Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
A receiving module, creating module, acquiring module, and sending module in claim 1.
A determining module in claim 2.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 4-7, and 9-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dearman et al., US 2017/0329419 A1, hereinafter “Dearman”, in view of Nakamura, US 2020/0319463 A1, hereinafter “Nakamura”.
Regarding claim 1, Dearman teaches an interaction control method, comprising: receiving a touch operation of a user (¶ 13); if there is a collision point between a virtual identifier and a first application in an application list (fig. 2B, ¶ 21), creating a first virtual screen and a first window in response to the touch operation (fig. 2C, see the first virtual screen and first window ‘A’), running the first application on the first virtual screen, and rendering screen data of the first virtual screen to the first window (see fig. 2C, element 420, ¶ 21).
Dearman does not specifically teach acquiring degrees-of-freedom information of a head-mounted display apparatus; and adjusting the first window according to the degrees-of-freedom information, encoding the screen data in the adjusted first window, and sending the encoded screen data to the head-mounted display apparatus for decoding and displaying.
Nakamura, however, clearly teaches acquiring degrees-of-freedom information of a head-mounted display apparatus (fig. 7, T1, ¶ 31 and ¶ 62); and adjusting the first window according to the degrees-of-freedom information (fig. 7, T2, ¶ 63), encoding the screen data in the adjusted first window (fig. 7, T3, ¶ 63), and sending the encoded screen data to the head-mounted display apparatus for decoding and displaying (fig. 7, T4 and T5, ¶ 64).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the invention to combine the teachings of Dearman in view of Nakamura. Dearman teaches in ¶ 62 that positional sensors may be used to “to determine an absolute position and/or a detected rotation of the computing device in the VR space that can then be used as input to the VR space”. Nakamura further teaches details regarding rendering images viewed by a user as the user moves their viewpoint by moving their head. One would have been motivated to make such a combination because Nakamura teaches in ¶ 60 that: “A round trip time (RTT) delay is generated since the image correction apparatus 200 transmits the position/orientation information regarding the head mounted display 100 to the image generation apparatus 500 in step S10 until the image is displayed on the head mounted display 100. The reprojection process in step S24 interpolates the image so that the user does not feel this delay.”
Regarding claim 2, Dearman teaches that if a touch event is received, acquiring position information of a collision point between the virtual identifier and the first window (fig. 2B, ¶ 21); determining relative position information of the collision point in the first virtual screen according to the position information of the collision point between the virtual identifier and the first window (fig. 2B, see the virtual identifiers 450 and or 455, ¶ 21); and distributing the touch event to the first virtual screen for responding, according to the relative position information (¶ 21; note that these actions are performed at any point such as after rendering images at a previous time).
Regarding claim 4, Dearman teaches the first window and a second window; and combining the screen data to include the first window and screen data in the second window, wherein a second virtual screen runs a second application, and the second window renders screen data of the second virtual screen (fig. 2B, see the first window corresponding to a first application ‘A’, and a second window corresponding to a second application ‘B’; also see ¶ 20-21).
Dearman does not specifically teach that the adjusting the first window according to the degrees-of-freedom information, encoding the screen data in the adjusted first window, and sending the encoded screen data to the head-mounted display apparatus for decoding and displaying comprises: adjusting the first window and a second window according to the degrees-of-freedom information; and combining and encoding the screen data in the adjusted first window and screen data in the adjusted second window, and sending the combined and encoded screen data to the head-mounted display apparatus for decoding and displaying, wherein a second virtual screen runs a second application, and the second window renders screen data of the second virtual screen.
Nakamura, however, teaches such encoding and decoding of information (see fig. 7, T1-T5 and ¶ 62-64).
The combination of Dearman and Nakamura, therefore, teaches that the adjusting the first window according to the degrees-of-freedom information, encoding the screen data in the adjusted first window, and sending the encoded screen data to the head-mounted display apparatus for decoding and displaying comprises: adjusting the first window (Dearman, fig. 2B, ‘A’) and a second window (Dearman, fig. 2B, ‘B’) according to the degrees-of-freedom information (Nakamura, fig. 7); and combining (Dearman, fig. 2B, the windows are combined on the same view) and encoding the screen data in the adjusted first window and screen data in the adjusted second window (Nakamura teaches encoding the adjusted display data which per Dearman includes the combined first and second windows), and sending the combined and encoded screen data to the head-mounted display apparatus for decoding and displaying (see Dearman for such decoding), wherein a second virtual screen runs a second application, and the second window renders screen data of the second virtual screen (Dearman, fig. 2B, different objects A-F are viewed as different applications and include different elements per ¶ 20-22).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the invention to combine the teachings of Dearman in view of Nakamura. Dearman teaches in ¶ 62 that positional sensors may be used to “to determine an absolute position and/or a detected rotation of the computing device in the VR space that can then be used as input to the VR space”. Nakamura further teaches details regarding rendering images viewed by a user as the user moves their viewpoint by moving their head. One would have been motivated to make such a combination because Nakamura teaches in ¶ 60 that: “A round trip time (RTT) delay is generated since the image correction apparatus 200 transmits the position/orientation information regarding the head mounted display 100 to the image generation apparatus 500 in step S10 until the image is displayed on the head mounted display 100. The reprojection process in step S24 interpolates the image so that the user does not feel this delay.”
Regarding claim 5, Dearman teaches acquiring posture information of a terminal apparatus (fig. 2B, element 102, ¶ 21); and controlling the virtual identifier to rotate according to the posture information, so that there is a collision point between the virtual identifier and a target application in the application list or between the virtual identifier and the first window, wherein the target application is the first application or the second application (¶ 21).
Regarding claim 6, Dearman teaches an interaction control device, comprising: a receiving module configured to receive a touch operation of a user (¶ 13); a creating module configured to, if there is a collision point between a virtual identifier and a first application in an application list (fig. 2B, ¶ 21), create a first virtual screen and a first window in response to the touch operation (fig. 2C, see the first virtual screen and first window ‘A’), run the first application on the first virtual screen, and render screen data of the first virtual screen to the first window (see fig. 2C, element 420, ¶ 21).
Dearman does not specifically teach an acquiring module configured to acquire degrees-of-freedom information of a head-mounted display apparatus; and a sending module configured to adjust the first window according to the degrees-of-freedom information, encode the screen data in the adjusted first window, and send the encoded screen data to the head-mounted display apparatus for decoding and displaying.
Nakamura teaches an acquiring module configured to acquire degrees-of-freedom information of a head-mounted display apparatus (fig. 7, T1, ¶ 31 and ¶ 62); and a sending module configured to adjust the first window according to the degrees-of-freedom information (fig. 7, T2, ¶ 63), encode the screen data in the adjusted first window (fig. 7, T3, ¶ 63), and send the encoded screen data to the head-mounted display apparatus for decoding and displaying (fig. 7, T4 and T5, ¶ 64).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the invention to combine the teachings of Dearman in view of Nakamura. Dearman teaches in ¶ 62 that positional sensors may be used to “to determine an absolute position and/or a detected rotation of the computing device in the VR space that can then be used as input to the VR space”. Nakamura further teaches details regarding rendering images viewed by a user as the user moves their viewpoint by moving their head. One would have been motivated to make such a combination because Nakamura teaches in ¶ 60 that: “A round trip time (RTT) delay is generated since the image correction apparatus 200 transmits the position/orientation information regarding the head mounted display 100 to the image generation apparatus 500 in step S10 until the image is displayed on the head mounted display 100. The reprojection process in step S24 interpolates the image so that the user does not feel this delay.”
Regarding claim 7, Dearman teaches a determining module, wherein the acquiring module is further configured to acquire position information of a collision point between the virtual identifier and the first window if a touch event is received (fig. 2B, ¶ 21), wherein the determining module is configured to determine relative position information of the collision point in the first virtual screen according to the position information of the collision point (fig. 2B, see the virtual identifiers 450 and or 455, ¶ 21), and wherein the sending module is configured to distribute the touch event to the first virtual screen for responding, according to the relative position information (¶ 21; note that these actions are performed at any point such as after rendering images at a previous time).
Regarding claim 9, Dearman teaches the first window and a second window; and combining the screen data to include the first window and screen data in the second window, wherein a second virtual screen runs a second application, and the second window renders screen data of the second virtual screen (fig. 2B, see the first window corresponding to a first application ‘A’, and a second window corresponding to a second application ‘B’; also see ¶ 20-21).
Dearman does not specifically teach that the adjusting the first window according to the degrees-of-freedom information, encoding the screen data in the adjusted first window, and sending the encoded screen data to the head-mounted display apparatus for decoding and displaying comprises: adjusting the first window and a second window according to the degrees-of-freedom information; and combining and encoding the screen data in the adjusted first window and screen data in the adjusted second window, and sending the combined and encoded screen data to the head-mounted display apparatus for decoding and displaying, wherein a second virtual screen runs a second application, and the second window renders screen data of the second virtual screen.
Nakamura, however, teaches such encoding and decoding of information (see fig. 7, T1-T5 and ¶ 62-64).
The combination of Dearman and Nakamura, therefore, teaches that the adjusting the first window according to the degrees-of-freedom information, encoding the screen data in the adjusted first window, and sending the encoded screen data to the head-mounted display apparatus for decoding and displaying comprises: adjusting the first window (Dearman, fig. 2B, ‘A’) and a second window (Dearman, fig. 2B, ‘B’) according to the degrees-of-freedom information (Nakamura, fig. 7); and combining (Dearman, fig. 2B, the windows are combined on the same view) and encoding the screen data in the adjusted first window and screen data in the adjusted second window (Nakamura teaches encoding the adjusted display data which per Dearman includes the combined first and second windows), and sending the combined and encoded screen data to the head-mounted display apparatus for decoding and displaying (see Dearman for such decoding), wherein a second virtual screen runs a second application, and the second window renders screen data of the second virtual screen (Dearman, fig. 2B, different objects A-F are viewed as different applications and include different elements per ¶ 20-22).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the invention to combine the teachings of Dearman in view of Nakamura. Dearman teaches in ¶ 62 that positional sensors may be used to “to determine an absolute position and/or a detected rotation of the computing device in the VR space that can then be used as input to the VR space”. Nakamura further teaches details regarding rendering images viewed by a user as the user moves their viewpoint by moving their head. One would have been motivated to make such a combination because Nakamura teaches in ¶ 60 that: “A round trip time (RTT) delay is generated since the image correction apparatus 200 transmits the position/orientation information regarding the head mounted display 100 to the image generation apparatus 500 in step S10 until the image is displayed on the head mounted display 100. The reprojection process in step S24 interpolates the image so that the user does not feel this delay.”
Regarding claim 10, Dearman teaches a control module, the acquiring module is further configured to acquire posture information of a terminal apparatus (fig. 2B, element 102, ¶ 21); wherein the control module is configured to control the virtual identifier to rotate according to the posture information, so that there is a collision point between the virtual identifier and a target application in the application list or between the virtual identifier and the first window, and wherein the target application is the first application or the second application (¶ 21).
Regarding claim 11, Dearman teaches an electronic apparatus comprising: a memory configured to store executable computer instructions; and a processor configured to implement the interaction control method of claim 1 according to a control of the executable computer instructions (fig. 10, element 1000, ¶ 44-48).
Regarding claim 12, Dearman teaches a computer-readable storage medium having computer instructions stored thereon, wherein the interaction control method of claim 1 is performed when the computer instructions are executed by a processor (¶ 45-46).
Claims 3 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dearman, in view of Nakamura, as applied above, and further in view of Croxford et al., US 2022/0262079 A1, hereinafter “Croxford”.
Regarding claims 3 and 8, Dearman in view of Nakamura teach adjusting the first window according to the degrees-of-freedom information as applied above.
Dearman and Nakamura do not teach compressing an edge region of the screen data in the adjusted first window and sending the compressed edge region to the head-mounted display apparatus for decoding and displaying.
Croxford, however, teaches compressing an edge region of the screen data in the first window and sending the compressed edge region to the head-mounted display apparatus for decoding and displaying (¶ 40-41).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the invention to combine the teachings of Dearman, Nakamura and Croxford. The references teach HMD devices and Croxford further teaches compressing the edge region of the displayed images. One would have been motivated to make such a combination because Croxford teaches, in ¶ 34, compressing or displaying the edge portions at a lower resolution “thus reducing the processing burden, power/energy consumption, amount of storage, and/or bandwidth resource required for handling the frames. Reducing the energy consumption also reduces heat output and can improve battery life for mobile devices. High heat outputs can cause the device to become too hot to handle, and may require active cooling, e.g. with fans, and/or thermal throttling.”
Conclusion
/SEPEHR AZARI/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2621