DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The preliminary amendment filed 09/12/2025 has been entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 11-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over NAGLIATI (US 2023/0265982) in view of Fylan (US 4,605,991).
Regarding claim 11. NAGLIATI discloses a headlight (3, see Fig. 1, Para. 0028) arrangement for a vehicle, wherein the headlight arrangement comprises: a first light module (e.g. low beam); a second light module (high beam, see Fig. 1, Para. 0036); a flap unit (15, see Fig. 2, Para. 0050); and two opposing guide tracks (35, see Figs. 4, 7, and 8, Para. 0055 and 0059) configured to guide the flap unit (15), wherein the two opposite guide tracks have a straight section (e.g. end section) and a curved section (middle section, see Para. 0065).
However, NAGLIATI is silent with respect to the two opposing guide tracks are configured to move the flap unit underneath a body of the vehicle.
Fylan teaches a vehicle having a headlamp assembly (36, see Fig. 2) and a flap unit (door 44, see Figs. 1, 4, and 5) and a pivot pin (56, see Fig. 3) connected to a skirt (54, see Fig. 3) at the inboard end (49, see Fig. 3) of the flap unit (44). The pivot pin (56, see Fig. 3) configured to move the flap unit (44) underneath the body of the vehicle (see Fig. 2, Col. 3; lines 14-42). Fylan further teaches that this arrangement provides a pleasing appearance in the open position because the outer surface of the flap unit (second closure surface 62, see Figs. 2 and 5) forms a floor which conceals the inside of the vehicle front end from view (see Col. 4; lines 10-14).
Therefore, in view of Fylan, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify NAGLIATI such that the two opposing guide tracks are configured to move the flap unit underneath the body of the vehicle in order to provide a pleasing appearance, as taught by Fylan. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification to provide a more aesthetically pleasing appearance by concealing the interior of the vehicle front end, while also streamlines airflow around the vehicle, thereby improving aerodynamic performance.
Regarding claim 12. NAGLIATI further discloses the first light module is a main light module comprising at least a dipped beam, a full beam, a cornering light, or an adaptive drive beam (see Para. 0036, 0038).
Regarding claim 13. NAGLIATI further discloses the second light module comprises a daytime running light, a position light, a flash, a direction indicator, or an autonomous drive system marker light (see Para. 0036, claim 1).
Regarding claim 14. NAGLIATI further discloses a transparent part (a pair of transparent surfaces 5, 6, see Fig. 3, Para. 0032).
With respect to the limitation that the transparent part of the light unit of the first light module or of second light module contains a polymethylmethacrylate, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify NAGLIATI’s transparent surfaces to comprise a polymethylmethacrylate (PMMA) as PMMA is well known transparent material suitable for outdoor lighting applications, since it has been held by the courts that selection of a prior art material on the basis of its suitability for its intended purpose is within the level of ordinary skill. In re Leshing, 125 USPQ 416 (CCPA 1960) and Sinclair & Carroll Co. v. Interchemical Corp., 65 USPQ 297 (1945).
Regarding claim 15. NAGLIATI further discloses comprising: a gearwheel with teeth arranged on the curved section of the two opposing guide tracks (35, see Figs. 7 and 8), wherein the teeth are connected to the flap unit.
Regarding claim 16. NAGLIATI further discloses the flap unit (15) is moveable inwards or outwards (see Figs. 2 and 3, Para. 0045).
Regarding claim 17. NAGLIATI further discloses in a closed position, the flap unit (15) merges seamlessly into a surrounding outer skin (front portion 8, see Fig. 2, Para. 0066) of the vehicle (1) such that the flap unit does not visually impair the surrounding outer skin (see Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 18. NAGLIATI further discloses the flap unit includes a side seal (see Fig. 4, Para. 0076).
However, NAGLIATI is silent with respect to the flap unit including a lip seal.
Fylan further teaches the flap unit (44) includes a lip seal (mating edge 64, see Figs. 1, 4 and 5) shaped to mate with either the trailing edge (26) or the leading edge (28) after rotating through 90-plus degrees of rotation (see Figs. 1, 4 and 5, Col. 3; lines 65-68) thereby providing an effective seal between the flap unit and the vehicle body.
Therefore, in view of Fylan, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify NAGLIATI’s flap unit to include a lip seal, as taught by Fylan, in order to provide an effective seal between the flap unit and vehicle body. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification because incorporating a seal lip is a known design choice for improving sealing performance, reducing the ingress of water, dirt, and debris.
Regarding claim 19. NAGLIATI further discloses a surface of the headlight (top headlight) arrangement coverable by the flap unit (15) is larger than a surface of the second light module (see Figs. 1 and 2).
Regarding claim 20. NAGLIATI further discloses the headlight arrangement forms a front headlight or a rear headlight of the vehicle (see Figs. 1 and 2)..
Regarding claim 21. NAGLIATI discloses a vehicle (1, see Fig. 1, Para. 0028) comprising: a body (2, see Fig. 1, Para. 0028); and headlight (3, see Fig. 1, Para. 0028) arrangement configured on the body, wherein the headlight arrangement comprises a (e.g. low beam); a second light module (high beam, see Fig. 1, Para. 0036); a flap unit (15, see Fig. 2, Para. 0050); and two opposing guide tracks (35, see Figs. 4, 7, and 8, Para. 0055 and 0059) configured to guide the flap unit (see Fig. 4, Para. 0049), wherein the two opposite guide tracks have a straight section (e.g. end section) and a curved section (middle section, see Para. 0065).
However, NAGLIATI is silent with respect to the two opposing guide tracks are configured to move the flap unit underneath a body of the vehicle.
Fylan teaches a vehicle having a headlamp assembly (36, see Fig. 2) and a flap unit (door 44, see Figs. 1, 4, and 5) and a pivot pin (56, see Fig. 3) connected to a skirt (54, see Fig. 3) at the inboard end (49, see Fig. 3) of the flap unit (44). The pivot pin (56, see Fig. 3) configured to move the flap unit (44) underneath the body of the vehicle (see Fig. 2, Col. 3; lines 14-42). Fylan further teaches that this arrangement provides a pleasing appearance in the open position because the outer surface of the flap unit (second closure surface 62, see Figs. 2 and 5) forms a floor which conceals the inside of the vehicle front end from view (see Col. 4; lines 10-14).
Therefore, in view of Fylan, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify NAGLIATI such that the two opposing guide tracks are configured to move the flap unit underneath the body of the vehicle in order to provide a pleasing appearance, as taught by Fylan. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification to provide a more aesthetically pleasing appearance by concealing the interior of the vehicle front end, while also streamlines airflow around the vehicle, thereby improving aerodynamic performance.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Fritzon et al. (US 11,346,519) discloses a vehicle light assembly including one or more movable light signature members that are selectively translated from a first position partially or wholly in front of conventional light units (low beams, high beams, taillights, etc.) to a second position away from the light units when the light units are in use; Guan et al. (US 2014/0063834) discloses a headlamp that includes a first lamp module and a second lamp module disposed at a front side of the first lamp module; Brandenburg (US 4,943,895) discloses a retractable lamp assembly that is combined with the front end of a vehicle and includes a pair of lamps which can be alternately located within a headlamp opening in the front end of the vehicle so as to selectively project a beam of high intensity light or a beam of low intensity light forwardly of the vehicle.
/TSION TUMEBO/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2875