DETAILED ACTION
1. This Office Action is responsive to amendments filed for No. 19/164,340 on September 11, 2025. Please note Claims 1-15 are pending and have been examined.
Information Disclosure Statement
3. The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on September 17, 2025, January 28, 2026 and March 12, 2026 were filed. The submissions are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
6. Claims 1-5, 7-9 and 11-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kothapally et al. ( US 2024/0302927 A1 ) in view of Kimishima et al.
( US 2023/0081527 A1 ).
Kothapally teaches in Claim 1:
A touch-screen operating method, characterized in that, the touch-screen operating method is applied to an electronic device equipped with a touch screen, the electronic device is further equipped with an electronic pen ( Figure 2, [0047] disclose a system 200 with a computing device 204 and a stylus 202 ), and the electronic pen is configured with a tip and at least one color gear capable of being triggered ( Figure 4, [0056] disclose a nib 404 at the tip of the stylus 202 as well as [0049] teaching of a input mechanism 310 which can be used to configure different color representations ), the touch-screen operating method comprises:
in response to a target color signal transmitted by the electronic pen is received, [starting a timer]; wherein the target color signal is generated by the electronic pen when both the target color gear and the tip are triggered simultaneously ( Figure 7, [0065]+ disclose a user selecting a color using the mechanism 310 and the color is generated upon contact of the stylus on the computing device, as shown in Figure 2. As for aspects of the timer, please note the combination below ); and
in response to first coordinate information is obtained within a preset period, based on the target color signal and the first coordinate information, producing a response by the touch screen, wherein the first coordinate information is generated by the touch screen responding to a touch operation ( Figure 7, [0067] disclose the stylus making contact with the receiver of the computing device and processing a touch event. This includes color information at the location of the touch, i.e. coordinates ); but
Kothapally does not explicitly teach of “starting a timer” and related aspects, such as coordinate information is obtained within a preset period, etc.
However, in the same field of endeavor, stylus, Kimishima teaches of a predetermined time for when a pen has been removed and set until a draw command is initiated, ( Kimishima, Figure 9, step S17, [0111] ). To clarify, Kothapally teaches of initiating a color selection and this is akin to Kimishima activating the stylus for use as well. A timer is provided to see if a draw command is performed (read as coordinate information being obtained within a preset period).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the effective filed date of the invention, to implement the timer, as taught by Kimishima, with the motivation that by using a timer, errors and reliability issues can be mitigated, ( Kimishima, [0111] ).
Kothapally and Kimishima teach in Claim 2:
The method of claim 1, characterized in that, the based on the target color signal and the first coordinate information, producing a response by the touch screen comprises:
determining a writing trajectory based on the first coordinate information; determining a target color of the writing trajectory based on the target color signal; and displaying the writing trajectory on the touch screen based on the target color. ( Kothapally teaches in Figure 2 of drawing with the stylus 202, which comprises a writing trajectory (please the example pattern drawn in Figure 2). The pattern is displayed in the color the user selects using the input mechanism. Please also note the combination with Kimishima with the draw command aspects, which also focus on the writing trajectory, etc )
Kothapally and Kimishima teach in Claim 3:
The method of claim 1, characterized in that, in response to the first coordinate information is not obtained within the preset period, the target color signal is regarded as an interference signal that does not require a respond. ( Kimishima, Figure 9, step S18, [0114]+ discloses that if the predetermined time has elapsed, then the unit is turned off (read as not being responded to) and instead, a calibration process occurs )
Kothapally teaches in Claim 4:
The method of claim 1, characterized in that, the method further includes: in response to the target color signal is not obtained, obtaining second coordinate information in response to a touch operation on the touch screen; and producing a second response by the touch screen based on the second coordinate information. ( Respectfully, while a stylus is well known to use with computing devices, non-stylus inputs, such as finger touches (which is what Applicant defines this second coordinate information as), is also obviously well known and Examiner asserts Official Notice to this being well known )
Kothapally and Kimishima teach in Claim 5:
The method of claim 4, characterized in that, the producing a response by the touch screen based on the second coordinate information comprises:
determining a touch trajectory based on second coordinate information; and adjusting a display content on the touch screen based on the touch trajectory. ( To expand on the reasoning of Claim 4, a finger touch input is akin to a stylus input and they both result in draw commands taught by the combination, i.e. analyzing the trajectory, etc )
Kothapally teaches in Claim 7:
An electronic-pen operating method, characterized in that, the electronic- pen operating method is applied to an electronic pen which is equipped with a tip and at least one color gear capable of being triggered ( Figure 4, [0056] disclose a nib 404 at the tip of the stylus 202 as well as [0049] teaching of a input mechanism 310 which can be used to configure different color representations ), and an electronic device which is used in conjunction with the electronic pen and equipped with a touch screen ( Figure 2, [0047] disclose a system 200 with a computing device 204 and a stylus 202 ), the electronic-pen operating method comprises:
in response to a target color gear and the tip are triggered, determining the target color corresponding to the target color gear, generating a target color signal corresponding to the target color, and transmitting the target color signal to the electronic device ( Figure 7, [0065]+ disclose a user selecting a color using the mechanism 310 and the color is generated upon contact of the stylus on the computing device, as shown in Figure 2. As for aspects of the timer, please note the combination below ); wherein the target color signal is used to indicate the electronic device [to start a timer], and respond on the touch screen based on the target color signal and the first coordinate information when first coordinate information is obtained within a preset period; wherein the first coordinate information is generated by the touch screen responding to a touch operation ( Figure 7, [0067] disclose the stylus making contact with the receiver of the computing device and processing a touch event. This includes color information at the location of the touch, i.e. coordinates ); but
Kothapally does not explicitly teach of “starting a timer” and related aspects, such as coordinate information is obtained within a preset period, etc.
However, in the same field of endeavor, stylus, Kimishima teaches of a predetermined time for when a pen has been removed and set until a draw command is initiated, ( Kimishima, Figure 9, step S17, [0111] ). To clarify, Kothapally teaches of initiating a color selection and this is akin to Kimishima activating the stylus for use as well. A timer is provided to see if a draw command is performed (read as coordinate information being obtained within a preset period).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the effective filed date of the invention, to implement the timer, as taught by Kimishima, with the motivation that by using a timer, errors and reliability issues can be mitigated, ( Kimishima, [0111] ).
Kothapally teaches in Claim 8:
The method of claim 7, characterized in that, the electronic pen is equipped with at least one independent non-self-locking button, each non-self-locking button corresponds to a color gear, and each non-self-locking button is equipped with a color indicator light that matches the corresponding color gear ( [0052] discloses the mechanism can be implemented in a variety of ways, such as one or more buttons, a dial, touch pad, etc. (these are examples of a non-self-locking button). Please note display unit 402 can be display the selected color, as shown in Figure 2 ); the method further comprises:
in response to the non-self-locking button corresponding to the target color gear is pressed, determining the target color corresponding to the target color gear, turning on the color indicator light corresponding to the target color gear until the non-self-locking button corresponding to a new color gear is pressed ( [0051], etc, disclose the display unit provides an indication of a color selected by the input mechanism and this is updated as the color changes ); and
in response to the tip is triggered, generating the target color signal corresponding to the target color and transmitting the target color signal to the electronic device. ( Figures 2 and 7 disclose selecting a color and detecting contact, i.e. tip is triggered, resulting in drawing aspects on the computing device )
Kothapally teaches in Claim 9:
The method of claim 7, characterized in that, the electronic pen is equipped with a toggle switch, the toggle switch includes multiple toggle positions, each toggle position corresponds to a color gear, and each toggle position is equipped with a color identifier that matches the corresponding color gear ( [0052] discloses the mechanism can be implemented in a variety of ways, such as one or more buttons, a dial, touch pad, etc. (these are examples of a non-self-locking button). Please note display unit 402 can be display the selected color, as shown in Figure 2. Respectfully, a toggle is similar to a both buttons and dials, as this term is reasonably broad ); the method further comprises:
in response to the tip is triggered, recognizing the target color gear triggered currently; wherein the target color gear is determined based on a toggle position where the toggle switch is located, and the target color gear is used to determine the target color; generating a target color signal corresponding to the target color and transmitting the target color signal to the electronic device ( [0051], etc, disclose the display unit provides an indication of a color selected by the input mechanism and this is updated as the color changes ); and
in response to the electronic device receives the target color signal, switching to a low-power mode until the toggle switch changes the toggle position. ( Figures 2 and 7 disclose selecting a color and detecting contact, i.e. tip is triggered, resulting in drawing aspects on the computing device )
Kothapally teaches in Claim 11:
A touch-screen operating apparatus, characterized in that, the touch-screen operating apparatus is applied to an electronic device equipped with a touch screen, the electronic device is further equipped with an electronic pen ( Figure 2, [0047] disclose a system 200 with a computing device 204 and a stylus 202 ), and the electronic pen has a tip and at least one color gear capable of being triggered ( Figure 4, [0056] disclose a nib 404 at the tip of the stylus 202 as well as [0049] teaching of a input mechanism 310 which can be used to configure different color representations ), the apparatus comprises:
[a timer configured to], in response to a target color signal transmitted by the electronic pen is received, [start a timer]; wherein the target color signal is generated by the electronic pen when both the target color gear and the tip are triggered simultaneously ( Figure 7, [0065]+ disclose a user selecting a color using the mechanism 310 and the color is generated upon contact of the stylus on the computing device, as shown in Figure 2. As for aspects of the timer, please note the combination below );
a determining module configured to, in response to first coordinate information is obtained within a preset period, determine that the coordinate information is an electronic-pen triggering event; wherein the first coordinate information is generated by the touch screen responding to a first touch input; and a responding module configured to, based on the target color signal and the first coordinate information, produce a response to the electronic-pen triggering event by the touch screen ( Figure 7, [0067] disclose the stylus making contact with the receiver of the computing device and processing a touch event. This includes color information at the location of the touch, i.e. coordinates ); but
Kothapally does not explicitly teach of “starting a timer” and related aspects, such as coordinate information is obtained within a preset period, etc.
However, in the same field of endeavor, stylus, Kimishima teaches of a predetermined time for when a pen has been removed and set until a draw command is initiated, ( Kimishima, Figure 9, step S17, [0111] ). To clarify, Kothapally teaches of initiating a color selection and this is akin to Kimishima activating the stylus for use as well. A timer is provided to see if a draw command is performed (read as coordinate information being obtained within a preset period).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the effective filed date of the invention, to implement the timer, as taught by Kimishima, with the motivation that by using a timer, errors and reliability issues can be mitigated, ( Kimishima, [0111] ).
Kothapally teaches in Claim 12:
A touch system, characterized in that, the touch system comprises an electronic device which is equipped with a touch screen, and an electronic pen which is equipped with a tip ( Figure 2, [0047] disclose a system 200 with a computing device 204 and a stylus 202 ) and at least one color gear capable of being triggered ( Figure 4, [0056] disclose a nib 404 at the tip of the stylus 202 as well as [0049] teaching of a input mechanism 310 which can be used to configure different color representations );
the electronic pen is configured to, in response to the target color gear and the tip are triggered, determine the target color corresponding to the target color gear, generate a target color signal corresponding to the target color, and transmit the target color signal to the electronic device ( Figure 7, [0065]+ disclose a user selecting a color using the mechanism 310 and the color is generated upon contact of the stylus on the computing device, as shown in Figure 2 );
the electronic device is configured to, in response to a target color signal transmitted by the electronic pen is received, [start a timer]; when first coordinate information is obtained within a preset period, based on the target color signal and the first coordinate information, produce a response by the touch screen; wherein the first coordinate information is generated by the touch screen responding to a touch operation ( Figure 7, [0067] disclose the stylus making contact with the receiver of the computing device and processing a touch event. This includes color information at the location of the touch, i.e. coordinates. Please note the combination below with regards to aspects of the timer ); but
Kothapally does not explicitly teach of “starting a timer” and related aspects, such as coordinate information is obtained within a preset period, etc.
However, in the same field of endeavor, stylus, Kimishima teaches of a predetermined time for when a pen has been removed and set until a draw command is initiated, ( Kimishima, Figure 9, step S17, [0111] ). To clarify, Kothapally teaches of initiating a color selection and this is akin to Kimishima activating the stylus for use as well. A timer is provided to see if a draw command is performed (read as coordinate information being obtained within a preset period).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the effective filed date of the invention, to implement the timer, as taught by Kimishima, with the motivation that by using a timer, errors and reliability issues can be mitigated, ( Kimishima, [0111] ).
Kothapally teaches in Claim 13:
A computer device, characterized in that, the computer device includes a memory and a processor, the memory stores a computer program, and in response to the processor executes the computer program, the method of claim 1 is performed. ( [0023] discloses a memory, a processor for performing computer operations )
Kothapally teaches in Claim 14:
A computer-readable storage medium, on which a computer program is stored, characterized in that, the computer program, in response to executed by a processor, performs the method of claim 1. ( [0023] discloses details on the computer processor performing the operations )
Kothapally teaches in Claim 15:
A computer program product, including a computer program, characterized in that, the computer program, in response to executed by a processor, performs the method of claim 1. ( [0023] details aspects of the computer operations, i.e. a program )
7. Claims 6 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kothapally et al. ( US 2024/0302927 A1 ) in view of Kimishima et al. ( US 2023/0081527 A1 ), as applied to Claims 4 and 7, further in view of Gemerman et al. ( US 2018/0095555 A1 ).
As per Claim 6:
Kothapally does not explicitly teach “the target color signal is an infrared encoded signal or a radio encoded signal.”
However, radio signals are well known in the art for communicating a stylus to devices. To emphasize, in the same field of endeavor, stylus, Gemerman teaches of an akin stylus, ( Gemerman, Figure 1, [0027] ). Notably, Gemerman teaches the stylus can establish a communication channel with a computing device using interfaces which can be implemented with radios, infrared data, etc, [0027].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the effective filed date of the invention, to implement the radio and infrared aspects, as taught by Gemerman, with the motivation that these are well known standards and can effectively connect the stylus to the computing devices for transmitting data, ( Gemerman, [0027] )
As per Claim 10:
Kothapally does not explicitly teach “the target color signal is an infrared encoded signal or a radio encoded signal.”
However, radio signals are well known in the art for communicating a stylus to devices. To emphasize, in the same field of endeavor, stylus, Gemerman teaches of an akin stylus, ( Gemerman, Figure 1, [0027] ). Notably, Gemerman teaches the stylus can establish a communication channel with a computing device using interfaces which can be implemented with radios, infrared data, etc, [0027].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the effective filed date of the invention, to implement the radio and infrared aspects, as taught by Gemerman, with the motivation that these are well known standards and can effectively connect the stylus to the computing devices for transmitting data, ( Gemerman, [0027] )
Conclusion
/DENNIS P JOSEPH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2621