DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 4, 8, 10, 13, and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claims 4, 8, 10, 13, and 17, the phrase "optionally" renders the claims indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitations following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 6-8, 10, 12, 13, 15-17, and 19-25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bosch DE 102020211774 in view of Toyo Kogyo JP S5827850.
Regarding claims 1, 21, and 22, Bosch discloses an engine start system for a hydrogen fueled internal combustion engine (see FIG. 1 and paragraph [0014]), the system comprising: a controller 20; at least one fuel ignition device 7 in communication with the controller; and a hydrogen fuel delivery system in communication with the controller; characterized in that the system is configured such that upon receipt of an engine start command, the controller is configured to instruct sparking of the fuel ignition device without instructing the supply of fuel to commence and is configured to monitor an output of the fuel ignition device for a signal indicative of the generation of a spark. See FIG. 1 and 2 and paragraphs [0007], [0014], and [0022]-[0026].
Toyo Kogyo discloses discloses an engine start system for a hydrogen fuelled
internal combustion engine (see abstract, improve the starting characteristic of
an engine), the system comprising:
a controller (see abstract and Fig. 1, control circuit 16); at least one fuel ignition device in communication with the controller (see abstract and Fig. 1, ignition plug 13); and
a hydrogen fuel delivery system in communication with the controller (see Fig. 1
and [0001], fuel injection device 7); wherein the system is configured such that upon receipt of an engine start command, the controller is configured to instruct sparking of the fuel ignition
device without instructing the supply of fuel to commence (see [0001], no fuel is supplied to the engine 1, but the throttle valve 3 having a slight opening) and is configured to monitor an output of the fuel ignition device for a signal indicative of the generation of a spark (see [0001], On the other hand, the reference value setting circuit 20 sets the ignition plug 13 at And outputs a reference signal representing a threshold value indicating whether or not to fire, for example, a
reference signal corresponding to a reference insulation resistance of 50 MΩ to
the comparator 19).
Toyo Kogyo thus solves the same problem with a spark plug not being operative because
of wet spark plugs. The only distinguishing feature is the use of a generic fuel. To solve the problem of optimizing the scavenging time, where fuel is not injected during starting, the skilled person would readily apply the approach of Toyo Kogyo, measuring if a spark has been generated, to Bosch. See Abstract, FIG. 1 and paragraph [0001].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include the teachings of Toyo Kogyo in the system of Bosch to prevent misfiring the engine and having smoother engine operation at starting.
Regarding claim 2, Toyo Kogyo discloses wherein upon detection of a spark the controller is configured to instructing supply of fuel for combustion in the engine. See [0001], resistance measuring device 14 is increased, and the comparator 19 outputs a signal of level to stop the fuel supply stop circuit 18 to the operating state and injects predetermined fuel from the fuel injection device 7; injection is thus resumed when the spark resistance shows again, that the ignition device is not fouled any more.
Regarding claim 3, Toyo Kogyo discloses wherein the controller is further configured to determine whether the fuel delivery system of the internal combustion engine is cleared of excess hydrogen prior to instructing the sparking of the at least one fuel ignition device. See [0001], resistance measuring device 14 is increased, and the comparator 19 outputs a signal of level to stop the fuel supply stop circuit 18 to the operating state and injects predetermined fuel from the fuel injection device 7; injection is thus resumed when the spark resistance shows again, that the ignition device is not fouled any more.
Regarding claim 4, Bosch discloses wherein the controller is further configured to instruct a drying operation of the at least one fuel ignition device upon determining that sparking of the fuel ignition device is not successful, optionally wherein in the fuel ignition device dryinq operation, the controller signals the sparkinq of the or each fuel ignition device which is determined to be wet. See Paragraph [0007]. Bosch discloses a scavenging operation, where the engine is cranked and no fuel in supplied. It is obvious, that in case of sparking or combustion being detected, normal operation is assumed and fueling starts or continues.
Regarding claim 6, Bosch discloses wherein the fuel ignition device drying operation comprises a cranking of the engine without the supply of fuel. See Paragraph [0007]. Bosch discloses a scavenging operation, where the engine is cranked and no fuel in supplied. It is obvious, that in case of sparking or combustion being detected, normal operation is assumed and fueling starts or continues.
Regarding claim 7, Bosch discloses wherein during the drying operation the controller is configured to monitor the output of the fuel ignition device for a signal indicative of the generation of a spark. See Paragraph [0007]. Bosch discloses a scavenging operation, where the engine is cranked and no fuel in supplied. It is obvious, that in case of sparking or combustion being detected, normal operation is assumed and fueling starts or continues.
Regarding claim 8, Bosch discloses wherein in the event of a signal indicative of the generation of a spark being detected, the controller is configured to instruct the ceasing of the drying operation and to instruct the supply of fuel to an engine cylinder corresponding to the fuel ignition device, optionally, wherein the controller is configured subsequent to instructing the supply of fuel to monitor for combustion of the fuel in the cylinder. See Paragraph [0007]. Bosch discloses a scavenging operation, where the engine is cranked and no fuel in supplied. It is obvious, that in case of sparking or combustion being detected, normal operation is assumed and fueling starts or continues.
Regarding claim 10, Bosch discloses wherein the controller is configured to instruct ceasing to supply fuel to the cylinder and to instruct the generation of a spark for that cylinder in the event that no combustion is detected, optionally, wherein the controller is configured to instruct the supply of fuel to the cylinder in the event that a spark for that cylinder is detected. See Paragraph [0007]. Bosch discloses a scavenging operation, where the engine is cranked and no fuel in supplied. It is obvious, that in case of sparking or combustion being detected, normal operation is assumed and fueling starts or continues.
Regarding claim 12, Bosch discloses wherein the controller is configured to determine if the engine is cleared of excess hydrogen by confirming completion of a previous engine shutdown procedure configured to clear the fuel delivery system of excess hydrogen prior to a complete stop of the engine. See FIG. 2 and paragraph [0026]. Bosch shows a dependence of a hydrogen purge operation duration depending on the operation pause of an engine. Such a different pause could for example be interpreted as an distinguishing parameter for a normal shutdown.
Regarding claim 13, Bosch discloses wherein the controller is configured to instruct a hydrogen purge operation in the event that the internal combustion engine is determined not to be clear of excess hydrogen, optionally, wherein when instructing the hydrogen purge operation, the controller is configured to instruct the crankinq of the engine without instructing the sparkinq of the fuel ignition device so as to purge the engine of hydrogen. See FIG. 2 and paragraph [0026]. Bosch shows a dependence of a hydrogen purge operation duration depending on the operation pause of an engine. Such a different pause could for example be interpreted as an distinguishing parameter for a normal shutdown.
Regarding claim 15, Bosch discloses wherein the controller is further configured to instruct the hydrogen fuel delivery system not to supply fuel during the purge operation. See paragraphs [0022]-[0026].
Regarding claim 16, Bosch discloses wherein the controller is configured to instruct the purge operation for a predetermined time or for a predetermined number of engine revolutions. See paragraphs [0022]-[0026].
Regarding claim 17, it is well known in the art, typical, and conventionally used in engines wherein the at least one fuel ignition device comprises an ignition coil and a spark plug and/or wherein the hydrogen fuel delivery system comprises at least one fuel injector optionally in fluid flow communication with a common fuel rail.
Regarding claim 19, it is well known in the art, typical, and conventionally used in engines wherein the engine comprises a plurality of cylinders.
Regarding claim 20, Toyo Kogyo discloses wherein the engine comprises a plurality of cylinders and wherein the controller is configured to instruct ceasing the drying operation only in the event of a signal indicative of the generation of a spark being detected in fuel ignition devices corresponding to each of the plurality of cylinders. See Abstract, FIG. 1 and paragraph [0001].
Regarding claim 23, Toyo Kogyo discloses a step c) after step b) of upon detecting a spark, instructing supply of hydrogen fuel for combustion in the engine. See [0001], resistance measuring device 14 is increased, and the comparator 19 outputs a signal of level to stop the fuel supply stop circuit 18 to the operating state and injects predetermined fuel from the fuel injection device 7; injection is thus resumed when the spark resistance shows again, that the ignition device is not fouled any more.
Regarding claim 24, Bosch discloses a step d) after step b) of undertaking drying operation of the at least one fuel ignition device upon determining that sparking of the fuel ignition device is not successful. See [0001], resistance measuring device 14 is increased, and the comparator 19 outputs a signal of level to stop the fuel supply stop circuit 18 to the operating state and injects predetermined fuel from the fuel injection device 7; injection is thus resumed when the spark resistance shows again, that the ignition device is not fouled any more. Bosch discloses - See Paragraph [0007]. Bosch discloses a scavenging operation, where the engine is cranked and no fuel in supplied. It is obvious, that in case of sparking or combustion being detected, normal operation is assumed and fueling starts or continues.
Regarding claim 25, Toyo Kogyo discloses further comprising a step e) of determining whether the fuel delivery system of the internal combustion engine is cleared of excess hydrogen prior to instructing the sparking of the at least one fuel ignition device. See [0001], resistance measuring device 14 is increased, and the comparator 19 outputs a signal of level to stop the fuel supply stop circuit 18 to the operating state and injects predetermined fuel from the fuel injection device 7; injection is thus resumed when the spark resistance shows again, that the ignition device is not fouled any more. Bosch discloses - See Paragraph [0007]. Bosch discloses a scavenging operation, where the engine is cranked and no fuel in supplied. It is obvious, that in case of sparking or combustion being detected, normal operation is assumed and fueling starts or continues.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Tokumaru US 2024/0102428 discloses a start control apparatus of an internal combustion engine includes: a gas sensor configured to detect a gas concentration of the liquefied gas fuel in a gasified state at a position near a combustion chamber; a scavenging pump configured to perform scavenging from a position upstream of the combustion chamber to a position downstream of the combustion chamber; and a control unit configured to prohibit a start of the internal combustion engine and operate the scavenging pump when the gas concentration detected by the gas sensor before the start of the internal combustion engine is equal to or greater than a predetermined threshold value. See FIG. 1 and 2 and paragraphs [0008], [0011], [0028], [0039], and [0061]-[0070].
/JOSEPH J DALLO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3747