Claims 1-16 are being treated on the merits.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The terms “arched gauze”, “surface layer gauze”, “fuzzing device of a towel loom” in the claims are relative terms which renders the claim indefinite. The terms “arched gauze”, “surface layer gauze”, “fuzzing device of a towel loom” are not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention.
The terms “short beat up” and “long beat up” in the claims are relative terms which renders the claim indefinite. The terms “short beat up” and “long beat up” are not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zimmermann (USPN 1,795,156) in view of Qin (CN 107268159).
Regarding Claim 1, Zimmermann discloses a weaving method for a fluffy, soft, and low-hairiness three-dimensional fabric (Figures 1 & 2, Page. 1, lines 1-15), comprising: in a process of fabric structure design, initially interweaving first ground warps (1/2, upper), pile warps (6/7/8) with first weft yarns (3, upper) and second weft yarns (4/5) over several picks, and forming a surface layer gauze (“upper ground weave”, Page 1, lines 83-96) and a middle layer arched gauze through a fuzzing device of a towel loom (Figures 1 & 2, Page 2, lines 63-75), while second ground warps (1/2, bottom) are not interwoven with the first weft yarns and the second weft yarns, but form a part of a bottom layer gauze (“lower ground weave”, Page 1, lines 83-96) in a form of warp floats (Figures 1 & 2); subsequently interweaving the pile warps (6/7/8) and the second ground warps (1/2, bottom) with the second weft yarns (4/5) and third weft yarns (3, bottom) over several picks, and forming the middle layer arched gauze and the bottom layer gauze through the fuzzing device of the towel loom (Figures 1 & 2, Page 2, lines 63-75); cyclically repeating above steps to weave the fluffy, soft, and low-hairiness three-dimensional fabric (Page. 2, lines 5-75). Zimmerman does not specifically disclose while the first ground warps are not interwoven with the second weft yarns and the third weft yarns, but form a part of the surface layer gauze in the form of warp floats. However, Qin discloses while the first ground warps are not interwoven with the second weft yarns and the third weft yarns, but form a part of the surface layer gauze in the form of warp floats (Page 2, line 42-Page 3, line 53). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to include weft not interwoven with ground warps to form part of surface layer gauze in the form of warp floats, as taught by Qin, to the weave of Zimmerman, in order to provide thick and soft fabric.
Regarding Claim 2, the combination of Zimmerman and Qin disclose the first ground warps and the pile warps are interwoven with the first weft yarns and the second weft yarns (Zimmerman, Figures 1 & 2 & Qin, Page 2, line 42-Page 3, line 53), the pile warps and the second ground warps are interwoven with the second weft yarns and the third weft yarns (Zimmerman, Figures 1 & 2 & Qin, Page 2, line 42-Page 3, line 53). The combination does not specifically disclose ground warps interwoven with weft yarns of 6 to 12 picks. However, Zimmerman disclose various patterns can be used for color and pattern (Page 2, lines 22-62). Also, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to experiment with different ranges of picks for the ground warps interwoven with weft yarns in order to achieve an optimal configuration for the purpose of engineering design choice, since discovering the optimum or workable ranges of the picks for the ground warps interwoven with weft yarns involves only routine skill in the art.
Regarding Claim 3, the combination of Zimmerman and Qin disclose a number of the second weft yarns interwoven with the pile warps is 2 to 8 (Zimmerman, Figures 1 & 2 & Qin, Page 2, line 42-Page 3, line 53).
Regarding Claim 4, the combination of Zimmerman and Qin disclose fuzzing device (Figures 1 & 2, Page 2, lines 63-75). The combination of Zimmerman and Qin do not specifically disclose during formation of the surface layer gauze and the middle layer arched gauze through the fuzzing device of the towel loom, a number of the first weft yarns interwoven with the first ground warps of a surface layer is 4; and during formation of the middle layer arched gauze and the bottom layer gauze through the fuzzing device of the towel loom, a number of the third weft yarns interwoven with the second ground warps of a bottom layer is 4. However, Zimmerman disclose various patterns can be used for color and pattern (Page 2, lines 22-62) while Qin disclose various specific ranges of specific woven structures (Pages, 2, 3 & 4). Also, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to experiment with different ranges of interwoven warps with weft yarns in order to achieve an optimal configuration for the purpose of engineering design choice, since discovering the optimum or workable ranges of interwoven warps with weft yarns involves only routine skill in the art.
Regarding Claim 5, the combination of Zimmerman and Qin do not specifically disclose a process of weaving the surface layer gauze and the middle layer arched gauze, 1st and 2nd picks of the first weft yarns interwoven with the first ground warps and all picks of the second weft yarns interlaced with the pile warps of a middle layer adopt short beating-up with evenly increasing weft insertion distance, 3rd pick of the first weft yarns interwoven with the first ground warps adopts long beating-up, 4th pick of the first weft yarns interwoven with the first ground warps adopts plain weave beating-up. However, Zimmerman disclose various patterns can be used for color and pattern (Page 2, lines 22-62) while Qin disclose various specific ranges of specific woven structures (Pages, 2, 3 & 4). Also, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to experiment with different ranges of picks for the ground warps interwoven with weft yarns and various beating-up in order to achieve an optimal configuration for the purpose of engineering design choice, since discovering the optimum or workable ranges of the picks for the ground warps interwoven with weft yarns involves only routine skill in the art.
Regarding Claim 6, the combination of Zimmerman and Qin do not specifically disclose a process of weaving the middle layer arched gauze and the bottom layer gauze, 1st and 2nd picks of the third weft yarns interwoven with the second ground warps and all picks of the second weft yarns interwoven with the pile warps of a middle layer adopt short beating-up with evenly increasing weft insertion distance, 3rd pick of the third weft yarns interwoven with the second ground warps adopts long beating-up, 4th pick of the third weft yarns interwoven with the second ground warps adopts plain weave beating-up. However, Zimmerman disclose various patterns can be used for color and pattern (Page 2, lines 22-62) while Qin disclose various specific ranges of specific woven structures (Pages, 2, 3 & 4). Also, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to experiment with different ranges of picks for the ground warps interwoven with weft yarns and various beating-up in order to achieve an optimal configuration for the purpose of engineering design choice, since discovering the optimum or workable ranges of the picks for the ground warps interwoven with weft yarns and beatin-up involves only routine skill in the art.
Regarding Claim 7, the combination of Zimmerman and Qin do not specifically disclose a weft insertion distance of a long beating-up for weaving the surface layer gauze and the middle layer arched gauze can be the same as or different from a weft insertion distance of a long beating-up for weaving the middle layer arched gauze and the bottom layer gauze. However, Zimmerman disclose various patterns can be used for color and pattern (Page 2, lines 22-62) while Qin disclose various specific ranges of specific woven structures (Pages, 2, 3 & 4). Also, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to experiment with different ranges of beating-up in order to achieve an optimal configuration for the purpose of engineering design choice, since discovering the optimum or workable ranges of beating-up involves only routine skill in the art.
Regarding Claim 8, the combination of Zimmerman and Qin do not specifically disclose the second weft yarns in the middle layer arched gauze can be water-soluble yarns or alkali-soluble yarns in whole or in part. It, however, would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the material of the weft yarn as claimed, since it is well within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. Also, such a modification would be considered a mere choice of preferred material that is on the basis of its suitability for the intended use. In other words, using water-soluble or alkali-soluble yarns would have been an "obvious to try" approach because the use of such a material that is not of innovation but of ordinary skill and common sense.
Regarding Claim 9, the combination of Zimmerman and Qin disclose a weaving method according to Claim 1 (Zimmerman, Figures 1 & 2 & Qin, Page 2, line 42-Page 3, line 53)
Regarding Claim 10, the combination of Zimmerman and Qin disclose the first ground warps and the pile warps are interwoven with the first weft yarns and the second weft yarns (Zimmerman, Figures 1 & 2 & Qin, Page 2, line 42-Page 3, line 53), the pile warps and the second ground warps are interwoven with the second weft yarns and the third weft yarns (Zimmerman, Figures 1 & 2 & Qin, Page 2, line 42-Page 3, line 53). The combination does not specifically disclose ground warps interwoven with weft yarns of 6 to 12 picks. However, Zimmerman disclose various patterns can be used for color and pattern (Page 2, lines 22-62). Also, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to experiment with different ranges of picks for the ground warps interwoven with weft yarns in order to achieve an optimal configuration for the purpose of engineering design choice, since discovering the optimum or workable ranges of the picks for the ground warps interwoven with weft yarns involves only routine skill in the art.
Regarding Claim 11, the combination of Zimmerman and Qin disclose a number of the second weft yarns interwoven with the pile warps is 2 to 8 (Zimmerman, Figures 1 & 2 & Qin, Page 2, line 42-Page 3, line 53).
Regarding Claim 12, the combination of Zimmerman and Qin disclose fuzzing device (Figures 1 & 2, Page 2, lines 63-75). The combination of Zimmerman and Qin do not specifically disclose during formation of the surface layer gauze and the middle layer arched gauze through the fuzzing device of the towel loom, a number of the first weft yarns interwoven with the first ground warps of a surface layer is 4; and during formation of the middle layer arched gauze and the bottom layer gauze through the fuzzing device of the towel loom, a number of the third weft yarns interwoven with the second ground warps of a bottom layer is 4. However, Zimmerman disclose various patterns can be used for color and pattern (Page 2, lines 22-62) while Qin disclose various specific ranges of specific woven structures (Pages, 2, 3 & 4). Also, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to experiment with different ranges of interwoven warps with weft yarns in order to achieve an optimal configuration for the purpose of engineering design choice, since discovering the optimum or workable ranges of interwoven warps with weft yarns involves only routine skill in the art.
Regarding Claim 13, the combination of Zimmerman and Qin do not specifically disclose a process of weaving the surface layer gauze and the middle layer arched gauze, 1st and 2nd picks of the first weft yarns interwoven with the first ground warps and all picks of the second weft yarns interlaced with the pile warps of a middle layer adopt short beating-up with evenly increasing weft insertion distance, 3rd pick of the first weft yarns interwoven with the first ground warps adopts long beating-up, 4th pick of the first weft yarns interwoven with the first ground warps adopts plain weave beating-up. However, Zimmerman disclose various patterns can be used for color and pattern (Page 2, lines 22-62) while Qin disclose various specific ranges of specific woven structures (Pages, 2, 3 & 4). Also, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to experiment with different ranges of picks for the ground warps interwoven with weft yarns and various beating-up in order to achieve an optimal configuration for the purpose of engineering design choice, since discovering the optimum or workable ranges of the picks for the ground warps interwoven with weft yarns involves only routine skill in the art.
Regarding Claim 14, the combination of Zimmerman and Qin do not specifically disclose a process of weaving the middle layer arched gauze and the bottom layer gauze, 1st and 2nd picks of the third weft yarns interwoven with the second ground warps and all picks of the second weft yarns interwoven with the pile warps of a middle layer adopt short beating-up with evenly increasing weft insertion distance, 3rd pick of the third weft yarns interwoven with the second ground warps adopts long beating-up, 4th pick of the third weft yarns interwoven with the second ground warps adopts plain weave beating-up. However, Zimmerman disclose various patterns can be used for color and pattern (Page 2, lines 22-62) while Qin disclose various specific ranges of specific woven structures (Pages, 2, 3 & 4). Also, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to experiment with different ranges of picks for the ground warps interwoven with weft yarns and various beating-up in order to achieve an optimal configuration for the purpose of engineering design choice, since discovering the optimum or workable ranges of the picks for the ground warps interwoven with weft yarns and beatin-up involves only routine skill in the art.
Regarding Claim 15, the combination of Zimmerman and Qin do not specifically disclose a weft insertion distance of a long beating-up for weaving the surface layer gauze and the middle layer arched gauze can be the same as or different from a weft insertion distance of a long beating-up for weaving the middle layer arched gauze and the bottom layer gauze. However, Zimmerman disclose various patterns can be used for color and pattern (Page 2, lines 22-62) while Qin disclose various specific ranges of specific woven structures (Pages, 2, 3 & 4). Also, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to experiment with different ranges of beating-up in order to achieve an optimal configuration for the purpose of engineering design choice, since discovering the optimum or workable ranges of beating-up involves only routine skill in the art.
Regarding Claim 16, the combination of Zimmerman and Qin do not specifically disclose the second weft yarns in the middle layer arched gauze can be water-soluble yarns or alkali-soluble yarns in whole or in part. It, however, would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the material of the weft yarn as claimed, since it is well within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. Also, such a modification would be considered a mere choice of preferred material that is on the basis of its suitability for the intended use. In other words, using water-soluble or alkali-soluble yarns would have been an "obvious to try" approach because the use of such a material that is not of innovation but of ordinary skill and common sense.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
/KATHARINE G KANE/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3732