DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Claim(s) 7-20 are currently pending.
Claim(s) 7 has been amended.
Claim(s) 1-6 have been canceled.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 7-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2005/0263181 A1, Yen in view of CN 115051645 A, Wang et al. (hereinafter “Wang”).
Regarding claim 7
Yen teaches a solar panel cooling assembly (corresponding to a passive convection cooling system for photovoltaic assembly 80) [abstract] comprising:
a solar panel (corresponding to photovoltaic assembly 80 comprising one or more photovoltaic panels 14) comprising a front surface (A), a back surface (B) opposite the front surface, a lower edge portion (C), and an upper edge portion (D) disposed in a downstream direction relative to the lower edge portion (C) [See annotated Fig. 4 below, paras. 0024 and 0029];
a lower flow deflector (noted as FD-L in Fig. 4 below, comprising wings 84) coupled to the lower edge portion (C) of the solar panel (80) [Fig. 4 and para. 0029], wherein the lower flow deflector (FD-L) is configured to re-direct windflow across the back surface of the solar panel (wing surfaces promote airflow across the panels and encourage heat transfer from the photovoltaic element in no-wind or low wind conditions) [Figs. 4 and 10, paras. 0011, 0029 and 0036]; and
an upper flow deflector (noted as FD-U in Fig. 4 below, comprising wings 84) coupled to the upper edge portion (D) of the solar panel (80) [Fig. 4 and para. 0029], wherein the upper flow deflector is configured to redirect windflow ramping off the front surface of the solar panel into a region behind the back surface of the solar panel (wing surfaces promote airflow across the panels and encourage heat transfer from the photovoltaic element in no-wind or low wind conditions) [Figs. 4 and 10, paras. 0011, 0029 and 0036].
Yen, Fig. 4
Yen does not teach a vortex generator strip coupled to the lower edge portion of the solar panel, the vortex generator strip comprising a plurality of vortex generators.
Wang teaches a solar panel cooling assembly (corresponding to photovoltaic module cooling and dust removal devices installed on both sides of the solar panels 5) [Fig. 1 and para. 0050] comprising:
a vortex generator strip (corresponding to support 1 comprising vortex generating wing plates 2) coupled to an edge portion of a photovoltaic panel (vortex generator is provided on both sides of panels 5) comprising a flow deflector (corresponding to wind guide device 7), the vortex generator strip (1) comprising a plurality of vortex generators (wing plates 2) [Fig. 1-2, paras. 0033, 0035 and 0050-0051].
Wang, Fig. 1
The vortex generator strip of Wang strengthens airflow and generates a vortex that enhances both the cooling and dust removal effect on the photovoltaic module [para. 0018].
Yen and Wang are analogous inventions in the field of solar panel cooling assemblies. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the solar panel cooling assembly of Yen to comprise the vortex generator strip of Wang at the lower edge where Yen also employs a flow deflector, similar to wind guide device 7 in Wang, for the purpose of strengthening airflow thereby enhancing both the cooling and dust removal effect on the photovoltaic panel.
Regarding claim 8
Modified Yen teaches the solar panel cooling as set forth above, wherein the lower flow (FD-L) deflector is curved (See curved wing 84) [Yen, Figs. 4 and 9-10, paras. 0029, 0033 and 0036].
Regarding claim 9
Modified Yen teaches the solar panel cooling as set forth above, wherein the upper flow (FD-U) has a curved profile (See curved wing 84) [Yen, Figs. 4 and 9-10, paras. 0029, 0033 and 0036].
Regarding claim 10
Modified Yen teaches the solar panel cooling as set forth above, wherein the plurality of vortex generators (1) are arranged in pairs of vortex generators (see multiple wing plates 2) [Wang, Fig. 1 and para. 0033], and wherein each pair of vortex generators comprises a first vortex generator and a second vortex generator (corresponding to adjacent pair of wing plates 2, wherein each panel 5 has a pair of wing plats 2) [Wang, Fig. 1 and para. 0033].
Regarding claim 11
Modified Yen teaches the solar panel cooling as set forth above, wherein at least one of the first vortex generator (2) and the second vortex generator (2) is set at an angle relative to a streamwise direction (windward angle of the wing plates 2 is adjusted) [Wang, Figs. 1 and 2, para. 0021].
Regarding claim 12
Modified Yen teaches the solar panel cooling as set forth above, wherein at least one of the first vortex generator and the second vortex generator is set at a 15° angle relative to the streamwise direction (windward angle of the wing plates 2 is adjusted, wherein the rotation angle of the worm gear drive shaft 33 is -90° to 90°) [Wang, Figs. 1 and 2, paras. 0019, 0021 and 0043].
In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990) [MPEP 2144.05].
Furthermore, in the absence of Absent a showing of criticality or unexpected results with respect to the angle of at least one of the first vortex generator and the second vortex generator relative to the streamwise direction (a result-effective variable), it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to optimize through routine experimentation in order to provide the desired angle of the airflow thereby providing the desired cooling and dust removal effect [paras. 0018 and 0040-0041]. It has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art [MPEP 2144.05].
Regarding claim 13
Modified Yen teaches the solar panel cooling as set forth above, wherein the first vortex generator (2) and the second vortex generator (adjacent wing plate 2) are set at the same angle relative to the streamwise direction [Wang, Fig. 1, paras. 0021, 0040-0041 and 0043].
Regarding claim 14
Modified Yen teaches the solar panel cooling as set forth above, wherein the vortex generator strip (1) further comprises a plate (corresponding to a bracket or to bearing base 35) [Wang, Figs. 1-2 and para. 0034], and wherein each one of the plurality of vortex generators (2) are mounted to the plate (1) [Figs. 1-2 and para. 0034].
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 15-20 are allowed.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claim 15
The prior art of record, whether alone or in combination, fails to teach or fairly suggest the following limitations:
“a second lower flow deflector coupled to a second lower edge portion of the second solar module,” and
“wherein the second lower flow deflector extending further downward below the second lower edge portion of the second solar module than the first lower flow deflector extends below the first lower edge portion of the first solar module,”
in the context of other limitations recited in the claim.
Yen teaches a solar panel cooling assembly (corresponding to a passive convection cooling system for photovoltaic assembly 80) [abstract] comprising:
a first solar module (the photovoltaic assembly comprises one or more photovoltaic panels 14) and a first lower flow deflector (corresponding to end element 82 comprising wing 84) coupled to a first lower edge portion (C) of the first solar module (14) [Fig. 4, paras. 0024 and 0029]; and
a second solar module (the photovoltaic assembly comprises one or more photovoltaic panels 14) [para. 0024].
However, Yen does not disclose a second lower flow deflector coupled to a second lower edge portion of the second solar module, wherein the second solar module being disposed in a downstream direction relative to the first solar module, and wherein the second lower flow deflector extending further downward below the second lower edge portion of the second solar module than the first lower flow deflector extends below the first lower edge portion of the first solar module.
Wang teaches a solar module cooling assembly (corresponding to photovoltaic module cooling and dust removal devices installed on both sides of the solar panels 5) comprising:
a first solar module (5) and a first lower flow deflector (72) coupled to a first lower edge portion of the first solar module (5) [Fig. 1 and paras. 0050-0051]; and
a second solar module (5) disposed in a downstream direction relative to the first solar module (5) [see Fig. 1].
Wang teaches a second flow deflector (corresponding to wing plates 2) coupled to an end of the second solar module (5) [Fig. 1 and para. 0034].
However, as seen in Fig. 1 of Wang, the second flow deflector (2) is not coupled to a second lower edge portion of the second solar module (5). The second flow deflector is coupled to an upper edge portion of said second solar module (5). Furthermore, Wang does not teach the second lower flow deflector extending further downward below the second lower edge portion of the second solar module than the first lower flow deflector extends below the first lower edge portion of the first solar module as required by the claim.
Accordingly, the claim is allowed.
Regarding claims 16-20
Claims 16-20 are allowed for their dependency on claim 15.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
CN216959809U, Cao et al. teaches a solar panel cooling assembly (corresponding to a photovoltaic assembly cleaning and cooling device) comprising:
a vortex generator strip (corresponding to triangular vortex generator 1) coupled to an edge portion of a photovoltaic panel (4), the vortex generator strip (1) comprising a plurality of vortex generators (rotating wing plates 2 and 3) [Figs. 1-2, paras. 0028 and 0036].
Cao, Fig. 1
Cao, Fig. 2
US 2017/0237394 A1, BÖER teaches a solar panel cooling assembly (device 100 for reducing the temperature of a solar PV panel) [abstract, Figs. 1, 5 and 6-6a, paras. 0022 and 0029] comprising:
a solar panel (1) comprising a front surface, a back surface opposite the front surface, a lower edge portion (inlet end 114), and an upper edge portion (outlet end 116) disposed in a downstream direction relative to the lower edge portion (114) [Figs. 1 and 6-6a, paras. 0022, 0029 and 0033]; and
a flow deflector (a tornado pipe 140) coupled to the upper edge portion (116) of the solar panel (1) [abstract, Figs. 1, 5 and 6-6a, paras. 0022 and 0029].
/MAYLA GONZALEZ RAMOS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1721