DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “brackets” of claim 6 and “the track for the fly net is oriented at right angles to the track for the blind” of claim 10 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). It is noted that the drawings show the fly net track being parallel to the blind track in figures 8-11. No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-10, 12, and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites “the linear piece” when a plurality were previously recited. It is unclear which linear piece is being referred to in the recitation since the linear pieces are not equivalent.
Claim 2 recites “the fly net designed to…” Claim 1 refers to a fly net and a blind as an intended use “for a fly net and the other for a blind.” It is therefore unclear what is required of claim 2 since a fly net is not positively recited in the claims. Should the applicant require a combination having the elements, the claims should recite the requirement. It is further unclear what is required of “designed to”, the limitation “designed” is understood to be an intention, not a requirement. Claim 3 inherits this issue. Claim 4 recites “the blind contains a material…” Claim 1 refers to a fly net and a blind as an intended use “for a fly net and the other for a blind.” It is therefore unclear what is required of claim 4 since a blind not positively recited in the claims. Should the applicant require a combination having the elements, the claims should recite the requirement. Claim 5 inherits this issue. Claims 7-9 similarly recite the structure of the intended use.
Claim 6 recites “a durable material such as plastic” The phrase "such as" renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitations following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
In view of the 112 issues discussed above the claims have been examined as best understood.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 4, 5, 10, 12, and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Tatro (US 6,119,756)
Regarding claim 1,Tatro discloses a single-unit double-track blind system (Fig 2) comprising:
two tracks (82 and 80 on left and right 44s; 82 is a slot for a net and 80 defines a path for a blind), one for a fly net and the other for a blind (directed to an intended use), combined in a single unit (Figs 2 and 3);
wherein the unit comprises four corner pieces (74; col 3, lines 48-50) connected by four linear pieces (40, 42, left 44, right 44) to form a generally rectangular outline (Fig 2);
wherein the tracks (82 and 80) are provided on the linear pieces (Figs 2, 5, and 6);
wherein at least some of the linear pieces have a stepped cross-section (all linear pieces have identical shapes, col 5, lines 9-17; as shown in Figs 2 and 3, each linear piece forms a step shape), whereby, when the unit is mounted in a suitable sized window (Fig 3) or door opening, an inner portion (80) of the linear piece can fit inside the opening, while an outer portion (56) of the linear piece can rest against a wall or frame adjacent to the opening (Fig 3).
Regarding claim 2, wherein the fly net contains a mesh (32) that is designed to prevent insects from passing through it (Fig 2).
Regarding claim 4, wherein the blind contains a material (106) that is at least partially opaque, whereby a position of the blind can be adjusted to control the amount of light and privacy (slats 106 are adjustable in position).
Regarding claim 5, wherein the material (106) can provide thermal insulation to reduce energy consumption and improve energy efficiency (the blind material reduces heat loss and blocks heat gain when closed).
Regarding claim 10, wherein the track (82) for the fly net is oriented at right angles to the track (80) for the blind (82 opens in a direction perpendicular to the path of the blind along 80).
Regarding claim 12, wherein each linear pieces (40, 42, 44) has a uniform cross-section so that it can be cut to a desired length to adapt the unit for use in window and door openings of varying sizes (directed to an intended use) (the linear pieces have uniform cross sections and have the ability such that they can be cut).
Regarding claim 14, wherein one of the two tracks is provided on the inner portions of the linear pieces, while the other of the two tracks is provided on the outer portions of the linear pieces (Fig 3).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tatro, as applied in claim 2 above, in further view of McNeill et al. (US 2021/0095521), hereinafter referred to as McNeill.
Regarding claim 3, although Tatro discloses the mesh is made of a material, it is not specifically disclosed to be made of a transparent material. However, McNeill teaches that it is known for a mesh to be of a transparent material (paragraph [0005]) in order to provide a less visible screen. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention with a reasonable expectation of success to modify the mesh of Tatro such that it is a made of a transparent material since it is known to reduce the visibility of a mesh screen, as taught by McNeill.
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tatro, as applied in claim 1 above, in further view of Van Klompenburg (US 4,658,879).
Regarding claim 6, Tatro fails to disclose brackets for mounting the unit on the inside of a window or door opening, the brackets being made of a durable material such as plastic. Instead, Tatro teaches pins for mounting the unit (Figs 2 and 4). However, Van Klompenburg teaches that it is known to mount a screen unit to a window opening with brackets made of plastic (col 3, lines 36-40). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention with a reasonable expectation of success to modify Tatro such that the mounting means are provided as brackets as taught by Van Klompenburg in order to provide a more secure attachment. As modified, instead of providing the pins, brackets are instead used to secure the unit. This modification would not lead to any new or unpredictable result since it utilizes a known technique for equivalently mounting a window unit.
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tatro, as applied in claim 1 above, in further view of Tribe (US 267,618).
Regarding claim 7, as best understood in view of the 112 issues discussed above although Tatro teaches a fly net and a blind, t the blind comprises an end (103) that is anchored and an opposite end (114) that is free to move along the respective track (Figs 2 and 3). Tatro discloses that the fly net is anchored but fails to disclose that the fly net comprises an opposed end that is free to move along the respective track and fails to further disclose that each free end comprises an attached pull rod, thereby allowing for independent movement of the fly net and the blind along the respective tracks. However, Tribe teaches that it is known for a unit having a fly net and blind (Fig 1) for each to have an anchored end and an opposite end that is free to move along the respective track and an attached pull rod thereby allowing for independent movement. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention with a reasonable expectation of success to modify the arrangement of Tatro such that the fly net and blind are each provided as movable roller type coverings and that each is free to move along the tracks and each of the blind and fly net have a pull rod since it is a known means of moving and selectively blocking insects and light.
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tatro and Tribe, as applied in claim 7 above, in further view of Crowley et al. (US 2024/0263510), hereinafter referred to as Crowley.
Regarding claim 8, modified Tatro fails to teach wherein the blind comprises two panels that are anchored at opposing ends of the blind track, the two panels comprising respective free ends that can be moved towards or away from one another along the blind track. However, Crowley teaches that it is known for a blind to comprise two panels, each anchored to opposite ends and having a movable end (Fig 14) in order to selectively cover an opening. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention with a reasonable expectation of success to further modify Tatro with the teaching of Crowley in order to provide an improved unit with greater control of light admittance and blockage.
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tatro and Tribe and Crowley, as applied in claim 8 above, in further view of Krosenbrink et al. (US 2004/0256061), hereinafter referred to as Krosenbrink.
Regarding claim 9, modified Tatro fails to disclose wherein the two blind panels comprise materials of different opacity. However, Krosenbrink teaches that it is known for two blind panels of a window unit to have materials of different opacity (Fig 2). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention with a reasonable expectation of success to modify the blind such that the two blinds have two different opacities in order even further improve the blind and selectively block and admit light at different amounts.
Conclusion
/Johnnie A. Shablack/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3634