DETAILED ACTION
In the response to this office action, the Examiner respectfully requests that support be shown for language added to any original claims on amendment and any new claims. That is, indicate support for newly added claim language by specifically pointing to page(s) and line numbers in the specification and/or drawing figure(s). This will assist the Examiner in prosecuting this application.
INFORMATION DISCLOSURE STATEMENT
The information disclosure statements filed 09/08/2025 and 09/18/2025, have been acknowledged and considered by the examiner. Initialed copies of the PTO-1449 forms are included in this correspondence.
CLAIM REJECTIONS - 35 USC § 103
1. Claims 1-3, 11, 13, and 15-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kaminksi et al. US 20090295681 in view of Yamazaki et al. US 20220165188.
Consider claim 1. Kaminski discloses a projection assembly for displaying a virtual image for a viewer whose eye position is located in an eyebox fig. 2-4 virtual image system 100, comprising:
a laminated pane fig. 2 [0026] laminated windshield 102 having a projection region [0024] virtual image is desired to be between sight lines SL2 and SL3, a main see-through region [0024] clear unobstructed view of road ahead, an upper edge, a lower edge, and two lateral pane edges fig. 4 and fig. 5 only one lateral side and a lower side are shown however [0043] windshield of motor vehicle i.e. has four sides, wherein the projection region is arranged outside the main see-through region see figs. 2-4 the film 130 which reflects the virtual image is only in the lower part of the windshield away from top two thirds (approximately) which has the see through area, and the laminated pane comprises an outer pane having an outer surface and an interior surface fig. 2-4 outer glass pane 104 and inner glass pane 106, an inner pane having an outer surface and an interior surface fig. 2-4 inner glass pane 106 with surface labeled ‘3’ and ‘4’, and a thermoplastic intermediate layer arranged between the outer pane and the inner pane fig. 2-4 plastic layer 108 [0003] plastic layer is commonly composed of PVB which is a thermoplastic, and has an opaque masking layer outside the main see-through region, at least in the projection region figs. 2-4 110, 130-150 150’ [0027] 130 is a black glossy sheet or [0029] frit 110,
an image display device arranged on an interior side, which is directed towards the projection region figs. 2-4 image source 112, wherein the image display device is a matrix display [0026] LED, LCD, OLED etc, and
Kaminski does not explicitly disclose a control element that is configured to selectively control different matrices of the image display device for displaying the virtual image for different positions of the eyebox.
Yamazaki however discloses a control element that is configured to selectively control different matrices of the image display device for displaying the virtual image for different positions of the eyebox fig. 3 control system using local dimming to display images in different portions of multilayer surface 334 which is in the windshield. Also see fig. 4A 4B based on detected face location first portion image is displayed in portion 414.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the projection assembly of Kaminski to include a control element that is configured to selectively control different matrices of the image display device for displaying the virtual image for different positions of the eyebox, as taught by Yamazaki, to improve contrast of display screen which in turn enhances vehicle viewing experience [0003].
Consider claim 2. Kaminski as modified by Yamazaki disclose the projection assembly according to claim 1, wherein the control element is configured to control a first matrix for at least an upper position of the eyebox, a second matrix for a middle position of the eyebox and a third matrix of the image display device for a lower position of the eyebox See Yamazaki fig. 3 control system using local dimming to display images in different portions of multilayer surface 334. [0043][0061] local dimming driver 324 and local dimming driver 312 select or more portions of the surface 334 based on projection data and position of the occupant.
Motivation to combine is similar to motivation in claim 1.
Consider claim 3. Kaminski as modified by Yamazaki disclose the projection assembly according to claim 1, wherein the opaque masking layer is arranged in a peripheral edge region Kaminski fig. 2-4 the black glossy sheet 130 or frit 110 is located in the bottom edge area of the windshield.
Consider claim 11. Kaminski as modified by Yamazaki disclose the projection assembly according to claim 1, wherein the opaque masking layer is formed as a coating of the interior surface of the outer pane or of the outer surface of the inner pane, as an opaque insert element arranged between the outer pane and the inner pane, or as an opaque colored region of the thermoplastic intermediate layer Kaminski fig. 4A 150 black matte material in the interior surface of the outer pane.
Consider claim 13. Kaminski as modified by Yamazaki disclose the motor vehicle having a projection assembly according to claim 1 Kaminski [0002][0043] motor vehicle windshield also see fig. 2- 4.
Consider claim 15. Kaminski as modified by Yamazaki disclose the use of a projection assembly according to claim 1 in a vehicle for traffic on land, in the air, or on water Kaminski [0002][0043] motor vehicle windshield also see fig. 2- 4.
Consider claim 16. Kaminski as modified by Yamazaki disclose the projection assembly according to claim 3, wherein the opaque masking layer, in a section which overlaps with the projection region, has a greater width than in sections different therefrom Kaminski figs. 2-4 110, 130-150 150’ [0027] 130 is a black glossy sheet or [0029] frit 110. note that the black sheet or frit are in a projection region (have a width) which are at the bottom region and are not in the upper region of the windshield.Thus, the black sheet or frit have a width of zero.
Consider claim 17. Kaminski as modified by Yamazaki disclose the use according to claim 15, wherein the laminated pane is a windshield Kaminski [0002][0043] motor vehicle windshield also see fig. 2- 4.
2. Claims 4-6 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kaminksi et al. US 20090295681 in view of Yamazaki et al. US 20220165188 and further in view of Banay et al. US 20170059872
Consider claim 4. Kaminski as modified by Yamazaki disclose the projection assembly according to claim 1, further comprising an adaptation unit that ascertains the position of the face corresponding to the face position from information regarding his face position and outputs an electrical signal to the control element configured to selectively control the matrix corresponding to the ascertained position of the face Yamazaki fig. 3 and figs. 4A 4B. [0061] local dimming driver 324 and local dimming driver 312 select or more portions of the surface 334 based on projection data and position of the occupant. [0067] [0069] determine amount of glare on the face and output a portion on the windshield based on the determined amount of glare.
Kaminski as modified by Yamazaki disclose do not explicitly disclose the position of the eyebox entered by the viewer corresponding to the eye position.
Banay however discloses the position of the eyebox entered by the viewer corresponding to the eye position [0005] The vertical position of the eyebox must be adapted to the sitting height of the specific driver. For this purpose, the driver has the option of adjusting the height position of the eyebox until it is optimally visible.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the projection assembly of Kaminski as modified by Yamazaki to include a control element that is configured to selectively control different matrices of the image display device for displaying the virtual image for different positions of the eyebox, as taught by Banay, to improve visibility by having the eyes of the driver are located well within the eyebox [0005].
Consider claim 5. Kaminski as modified by Yamazaki disclose the projection assembly according to claim 1, further comprising a detection device for detecting the face position of the viewer and an electronic control device that is configured to ascertain the position of the face corresponding to the face position on the basis of the face position ascertained by the detection device, and to output an electrical signal to the control element to selectively control the matrix corresponding to the ascertained position of the face Yamazaki fig. 3 and figs. 4A 4B. [0061] local dimming driver 324 and local dimming driver 312 select or more portions of the surface 334 based on projection data and position of the occupant. [0067] [0069] determine amount of glare on the face and output a portion on the windshield based on the determined amount of glare.
Banay however discloses detecting the eyebox position of the viewer and ascertain the position of the eyebox and controlling the system to adjust the display based on the eyebox position [0005] The vertical position of the eyebox must be adapted to the sitting height of the specific driver. For this purpose, the driver has the option of adjusting the height position of the eyebox until it is optimally visible.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the projection assembly of Kaminski as modified by Yamazaki to include detecting the eyebox position of the viewer and ascertain the position of the eyebox and controlling the system to adjust the display based on the eyebox position, as taught by Banay, to improve visibility by having the eyes of the driver are located well within the eyebox [0005].
Consider claim 6. Kaminski as modified by Yamazaki and Banay disclose the projection assembly according to claim 5, wherein the detection device performs infrared detection and has a radiation source for emitting infrared radiation and a radiation receiver for receiving infrared radiation Banay [0021] fig. 1 camera 6 can be an infrared camera and the driver’s head is illuminated with infrared light. [0022] true eye tracking is carried on the basis of the camera image.
Motivation to combine is similar to motivation in claim 5.
Claim 14 is rejected mutatis mutandis to claim 1 and claim 4.
3. Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kaminksi et al. US 20090295681 in view of Yamazaki et al. US 20220165188 in view of Banay et al. US 20170059872 and further in view of Naradikian et al. US 20200143184
Consider claim 7. Kaminski as modified by Yamazaki and Banay disclose the projection assembly according to claim 6, but do not disclose wherein the laminated pane additionally has a functional layer reflecting infrared radiation, and the radiation source and the radiation receiver are arranged so that infrared radiation emitted by the radiation source is reflectable by the functional layer onto the face of the viewer as first reflection radiation, the first reflection radiation is reflectable by the face of the viewer onto the functional layer as second reflection radiation, and the second reflection radiation reflected by the functional layer as third reflection radiation can be reflected to the radiation receiver and received by the radiation receiver.
Naradikian however discloses wherein the laminated pane additionally has a functional layer reflecting infrared radiation [0018] IR reflective coating on inner surface of the windshield, and the radiation source fig. 1 IR camera and LED 2 202 and the radiation receiver fig. 1 IR camera and LED are arranged so that infrared radiation emitted by the radiation source is reflectable by the functional layer onto the face of the viewer as first reflection radiation fig. 1 see IR light reflected of windshield and on driver 28 eyes, the first reflection radiation is reflectable by the face of the viewer onto the functional layer as second reflection radiation fig. 2 206 receive IR energy reflected by face of the driver and reflected off the coating on the windshield , and the second reflection radiation reflected by the functional layer as third reflection radiation can be reflected to the radiation receiver and received by the radiation receiver. [0023] Next, in step 206, infra-red energy reflected by a face of the driver and reflected off the coating of the windshield is received by the IR camera.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the projection assembly of Kaminski as modified by Yamazaki and Banay to include wherein the laminated pane additionally has a functional layer reflecting infrared radiation, and the radiation source and the radiation receiver are arranged so that infrared radiation emitted by the radiation source is reflectable by the functional layer onto the face of the viewer as first reflection radiation, the first reflection radiation is reflectable by the face of the viewer onto the functional layer as second reflection radiation, and the second reflection radiation reflected by the functional layer as third reflection radiation can be reflected to the radiation receiver and received by the radiation receiver, as taught by Naradikian, to enable IR driver monitoring to be integrated into HUD system [0006].
4. Claims 8-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kaminksi et al. US 20090295681 in view of Yamazaki et al. US 20220165188 and further in view of Watanabe et al. US 20170082854
Consider claim 8. Kaminski as modified by Yamazaki disclose the projection assembly according to claim 1 but do not disclose wherein the image display device is curved in plan view.
Watanabe however discloses wherein the image display device is curved in plan view see fig. 3 and 4A display surface 10A is curved [0054]. Also see fig. 7 display 10B is curved. fig. 9 curved display 10a
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the projection assembly of Kaminski as modified by Yamazaki to include detecting the eyebox position of the viewer and ascertain the position of the eyebox and controlling the system to adjust the display based on the eyebox position, as taught by Watanabe, to correct the aberrations of the image surface curvature due to the curved surface of the windshield [0081].
Consider claim 9. Kaminski as modified by Yamazaki disclose the projection assembly according to claim 1 but do not disclose wherein the laminated pane is bent.
Watanabe however discloses wherein the laminated pane is bent. see fig. 1 windshield WS is curved[0069][0081].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the projection assembly of Kaminski as modified by Yamazaki to include wherein the laminated pane is bent, as taught by Watanabe,to externally decrease wind resistance and internally to allow for clear distortion free and properly focused virtual image.
Consider claim 10. Kaminski as modified by Yamazaki and Watanabe disclose the projection assembly according to claim 8, further comprising a distortion element. Watanabe see fig. 1 windshield WS is curved which causes distortions [0069][0081].
Motivation to combine is similar to motivation in claim 8.
4. Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kaminksi et al. US 20090295681 in view of Yamazaki et al. US 20220165188 and further in view of Nakayama et al. US 12162248
Consider claim 12. Kaminski as modified by Yamazaki disclose the projection assembly according to claim 1, opaque masking layer when viewed through the laminated pane see Kaminski fig. 1A 1B 28 or 18 or fig. 2-3 130-140, 110 fig. 4A-B 150 150’, 110.
but do not disclose wherein a reflective element for reflecting visible light is arranged in the projection region between the outer pane and the inner pane or on the interior surface of the inner pane,
Nakayama however discloses wherein a reflective element for reflecting visible light is arranged in the projection region between the outer pane and the inner pane see fig. 3 lamination structure of the laminated glass has first and second glass layer with interlayer film 11A and 11B and infrared reflective is between 11A and 11B or on the interior surface of the inner pane, fig. 3 infrared reflective layer 13 is in front of 11A and wherein the reflective element is arranged spatially in front of the opaque masking layer when viewed through the laminated pane fig. 3 infrared reflective layer 13 is between 11A and 11B. Note that 11A or 11B is equivalent to plastic layer 16 of Kaminski. As a result, when the infrared reflective layer is combined with windshield lamination of Kaminski it would sit in front of black masking layer 110 130-150 150’.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the projection assembly of Kaminski as modified by Yamazaki to include wherein a reflective element for reflecting visible light is arranged in the projection region between the outer pane and the inner pane or on the interior surface of the inner pane, and wherein the reflective element is arranged spatially in front of the opaque masking layer when viewed through the laminated pane, as taught by Nakayama, to provide a laminated glass by which monitoring can be properly carried out using infrared radiation even when an infrared monitoring system is introduced in various vehicles Col. 4 lines 32-36.
CONCLUSION
IBRAHIM A. KHAN
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2628
/IBRAHIM A KHAN/ 03/10/2026Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2628