced), in view of Kaminsky, US 2012/0198844.
Regarding Claim 4
Jiang discloses the method of claim 3. However, Jiang does not explicitly disclose that the back-pressure applied to the first fluid maintains a fracture located in the subterranean formation in an open condition.
Kaminsky teaches a method for producing geothermal energy by extracting geothermal energy from regions in a reservoir (Kaminsky, Abstract). Kaminsky further teaches that a fracture located in the subterranean formation is open when exposed to a great enough pressure (Kaminsky, [0036]).
At the time the claimed invention was filed it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art that the back-pressure applied to the first fluid maintains a fracture located in the subterranean formation in an open condition as Kaminsky teaches that it is well known in the art for fractures within the subterranean formation to open when exposed to an increased pressure to allow fluid flow (Kaminsky, [0036]).
Regarding Claim 10
Jiang discloses the method of claim 9. However, Jiang does not explicitly disclose that the back-pressure applied to the first fluid maintains a fracture located in the subterranean formation in an open condition.
Kaminsky teaches a method for producing geothermal energy by extracting geothermal energy from regions in a reservoir (Kaminsky, Abstract). Kaminsky further teaches that a fracture located in the subterranean formation is open when exposed to a great enough pressure (Kaminsky, [0036]).
At the time the claimed invention was filed it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art that the back-pressure applied to the first fluid maintains a fracture located in the subterranean formation in an open condition as Kaminsky teaches that it is well known in the art for fractures within the subterranean formation to open when exposed to an increased pressure to allow fluid flow (Kaminsky, [0036]).
Conclusion
7. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
- Cook et al. (US 2025/0237412) – Subterranean energy storage field
- Fleckenstein (US 2023/0076219) – Harvesting geothermal energy storage from a subterranean formation
- Brown (US 6,668,554) - Geothermal energy production
/K.L.S/Examiner, Art Unit 3741 /DEVON C KRAMER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3741