DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the snap fitting orifice comprising MORE THAN two different diameters as recited in Claim 15 must be shown or the feature canceled from the claim. No new matter should be entered.
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(4) because reference character “11” has been used to designate both a “cap holder area” on Page 14 Line 9 and a “cap holder leak-tight area” on Page 14 Line 23.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 11-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 11 and 13 recites the limitation "cap holder leak tight area (11)". There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Claim 1 only identifies a “leak tight zone (18)”. It is further unclear if the cap holder leak tight area (11) is the same or different than the cap holder area (11) identified in the Specification Page 14 Line 9.
For the purposes of examination, it will be assumed that the claims intend to identify the cap holder leak tight area as the upper outer diameter of the cap holder (7) and the snap fitting zone (18) intends to identify a corresponding internal upper diameter of the neck (14).
A broad range or limitation together with a narrow range or limitation that falls within the broad range or limitation (in the same claim) may be considered indefinite if the resulting claim does not clearly set forth the metes and bounds of the patent protection desired. See MPEP § 2173.05(c).
In the present instance, claim 12 recites the broad recitation greater than 0.1mm, and the claim also recites greater than 0.2 mm which is the narrower statement of the range/limitation. Similarly, Claim 14 recites greater than 1mm and greater than 2mm. The claims are considered indefinite because there is a question or doubt as to whether the feature introduced by such narrower language is (a) merely exemplary of the remainder of the claim, and therefore not required, or (b) a required feature of the claims.
Regarding claims 12 and 14, the phrase "preferably" renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitations following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-15 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Manning (US 6230940) in view of Dambricourt (US 2006/0204693).
Regarding Claim 1, Manning discloses a package comprising a head (40) including at least one circular snap-fitting orifice (60) and a cap (30) snap-fitted into the said snap-fitting orifice, wherein the snap-fitting orifice comprises an annular snap-fitting zone (defined by closure mounting flange 70) and an annular leak-tight zone (66) of different diameters, and wherein a height of the orifice is greater than a thickness of the head in such a way as to form a neck. Please see the visual comparison diagram below.
Manning does not disclose a cap analogous to Applicant Element 6. Dambricourt discloses a similar nozzle with a cap (38). Manning and Dambricourt are analogous inventions in the art of flange-mounted nozzles.
It would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the cap holder of Manning with the cap of Dambricourt in order to provide a service cap which selectively closes the outlet aperture.
Regarding Claim 2, while Manning does not explicitly disclose a height of the snap-fitting zone is smaller than a height of the leak-tight zone, a person having ordinary skill in the art would recognize and find obvious that the dimensions of the head, orifice, and valve may be modified to provide desired sealing and snap fitting characteristics based on the materials, sizes, and other factors of the nozzle and package.
Regarding Claim 3, Manning discloses the snap-fitting zone and the leak-tight zone are located within the orifice.
Regarding Claim 4, while Manning does not disclose the neck is located within the packaging, it is generally known in the art to modify the location of the container neck as an obvious variation in the relocation of parts. Please see Schwanenberg (US 6213355) Figure 1 for a known example of an inset container neck.
Regarding Claim 5, Manning discloses the neck is located outside the packaging.
Regarding Claim 6, while Manning does not disclose the snap-fitting zone is located on an external surface of the neck, a person having ordinary skill in the art would recognize and find obvious that the location of the snap-fitting zone may relocated as desired according to design considerations and would provide no unexpected results.
Regarding Claim 7, while Manning does not disclose a height of the leak- tight zone is equivalent to a height of the orifice, as discussed above, the dimensions of the head, orifice, and valve may be modified to provide desired sealing and snap fitting characteristics based on the materials, sizes, and other factors of the nozzle and package.
Regarding Claim 8, Manning discloses the snap-fitting zone is located within the neck.
Regarding Claim 9, Manning discloses the diameter of the snap-fitting zone is smaller than the diameter of the leak-tight zone.
Regarding Claim 10, while Manning does not disclose the diameter of the snap-fitting zone is greater than the diameter of the leak-tight zone, the location and dimension of the snap-fitting zone may be modified to be greater as seen in Applicant Figure 5 as a modification of the location of the snap-fitting groove to the exterior of the neck.
Regarding Claim 11, the components of Manning may have varying diameter dimensions for the cap holder and the orifice in order to provide a tight interference fit at leak-tight zone and the leak-tight area.
Regarding Claims 12, as discussed above, the dimensions of the orifice and outlet may be modified as an obvious variation by one having ordinary skill in the art according to design considerations to achieve desired snap-fitment and sealing engagement.
Regarding Claim 13, Manning discloses the height of the leak-tight zone is greater than the a height of the cap holder leak-tight area.
Regarding Claims 14, as discussed above, the dimensions of the orifice and inserted cap holder may be modified as an obvious variation by one having ordinary skill in the art according to design considerations to achieve desired snap-fitment and sealing engagement.
Regarding Claim 15, it is generally known in the art to provide a snap fitting orifice with more than two different diameters to achieve a more secure snap fit as disclosed in Schwanenberg (US 6213355).
Regarding Claim 17, while Manning does not disclose the snap-fitting orifice is off-center on the packaging head, the relocation of an orifice to be off-center is an obvious variation in the placement of the outlet and would not produce any unexpected results. Please see Smith (US 1748681) Figures 2 and 9 for known examples of off-center positioning of a dispensing outlet.
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Modified Manning (US 6230940) in view of Dambricourt (US 2006/0204693) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Kraus (US 4998642).
Regarding Claim 1, Modified Manning discloses the limitations of Claim 1 as discussed above. Modified Manning does not disclose an annular sealing lip located on the cap holder and a sealing zone located around the external side of said orifice wherein a contact area between the sealing lip and the head defines the sealing zone as shown in Applicant Figures 8 and 9.
Kraus discloses a similar flanged closure comprising an annular sealing lip (21, 24 and 3) located on the cap holder and a sealing zone located around the external side of said orifice; wherein a contact area between the sealing lip and the head defines the sealing zone. Modified Manning and Kraus are analogous inventions in the art of flanged snap-fit closures.
It would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the closure of Modified Manning with the annular sealing lip of Kraus in order to provide two sealing zones for a watertight seal (Col. 1 Lines 26-33).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. In particular, please note the construction of Bloom (US 2012/0211530) with inset snap step 50 as shown in Figure 2.
/GIDEON R WEINERTH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3736