DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
The following title is suggested: A FILAMENT LAMP WITH ENVELOPE CONTAINING LUMINESCENT MATERIAL.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al., US 2020/0295237 A1 in view of Hikmet et al., US 2015/0166882 A1.
Regarding claim 1, Lee discloses “A LED filament lamp (Fig. 1) providing, in operation, LED filament lamp light and comprising:
a LED filament (50, Fig. 1)) emitting, in operation, LED filament light and comprising a plurality of LEDs (53, Fig. 2)) emitting, in operation, LED light and arranged on an elongated carrier (51, Fig. 2), an elongated encapsulant (55, Fig. 2-3) covering the plurality of LEDs (seen in Fig. 2-3) and at least a part of the elongated carrier (seen in Fig. 2-3), wherein the elongated encapsulant comprises at least one of a first luminescent material (¶ [0077] phosphors) configured to convert at least a part of the LED light into converted light and a light scattering material configured to scatter at least a part of the LED light into scattered light, wherein the LED filament light comprises the converted light and/or the scattered light (the LED filaments emit light),
a base (10, Fig. 1) configured to, electrically and mechanically, connect the LED filament lamp to a socket of a luminaire (¶ [0047]), a translucent envelope (60, Fig. 1) at least partly enclosing said LED filament and mounted to the base (seen in Fig. 1),
However, Lee does not disclose
“the translucent envelope (15) comprises a second luminescent material (37), the second luminescent material (37) comprising one or more of an organic phosphor (41) and quantum dots (42) distributed in a polymer matrix (40), wherein the second luminescent material (37) is configured to convert a part of the LED filament light into converted LED filament light, and wherein the second luminescent material (37) has an absorption in the visible wavelength range of which at least 80 % is in the blue and green wavelength range, such that the translucent envelope (15) is perceived as having an amber color, and wherein the second luminescent material (37) comprises one or more of: a first phosphor configured to emit first phosphor light having a dominant wavelength in the wavelength range of 550-580 nm, and a second phosphor configured to emit second phosphor light having a dominant wavelength in the wavelength range of 500-550 nm.”
Hikmet discloses a lighting device (such as 1, Fig. 1c) with a transparent envelope (109, Fig. 1c), with a second luminescent material distributed in a polymer matrix (200, Fig. 1C; ¶ [0109]), with phosphors such as Lumogen F240, and Lumogen F083 (¶ [0039-0040]), which has an absorption in the visible wavelength range of which at least 80 % is in the blue and green wavelength range, such that the translucent envelope is perceived as having an amber color, and wherein the second luminescent material comprises one or more of: a first phosphor configured to emit first phosphor light having a dominant wavelength in the wavelength range of 550-580 nm, and a second phosphor configured to emit second phosphor light having a dominant wavelength in the wavelength range of 500-550 nm (according to the Instant Application, Specification page 10, line 16-31, the example phosphors of the embodiment are Lumogen F240 and Lumogen F083, that have those absorptions and wavelengths).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, to have the envelope, as taught by Lee, have a coating of phosphor of Lumogen F240 and F083, such as taught by Hikmet. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to add wavelength converters for modifying the spectral composition as desired (Hikmet, ¶ [0088]).
Regarding claim 2, Lee in view of Hikmet discloses the invention of claim 1, as cited above, and further discloses “the absorption of the second luminescent material the visible wavelength range is higher in the blue wavelength range than in the green wavelength range (Hikmet ¶ [0039] Lumogen F083, Instant Application Specification pg. 10, line 16-31).
Regarding claim 3, Lee in view of Hikmet discloses the invention of claim 1, as cited above, and further discloses “the second luminescent material has an absorption in the visible wavelength range of which at least 55% is in the green wavelength range and at least 25% is in the blue wavelength range (Hikmet, ¶ [0039] Lumogen F240, Instant Application Specification pg. 10, line 16-31).
.
Regarding claim 4, Lee in view of Hikmet discloses the invention of claim 1, as cited above, and further discloses “the second luminescent material is configured to convert 3% to 30% of the LED filament light (Hikmet, ¶ [0039] Lumogen F240, Instant Application Specification pg. 10, line 16-31; since the materials are the same as in the Instant Application embodiment, the phosphors are configured to achieve that limitation)
Regarding claim 5, Lee in view of Hikmet discloses the invention of claim 1, as cited above, except “the LED filament light is white light having a first correlated color temperature (CCT1), wherein CCT1 < 2500 K”.
Lee is silent with regards to the CCT of the filament.
Hikmet discloses a lighting device with a white light emission that can have a CCT of 2000K (¶ [0017).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, to have the CCT of the filament, as taught by Lee, have a CCT of 2000K, such as taught by Hikmet. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to have the CCT be 2000 K for completing the details of the invention in selecting a desired emitted color temperature .
Regarding claim 6, Lee in view of Hikmet discloses the invention of claim 1, as cited above, and further discloses “the LED filament light is white light having a first correlated color temperature (CCT1), wherein the LED filament lamp light is white light having a second correlated color temperature (CCT2), and wherein CCT2 - CCT1 < 500 K (Hikmet, ¶ [0039] Lumogen F240, Instant Application Specification pg. 10, line 16-31; since the materials are the same as in the Instant Application embodiment, the phosphors are configured to achieve that limitation).”
Regarding claim 7, Lee in view of Hikmet discloses the invention of claim 1, as cited above, and further discloses “the LED filament is free from an organic phosphor and quantum dots (Lee, ¶ [0084], Lee uses inorganic phosphors) , and wherein the translucent envelope is free from an inorganic phosphor (Hikmet ¶ [0039-0040], Lumogen are organic phosphors).
Regarding claim 8, Lee in view of Hikmet discloses the invention of claim 1, as cited above, and further discloses “the LED filament in an OFF-state, in which the LED filament does not emit LED filament light, and in an ON-state, in which the LED filament emits LED filament light, is visible through the translucent envelope (Lee, ¶ [0051] the bulb is light transmissive) .
Regarding claim 9, Lee in view of Hikmet discloses the invention of claim 1, as cited above, and further discloses “the first luminescent material comprises a green-yellow inorganic phosphor configured to emit green-yellow light (Lee, ¶ [0078]) and a red inorganic phosphor configured to emit red light (Lee, ¶ [0078]).
Regarding claim 10, Lee in view of Hikmet discloses the invention of claim 9, as cited above, and further discloses “the green-yellow inorganic phosphor comprises YAG and/or LuAG phosphor (Lee, ¶ [0081,0082]), and wherein the red inorganic phosphor comprises KSiF phosphor (Lee, ¶ [0008, 0091, 0092]).
Regarding claim 11, Lee in view of Hikmet discloses the invention of claim 1, as cited above, and further discloses “the elongated carrier is light-transmissive (Lee, ¶ [0055] the substrate can be transparent), and wherein a further encapsulant is provided on a second side of the carrier opposite to a first side (Lee, seen in Fig. 3B) of the carrier on which the plurality of LEDs is arranged, the further encapsulant comprises at least one of a further luminescent material configured to convert at least a part of the LED light and/or converted light into further converted light and a further light scattering material configured to scatter at least a part of the LED light and/or converted light into further scattered light (Lee, ¶ [0058]).”
Regarding claim 12, Lee in view of Hikmet discloses the invention of claim 1, as cited above, and further discloses “the translucent envelope comprises a glass envelope (Lee, ¶ [0051]), and wherein the second luminescent material is provided as a coating on the glass envelope (Hikmet, ¶ [0051]).
Regarding claim 13, Lee in view of Hikmet discloses the invention of claim 1, as cited above, and further discloses “the translucent envelope comprises a neck, wherein the neck forms a part of the translucent envelope being attached to the base , and wherein the neck is free from the second luminescent material (seen in Hikmet Fig. 1c, there is a portion near the base without the luminescent material coating 200).
Regarding claim 14, Lee in view of Hikmet discloses the invention of claim 1, as cited above, and further discloses “a luminaire comprising at least one LED filament lamp according to claim 1 (Lee, Fig. 1, ¶ [0047] conventional socket)
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Trottier, US 2017/0012177 A1 discloses an LED bulb with an enclosure that can have embedded phosphor
Kircher et al., US 2015/0233544 A1 discloses an LED bulb with a remote phosphor
Hikmet et al., US 2015/0117013 A1 discloses a remote phosphor layer that can have a combination of Lumogen phosphors (¶ [0058])
Van Bonnet et al., US 2014/0191273 A1 discloses a remote phosphor layer that can have a combination of Lumogen phosphors ¶ [0047]
/MICHAEL CHIANG/Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2875
/JAMES R GREECE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2875