DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Claims 1-18 were originally filed on 09/12/2025 and claim benefit to provisional application 63/490,915, which was filed on 03/17/2023.
Information Disclosure Statement
The Information Disclosure Statement filed on 02/09/2026 has been considered. An initialed copy of the Form 1449 is enclosed herewith.
Specification
The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because the abstract is not on separate sheet. The abstract must commence on a separate sheet. A corrected abstract of the disclosure is required and must be presented on a separate sheet, apart from any other text. See MPEP § 608.01(b).
Claim Objections
Claims 2-8, 11, and 14-18 objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 2 has antecedent issues and is worded in an improper format. Examiner recommends amending clam 2 to read “The method of claim 1, wherein the second sensor is located on or near the end-effector.”.
Claim 3 has antecedent issues and is worded in an improper format. Examiner recommends amending clam 3 to read “The method of claim 2, wherein the second sensor comprises one or more laser rangefinders.”.
Claim 4 has antecedent issues and is worded in an improper format. Examiner recommends amending clam 4 to read “The method of claim 3, wherein the second sensor comprises a plurality of laser rangefinders.”.
Claim 6 has antecedent issues and is worded in an improper format. Examiner recommends amending clam 6 to read “The method of claim 1, wherein the first sensor comprises a stereo RGBD camera.”.
Claim 11 has antecedent issues and is worded in an improper format. Examiner recommends amending clam 11 to read “The method of claim 1, wherein the second sensor comprises a plurality of thin rods connected to microswitches that detect when one or more of the thin rods are displaced due to contact with an object in the workspace.”.
Claim 14 has antecedent issues and is worded in an improper format. Examiner recommends amending clam 14 to read “The method of claim 13, wherein the end-effector comprises a third sensor; and moving the end-effector to pick the object further comprises monitoring data from the third sensor to determine when the object has been successfully picked.”.
Claim 16 has antecedent issues and is worded in an improper format. Examiner recommends amending clam 16 to read “The method of claim 14, wherein the end-effector comprises a mechanical compliance element and the third sensor comprises one or more of a micro switch and capacitive sensor to detect a mechanical compliance of the mechanical compliance element.”.
Claim 17 has antecedent issues and is worded in an improper format. Examiner recommends amending clam 17 to read “The method of claim 14, wherein the mobile robotic system further comprises a communications interface in communication with the processing subsystem and the robotic arm and the open loop mode of the mobile robotic system defines a quick halt command; and moving the end-effector to pick the object further comprises sending the quick halt command from the processing subsystem to the robotic arm when data from the third sensor indicates that the object has been successfully picked.”.
Claim 18 has antecedent issues and is worded in an improper format. Examiner recommends amending clam 18 to read “The method of claim 1, wherein the second sensor is located on a chassis of the mobile robotic system and the second sensor comprises a sensor that provides higher accuracy measurements than the first sensor and has a narrower field of perception than the first sensor.”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 6, and 9-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shafer (US 11331799 B1) in view of Sun et al (US 20240091949 A1), Zheng et al “Coping with the Grasping Uncertainties in Force-closure Analysis”, and McCulley (US 11694452 B1) (Hereianfter referred to as Shafer, Sun, Zheng, and McCulley respectively)
Regarding Claim 1, Shafer teaches a method for identifying and picking objects in a robotic workspace (See at least Shafer Column 8 lines 12-21 and Figure 2) comprising the steps of:
providing a mobile robotic system comprising a first sensor (See at least Shafer Column 11 lines 6-27 and Figure 1, the mobile robot 190 includes a first vision component/sensor), a second sensor (See at least Shafer Column 11 lines 28-46, the end effector vision component is interpreted as the second sensor), a robotic arm mechanically connected to an end-effector (See at least Shafer Column 11 lines 6-14 and Figure 1, the robot arm is connected to an end effector), and a processing subsystem (See at least Shafer Column 8 lines 12-21, the processor performs the method);
receiving, at the processing subsystem, data from the first sensor relating to the workspace (See at least Shafer Column 12 lines 17-36, and 16 lines 51-58, data from the first vision component/sensor is received);
…
processing the data from the first sensor to determine a grasp point and a first location of said grasp point on the surface of the object selected to pick (See at least Shafer Column 12 lines 17-36, and 16 lines 51-58, the initial grasp pose is interpreted as a first location of a grasp point on the object), wherein the first location of the grasp point is associated with…a first corresponding range of uncertainty (See at least Shafer Column 1 line 49-Column 2 line 14, and Column 12 lines 17-36, the initial grasp pose includes a pre-grasp pose that is offset by a distance, which corresponds to the range of uncertainty);
controlling the robotic arm and moving the end-effector to a location that is near the first location of the grasp point but outside the first range of uncertainty associated with said first location of the grasp point (See at least Shafer Column 12 lines 17-42, and Column 16 lines 59-61, the end effector is moved to the pre-grasp pose, which is near the initial grasp pose/first location but offset by a distance which corresponds to the range of uncertainty);
receiving, at the processing subsystem, data from the second sensor relating to the grasp point of the selected object (See at least Shafer Column 16 line 62- Column 17 line 20, and Figure 2, data from the end effector vision component/second sensor is received);
determining, based on data from the second sensor, whether or not the end- effector is in close proximity to the grasp point (See at least Shafer Column 3 lines 3-36, and Column 7 lines 1-31, the end effector vision data from the second sensor is used to determine whether the visual features can be detected from the actual pose, which is interpreted as determining whether or not the end effector is in close proximity to the grasp point), and
if the end-effector is within an expected range of the grasp point, determining a second location of the grasp point (See at least Shafer Column 7 lines 1-31, Column 17 line 36-Column 18 line 6, Column 18 lines 40-48, and Figure 2, when the current visual features contain sufficient visual features, which is interpreted as being within an expected range of the grasp point, the final grasp pose/second grasp point is determined)…and controlling the robotic arm and moving the end-effector to pick the object based on the second location of the grasp point (See at least Shafer Column 18 line 49-Column 19 line 2, the end effector is moved to the final grasp pose/second location to pick the object); and
if the end-effector is not within an expected range of the grasp point, aborting an attempt to pick the selected object (See at least Shafer Column 3 lines 3-36, and Column 7 lines 1-31, the grasp attempt is aborted after a maximum number of iterations where the visual features cannot be detected from the actual pose, which is interpreted as the end effector not being within an expected range).
Shafer fails to disclose selecting an object within the workspace to pick based on the data from the first sensor by segmenting and separating individual objects within the workspace that may be manipulated.
However, Sun teaches selecting an object within the workspace to pick based on the data from the first sensor by segmenting and separating individual objects within the workspace that may be manipulated (See at least Sun Paragraph 0059, the next item to be grasped is selected by segmenting individual items/objects).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the teachings disclosed in Shafer with Sun to select an object to pick based on the data from the first sensor by segmenting and separating individual objects within the workspace that may be manipulated. This modification, as taught by Sun, would allow the system to discern individual items via image segmentation and select the item to pick based on a probability of grasp success when there are a plurality of items to grasp (See at least Sun Paragraph 0059), thus, improving the likelihood of successfully grasping an object when there are a plurality of objects.
Even though Shafer teaches a first corresponding range of uncertainty and determining a second location of the grasp point, modified Shafer fails to disclose the second location of the grasp point is associated with a corresponding second range of uncertainty.
However, Zheng teaches the grasp point is associated with a corresponding second range of uncertainty (See at least Zhang Page 315 section 3.1.2, the radius for the contact position uncertainty is interpreted as a second range of uncertainty).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the teachings disclosed in modified Shafer with Zheng to have the second location of the grasp point be associated with a corresponding second range of uncertainty. This modification, as taught by Zheng, would allow the system to account for contact position uncertainty that occurs when the robot grasps the object and handle the uncertainty to prevent disastrous effect on the closure properties of grasps (See at least Zhang Page 311 Abstract and Page 315 section 3.1.2).
Modified Shafer fails to disclose the first location of the grasp point is associated with a first spatial accuracy parameter,
the second location of the grasp point is associated with a second spatial accuracy parameter, and
wherein the second range of uncertainty is smaller than the first range of uncertainty.
However, McCulley teaches the first location of the grasp point is associated with a first spatial accuracy parameter (See at least McCulley Column 18 line 48-Column 19 line 2, the coordinates/first location of the object to be gripped is determined from a rough scan, which is interpreted as a first spatial accuracy parameter),
the second location of the grasp point is associated with a second spatial accuracy parameter (See at least McCulley Column 18 line 48-Column 19 line 2, the offset and rotation degree that the gripper should move to grip the object is based on the second image, which has a high resolution/second spatial accuracy parameter), and
wherein the second range of uncertainty is smaller than the first range of uncertainty (See at least McCulley Column 18 line 48-Column 19 line 22, the data from the second sensor for gripping the object has a higher confidence and covers less spatial area than the data from the first sensor, which is interpreted as the second range of uncertainty is smaller than the first range).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the teachings disclosed in modified Shafer with McCulley to have the locations be associated with a spatial accuracy parameter and have the second range of uncertainty be smaller than the first range of uncertainty. These modifications, as taught by McCulley, would allow the system to utilize the first sensor to perform a rough scan to locate the object, move the gripper closer to the object, and utilize the second sensor to image the object at a closer distance with a sensor that has a higher resolution and covers less spatial area in order to improve the confidence/reduce uncertainty in the detected position (See at least McCulley Column 18 line 48-Column 19 line 22).
Regarding Claim 2, modified Shafer teaches a mobile robotic system further comprises locating the second sensor on or near the end-effector (See at least Shafer Column 11 lines 28-46, the end effector vision component/second sensor is near the end effector).
Regarding Claim 6, modified Shafer fails to disclose a mobile robotic system further comprises providing a mobile robotic system with a first sensor comprising a stereo RGBD camera.
However, Sun teaches providing a mobile robotic system with a first sensor comprising a stereo RGBD camera (See at least Sun Paragraph 0048-0050, and Figure 2a, the two RGBD cameras are interpreted as the first sensor).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the teachings disclosed in modified Shafer with Sun to have the first sensor comprise a stereo RGBD camera. Stereo RGBD cameras are routine and well-understood in the art and allow the system to detect objects in 3d and in color, which would improve segmenting and separating individual objects.
Regarding Claim 9, modified Shafer teaches selecting an object within the workspace to pick based on the data from the first sensor further comprises processing said data from the first sensor into a point cloud (See at least Shafer Column 11 lines 15-27, the data from the first vision component/sensor is used to generate a 3d point cloud).
Regarding Claim 10, modified Shafer fails to disclose receiving, at the processing subsystem, data from the second sensor relating to objects within the workspace other than the selected object.
However, McCulley teaches receiving, at the processing subsystem, data from the second sensor relating to objects within the workspace other than the selected object (See at least McCulley Column 2 lines 14-27, and Column 18 line 48-Column 19 line 2, the data from the second sensor includes multiple objects).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the teachings disclosed in modified Shafer with McCulley to receive data from the second sensor relating to objects within the workspace other than the selected object. This modification, as taught by McCulley, would allow the system to collect data on a plurality of objects (See at least McCulley Column 2 lines 14-27, and Column 18 line 48-Column 19 line 2), thus, increasing the awareness of the system.
Claims 3-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shafer in view of Sun, Zheng, and McCulley, and in further view of Favro et al (US 20210387817 A1) (Hereianfter referred to as Favro)
Regarding Claims 3-4, modified Shafer fails to disclose the step of providing a mobile robotic system further comprises providing a mobile robotic system with a second sensor comprising one or more laser rangefinders,
wherein the step of providing a mobile robotic system further comprises providing a mobile robotic system with a second sensor comprising a plurality of laser rangefinders.
However, Favro teaches the step of providing a mobile robotic system further comprises providing a mobile robotic system with a second sensor comprising one or more laser rangefinders (See at least Favro Paragraph 0060 and Figure 5),
wherein the step of providing a mobile robotic system further comprises providing a mobile robotic system with a second sensor comprising a plurality of laser rangefinders (See at least Favro Paragraph 0060 and Figure 5).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the teachings disclosed in modified Shafer with Favro to have second sensor comprise a plurality of laser rangefingers. Laser rangefinders are routine and well-understood in the art and are utilized to determine the position of an object relative to the gripper (See at least Favro Paragraph 0060).
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shafer in view of Sun, Zheng, McCulley, and Favro and in further view of Zmeu et al (US 20240262638 A1) (Hereianfter referred to as Zmeu)
Regarding Claim 5, modified Shafer fails to disclose wherein controlling the robotic arm and moving the end- effector to pick the object based on the second location of the grasp point further comprises: receiving, at the processing subsystem, data from the plurality of laser rangefinders.
However, Favro teaches receiving, at the processing subsystem, data from the plurality of laser rangefinders (See at least Favro Paragraph 0060, data regarding the object is received from the plurality of laser rangefinders).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the teachings disclosed in modified Shafer with Favro to receive data from the plurality of laser rangefingers. This modification, as taught by Favro, would allow the system to determine the position of an object relative to the gripper (See at least Favro Paragraph 0060).
Modified Shafer fails to disclose determining an angle associated with a face of the selected object; and moving the end-effector to a suitable alignment with the face of the selected object.
However, Zmeu teaches determining an angle associated with a face of the selected object (See at least Zmeu Paragraphs 0072-0073, the orientation of the object is determined from the lasers); and moving the end-effector to a suitable alignment with the face of the selected object (See at least Zmeu Paragraphs 0072-0073, and Figures 13-15, the jaw/end effector is moved to a suitable alignment based on the orientation of the object determined from the lasers).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the teachings disclosed in modified Shafer with Zmeu to move the end-effector to a suitable alignment with the face of the selected object. This modification, as taught by Zmeu, would allow the robot to pick up the object by aligning the end effector with the angle/orientation of the object (See at least Zmeu Paragraphs 0072-0073, and Figures 13-15).
Claims 7-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shafer in view of Sun, Zheng, and McCulley, and in further view of Suzuki et al (US 20130238124 A1) (Hereianfter referred to as Suzuki)
Regarding Claims 7-8, modified Shafer fails to disclose the first corresponding range of uncertainty is in the range of one to five centimeters,
wherein the step of controlling the robotic arm and moving the end-effector to a location that is near the first location of the grasp point further comprises moving the end-effector to within five centimeters of the first location of the grasp point.
However, Suzuki teaches the first corresponding range of uncertainty is in the range of one to five centimeters (See at least Suzuki Paragraph 0103, the robot is moved to 5 cm above the gripping point, which is interpreted as the range of uncertainty is 5cm),
wherein the step of controlling the robotic arm and moving the end-effector to a location that is near the first location of the grasp point further comprises moving the end-effector to within five centimeters of the first location of the grasp point (See at least Suzuki Paragraph 0103, the robot is moved to 5 cm above the gripping point).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the teachings disclosed in modified Shafer with Suzuki to move the end-effector to within five centimeters of the first location of the grasp point since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In this instance, Shafer is modified with Suzuki so that the first range of uncertainty is in the range of one to five centimeters, and the end effector is moved to within five centimeters of the first location. This modification would allow the end effector to move to a close enough range to where the second sensor can determine the second location of the grasp point.
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shafer in view of Sun, Zheng, and McCulley, and in further view of Foroughi et al “Tactile sensors for robot handling” (Hereianfter referred to as Foroughi)
Regarding Claim 11, modified Shafer fails to disclose providing a mobile robotic system further comprises providing a mobile robotic system with a second sensor comprising a plurality of thin rods connected to microswitches that detect when one or more of the thin rods are displaced due to contact with an object in the workspace.
However, Foroughi teaches a second sensor comprising a plurality of thin rods connected to microswitches that detect when one or more of the thin rods are displaced due to contact with an object in the workspace (See at least Foroughi Pages 52-53 section 4, and Page 56 section 8, the microswitches detect when the probes/thin rods are displaced due to contact).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the teachings disclosed in modified Shafer with Foroughi to have the second sensor comprise a plurality of thin rods connected to microswitches that detect when one or more of the thin rods are displaced due to contact with an object in the workspace. This modification, as taught by Foroughi, would allow the system to detect contact with objects, which can be employed for detection of objects, collision avoidance, and coarse resolution object recognition (See at least Foroughi Pages 52-53 section 4, and Page 56 section 8).
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shafer in view of Sun, Zheng, and McCulley, and in further view of Nishina (US 20210394361 A1) (Hereianfter referred to as Nishina)
Regarding Claim 12, modified Shafer fails to disclose the second location of the grasp point is located internal to the selected object.
However, Nishina teaches the grasp point is located internal to the selected object (See at least Nishina Paragraphs 0017-0018, the gripping pose/point is inside of the gripping target/selected object).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the teachings disclosed in modified Shafer with Nishina to have the second location of the grasp point be located internal to the selected object. This modification, as taught by Nishina, would allow the robot to grip the object from the inside by placing the gripper parts inside a hole of the object (See at least Nishina Paragraphs 0017-0018), thus, improving the grasping operation for objects with holes.
Claims 13-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shafer in view of Sun, Zheng, McCulley, and Nishina, and in further view of Yamane (US 20210370506 A1) (Hereianfter referred to as Yamane)
Regarding Claim 13, modified Shafer fails to disclose moving the end-effector to pick the object based on the second location of the grasp point involves moving the end-effector toward the second location in an open loop mode.
However, Yamane teaches moving the end-effector toward the second location in an open loop mode (See at least Yamane Paragraph 0054, the manipulator for picking the object is an open-loop manipulator).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the teachings disclosed in modified Shafer with Yamane to move the end-effector toward the second location in an open loop mode. Open-loop manipulators for picking and placing objects, as taught by Yamane, are routine and well-understood in the art, and are cheaper to implement than closed-loop manipulators.
Regarding Claim 14, modified Shafer fails to disclose providing a mobile robotic system further comprises providing a mobile robotic system comprising an end-effector with a third sensor; and
moving the end-effector to pick the object further comprises monitoring data from the third sensor to determine when the object has been successfully picked.
However, Sun teaches providing a mobile robotic system further comprises providing a mobile robotic system comprising an end-effector with a third sensor (See at least Sun Paragraphs 0073-0074, and 0120, the pressure sensor is interpreted as the third sensor); and
moving the end-effector to pick the object further comprises monitoring data from the third sensor to determine when the object has been successfully picked (See at least Sun Paragraphs 0073-0074, and 0120, the pressure sensor is used to determine if the grasp was successful).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the teachings disclosed in modified Shafer with Sun to monitor data from the third sensor to determine when the object has been successfully picked. This modification, as taught by Sun, would allow the robot to move the object if it has been successfully grasped, or try a new strategy to grasp the object if the object was not successfully grasped (See at least Sun Paragraphs 0073-0074 and Figure 3b).
Regarding Claim 15, modified Shafer fails to disclose the end-effector employs a suction system to pick passages and the third sensor monitors a vacuum pressure of the suction system to determine that the suction system has established a mechanical connection with the selected object.
However, Sun teaches the end-effector employs a suction system to pick passages (See at least Sun Paragraph 0047) and the third sensor monitors a vacuum pressure of the suction system to determine that the suction system has established a mechanical connection with the selected object (See at least Sun Paragraphs 0047, 0073-0074, and 0120, the pressure sensor is used to determine if the grasp was successful using the suction system).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the teachings disclosed in modified Shafer with Sun to monitor a vacuum pressure of the suction system to determine that the suction system has established a mechanical connection with the selected object. This modification, as taught by Sun, would allow the system to determine if the object has been successfully grasped or not so that the robot can move the object if the grasp was successful or try a new strategy to grasp the object if the grasp was not successful (See at least Sun Paragraphs 0073-0074 and Figure 3b).
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shafer in view of Sun, Zheng, McCulley, Nishina, and Yamane, and in further view of Song et al (US 20230042756 A1) (Hereianfter referred to as Song)
Regarding Claim 16, modified Shafer teaches providing a mobile robotic system further comprises providing a mobile robotic system comprising an end-effector with a mechanical compliance element (See at least Shafer Column 11 lines 6-14 and Figure 1, the actuable members are interpreted as mechanical compliance elements).
Modified Shafer fails to disclose the third sensor comprises one or more of a micro switch and capacitive sensor to detect a mechanical compliance of the mechanical compliance element.
However, Song teaches the third sensor comprises a capacitive sensor to detect a mechanical compliance of the mechanical compliance element (See at least Song Paragraph 0015, the third sensor is a capacitive sensor that detects mechanical compliance of the fingers/mechanical compliance element).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the teachings disclosed in modified Shafer with Song to have the third sensor comprise a capacitive sensor to detect a mechanical compliance of the mechanical compliance element. This modification, as taught by Song, would allow the system to identify the softness and hardness of the object, so as to control the grabbing force of the mechanical hand, which can effectively reduce the harmful deformation of the grabbed object and prevent the finger motor of the mechanical hand from being overloaded (See at least Song Paragraph 0015).
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shafer in view of Sun, Zheng, McCulley, Nishina, and Yamane, and in further view of O’Hare et al (US 20230191634 A1) (Hereianfter referred to as O’Hare)
Regarding Claim 17, modified Shafer teaches providing a mobile robotic system further comprises providing a communications interface in communication with the processing subsystem and the robot arm (See at least Shafer Column 11 line 61- Column 12 line 6 and Figure 1, the communication network/interface allows communication between the processing subsystem and the robot).
Even though Shafer teaches sending commands from the processing subsystem to the robot arm (See at least Shafer Column 24 lines 38-63), Yamane teaches an open loop mode of the mobile robotic system, and Sun teaches data from the third sensor indicates that the object has been successfully picked, modified Shafer fails to disclose the open loop mode of the mobile robotic system defines a quick halt command; and
moving the end-effector to pick the object further comprises sending the quick halt command from the processing subsystem to the robot arm if data from the third sensor indicates that the object has been successfully picked.
However, O’Hare teaches a quick halt command (See at least O’Hare Paragraph 0166, the wait time parameter is interpreted as a quick halt command); and
moving the end-effector to pick the object further comprises executing the quick halt command by the robot arm if data indicates that the object has been successfully picked (See at least O’Hare Paragraph 0166, the robot waits to move after successfully grasping the workpiece, which is interpreted as executing the quick halt command when the object has been successfully picked).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the teachings disclosed in modified Shafer with O’Hare to send the quick halt command from the processing subsystem to the robot arm if data from the third sensor indicates that the object has been successfully picked. This modification, as taught by O’Hare, would allow the robot to wait before moving the object so that the object can be inspected (See at least O’Hare Paragraphs 0153 and 0166), thus, providing improved control over the inspection of each object (See at least O’Hare Paragraph 0082).
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shafer in view of Sun, Zheng, and McCulley, and in further view of Robertson et al (US 20190261565 A1) (Hereianfter referred to as Robertson)
Regarding Claim 18, modified Shafer fails to disclose the second sensor comprises a sensor that provides higher accuracy measurements than the first sensor and has a narrower field of perception than the first sensor.
However, McCulley teaches the second sensor comprises a sensor that provides higher accuracy measurements than the first sensor and has a narrower field of perception than the first sensor (See at least McCulley Column 18 line 48-Column 19 line 22, the second sensor on the gripper has a higher resolution/accuracy than the first sensor 130, and covers less spatial area, which is a narrower field of perception).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the teachings disclosed in modified Shafer with McCulley to have the second sensor provide higher accuracy measurements than the first sensor and have a narrower field of perception than the first sensor. These modifications, as taught by McCulley, would allow the system to utilize the first sensor to perform a rough scan to locate the object, move the gripper closer to the object, and utilize the second sensor to image the object at a closer distance with a sensor that has a higher resolution and covers less spatial area in order to improve the confidence/reduce uncertainty in the detected position (See at least McCulley Column 18 line 48-Column 19 line 22).
Modified Shafer fails to explicitly disclose locating the second sensor on a chassis of the mobile robotic system.
However, Robertson teaches locating the second sensor on a chassis of the mobile robotic system (See at least Roberton Paragraph 0133, the camera/second sensor is mounted on the chassis).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the teachings disclosed in modified Shafer with Robertson to locate the second sensor on a chassis of the mobile robotic system since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art in Re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70. In this case, the second sensor is modified so that it is placed on the chassis instead of near the end effector. This modification will not change the principal operation of the robot as the second sensor can still perform the same function regardless of whether its placed on the chassis or near the end effector.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Terasawa (US 20230347509 A1) teaches a robot system with an overhead camera for determining a gripping point on an object, and a hand camera for moving towards the object and correcting the gripping point.
/ESVINDER SINGH/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3657