DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1 and 7 (clams 2-10 by dependency) are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Regarding claims 1 and 7 "can be latched" and “can be provided” are indefinite, because they are susceptible to more than one plausible construction. It is unclear whether the limitation refers to a capability that is required to be present in the invention or whether it refers to a system capability that is a mere possibility that is not required.
Regarding claims 5 and 9, it is unclear in the recitation” in particular a fold and /or an impression” as to what the applicant requires in the invention. Where it is unclear what the applicant requires, the recitation is rendered indefinite.
Regarding claims 1-10, it is unclear what the applicant intends by the recitation of “bearing point” a point is commonly understood to be a geometric element that has zero dimensions and a location determinable by an ordered set of coordinates. As such, relative recitation concerning dimensional definition is indefinite. It is unclear what structure the applicant intends as written. Claims will be interpreted broadly until otherwise clarified by the applicant.
In view of the rejections above under 35 USC § 112, the claims referred to in any and all rejections below are rejected as best understood.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, and 4-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Lebsak (DE 1020009048222) in view of Faitl DE102019129152).
Regarding claim 1, Lebsak discloses a motor vehicle lock (1 and 2, abstract) that comprises
a locking mechanism having a rotary latch and at least one pawl, wherein the rotary latch can be latched in at least one latching position by means of the pawl, and having an actuating lever (3, 18, 30) which is received pivotably.
Lebsak does not disclose: an element which is received pivotably in a bearing point, wherein the bearing point has arms for retaining the actuating lever in the bearing point), and wherein the retaining arms of the actuating element fit over the bearing point after being inserted into the bearing point, wherein the retaining arms are deformable.
Faitl teaches an element which is received pivotably in a bearing point, wherein the bearing point has arms for retaining the actuating lever in the bearing point), and wherein the retaining arms of the actuating element fit over the bearing point after being inserted into the bearing point, wherein the retaining arms are deformable for the purpose of pivotable attachment of two components.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Lebsak with an element which is received pivotably in a bearing point, wherein the bearing point has arms for retaining the actuating lever in the bearing point), and wherein the retaining arms of the actuating element fit over the bearing point after being inserted into the bearing point, wherein the retaining arms are deformable. as taught by Faitl for the expected benefit of utilizing known structure to pivotably attach two components.
Regarding claim 2, Lebsak as modified by Faitl discloses the motor vehicle lock according to the motor vehicle lock according to wherein two, three, or more retaining arms (4, blades plural) fit over the actuating element (Fig.3).
Regarding claim 4, Lebsak as modified by Faitl discloses the motor vehicle lock (2) according to claim 1, wherein the bearing point is formed from an opening (space denoted by 3) having an identical diameter.
Note: see indefinite rejection above, claim interpretation, device has an opening.
Regarding claim 5, Lebsak as modified by Faitl discloses the motor vehicle lock (2) according to claim 1, wherein the bearing point has at least one deformation (conformed by mandrel 3), in particular a fold and/or an impression.
Regarding claim 6, Lebsak as modified by Faitl discloses the motor vehicle lock (2) according to claim 4, wherein the bearing point has a separation point (between 4) in the region of the openings.
Regarding claim 7, Lebsak as modified by Faitl discloses the motor vehicle lock (2) according to claim 4, wherein the bearing point has a tab (4b), wherein the tab extends at least partially into the opening of the bearing point (Fig.4), so that a bearing lock for the actuating element can be provided (not required).
Regarding claim 8, Lebsak as modified by Faitl discloses the motor vehicle lock according to claim 2, wherein the deformation, in particular the fold and/or impression (22, 23) and/or the separation point and/or the tab (4b), forms a stop (Fig, 4) for the actuating element (with 3b).
Regarding claim 9, Lebsak as modified by Faitl discloses the motor vehicle lock according to claim 1, wherein the bearing point is formed as part of a pivotably mounted lever (1 and 2).
Note: it is completed apparatus that carries the weight of structure. Applicant is directed to product by process for guidance.
Regarding claim 10, Lebsak as modified by Faitl discloses the motor vehicle lock according to claim 1 wherein the bearing point has a greater material thickness (Fig. 2, at least partially) than the actuating element (portions of 1 and 2) .
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Lebsak (DE 1020009048222) in view of Faitl DE102019129152) further inview of Howard .
Regarding claim 3. Lebsak as modified by Faitl discloses the motor vehicle lock (2) according to claim 1, wherein the bearing point and the actuating element (3, 18, 30) are formed from a metal sheet.
Lebsak as modified by Faitl does not discuss materials: a metal sheet.
Howard teaches elements made of metal ([0062]) for the purpose of providing durable materials of adequate strength in a door locking mechanism.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Lebsak as modified by Faitl with elements made of metal as taught by Howard for the expected benefit of providing durable materials of adequate strength in a door locking mechanism.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure as it may affect the patentability of applicant’s claimed invention is listed on the attached PTO-892.
/T. L. N./
Examiner, Art Unit 3675
/KRISTINA R FULTON/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3675