DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Claims 10-15 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on September 1, 2026.
Applicant's election with traverse of Group I, claims 1-9 in the reply filed on September 1, 2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that the subject matter of each of the claim Groups is linked by a common inventive concept and as a result, a search into prior art with regards to the invention of the different groups is so related that separate significant search efforts should not be necessary and therefore there is no serious burden on the Examiner to collectively examine the different claim Groups of the subject application.
This is not found persuasive because a search burden does exist as the method of Invention II (see claim 10) requires a search for an equation/set of equations based on the output from automated software and demographic parameters of age, gender, etc., which is not required for the search of Invention I. Different/additional search terms would be required for the search of Invention II. Furthermore, Examiner maintains that the two groups lack the same or corresponding special technical features as set forth in the Restriction requirement mailed on July 1, 2026.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because Figures 2-7 and 23-24 contain hand-drawn sketches which are unclear as they appear to be copies of handwritten drawings and further contain text and labels that are illegible. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. The figure or figure number of an amended drawing should not be labeled as “amended.” If a drawing figure is to be canceled, the appropriate figure must be removed from the replacement sheet, and where necessary, the remaining figures must be renumbered and appropriate changes made to the brief description of the several views of the drawings for consistency. Additional replacement sheets may be necessary to show the renumbering of the remaining figures. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “stabilization device that localizes the sensing probe…”in claim 8 and “composition adapted to conduct and receive ultrasonic waves”.
The “stabilization device” has been interpreted as corresponding to joints and a lock, such as disclosed in paragraph [0048] of Applicant’s PG-Pub 2026/0256446 and depicted in Figure 35, and equivalents thereof.
The “composition” has been interpreted as corresponding to a gel or a gel/aqueous/liquid/petroleum jelly material, as disclosed in paragraph [0063] of Applicant’s PG-Pub, and equivalents thereof.
Claim Objections
Claims 1-2 and 4-9 are objected to because of the following informalities:
In claim 1, in line 4, --- at least one – should be inserted before “sensing probe”.
In claim 1, in line 6, --- the --- should be inserted before the second instance of the word “intracranial”.
In claim 2, in line 2, --- to – should be inserted before “rest”.
In claim 2, in line 3, --- to --- should be inserted before “rest”.
In claim 4, in line 3, --- the --- should be inserted before “intracranial pressure”.
In claim 5, in line 1, -- at least one --- should be inserted before “sensing probe”.
In claim 6, in line 3, --- the --- should be inserted before “intracranial pressure”.
In claim 7, in line 1, --- at least one --- should be inserted before “sensing probe”.
In claim 7, in the last line, the semi-colon should be deleted and replaced with a period.
In claim 8, in line 3, -- the – should be inserted before “intracranial pressure”.
In claim 8, in line 4, -- at least one --- should be inserted before “sensing probe”.
In claim 9, in line 3, --- at least one --- should be inserted before “sensing probe”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
With regards to claim 1, in lines 5-6, the limitation “the system correlates one or more sensed parameters…” is recited. However, the “system” is set forth as comprising structurally of a headset and at least one sensing probe. It is unclear as to whether it is the headset, the at least one sensing probe, a combination of the headset and probe, or some other additional unclaimed structure of the system that performs the function of correlating. For examination purposes, examiner assumes it can be any of the above. Claim 8 is similarly rejected (see line 3, which sets forth “the system estimates intracranial pressure continuously”, wherein it is unclear which structure of the system performs the function) and claim 9 is similarly rejected (see last two lines of claim 9, which refers to “the system uses an autosegmentation algorithm”, wherein it is unclear as to which structure of the claimed system “uses” an autosegmentation algorithm).
With regards to claim 1, in lines 5-6, it is unclear as to whether the “one or more sensed parameters” are referring to one or more of the “plurality of sensed parameters” set forth in lines 4-5 of the claim or referring to different sensed parameters. For examination purposes, Examiner assumes the former.
Regarding claim 1, the phrase "optionally" in the last line renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitation(s) following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d). For examination purposes, Examiner assumes that the limitations following the phrase are not part of the claimed invention.
Claim 2 recites the limitation "the cheek" in line 4. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Note that a human subject has two cheeks (i.e. a left cheek and right cheek).
Claims 3 and 4 recites the limitation "the sensing probe(s)" in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For examination purposes, Examiner assumes that the claim is referring to – the at least one sensing probe ---. Claim 8 is similarly rejected (see line 2).
With regards to claim 4, in line 2, it is unclear as to whether “the sensed parameters” are referring to the same “plurality of sensed parameters” set forth in lines 4-5 of claim 1 or referring to different sensed parameters. For examination purposes, Examiner assumes the former.
Claim 4 recites the limitation "the sensor probe" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 5 recites the limitation "the processor " in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 6 recites the limitation "the sensed data" in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 6 recites the limitation "the described measurements" in lines 2-3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Further, the claim is indefinite as it is unclear as to what type of measurements correspond to the “described” measurements.
With regards to claim 6, in line 3, it is unclear as to which parameters “these parameters” is referring to. For examination purposes, Examiner assumes “these parameters” is referring to the “plurality of sensed parameters” as set forth in claim 1.
In claim 8, in lines 5-6, the claim refers to “a patient’s anatomy”. Since it is assumed that in claim 1, the term “subject” is referring to a human/patient, it is unclear as to whether the “patient’s anatomy” is referring to the subject as set forth in claim 1 or is referring to a different/second/additional subject/patient. For examination purposes, Examiner assumes the former. Claim 9 is similarly rejected (see line 4, which refers to “a patient”, and therefore it is unclear as to whether the “a patient” is referring to the same “subject” in claim 1 or same “patient” as set forth in claim 8).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 8-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because Section 33(a) of the America Invents Act reads as follows:
Notwithstanding any other provision of law, no patent may issue on a claim directed to or encompassing a human organism.
Claims 8-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 and section 33(a) of the America Invents Act as being directed to or encompassing a human organism. See also Animals - Patentability, 1077 Off. Gaz. Pat. Office 24 (April 21, 1987) (indicating that human organisms are excluded from the scope of patentable subject matter under 35 U.S.C. 101).
With regards to claim 8, in lines 4-6, the limitation “a stabilization device that localizes the sensing probe to a region of a patient’s anatomy and locks the sensing probe in place at the region of the patient’s anatomy” is recited and in claim 9, line 4, the limitation “the stabilization device locks the sensing probe to an eyelid of a patient” is recited, thereby encompassing a human organism (i.e. a region of a patient’s anatomy). Examiner suggests that Applicant use instead language such as --- a stabilization device adapted to localize the sensing probe…and adapted to lock the sensing probe..---- or --- stabilization device is adapted to lock the sensing probe to an eyelid…---.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4, 6 and 8-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hong (US Pub No. 2020/0367774).
With regards to claim 1, Hong discloses a system for estimating intracranial pressure in a subject comprising:
a headset (i.e. goggles 110) adapted to rest on the head and/or face of the subject (paragraphs [0023], [0029], referring to the goggles (110) which are worn directly on the head of the patient; Figure 1);
at least one sensing probe (120, 130, 140) (paragraph [0024], referring to the first, second and third probes (120, 130, 140) which can detect noninvasively inside the body of the person; Figure 1); wherein:
the sensing probe is coupled to the headset and adapted to capture a plurality of sensed parameters from a plurality of axes (paragraphs [0024]-[0029], referring to the probe fixation body (150) which is installed on the goggles (110) and fixes the first to third probes (120, 130, 14) to the goggles (110), wherein the first probe (120) emits and detects ultrasonic waves to/from an optic nerve sheath (1), the second probe (130) emits/detects ultrasonic waves to/from an ophthalmic artery (2) and the third probe (140) emits/detects the ultrasonic waves into/from the ophthalmic artery (2) and the cranial cavity external artery (3), respectively, and thus the probes capture a plurality of sensed parameters from a plurality of axes/directions; paragraphs [0010], [0031], referring to the device further including angle changing means for changing an angle of the first probe and thus an axis of detection may be changed, resulting in capturing/receiving sensed parameters from at least two plurality of axes; Figures 1-2);
wherein the system correlates one or more sensed parameters with intracranial pressure so as to estimate intracranial pressure in the subject noninvasively and optionally continuously (paragraphs [0030]-[0031], referring to the controller (160) connected to the first to third probes (120, 130, 140) and receiving information on the measured values from the first to third probes (120, 130, 140), wherein the controller (160) calculates a first intracranial pressure on the basis of data on the diameter of the optic nerve sheath 1 measured by the first probe 120, calculates a second intracranial pressure on the basis of data on the pulsatility index of the ophthalmic artery 2 measured by the second probe 130, and calculates a third intracranial pressure on the basis of data on the diameters of the ophthalmic artery 2 and the cranial cavity external artery 3 measured by the third probe 140; Figure 1).
With regards to claim 2, Hong discloses that the headset comprises at least one of a longitudinal member adapted rest on an ear of the subject: a longitudinal member adapted rest on the nose of the subject; a supportive member adapted to rest on the cheek of the subject; a flexible band adapted to secure the headset to the head of the subject; and a deformable material embedded in the headset (paragraph [0029], referring to the goggles (110) which are worn directly on the head of the patient, wherein goggles are known to include a longitudinal member adapted to rest on the nose, a supportive member adapted to rest on the cheek, etc.; Figure 1).
With regards to claim 3, Hong discloses that the sensing probe(s) perform at least one process selected from: an ultrasound process; a shear-wave elastography process; a pupillometry process; a dynamomenry process: a near infrared spectroscopy process; an acoustic tympanometry process; an optical coherence tomography process; and an electroencephalography process (paragraphs [0025]-[0028], referring to the probes (120, 130, 140) emitting and detecting ultrasonic waves; Figure 1).
With regards to claim 4, Hong discloses that the sensing probe(s) is coupled to a processor adapted to extract the sensed parameters made by the sensor probe, which change in concordance with changes in intracranial pressure (paragraph [0030], referring to the controller (160) which is connected to the first to third probes (120, 130, 14) and receives information on the measured values from the first to third probes, wherein the controller 160 calculates a first intracranial pressure on the basis of data on the diameter of the optic nerve sheath 1 measured by the first probe 120, calculates a second intracranial pressure on the basis of data on the pulsatility index of the ophthalmic artery 2 measured by the second probe 130, and calculates a third intracranial pressure on the basis of data on the diameters of the ophthalmic artery 2 and the cranial cavity external artery 3 measured by the third probe 140).
With regards to claim 6, Hong discloses that the sensed data is further analyzed by a separate software algorithm that automatically interprets and quantifies the described measurements, and is able to use these parameters (i.e. diameter, pulsatility index, etc.) to estimate intracranial pressure (paragraph [0030], referring to the controller (160) which is connected to the first to third probes (120, 130, 14) and receives information on the measured values from the first to third probes, wherein the controller 160 calculates a first intracranial pressure on the basis of data on the diameter of the optic nerve sheath 1 measured by the first probe 120, calculates a second intracranial pressure on the basis of data on the pulsatility index of the ophthalmic artery 2 measured by the second probe 130, and calculates a third intracranial pressure on the basis of data on the diameters of the ophthalmic artery 2 and the cranial cavity external artery 3 measured by the third probe 140).
With regards to claim 8, Hong discloses that the sensing probe(s) performs an ultrasound process; the system estimates intracranial pressure continuously; and the system comprises a stabilization device (110, 150) that localizes the sensing probe to a region of a patient's anatomy and locks the sensing probe in place at the region of the patient's anatomy (paragraphs [0029], [0036], referring to the probe fixation body (150) installed on the goggles (110) which “fixes the first to third probes 120, 130, and 140 to the goggles 110” which are worn directly on the head of the patient and wherein intracranial pressure is measured regardless of the holding of the operator, and thus the probe is fixed/locked at the region of the patient’s anatomy and continuous measurements can be performed ; paragraph [0034], referring to real time detection being performed; paragraphs [0025]-[0027], referring to the probes (120, 130, 140) emitting ultrasonic waves; Figure 1).
With regards to claim 9, Hong discloses that the stabilization device comprises one or more adjustable joints adapted to allow the sensing probe to move in a three-dimensional space; the stabilization device locks the sensing probe to an eyelid of a patient; and/or the system uses an autosegmentation algorithm to detect changes in the patient's anatomy (paragraphs [0029], [0036], referring to the probe fixation body (150) installed on the goggles (110) which “fixes the first to third probes 120, 130, and 140 to the goggles 110” which are worn directly on the head of the patient; paragraph [0033], referring to the goggles (via the pressing unit (141) being in contact with the eyelid of the person; Figure 1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hong as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of O’Brien et al. (CN 108834398). Note that the below rejection refers to the English translation of CN 108834398).
With regards to claim 5, as discussed above, Hong meets the limitations of claim 1. However, Hong does not specifically disclose that the processor controls the sensing probe position and orientation in a feedback loop, either through mechanical or electrical means, to optimize data acquisition.
O’Brien et al. disclose a processor configured to control a robot system automatically placing the transducer at a plurality of locations adjacent to the subject skull, wherein a positioning system may move the TCD transducer on the x-axis and y-axis to position the window on the moving axis, and control both force and position feedback on the z-axis to locate and maintain the proper force against the human skull so as to maximize signal quality by maintaining proper contact to maximize the normal sound of the blood vessel to maximize the speed signal (pg. 8, last paragraph-pg. 9, 2nd paragraph).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have the processor of Hong control the sensing probe position and orientation in a feedback loop, either through mechanical or electrical means, to optimize data acquisition, as taught by O’Brien et al., in order to locate and maintain the proper force against the patient so as to maximize signal quality by maintaining proper contact (pg. 8, last paragraph-pg. 9, 2nd paragraph).
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hong as applied to claim 3 above, and further in view of Lyon (US Patent No. 10,987,088).
With regards to claim 7, as discussed above, Hong meets the limitations of claim 3. Further, Hong discloses that the sensing probe is adapted to capture an image comprising at least one of an eyeball transverse diameter; an eyeball anteroposterior diameter; a concavity of an optic disc; a convexity of an optic disc; optic disc elevation; an arclength of a globe; a radius of a globe; an optic nerve diameter; an optic nerve sheath diameter; a deformation, displacement or motion of an optic nerve; and corresponding frequency spectra; stiffness of the optic nerve and sheath (paragraphs [0008], [0025], referring to measuring a diameter of the optic nerve sheath; paragraph [0027], referring to the acquiring B-mode ultrasonic waves “for viewing a structure of the blood vessels…The B-mode is mainly used to obtain morphological information on a blood vessel wall or a blood vessel lumen…”, and therefore an B-mode image is necessarily acquired in order to view the morphological information).
However, Hong does not specifically disclose that the sensing probe comprises a composition adapted to conduct and receive ultrasonic waves and that the sensing probe is adapted to capture “a plurality of images in multiple planes”.
Lyon discloses an ultrasound transducer (110) to detect changes in the intracranial pressure (ICP), wherein individual images may be acquired and then integrated into a single image, wherein the depth of each image is adjusted based on time of pulse return (Abstract; column 6, line 59-column 7, line 35). The diameter of the optic nerve sheath (ONS) can be measured through the length of the ONS using the 3D model which improves the sensitivity and specificity over traditional 2D measurements (column 7, lines 33-35). Further, the system may include gels or other media for facilitating probe engagement with the subject (column 12, lines 64-67).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have the sensing probe of Hong comprise a composition adapted to conduct and receive ultrasonic waves and have the sensing probe of Hong be adapted to capture “a plurality of images in multiple planes”, as taught by Lyon, in order to improve the sensitivity and specificity of optic nerve sheath diameter measurements and to facilitate probe engagement with the subject (column 7, lines 33-35; column 12, lines 64-67).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Yost et al. (US Patent No. 6,740,048) disclose a method for determining diastolic intracranial pressure (ICP) in a patient, wherein the system includes an adjustable headband (22) with pressure pads (26, 28) positioned at either end of the headband (22), wherein mounted to the pressure pad (28) is a transducer (30) capable of transmitting and receiving acoustic signals for use in a pulse-echo measurement approach, wherein each of pressure pads (26, 28) can define a conforming pad (e.g., a gel-filled pad) to assure uniform contact with skull (10); Figure 2).
/KATHERINE L FERNANDEZ/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3798