DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Felbaum (US6089399A)
Regarding claim 1 Felbaum teaches a pressure vessel for storing a pressurized fluid, the pressure vessel comprising (see annotated fig.3 below):
- a shell comprising an access port provided with a port sealing surface (see annotated fig.3 below for port sealing surface that extends upward until the shoulder), and
- a cap provided with a cap sealing surface and defining a longitudinal axis (see annotated fig.3 below), wherein:
- the access port and the cap are configured to receive and hold the cap in the access port with the cap sealing surface and the port sealing surface contacting each other to form an internal seal (see annotated fig.3 below for the access port and the cap capable of receiving and holding the cap in the access port with the cap sealing surface and the port sealing surface contacting each other to creating an internal seal),
- the cap comprises an inner cap end (see annotated fig.3 below),
- a recess is provided in the inner cap end, such that an axial extension is formed (see annotated fig.3 below for the recess is provided in the inner cap end capable of creating an axial extension being formed), and
- the cap sealing surface is provided at the axial extension (see annotated fig.3 below for the cap sealing surface capable of being at the axial extension; it is noted that axial extension is not positively claimed).
Annotated fig.3 of Felbaum
Regarding claim 2, the references as applied to claim 1 above discloses all the limitations substantially claimed. Felbaum further teaches wherein the axial extension surrounds the recess (see annotated fig.3 above where the axial extension is capable of surrounding the recess).
Regarding claim 3, the references as applied to claim 1 above discloses all the limitations substantially claimed. Felbaum further teaches wherein the cap comprises a duct having an inner duct opening, and the axial extension is radially spaced from the inner duct opening (fig.4 the 46 is the inner duct opening and 47 is the duct).
Regarding claim 4, the references as applied to claim 1 above discloses all the limitations substantially claimed. Falbaum further teaches wherein: - the cap comprises a cap body (see annotated fig.3 above where the cap has a cap body), - the cap body comprises a circumferential cap surface surrounding the longitudinal axis (see annotated fig.3 above),- the axial extension comprises a cap extension thickness measured in radial direction with respect to the longitudinal axis at the axial extension (see annotated fig.3 above, the axial extension, not positively claimed, capable of having a cap extension thickness),- the cap body comprises a cap body thickness measured in radial direction with respect to the longitudinal axis between the longitudinal axis and the circumferential cap surface, and - the cap extension thickness is smaller than the cap body thickness (see annotated fig.3 above where the cap extension thickness can be smaller than the cap body thickness).
Regarding claim 5, the references as applied to claim 1 above discloses all the limitations substantially claimed. Felbaum further teaches wherein the axial extension further comprises an outer extension side facing away from the longitudinal axis and the cap sealing surface is located at the outer extension side (see annotated fig.3 above where the axial extension, not positively claimed, is capable of having outer extension side facing away from the long. axis and the cap sealing surface is located at the outer extension side).
Regarding claim 6, the references as applied to claim 1 above discloses all the limitations substantially claimed. Falbaum further teaches wherein the cap comprises an inner recess surface, and the axial extension comprises an inner extension surface facing towards the longitudinal axis and a transition surface connecting the inner extension surface with the inner recess surface, and the transition surface forms a rounded corner extending along a radius R when seen in a longitudinal sectional view with respect to the longitudinal axis (see annotated fig.3 above where the recess forms a rounded corned with a radium at the top).
Regarding claim 7, the references as applied to claim 1 above discloses all the limitations substantially claimed. Falbaum further teaches wherein the access port defines a further longitudinal axis and the port sealing surface faces towards the further longitudinal axis (see annotated fig.3 above where the access port defines a longitudinal axis and the port sealing face towards it; it is noted applicant has not given frame of reference for the axis).
Regarding claim 8, the references as applied to claim 1 above discloses all the limitations substantially claimed. Falbaum further teaches wherein: - the axial extension comprises a cap extension thickness measured in radial direction with respect to the longitudinal axis at the axial extension (see annotated fig.3 for the thickness of the cap), - the access port comprises an outer port surface and a port thickness measured in a further radial direction with respect to the further longitudinal axis between the port sealing surface and the outer port surface, and- the port thickness is larger than the cap extension thickness (see fig.4 where the port thickness is larger than the cap extension thickness as the port thickness is where the 16 is pointed to and the cap thickness at the axial extension which is not positively claimed and can be similar to applicant’s requirements).
Regarding claim 9, the references as applied to claim 1 above discloses all the limitations substantially claimed. Falbaum further teaches wherein:- the access port comprises an outer access opening and a female threaded zone,- the cap comprises a male treaded zone,- the female threaded zone and the male threaded zone are configured for rotational engagement with each other, and - the female threaded zone is located closer to the outer access opening than the port sealing surface (see fig.4 for the access port with an outer access opening at the top and having a threaded zone 36 and the cap having threads zone 33 that capable of rotational engagement with each other).
Regarding claim 10, the references as applied to claim 9 above discloses all the limitations substantially claimed. Falbaum further teaches wherein the access port and the cap are free from a seal located closer to the outer access opening than the female threaded zone (fig.4 shows the seal 40).
Regarding claim 11, the references as applied to claim 1 above discloses all the limitations substantially claimed. Falbaum further teaches wherein the cap sealing surface is toroidal (see annotated fig.3 above).
Regarding claim 12, the references as applied to claim 1 above discloses all the limitations substantially claimed. Falbaum further teaches wherein the access port and the cap are free from an elastomeric seal (see annotated fig.3 above access port and the cap are free from elastomeric seal).
Regarding claim 13, the references as applied to claim 1 above discloses all the limitations substantially claimed. Falbaum further teaches a method for sealing a pressure vessel for storing a pressurized fluid, of the method comprising placing the cap in the access port and forming an internal seal with the cap sealing surface and the port sealing surface contacting each other (see fig.3 showing the cap placed in the access port and forming an internal seal with the sealing surface and port surface).
Regarding claim 14, Felbaum teaches a cap for a pressure vessel, comprising (see annotated fig.3 above):
- an inner cap end (see annotated fig.3 above),
- a recess provided in the inner cap end, such that an axial extension is formed (see annotated fig.3 above), and
- a cap sealing surface provided at the axial extension (see annotated fig.3 above).
Conclusion
See PTO-892 for the prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
/PRINCE PAL/Examiner, Art Unit 3735