DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
This action is in reply to the application filed on 9/9/2025.
Claims 1-21 are currently pending and have been examined.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted was on 9/9/2025. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Drawings
New corrected drawings in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in this application because FIG. 2 of the drawings are illegible and do not comply with line uniformity, density definition requirement and the use of shading standards put forth in 37 CFR 1.84 (l) and (m):
l) All drawings must be made by a process which will give them satisfactory reproduction characteristics. Every line, number, and letter must be durable, clean, black (except for color drawings), sufficiently dense and dark, and uniformly thick and well-defined. The weight of all lines and letters must be heavy enough to permit adequate reproduction. This requirement applies to all lines however fine, to shading, and to lines representing cut surfaces in sectional views. Lines and strokes of different thicknesses may be used in the same drawing where different thicknesses have a different meaning.
(m) Shading. The use of shading in views is encouraged if it aids in understanding the invention and if it does not reduce legibility. Shading is used to indicate the surface or shape of spherical, cylindrical, and conical elements of an object. Flat parts may also be lightly shaded. Such shading is preferred in the case of parts shown in perspective, but not for cross sections. See paragraph (h)(3) of this section. Spaced lines for shading are preferred. These lines must be thin, as few in number as practicable, and they must contrast with the rest of the drawings. As a substitute for shading, heavy lines on the shade side of objects can be used except where they superimpose on each other or obscure reference characters. Light should come from the upper left corner at an angle of 45°. Surface delineations should preferably be shown by proper shading. Solid black shading areas are not permitted, except when used to represent bar graphs or color.
The Examiner further notes that due the grayscale conversion process inherent in the Office's electronic application filing system, elements of FIG. 2 are rendered partially illegible which interferes with providing a clear disclosure of the invention to the public.
Applicant is advised to employ the services of a competent patent draftsperson outside the Office, as the U.S. Patent and Trademark Office no longer prepares new drawings.
Thus, new corrected drawings in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in this application for FIG. 2.
Claim Objection
Claim 12 and 14 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 12 discloses “(c) storing the image in a server along with additional patent data,” which should be written as, “(c) storing the image in a server along with additional patient data.”
Similarly, claim 14 discloses, ”wherein the image and additional patent data…” which should be written as, “wherein the image and additional patient data…”
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitations are:
“an interoperability module that is configured to adopt Fast Healthcare Interoperability Resources (FHIR) standards, in addition to HL7 and DICOM standards.in claim.”
Because this claim limitation is being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, it is being interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification as performing the claimed function, and equivalents thereof.
The Examiner has reviewed the as filed disclosure and determined the following:
Para 137 of the Applicant’s specification discloses, “an interoperability module that is configured to adopt other healthcare integration standards like Fast Healthcare Interoperability Resources (FHIR) standards, in addition to HL7 and DICOM standards.” However, there is no description of what hardware or software the interoperability module utilizes to adopt other healthcare integration standards as further addressed in the 35 U.S.C. 112(a) and 112(b) rejections below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(a)
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Original claims may lack written description when the claims define the invention in functional language specifying a desired result but the specification does not sufficiently describe how the function is performed or the result is achieved. For software, this can occur when the algorithm or steps/procedure for performing the computer function are not explained at all or are not explained in sufficient detail (simply restating the function recited in the claim is not necessarily sufficient). In other words, the algorithm or steps/procedure taken to perform the function must be described with sufficient detail so that one of ordinary skill in the art would understand how the inventor intended the function to be performed. See MPEP §§ 2163.02 and 2181, subsection IV. The level of detail required to satisfy the written description requirement varies depending on the nature and scope of the claims and on the complexity and predictability of the relevant technology. Ariad, 598 F.3d at 1351, 94 USPQ2d at 1172; Capon v. Eshhar, 418 F.3d 1349, 1357-58, 76 USPQ2d 1078, 1083-84 (Fed. Cir. 2005). Computer-implemented inventions are often disclosed and claimed in terms of their functionality. For computer-implemented inventions, the determination of the sufficiency of disclosure will require an inquiry into the sufficiency of both the disclosed hardware and the disclosed software due to the interrelationship and interdependence of computer hardware and software. The critical inquiry is whether the disclosure of the application relied upon reasonably conveys to those skilled in the art that the inventor had possession of the claimed subject matter as of the filing date. Vasudenvan Sofware, Inc. v. MicroStrategy, Inc., 782 F.3d 671, 682. 114 USPQ2d 1349, 1356 (citing Ariad Pharm., Inc. V. Eli Lilly & Co, 598 F.3d 1336, 1351, 94 USPQ2d 1161, 1172 (Fed. Cir. 2010) in the context of determining possession of a claimed means of accessing disparate databases).
Claim 10 recites, “an interoperability module that is configured to adopt Fast Healthcare Interoperability Resources (FHIR) standards, in addition to HL7 and DICOM standards.” The specification generally states in para 137, “an interoperability module that is configured to adopt other healthcare integration standards like Fast Healthcare Interoperability Resources (FHIR) standards, in addition to HL7 and DICOM standards.” However, there is no description of what hardware or software the interoperability module utilizes to adopt other healthcare integration standards. The Drawings further do not clarify if the interoperability module is merely software implemented on the computer processor claimed in independent claim 4 as the interoperability module is not shown in the drawings. The specification merely states the purpose of the interoperability module, but doesn't disclose the structure, hardware components, or software the interoperability module is comprised of. As such, the interoperability module is not sufficiently described. The broad disclosure of the result that is desired is not providing an adequate written description of the invention.
Thus, Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(b)
Claims 4-5, 8, 10, 16, 18, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim limitation, “an interoperability module that is configured to adopt Fast Healthcare Interoperability Resources (FHIR) standards, in addition to HL7 and DICOM standards,” of claim 10 invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. However, the written description fails to disclose the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the entire claimed function and to clearly link the structure, material, or acts to the function. Therefore, the claim is indefinite and is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph.
Applicant may:
(a) Amend the claim so that the claim limitation will no longer be interpreted as a limitation under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph;
(b) Amend the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites what structure, material, or acts perform the entire claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(c) Amend the written description of the specification such that it clearly links the structure, material, or acts disclosed therein to the function recited in the claim, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)).
If applicant is of the opinion that the written description of the specification already implicitly or inherently discloses the corresponding structure, material, or acts and clearly links them to the function so that one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize what structure, material, or acts perform the claimed function, applicant should clarify the record by either:
(a) Amending the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function and clearly links or associates the structure, material, or acts to the claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(b) Stating on the record what the corresponding structure, material, or acts, which are implicitly or inherently set forth in the written description of the specification, perform the claimed function. For more information, see 37 CFR 1.75(d) and MPEP §§ 608.01(o) and 2181.
Further, there is a lack of antecedent basis for the following limitations:
“the computer system” in claims 4 and 5
“wherein the user accumulates points… or a dashboard providing an overview of the user’s progression” in claim 8 where there is no clarification in independent claim 4 who the user is. The Examiner is interpreting the user as the patient based on the “progression” statement.
“the study type” of claim 16
“the OBR segment” of claim 16
“the case evaluation” in claim 18
“the study’s UID” in claim 20
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to non-statutory subject matter. The claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more. Claims 1-21 are directed to a system, method, or product which are one of the statutory categories of invention. (Step 1: YES).
Independent Claim 1 discloses a method for generating a report based on a healthcare professional's review of a diagnostic image, the method comprising the steps of: (a) obtaining, through a microphone, audio data in the form of speech in narrative form from the healthcare professional; (b) generating, through a computer processor, a transcription of the speech in narrative form; (c) translating, through a computer controlled voice recognition (VR) system, the speech in narrative form into speech suitable for a report that satisfies an industry standard; and (d) providing a report that satisfies an industry standard.
Independent Claim 4 discloses a system for providing a report based on a healthcare professional's diagnosis, the system comprising: (a) a user interface that displays a diagnostic image obtained from the body of a patient; (b) a microphone configured to capture audio data in the form of speech in narrative form from the healthcare professional based on the healthcare professional's visual observation and diagnosis of the diagnostic image; and (c) a computer processor configured to: (i) provide a transcription of the speech in voice recognition (VR) form based on the transcription speech in narrative form; (ii) associate the transcription of the speech in VR form with identifying information of the patient already stored in the system; and (iii) generate the report including the transcription of the speech in VR form and identifying information of the patient; wherein the computer system is configured to conduct steps (a) through (c) for more than one patient in parallel or contemporaneously, while interacting with a single healthcare provider.
Independent Claim 12 a method of diagnosing a medical condition in a patient, the method comprising the steps of: (a) scanning the body of the patient with an imaging apparatus; (b) generating an image based on the scan; (c) storing the image in a server along with additional patent data, wherein the image and the patient data are associated with each other in the server; (d) obtaining a diagnosis of a medical condition from a medical professional, wherein the diagnosis is in the form of speech in narrative form from the healthcare professional; and (e) translating the speech in narrative form into speech suitable for a report that satisfies an industry standard, through the application of machine learning to generate a report in written form, wherein the report also contains the additional patient data.
The examiner is interpreting the above bolded limitations as additional elements as further discussed below. The independent claims are further directed to the following abstract ideas:
In claim 1, “generating a report based on a healthcare professional's review of a diagnostic image, the method comprising the steps of: (a) obtaining… audio data in the form of speech in narrative form from the healthcare professional; (b) generating… a transcription of the speech in narrative form; (c) translating… the speech in narrative form into speech suitable for a report that satisfies an industry standard; and (d) providing a report that satisfies an industry standard”.
In claim 4, “providing a report based on a healthcare professional's diagnosis, the system comprising: (a) a diagnostic image obtained from the body of a patient; (b) audio data in the form of speech in narrative form from the healthcare professional based on the healthcare professional's visual observation and diagnosis of the diagnostic image; and (c) (i) provide a transcription of the speech in voice recognition (VR) form based on the transcription speech in narrative form; (ii) associate the transcription of the speech in VR form with identifying information of the patient already stored in the system; and (iii) generate the report including the transcription of the speech in VR form and identifying information of the patient;… conduct steps (a) through (c) for more than one patient in parallel or contemporaneously, while interacting with a single healthcare provider”.
In claim 12, “the image and the patient data are associated with each other (d) obtaining a diagnosis of a medical condition from a medical professional, wherein the diagnosis is in the form of speech in narrative form from the healthcare professional; and (e) translating the speech in narrative form into speech suitable for a report that satisfies an industry standard, to generate a report in written form, wherein the report also contains the additional patient data,” are directed to a mental process (e.g., observations, evaluations, opinions).
Further, in claim 12, “a method of diagnosing a medical condition in a patient, the method comprising the steps of: (a) scanning the body of the patient (b) generating an image based on the scan; (c) storing the image along with additional patient data, wherein the image and the patient data are associated with each other (d) obtaining a diagnosis of a medical condition from a medical professional, wherein the diagnosis is in the form of speech in narrative form from the healthcare professional; and (e) translating the speech in narrative form into speech suitable for a report that satisfies an industry standard to generate a report in written form, wherein the report also contains the additional patient data,” is further directed to rules or instructions a person or persons would follow to scan a patient to generate an image, make a diagnosis, and generate a report. These series of steps describe managing personal behavior or relationships or interactions between people and thus are grouped as certain methods of organizing human activity which is an abstract idea.
The two abstract ideas are being considered as one for further analysis below (Step 2A- Prong 1: YES. The claims are abstract).
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. Limitations that are not indicative of integration into a practical application include: (1) Adding the words “apply it” (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception, or mere instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely uses a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea (MPEP 2106.05.f), (2) Adding insignificant extra- solution activity to the judicial exception (MPEP 2106.05.g), (3) Generally linking the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use (MPEP 2106.05.h).
Independent Claim 1 discloses the following additional elements:
A microphone
A computer processor
A computer controlled voice recognition (VR) system
Independent Claim 4 discloses the following additional elements:
A user interface
A microphone
A computer processor
A computer system
Independent Claim 12 discloses the following additional elements:
An imaging apparatus
A server
The application of machine learning
In particular, the microphone, computer processor, computer controlled voice recognition (VR) system (of claim 1), the user interface, microphone, computer processor, and the computer system (of claim 4), and the imaging apparatus, server, and the application of machine learning (of claim 12) are recited at a high-level of generality such that it amounts to no more than mere instructions to implement an abstract idea by adding the words ‘apply it’ (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception. Accordingly, these additional elements, when considered separately and as an ordered combination, do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because they do not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea.
Accordingly, claim(s) 1, 4, and 12 are directed to an abstract idea(s) without a practical application. (Step 2A-Prong 2: NO: the additional claimed elements are not integrated into a practical application).
The claims do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. The claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. As discussed above with respect to integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, the additional elements of the microphone, computer processor, computer controlled voice recognition (VR) system (of claim 1), the user interface, microphone, computer processor, and the computer system (of claim 4), and the imaging apparatus, server, and the application of machine learning (of claim 12) amounts to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component. Mere instructions to apply an exception using a generic computer component cannot provide an inventive concept ("significantly more’). MPEP2106.05(I)(A) indicates that merely saying "apply it” or equivalent to the abstract idea cannot provide an inventive concept ("significantly more").
Thus, these additional elements, even in combination, do not provide an inventive concept ("significantly more"). As such the independent claims 1, 4, and 12 are not patent eligible. (Step 2B: NO. The claims do not provide significantly more).
Dependent claim(s) 2-3, 5-11, and 13-21 are similarly rejected because they either further define/narrow the abstract idea and/or do not further limit the claim to a practical application or provide an inventive concept such that the claims are subject matter eligible even when considered individually or as an ordered combination.
Dependent claims 2, 6, 8, 13, 17-18, and 20-21 do not introduce any further additional elements and further narrow the abstract idea set forth in the independent claims upon which they depend on.
Dependent claim 3 further narrows the additional elements set forth in the independent claims upon which they depend on, the diagnostic image being specified as a DICOM image file (of claim 3).
Dependent claims 5, 9-11, 14-16, and 19 do further disclose the additional element(s) of “wherein the computer system includes parallel viewing software (PVS) and an integrated generative A.I., LLM-based application programming interface (API),” (of claim 5), A.I model refinement or fine-tuning (of claim 7), “one or more of … a dynamic user interface (UI); … drag and drop functionality; or an advanced user interface (UI) option,” (of claim 9), an interoperability module (of claim 10), an image analysis module that utilizes a Large Language Module (LLM) (of claim 11), “caching the report and a subsequent report generated by the same healthcare provider for a different patient or different procedure, wherein the image and additional patient data are interpreted directly through LLMs and AI without data parsing from a DICOM tag,” (of claim 14), “wherein image interpretation is achieved without real-time computations, reducing computational inefficiencies,” (of claim 15), LLMs/AI (of claim 16), an integrated DICOM Listener/Processor (of claim 19).
In particular, “wherein the computer system includes parallel viewing software (PVS) and an integrated generative A.I., LLM-based application programming interface (API),” (of claim 5), A.I model refinement or fine-tuning (of claim 7), “one or more of … a dynamic user interface (UI); … drag and drop functionality; or an advanced user interface (UI) option,” (of claim 9), an interoperability module (of claim 10), an image analysis module that utilizes a Large Language Module (LLM) (of claim 11), “caching the report and a subsequent report generated by the same healthcare provider for a different patient or different procedure, wherein the image and additional patient data are interpreted directly through LLMs and AI without data parsing from a DICOM tag,” (of claim 14), “wherein image interpretation is achieved without real-time computations, reducing computational inefficiencies,” (of claim 15), LLMs/AI (of claim 16), an integrated DICOM Listener/Processor (of claim 19) are recited at a high-level of generality such that it amounts to no more than mere instructions to implement an abstract idea by adding the words ‘apply it’ (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception.
Specifically, in regard to the additional elements of claim 15, “wherein image interpretation is achieved without real-time computations, reducing computational inefficiencies,” see MPEP 2106.05(f)(1) which recites, “Whether the claim recites only the idea of a solution or outcome i.e., the claim fails to recite details of how a solution to a problem is accomplished. The recitation of claim limitations that attempt to cover any solution to an identified problem with no restriction on how the result is accomplished and no description of the mechanism for accomplishing the result, does not integrate a judicial exception into a practical application or provide significantly more because this type of recitation is equivalent to the words "apply it". See Electric Power Group, LLC v. Alstom, S.A., 830 F.3d 1350, 1356, 119 USPQ2d 1739, 1743-44 (Fed. Cir. 2016); Intellectual Ventures I v. Symantec, 838 F.3d 1307, 1327, 120 USPQ2d 1353, 1366 (Fed. Cir. 2016); Internet Patents Corp. v. Active Network, Inc., 790 F.3d 1343, 1348, 115 USPQ2d 1414, 1417 (Fed. Cir. 2015).” The “reducing computational inefficiencies,” is merely reciting the idea of a solution or outcome without reciting details of the mechanism for accomplishing the result. For example, there is no description, in the claims or in the specification, of an improvement to a computer or other technology that would result in “reducing computational inefficiencies.”
Accordingly, these additional elements, when considered separately and as an ordered combination, do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because they do not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea.
Accordingly, even in combination, these additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application.
The dependent claims do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. The dependent claims do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. As discussed above with respect to integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, the additional elements of the “wherein the computer system includes parallel viewing software (PVS) and an integrated generative A.I., LLM-based application programming interface (API),” (of claim 5), A.I model refinement or fine-tuning (of claim 7), “one or more of … a dynamic user interface (UI); … drag and drop functionality; or an advanced user interface (UI) option,” (of claim 9), an interoperability module (of claim 10), an image analysis module that utilizes a Large Language Module (LLM) (of claim 11), “caching the report and a subsequent report generated by the same healthcare provider for a different patient or different procedure, wherein the image and additional patient data are interpreted directly through LLMs and AI without data parsing from a DICOM tag,” (of claim 14), “wherein image interpretation is achieved without real-time computations, reducing computational inefficiencies,” (of claim 15), LLMs/AI (of claim 16), an integrated DICOM Listener/Processor (of claim 19) amounts to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component. Mere instructions to apply an exception using a generic computer component cannot provide an inventive concept ("significantly more’). MPEP2106.05(I)(A) indicates that merely saying "apply it” or equivalent to the abstract idea cannot provide an inventive concept ("significantly more").
Therefore, the dependent claims are also directed to an abstract idea.
Thus, Claims 1-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 as being directed to non-statutory subject matter.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3 and 12-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Martinez (US PG Pub 2022/0147703 A1) in view of Gong (US PG Pub 20200351323A1)
Regarding Claim 1, Martinez discloses:
A method for generating a report… the method comprising the steps of:
(a) obtaining, through a microphone, audio data in the form of speech in narrative form from the healthcare professional; (b) generating, through a computer processor, a transcription of the speech in narrative form; (Para 31 discloses raw text in these examples is defined as text generated from raw natural language processing of voice input that was spoken directly into and captured by a microphone or other audio capture input mechanism which is converted by a speech recognition application executing at the one of the client devices 16(1)-16(n) to the raw text with no additional word processing done on this input [transcription of the speech in narrative form].
(c) translating, through a computer controlled voice recognition (VR) system, the speech in narrative form into speech suitable for a report that satisfies an industry standard; and (d) providing a report that satisfies an industry standard. (Abstract discloses at least one of a plurality of clinical structured report templates are identified based on the identified one or more keywords or phrases correlated to medical examination data points associated with each of the templates. A clinical structured report is automatically prepared based on the identified clinical structured report templates without a non-voice input and without an explicit separate voice command directed to manage a report generation operation. The clinical structured report includes modifications to the clinical structured report template based on the identified one or more keywords or phrases. The clinical structured report is provided to the client. Paras 30-31 disclose this technology provides a number of advantages including providing an intelligent automated voice activated clinical reporting system that eliminates the need for separate mouse, keyboard, and microphone and ‘tab+command’ systems or without additional separate explicit voice commands as input mechanisms to accurately generate clinical structured reports. As illustrated by way of example herein, this technology advantageously relies solely on voice recognition without separate explicit voice commands, which eliminates the need and inconvenience of using other input mechanisms. Raw text in these examples is defined as text generated from raw natural language processing of voice input that was spoken directly into and captured by a microphone or other audio capture input mechanism which is converted by a speech recognition application executing at the one of the client devices 16(1)-16(n) to the raw text with no additional word processing done on this input. As illustrated and described by way of the examples herein, the voice activated clinical structured reporting device 12 manages and manipulates text for the purposes of generation of a structured report including by way of example template identification, template formatting, internal and external content processing and retrieval as needed, and navigation by way of example. Para 66 discloses Alternately, Impressions may be pre-defined by professional societies and entered automatically based on categories of findings by the smart engine 34 implementing the report primer module 40 in the voice activated clinical structured reporting device 12 from, for example, one of the medical server devices 14(1)-14(n). Examples of these are the thyroid TI-RADS protocol and the COVID19 protocol as jointly defined by the American College of Radiology (ACR)/Radiological Society of North America (RSNA). In these cases, the voice activated clinical structured reporting device 12 matches the category of findings to the pre-defined diagnosis for the patient and enters it automatically in the Impressions text box.)
While Martinez discloses the above limitations, it does not fully disclose the following limitations that Gong discloses:
based on a healthcare professional's review of a diagnostic image, (Para 131 discloses a medical imaging process (such as an MRI, X-ray, etc.) may create a high resolution medical imaging file 1502. A medical professional 1504, such as a doctor, surgeon, medical assistant, etc., may review the medical imaging file 1502 in order to provide an opinion on what is shown in the medical imaging file 1502. During such a review, the medical professional 1504 may create a notes file 1506. The notes file 1506 may be a text document including written or textual notes, the notes file 1506 may be an audio dictation where the medical professional's speech is recorded, or other means of storing the medical professional's notes.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the report generation as taught by Martinez with the medical imaging review as taught by Gong by substituting the image and audio as taught by Martinez with the medical image and the audio recorded as a review as taught by Gong in order to store image data, audio data, text data, radiology system data in such a way for professionals to have all relevant information before them.
Regarding Claim 2, this claim recites the limitations of Claim 1 and as to those limitations is rejected for the same basis and reasons as disclosed above. Further, Gong discloses:
The method of claim 1, wherein steps (a) through (d) are accomplished in parallel over 2 or more diagnostic images using the same computer processor. (Para 131 discloses a medical imaging process (such as an MRI, X-ray, etc.) may create a high resolution medical imaging file 1502. A medical professional 1504, such as a doctor, surgeon, medical assistant, etc., may review the medical imaging file 1502 in order to provide an opinion on what is shown in the medical imaging file 1502. During such a review, the medical professional 1504 may create a notes file 1506. The notes file 1506 may be a text document including written or textual notes, the notes file 1506 may be an audio dictation where the medical professional's speech is recorded, or other means of storing the medical professional's notes. Para 136 discloses a plurality of image files associated with an audio file. A first image file 1702 is associated with a first audio file 1704, a second image file 1706 is associated with a second audio file 1708, and an nth image file 1710 is shown associated with an nth audio file 1712. The plurality of image and audio files are processed by a CHM encoder 1714 to create a plurality of CHM files, each of the plurality of CHM files created from an image file and its associated audio file. Para 197 discloses the process 4100 begins at block 4102. At block 4102, a CHIF encoder receives a plurality of data. At block 4104, the CHIF encoder or another process indexes the plurality of data. For example, the CHIF encoder can parse text data included in the plurality of data to look for keywords such as “diagnosis,” “osteoporosis,” “heart disease,” or any other keywords, or other information such as patient names and other data. In some embodiments, audio data can be analyzed to recognize keywords, which can be added in text form in the index file. In some embodiments, radiology images can be scanned for attribute information such as DICOM attributes, and keywords or other information relating to the attributes can be added to the index file. In this way, a searchable index file is provided that allows for CHIF files relating to certain content, patients, etc., to be searchable on a server or other storage location.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the report generation as taught by Martinez with the medical imaging review as taught by Gong in order to store image data, audio data, text data, radiology system data in such a way for professionals to have all relevant information before them.
Regarding Claim 3, this claim recites the limitations of Claim 1 and as to those limitations is rejected for the same basis and reasons as disclosed above. Further, Gong discloses:
The method of claim 1, wherein the diagnostic image is a DICOM image file. (Paras 174-180 disclose For instance, as illustrated in FIG. 35, first image/video data and metadata 3514 can be extracted from a DICOM system and provided to the CHIF encoder 3510. The first image/video data and metadata 3514 can include patient radiology image/video data and its associated metadata, and other patient data. Additionally, second image/video data and metadata 3516 can be extracted from DICOM imaging modalities 3518, such as via a DICOM protocol, and provided to the CHIF encoder 3510, as illustrated in FIG. 35. DICOM imaging modalities can include data objects that include a number of attributes, such as a name, an identifier (ID), image pixel data, DICOM modalities, and other information. DICOM modalities can include various information or attributes known to those skilled in the art that pertain to, and designate, the types of DICOM information, such as autorefraction (AR), content assessment results (ASMT), audio (AU), document (DOC), digital radiography (DX), electrocardiography (ECG), endoscopy (ES), panoramic X-Ray (PX), slide microscopy (SM), and many others. Para 197 discloses In some embodiments, radiology images can be scanned for attribute information such as DICOM attributes, and keywords or other information relating to the attributes can be added to the index file.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the report generation as taught by Martinez with the medical imaging review as taught by Gong in order to store image data, audio data, text data, radiology system data (as such, DICOM attributes of radiology images) in such a way for professionals to have all relevant information before them.
Regarding Claim 12, Martinez discloses:
A method of diagnosing a medical condition in a patient, the method comprising the steps of:
(d) obtaining a diagnosis of a medical condition from a medical professional, wherein the diagnosis is in the form of speech in narrative form from the healthcare professional; and ((Para 66 discloses the Impressions section in the left panel in FIG. 6 are the diagnostic interpretation of the exam information documented in the structured report template. Impressions entered by way of the voice input captured by the one of the client devices 16(1)-16(n) and converted to raw text and then analyzed by the input module 32 of the voice activated clinical structured reporting device 12 to identify one or more keywords or phrase may be variable based on the clinical interpretation of the report template information.)
(e) translating the speech in narrative form into speech suitable for a report that satisfies an industry standard, through the application of machine learning to generate a report in written form, wherein the report also contains the additional patient data. (Abstract discloses at least one of a plurality of clinical structured report templates are identified based on the identified one or more keywords or phrases correlated to medical examination data points associated with each of the templates. A clinical structured report is automatically prepared based on the identified clinical structured report templates without a non-voice input and without an explicit separate voice command directed to manage a report generation operation. The clinical structured report includes modifications to the clinical structured report template based on the identified one or more keywords or phrases. The clinical structured report is provided to the client. Paras 30-31 disclose this technology provides a number of advantages including providing an intelligent automated voice activated clinical reporting system that eliminates the need for separate mouse, keyboard, and microphone and ‘tab+command’ systems or without additional separate explicit voice commands as input mechanisms to accurately generate clinical structured reports. As illustrated by way of example herein, this technology advantageously relies solely on voice recognition without separate explicit voice commands, which eliminates the need and inconvenience of using other input mechanisms. Raw text in these examples is defined as text generated from raw natural language processing of voice input that was spoken directly into and captured by a microphone or other audio capture input mechanism which is converted by a speech recognition application executing at the one of the client devices 16(1)-16(n) to the raw text with no additional word processing done on this input. As illustrated and described by way of the examples herein, the voice activated clinical structured reporting device 12 manages and manipulates text for the purposes of generation of a structured report including by way of example template identification, template formatting, internal and external content processing and retrieval as needed, and navigation by way of example. Para 66 discloses Alternately, Impressions may be pre-defined by professional societies and entered automatically based on categories of findings by the smart engine 34 implementing the report primer module 40 in the voice activated clinical structured reporting device 12 from, for example, one of the medical server devices 14(1)-14(n). Examples of these are the thyroid TI-RADS protocol and the COVID19 protocol as jointly defined by the American College of Radiology (ACR)/Radiological Society of North America (RSNA). In these cases, the voice activated clinical structured reporting device 12 matches the category of findings to the pre-defined diagnosis for the patient and enters it automatically in the Impressions text box.)
While Martinez discloses the above limitations, it does not fully disclose the following limitations that Gong discloses:
(a) scanning the body of the patient with an imaging apparatus; (b) generating an image based on the scan; (Para 131 discloses a medical imaging process (such as an MRI, X-ray, etc.) may create a high resolution medical imaging file 1502. A medical professional 1504, such as a doctor, surgeon, medical assistant, etc., may review the medical imaging file 1502 in order to provide an opinion on what is shown in the medical imaging file 1502.)
(c) storing the image in a server along with additional patent data, wherein the image and the patient data are associated with each other in the server; (Para 186 discloses at block 3704, the CHIF encoder combines the data from the plurality of data types into a single CHIF file and assigns a UUID to the CHIF file. At block 3706, the CHIF file is transmitted to a server for storage. Para 282 discloses initial patient diagnostic information can be recorded in a first CHIF file, and further patient testing can be recorded in subsequent CHIF files, which are all stored upon creation in a binder file, such that all diagnostic information on a patient is stored together.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the report generation as taught by Martinez with the medical imaging review as taught by Gong by substituting the image and audio as taught by Martinez with the medical image and the audio recorded as a review as taught by Gong in order to store image data, audio data, text data, radiology system data in such a way for professionals to have all relevant information before them.
Regarding Claim 13, this claim recites the limitations of Claim 12 and as to those limitations is rejected for the same basis and reasons as disclosed above. Further, Martinez discloses:
The method of claim 12, wherein the translating step is accomplished in a manner that satisfies an industry standard without the need for additional revision or editing. (Para 66 discloses Alternately, Impressions may be pre-defined by professional societies and entered automatically based on categories of findings by the smart engine 34 implementing the report primer module 40 in the voice activated clinical structured reporting device 12 from, for example, one of the medical server devices 14(1)-14(n). Examples of these are the thyroid TI-RADS protocol and the COVID19 protocol as jointly defined by the American College of Radiology (ACR)/Radiological Society of North America (RSNA). In these cases, the voice activated clinical structured reporting device 12 matches the category of findings to the pre-defined diagnosis for the patient and enters it automatically in the Impressions text box. Para 73 discloses certain macro operations executed by the macros module 48 implemented by the smart engine 34 of the voice activated clinical structured reporting device 12 may be set to relate to externally defined reporting protocols, such as the ACR/RSNA TI-RADS and COVID19 reporting guidelines (discussed earlier) where Findings and Impressions are automatically linked by the guideline reporting protocols to control generation of the clinical structured report.)
Claim(s) 4 and 6-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Martinez (US PG Pub 2022/0147703 A1) in view of Gong (US PG Pub 20200351323A1) further in view of Chen (KR 20200003407 A).
Regarding Claim 4, Martinez discloses:
A system for providing a report based on a healthcare professional's diagnosis, the system comprising: (Para 66 discloses the Impressions section in the left panel in FIG. 6 are the diagnostic interpretation of the exam information documented in the structured report template.)
(b) a microphone configured to capture audio data in the form of speech in narrative form from the healthcare professional… (Para 31 discloses raw text in these examples is defined as text generated from raw natural language processing of voice input that was spoken directly into and captured by a microphone or other audio capture input mechanism which is converted by a speech recognition application executing at the one of the client devices 16(1)-16(n) to the raw text with no additional word processing done on this input [transcription of the speech in narrative form].)
(c) a computer processor configured to: (i) provide a transcription of the speech in voice recognition (VR) form based on the transcription speech in narrative form; (Abstract discloses at least one of a plurality of clinical structured report templates are identified based on the identified one or more keywords or phrases correlated to medical examination data points associated with each of the templates. A clinical structured report is automatically prepared based on the identified clinical structured report templates without a non-voice input and without an explicit separate voice command directed to manage a report generation operation. The clinical structured report includes modifications to the clinical structured report template based on the identified one or more keywords or phrases. The clinical structured report is provided to the client. Paras 30-31 disclose this technology provides a number of advantages including providing an intelligent automated voice activated clinical reporting system that eliminates the need for separate mouse, keyboard, and microphone and ‘tab+command’ systems or without additional separate explicit voice commands as input mechanisms to accurately generate clinical structured reports. As illustrated by way of example herein, this technology advantageously relies solely on voice recognition without separate explicit voice commands, which eliminates the need and inconvenience of using other input mechanisms. Raw text in these examples is defined as text generated from raw natural language processing of voice input that was spoken directly into and captured by a microphone or other audio capture input mechanism which is converted by a speech recognition application executing at the one of the client devices 16(1)-16(n) to the raw text with no additional word processing done on this input. As illustrated and described by way of the examples herein, the voice activated clinical structured reporting device 12 manages and manipulates text for the purposes of generation of a structured report including by way of example template identification, template formatting, internal and external content processing and retrieval as needed, and navigation by way of example.
(iii) generate the report including the transcription of the speech in VR form and identifying information of the patient; (Para 31 discloses raw text in these examples is defined as text generated from raw natural language processing of voice input that was spoken directly into and captured by a microphone or other audio capture input mechanism which is converted by a speech recognition application executing at the one of the client devices 16(1)-16(n) to the raw text with no additional word processing done on this input. As illustrated and described by way of the examples herein, the voice activated clinical structured reporting device 12 manages and manipulates text for the purposes of generation of a structured report including by way of example template identification, template formatting, internal and external content processing and retrieval as needed, and navigation by way of example. Para 53 discloses the patient for whom the clinical structured report is being prepared is typically selected by the user at one of the client devices 16(1)-16(n) from a list of patient names for whom exam or procedure structured reports must be prepared and this selection can be made in a number of different manners, including by voice input converted to raw text, such as starting to speak to prepare the clinical structured report and naming the patient whose background information is then obtained based on natural language processing of the raw text without requiring an explicit voice command for searching for and retrieving the patient information by way of example. In some examples, patient names are added to the list in the form of an ‘order’ or request by the facility IT system via standard communications protocols from which natural language processing of the raw text without requiring an explicit voice command. An order may by way of example be one or more of the following: exam type, exam code identifier, patient name, medical record number, PACs study identifier, demographic information, age, gender, referring physician, etc. by way of example.
While Martinez discloses the above limitations, it does not fully disclose obtaining audio “based on the healthcare professional’s visual observation and diagnosis of the diagnostic image” nor “identifying information of a patient already stored in the system,” as Gong discloses:
(a) a user interface that displays a diagnostic image obtained from the body of a patient; (b) … audio data in the form of speech in narrative form from the healthcare professional based on the healthcare professional's visual observation and diagnosis of the diagnostic image; and (Para 131 discloses Referring now to FIG. 15, there is illustrated a medical imaging and dictation CHM file creation system 1500 in accordance with various embodiments of the present disclosure. A medical imaging process (such as an MRI, X-ray, etc.) may create a high resolution medical imaging file 1502. A medical professional 1504, such as a doctor, surgeon, medical assistant, etc., may review the medical imaging file 1502 in order to provide an opinion on what is shown in the medical imaging file 1502. During such a review, the medical professional 1504 may create a notes file 1506. The notes file 1506 may be a text document including written or textual notes, the notes file 1506 may be an audio dictation where the medical professional's speech is recorded, or other means of storing the medical professional's notes. Once the notes file is created, the medical imaging file 1502 and the notes file 1506 are provided to a CHM encoder 1508.)
(ii) associate the transcription of the speech in VR form with identifying information of the patient already stored in the system; and (Para 174 discloses the CHIF encoder 3510 can also be provided with reports 3520, such as doctor audio dictations, dictation transcriptions, written reports, annotations, lab reports, radiology reports, patient information documents, and any other information the medical organization wishes to include in the CHIF file.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the report generation as taught by Martinez with the medical imaging review as taught by Gong by substituting the image and audio as taught by Martinez with the medical image and the audio recorded as a review as taught by Gong in order to store image data, audio data, text data, radiology system data in such a way for professionals to have all relevant information before them.
While the combination of Martinez and Gong discloses steps (a) through (c) as presented above, the combination does not fully disclose conducting the steps, “for more than one patient in parallel or contemporaneously, while interacting with a single healthcare provider,” as Chen discloses:
wherein the computer system is configured to conduct steps [(a) through (c)] for more than one patient in parallel or contemporaneously, while interacting with a single healthcare provider. (Page 10, paragraph 3 discloses steps a), b), c) and d) are performed in real time on multiple patients simultaneously from multiple input electronic health records. Healthcare providers who care for two or more of the many patients receive data generated in real time for two or more patients, thereby assisting the healthcare provider in caring for two or more patients at the same time, based on each prediction. Allows prioritization of patient care for two or more patients.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of the report generation as taught by Martinez and the medical imaging review as taught by Gong with the systems and methods for predicting and summarizing medical events from electronic health records as taught by Chen in order to assist the healthcare provider in caring for two or more patients at the same time.
Regarding Claim 6, this claim recites the limitations of Claim 4 and as to those limitations is rejected for the same basis and reasons as disclosed above. Further, Martinez discloses:
The system of claim 4, wherein the computer processor is configured to provide the report that satisfies an industry standard without the need for additional revision or editing. (Para 66 discloses Alternately, Impressions may be pre-defined by professional societies and entered automatically based on categories of findings by the smart engine 34 implementing the report primer module 40 in the voice activated clinical structured reporting device 12 from, for example, one of the medical server devices 14(1)-14(n). Examples of these are the thyroid TI-RADS protocol and the COVID19 protocol as jointly defined by the American College of Radiology (ACR)/Radiological Society of North America (RSNA). In these cases, the voice activated clinical structured reporting device 12 matches the category of findings to the pre-defined diagnosis for the patient and enters it automatically in the Impressions text box. Para 73 discloses certain macro operations executed by the macros module 48 implemented by the smart engine 34 of the voice activated clinical structured reporting device 12 may be set to relate to externally defined reporting protocols, such as the ACR/RSNA TI-RADS and COVID19 reporting guidelines (discussed earlier) where Findings and Impressions are automatically linked by the guideline reporting protocols to control generation of the clinical structured report.)
Regarding Claim 7, this claim recites the limitations of Claim 4 and as to those limitations is rejected for the same basis and reasons as disclosed above. Further, Martinez discloses:
The system of claim 4, further comprising A.I. model refinement or fine-tuning of one or more elements of the report. (Para 90 discloses the smart engine 32 may also comprise artificial intelligence which is trained based on the generation of prior clinical structured reports in different contexts along with corrective feedback to implement the generation of this report automatically without other input mechanisms and in some examples without additional explicit voice commands for particular operations.)
Regarding Claim 8, this claim recites the limitations of Claim 4 and as to those limitations is rejected for the same basis and reasons as disclosed above. Further, Martinez discloses:
The system of claim 4, further comprising a gamification element comprising one or more of the following: a feature wherein the user accumulates points through interactions; or a dashboard providing an overview of the user's progression. (Para 56 discloses referring to FIG. 8, the exemplary middle navigation panel has a: home tab that enables navigation to a system home page; patient record tab that navigates the user at one of the client devices 16(1)-16(n) to a patient record page to allow access to other reports [overview of user’s progression]; show priors tab that displays a list of selectable prior reports which may be viewed as a pop-up in the current template display and closed on command with only prior exams of same type as the current report being viewed)
Regarding Claim 9, this claim recites the limitations of Claim 4 and as to those limitations is rejected for the same basis and reasons as disclosed above. Further, Martinez discloses:
The system of claim 4, further comprising one or more of the following: a dynamic user interface (UI); text formatting options for the report; drag and drop functionality; or an advanced user interface (UI) option. (Para 31 discloses as illustrated and described by way of the examples herein, the voice activated clinical structured reporting device 12 manages and manipulates text for the purposes of generation of a structured report including by way of example template identification, template formatting [text formatting options for the report], internal and external content processing and retrieval as needed, and navigation by way of example.)
Claim(s) 5, 11, 14, and 16-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Martinez (US PG Pub 2022/0147703 A1) in view of Gong (US PG Pub 20200351323A1) further in view of Menon (Visual Classification Via Description From Large Language Models).
Regarding Claim 5, this claim recites the limitations of Claim 4 and as to those limitations is rejected for the same basis and reasons as disclosed above. The combination of Martinez and Gong discloses the following limitation that Gong further discloses:
The system of claim 4, wherein the computer system includes parallel viewing software (PVS) (Paras 364-365 discloses In one or more of the above examples, the at least one processor is further configured to receive from the client device a request to use a viewing portal to view the plurality of data of the one or more content types, decode, by the decoder, the combined file, wherein the decoder is stored in association with a storage location, provide the plurality of data of the one or more content types to a viewer application, and transmit, via the viewer application, a simultaneous output of the plurality of data of the one or more content types to the client device)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the report generation as taught by Martinez with the medical imaging review as taught by Gong in order to allows a professional to view a plurality of data on a client device so professionals can have all relevant information before them.
While the combination of Martinez and Gong discloses the above limitation, it does not fully disclose the following limitation that Menon discloses:
and an integrated generative A.I., LLM-based application programming interface (API). (2.2 discloses we propose to automatically construct this set by prompting a large language model, such as GPT-3, to describe the visual features that distinguish that object category in a photograph. We prompt the language model with the input: Q: What are useful features for distinguishing a {category name} in a photo? A: There are several useful visual features to tell there is a {category name} in a photo: where {category name} is substituted for a given c.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of the report generation as taught by Martinez and the medical imaging review as taught by Gong with the visual classification via description from large language models in order to utilize generative AI and large language model for image analysis and interpretation in order to recognize concepts unseen during training and to increase the accuracy of the image analysis and interpretation.
Regarding Claim 11, this claim recites the limitations of Claim 4 and as to those limitations is rejected for the same basis and reasons as disclosed above. The combination of Martinez and Gong does not fully disclose the following limitation that Menon discloses:
The system of claim 4, comprising an image analysis module that utilizes a Large Language Module (LLM). (2.2 discloses we propose to automatically construct this set by prompting a large language model, such as GPT-3, to describe the visual features that distinguish that object category in a photograph. We prompt the language model with the input: Q: What are useful features for distinguishing a {category name} in a photo? A: There are several useful visual features to tell there is a {category name} in a photo: where {category name} is substituted for a given c.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of the report generation as taught by Martinez and the medical imaging review as taught by Gong with the visual classification via description from large language models in order to utilize generative AI and large language model for image analysis and interpretation in order to recognize concepts unseen during training and to increase the accuracy of the image analysis and interpretation.
Regarding Claim 14, this claim recites the limitations of Claim 12 and as to those limitations is rejected for the same basis and reasons as disclosed above. The combination of Martinez and Gong discloses the following limitation that Gong further discloses:
The method of claim 12, further comprising the step of caching the report and a subsequent report generated by the same healthcare provider for a different patient or different procedure, (Para 177 discloses Additionally, during an imaging session such as an X-Ray or MRI session, there may be dozens or even hundreds of images recorded. However, a doctor or other qualified medical professional may only want to focus on a certain few relevant images in studying a patient complaint, and may only refer to these certain images in a related report, audio or textual dictation, notes, or other document types. Instead of a medical professional being required to sift through all images stored in a system, such as a DICOM system, only these certain images used in understanding the patient's complaint or status can be provided to the CHIF encoder 3510 along with the accompanying reports, notes, dictations, etc., such that, upon later review of the contents of the CHIF file, the CHIF file provides only the relevant information used in reaching a conclusion or diagnosis of the patient. Additionally, reducing the number of images or other content to include in the CHIF file provides for a smaller-sized CHIF file that can be more easily transmitted within or across organizations. Para 304 discloses The operating system, as well as other instructions, may be stored in the memory unit 6504 and executed by the processor 6502. For example, the memory unit 6504 may include instructions for performing some or all of the methods described herein. These instructions may reside within an application 6518. The application 6518 may also include an application programming interface (API) 6520. Paras 364-365 disclose In one or more of the above examples, the at least one processor is further configured to receive from the client device a request to use a viewing portal to view the plurality of data of the one or more content types, decode, by the decoder, the combined file, wherein the decoder is stored in association with a storage location, provide the plurality of data of the one or more content types to a viewer application, and transmit, via the viewer application, a simultaneous output of the plurality of data of the one or more content types to the client device.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the report generation as taught by Martinez with the medical imaging review as taught by Gong in order to store image data, audio data, text data, radiology system data in such a way for professionals to have all relevant information before them.
While the combination of Martinez and Gong discloses the above limitation, it does not fully disclose the following limitation that Menon discloses:
wherein the image and additional patent data are interpreted directly through LLMs and A.I. without data parsing from a DICOM tag. (We propose to automatically construct this set by prompting a large language model, such as GPT-3, to describe the visual features that distinguish that object category in a photograph. We prompt the language model with the input: Q: What are useful features for distinguishing a {category name} in a photo? A: There are several useful visual features to tell there is a {category name} in a photo: where {category name} is substituted for a given c.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of the report generation as taught by Martinez and the medical imaging review as taught by Gong with the visual classification via description from large language models in order to utilize generative AI and large language model for image analysis and interpretation in order to recognize concepts unseen during training and to increase the accuracy of the image analysis and interpretation.
Regarding Claim 16, this claim recites the limitations of Claim 14 and as to those limitations is rejected for the same basis and reasons as disclosed above. Further, Gong discloses:
The method of claim 14, wherein the LLMs/AI discerns the study type through the Study Description DICOM tag, or by detecting study-related information from the OBR segment in HL7 (Para 22 discloses In another aspect, an electronic device includes a memory, and at least one processor coupled to the memory. The at least one processor is configured to receive a combined file created by an encoder, wherein the combined file includes metadata and an image associated with a plurality of data of one or more content types, feed at least one of the plurality of data into at least one artificial intelligence model, receive one or more outputs from the at least one artificial intelligence model, create an enriched combined file by modifying the metadata of the combined file based on at least a portion of the one or more outputs from the at least one artificial intelligence model, and perform on the enriched combined file at least one of: analytics, indexing, or object recognition. Paras 174-180 disclose second image/video data and metadata 3516 can be extracted from DICOM imaging modalities 3518, such as via a DICOM protocol, and provided to the CHIF encoder 3510, as illustrated in FIG. 35. DICOM imaging modalities can include data objects that include a number of attributes, such as a name, an identifier (ID), image pixel data, DICOM modalities, and other information. DICOM modalities can include various information or attributes known to those skilled in the art that pertain to, and designate, the types of DICOM information, such as autorefraction (AR), content assessment results (ASMT), audio (AU), document (DOC), digital radiography (DX), electrocardiography (ECG), endoscopy (ES), panoramic X-Ray (PX), slide microscopy (SM), and many others.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the report generation as taught by Martinez with the medical imaging review as taught by Gong in order to store image data, audio data, text data, radiology system data (and as such DICOM attributes of radiology images) in such a way for professionals to have all relevant information before them.
Regarding Claim 17, this claim recites the limitations of Claim 14 and as to those limitations is rejected for the same basis and reasons as disclosed above. Further, Gong discloses:
The method of claim 14, wherein the report generation is triggered by the detection of particular DICOM criteria, including but not limited to Key Object Selection Document, Modality, SOP Class UID, Content Sequence, Concept Name Code Sequence, or the absence or presence of Pixel Data. (Paras 174-185 disclose the first image/video data and metadata 3514 can include patient radiology image/video data and its associated metadata, and other patient data. Additionally, second image/video data and metadata 3516 can be extracted from DICOM imaging modalities 3518, such as via a DICOM protocol, and provided to the CHIF encoder 3510, as illustrated in FIG. 35. DICOM imaging modalities can include data objects that include a number of attributes, such as a name, an identifier (ID), image pixel data, DICOM modalities, and other information. DICOM modalities can include various information or attributes known to those skilled in the art that pertain to, and designate, the types of DICOM information, such as autorefraction (AR), content assessment results (ASMT), audio (AU), document (DOC), digital radiography (DX), electrocardiography (ECG), endoscopy (ES), panoramic X-Ray (PX), slide microscopy (SM), and many others. The CHIF encoder 3510 can also be provided with reports 3520, such as doctor audio dictations, dictation transcriptions, written reports, annotations, lab reports, radiology reports, patient information documents, and any other information the medical organization wishes to include in the CHIF file. Paras 224-226 disclose The system 4600 provides for a means to further enrich the metadata with contextual information for the content 4606 of the CHIF file 4602. The content 4606 of the CHIF file 4602 can be decoded or extracted from the CHIF file 4602 and processed through one or more specialized artificial intelligence models 4616, to tag and/or label, or otherwise provide information concerning, the content 4606. For example, the audio 4610 can be processed by a various artificial intelligence models 4616 trained for detecting various properties of audio files, such as mood (emotion in voice or mood of a song, etc.), transcription of audio into text, song detail detection (artist, song name, etc.), or other data can be derived from the audio 4610 by the one or more of specialized artificial intelligence models 4616. In some embodiments, transcriptions of audio can be stored as extra text content in the content 4606 of the CHIF file 4602. Other content types such as the text 4612 and the other information 4614 can be processed in this way as well. For instance, the text 4612 in the CHIF file 4602 can be processed by the specialized AI models 4616 trained to extract keywords from text while removing other, non-critical words (article adjectives, proposition, etc.), the text 4612 can be translated by the specialized AI models 4616 into another language, etc.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the report generation as taught by Martinez with the medical imaging review as taught by Gong in order to store image data, audio data, text data, radiology system data (DICOM attributes from radiology images) in such a way for professionals to have all relevant information before them.
Regarding Claim 18, this claim recites the limitations of Claim 14 and as to those limitations is rejected for the same basis and reasons as disclosed above. Further, Martinez discloses:
The method of claim 14, wherein report generation incorporates extracted data into specific sections or templates for preliminary reports, offering radiologists immediate access upon initiating the case evaluation. (Abstract and Para 12 disclose a method for automatically generating clinical structured reports based on clinical structured report templates using voice recognition, the method implemented by one or more report management computing devices and includes applying a natural language processing algorithm to a captured voice input from a client to identify one or more keywords or phrases. At least one of a plurality of clinical structured report templates are identified based on the identified one or more keywords or phrases correlated to medical examination data points associated with each of the clinical structured report templates. A clinical structured report is automatically prepared based on the identified one of the clinical structured report templates without a non-voice input and without an explicit separate voice command directed to manage a report generation operation. The clinical structured report includes modifications to the clinical structured report template based on the identified one or more keywords or phrases. The prepared clinical structured report is provided to the client.)
Regarding Claim 19, this claim recites the limitations of Claim 14 and as to those limitations is rejected for the same basis and reasons as disclosed above. Further, Gong discloses:
The method of claim 14, further comprising an integrated DICOM Listener/Processor to monitor storage areas for new DICOM objects, triggering extraction and report generation processes upon detection. (Paras 174-185 disclose additionally, second image/video data and metadata 3516 can be extracted from DICOM imaging modalities 3518, such as via a DICOM protocol, and provided to the CHIF encoder 3510, as illustrated in FIG. 35… DICOM files can be exchanged between two entities that are capable of receiving image and patient data in DICOM format. A medical organization using a DICOM or other medical system or standard can leverage the CHIF encoding and decoding technology described herein to combine multiple sources of patient and diagnostic information into a single CHIF file for storing at the remote storage 3502, or at a local storage location. Para 282 discloses FIG. 60 illustrates an example binder creation system 6000 in accordance with various embodiments of the present disclosure. The system 6000 includes a client device 6002. The client device 6002 includes a CHIF encoder 6004 configured to encode and combine data into a CHIF file, as disclosed in the various embodiments herein. The CHIF encoder 6004 can also create or update binder files that are container for multiple CHIF containers. A binder file can be useful for associating multiple CHIF files having common data, common ownership, or other factors that create an association between the CHIF files. For example, if an artist is creating a new audio recording, a first recording can be recorded in a first CHIF file, a second recording in a second CHIF file, and so on. Each version of the recording can be saved as each one is created in a binder file, essentially providing a container for multiple data versions. As another example, initial patient diagnostic information can be recorded in a first CHIF file, and further patient testing can be recorded in subsequent CHIF files, which are all stored upon creation in a binder file, such that all diagnostic information on a patient is stored together. In various embodiments herein, CHIF files can be immutable containers that, once created, are not modified, such as not adding any additional content to the created CHIF file. Binders therefore allow a degree of mutability for CHIF files, since subsequent CHIF files can be creates that include new information, updated information, or new versions of content.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the report generation as taught by Martinez with the medical imaging review as taught by Gong in order to store image data, audio data, text data, radiology system data in such a way for professionals to have all relevant information before them.
Regarding Claim 20, this claim recites the limitations of Claim 19 and as to those limitations is rejected for the same basis and reasons as disclosed above. Further, Gong discloses:
The method of claim 19, wherein the extracted data from the DICOM object is stored with a reference to the study's UID, facilitating quick access for radiologists (Paras 182-183 disclose the CHIF encoding process 3602 can also receive information such as DICOM system information. The DICOM system information can include image data 3616 and metadata 3618, extracted during an extraction process 3620 from a DICOM system. The extraction process 3620 can extract image/video data and metadata from various DICOM system sources, such as DICOM data from an archiving storage system 3622, such as a PAC system or a vendor neutral archive (VNA) system, DICOM data from imaging modalities 3624, and/or DICOM data from CD/DVD files 3626, or other storage types. The CHIF encoding process 3602 can also encode, into a CHIF file, audio data 3628 from a dictation system, audio data 3630 from a microphone input, and/or audio data 3632 from storage. It will be understood that other data can be provided to the CHIF encoding process 3602 as desired for inclusion in a resulting CHIF file… each CHIF file can have a universally unique identifier (UUID) added to the metadata of the CHIF file upon creation of the CHIF file, and the database 3636 can record each UUID in association with the storage location of the CHIF files on the storage location 3634. In some embodiments, the metadata and/or the UUID of the CHIF file can include a timestamp or other further identifying information. In some embodiments, the database 3636 can also store index information for indexes associated with CHIF files, to provide for keyword or other parameter searching of the indexes for retrieval of CHIF files matching, or being related to, the keywords or other parameters. See further: Paras 174-181.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the report generation as taught by Martinez with the medical imaging review as taught by Gong in order to store image data, audio data, text data, radiology system data in such a way for professionals to have all relevant information before them and to facilitate searching of indexes for relevant CHIF files.
Regarding Claim 21, this claim recites the limitations of Claim 14 and as to those limitations is rejected for the same basis and reasons as disclosed above. Further, Martinez discloses:
The method of claim 14, further comprising real-time report generation by associating stored extracted data with a study's UID, presenting a prepopulated report upon radiologist access (Paras 94-97 disclose If in step 116 the voice activated clinical structured reporting device 12 determine the one or more keywords or phrases identified as dictation are related to characteristics, then in step 118 the voice activated clinical structured reporting device 12 determines whether the one or more keywords or phrases identified as dictation are related to: a textbox; a checkbox/radio button/dropdown; or an anatomy item identifier, although identifications to other types of elements could be used… If in step 118, the voice activated clinical structured reporting device 12 determines the one or more keywords or phrases identified as dictation are related to a textbox in step 120, then in step 126 the voice activated clinical structured reporting device 12 can set a focus on an identified one of the textboxes in the template or report and then may return to step 100… If back in step 118, the voice activated clinical structured reporting device 12 determines the one or more keywords or phrases identified as dictation are related to a checkbox/radio button/dropdown in step 122, then in step 128 the voice activated clinical structured reporting device 12 can set a value in the identified one of the checkbox/radio button/dropdown in the template or report based on the identified one or more keywords or phrases and then may return to step 100… If back in step 118, the voice activated clinical structured reporting device 12 determines the one or more keywords or phrases identified as dictation are related to an anatomy item identifier in step 124, then in step 130 the voice activated clinical structured reporting device 12 can set a focus or add a new unit in the template or report based on the identified one or more keywords or phrases and then may return to step 100.)
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Martinez (US PG Pub 2022/0147703 A1) in view of Gong (US PG Pub 20200351323A1) further in view of Chen (KR 20200003407 A) and Tang (Creating a Medical Imaging Workflow Based on FHIR, DICOMweb, and SVG).
Regarding Claim 10, this claim recites the limitations of Claim 4 and as to those limitations is rejected for the same basis and reasons as disclosed above. The combination of Martinez, Gong, and Chen does not fully disclose the following limitation that Tang discloses:
The system of claim 4, wherein the system includes an interoperability module that is configured to adopt Fast Healthcare Interoperability Resources (FHIR) standards, in addition to HL7 and DICOM standards (FHIR and DICOMweb Imaging Workflows discloses The proposed framework includes two web servers (FHIR and DICOMweb servers) and four clients (Order Placer, Order Filler, Modality, and Viewer). All of the clients and servers use the HL7 FHIR and DICOMweb protocols to facilitate integration, and both servers utilize HTTP RESTful APIs for the sharing of data, which is formatted as XML or JSON and stored on the FHIR server. Data sharing by the DICOMweb server can be in XML, JSON format, or binary data format. Our adoption of RESTful web solutions makes it easy for most information technology (IT) developers to understand the system. In accordance with HL7 FHIR, DICOMweb, and IHE, the data creation and exchange processes are as follows…)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of the report generation as taught by Martinez, the medical imaging review as taught by Gong and the systems and methods for predicting and summarizing medical events from electronic health records as taught by Chen, with the HL7 FHIR and DICOMweb as taught by Tang in order to facilitate integration between a plurality of systems.
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Martinez (US PG Pub 2022/0147703 A1) in view of Gong (US PG Pub 20200351323A1) further in view of Menon (Visual Classification Via Description From Large Language Models) and Masoudi (Quick guide on radiology image pre-processing for deep learning applications in prostate cancer research).
Regarding Claim 15, this claim recites the limitations of Claim 14 and as to those limitations is rejected for the same basis and reasons as disclosed above. The combination of Martinez, Gong, and Menon does not fully disclose the following limitation that
The method of claim 14, wherein image interpretation is achieved without real-time computations, reducing computational inefficiencies and report delivery lags. (1. Introduction discloses either scenario, training on a big dataset or adopting transfer learning, are only two other important reasons that resonate the demand for a series of preliminary pre-processing steps prior to training; however, the nature of radiology images intrinsically necessities the preprocessing phase by itself. 2.3 discloses the results with and without the pre-processing are shown in Table 3 that confirm the necessity of appropriate pre-processing steps in the suggested order. While classification accuracy in both patch-level (CT) and slice-level (MRI) has increased significantly, the profound effect of pre-processing on segmentation performance is acutely presented both in terms of mean absolute error and dice score. The results in Table 3 also signify the demand for pre-processing in MRI images compared to CT images. Figure 8 shows an example of T2-MR slice where pre-processing could prevent under-segmentation of the whole prostate by U-net.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of the report generation as taught by Martinez and the medical imaging review as taught by Gong and the visual classification via description from large language models as taught by Menon with the pre-processing of radiology images as taught by Masoudi in order to significantly increase classification accuracy in both patch-level (CT) and slice-level (MRI) while also improving segmentation performance.
Conclusion
/SARA JESSICA MORICE DE VARGAS/Examiner, Art Unit 3681
/PETER H CHOI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3681