DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 4, 5, 7-12, and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Michikawauchi et al US 2011/0259290 in view of Cloud US 2,280217.
Regarding claims 1 and 14, Michikawauchi et al discloses a combustion engine fuel comprising ammonia and a pilot fuel consisting of a hydrocarbon having a cetane number greater than 60 and an alkyl nitrate or a mixture of alkyl nitrates. See FIG. 1, 20a-26, and corresponding text.
Michikawauchi et al fails to explicitly disclose percentages of the components. Cloud discloses a combustion engine fuel comprising about 95.00% to about 99.75% by weight of ammonia and about 0.25% to about 5.00% by weight of a pilot fuel consisting of a hydrocarbon having a cetane number greater than 60 and containing about 0.02% to about 30.0% by weight of an alkyl nitrate or a mixture of alkyl nitrates. See col. 4, line 48 – col. 5, line 29; Table 1 and 5 and FIG. 3.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include the teachings of Cloud in the system of Michikawauchi et al to optimize the fuel combustion properties for better engine performance.
Therefore, having the improve ammonia based fuel including the nitrate addition of the
prior art disclosure, it would be apparent that one of ordinary skill in the art would have had a
reasonable expectation of success in producing the claimed invention. Therefore, the invention as a whole was prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date, as evidenced by the references, especially in the absence of evidence to the contrary.
Furthermore, "The combination of familiar elements according to known methods is likely to be obvious when it does no more than yield predictable results." KSR Int'l Co. V. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398,416 (2007). "If a person of ordinary skill can implement a predictable variation, § 103 likely bars its patentability." Id. at 417.
"Products of identical chemical composition cannot have mutually exclusive properties." A chemical composition and its properties are inseparable. Therefore, if the prior art teaches the
identical chemical product, the properties applicant discloses and/or claims are necessarily present. In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990). Also see in re Papesch, 315 F.2d 381, 391, 137 USPQ 43, 51 (CCPA 1963) ("From the standpoint of patent law, a compound and all its properties are inseparable.").
Finally, it has been held that obviousness is not rebutted by merely recognizing additional
advantages or latent properties present in the prior art process and composition. Further, the fact
that applicant has recognized another advantage which would flow naturally from following the
suggestion of the prior art cannot be the basis for patentability when the differences would
otherwise be obvious. Ex parte Obiaya, 227 USPQ 58, 60 (Bd.Pat. App. & Inter. 1985). Thereby
meeting the claim limitations.
Regarding claim 2, Cloud discloses wherein the pilot fuel contains from about 0.5% to about 30.0% by weight of the alkyl nitrate or a-mixture of alkyl nitrates. See col. 4, line 48 – col. 5, line 29; Table 1 and 5 and FIG. 3.
Regarding claim 2, Cloud discloses wherein the alkyl nitrate is a linear alkyl nitrate having 4 to 36 carbon atoms, a branched alkyl nitrate having 4 to 36 carbon atoms, or a cyclic alkyl nitrate having 5 to 18 carbon atoms. See col. 4, line 48 – col. 5, line 29; Table 1 and 5 and FIG. 3.
Regarding claim 5, Cloud discloses wherein the alkyl nitrate is selected from the group consisting of 2-ethylhexyl nitrate, cyclohexyl nitrate, dodecyl nitrate, n-nonyl nitrate, 2-tetradecyl-1-octadecyl nitrate, hexyl nitrate, 2-octyl nitrate, isononyl nitrate, 2-propylheptyl nitrate, and a mixture of C9-C13 branched alkyl nitrates. See col. 4, line 48 – col. 5, line 29; Table 1 and 5 and FIG. 3.
Regarding claim 7, Michikawauchi et al discloses a process for obtaining the fuel according to claim 1, which comprises mixing, in the combustion chamber of an engine, the pilot fuel and liquefied or gaseous ammonia, premixed or not with the intake air. See paragraphs [0177]-[0179].
Regarding claim 8, Michikawauchi et al discloses wherein the pilot fuel is co-injected with the ammonia via a dual injection system into the combustion chamber. See FIG. 13-15 and 25-29 and corresponding text.
Regarding claim 9, Michikawauchi et al discloses wherein the pilot fuel is injected into the combustion chamber in advance of the intake or injection of ammonia. See FIG. 13-15 and 25-29 and corresponding text.
Regarding claim 10, Michikawauchi et al discloses wherein the pilot fuel is injected into the combustion chamber after the intake or injection of ammonia. See FIG. 13-15 and 25-29 and corresponding text.
Regarding claim 11, Michikawauchi et al discloses vehicle or ship engine containing the fuel as defined in claim 1. See FIG. 1 and 2 and corresponding text.
Regarding claim 12, Michikawauchi et al discloses vehicle or ship comprising the engine as defined in claim 11. See FIG. 1 and 2 and corresponding text.
Claims 3 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Michikawauchi et al and Cloud, as applied above, in view of Kiiski et al US 2019/0225904.
Regarding claim 3, Michikawauchi et al fails to explicitly disclose, but Kiiski et al discloses wherein the hydrocarbon is selected from: a diesel fuel with low aromatic content (<10%) and low polyaromatic content (<10%), a hydrotreated vegetable oil (HVO), an iso-alkane, an n-alkane, a sustainable aviation fuel and mixtures thereof. See claims 1-12, Examples 1 and 2, Table 1, and page 7, lines 4-19.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include the teachings of Kiiski et al in the system of Michikawauchi et al to optimize the fuel combustion properties for better engine performance.
Regarding claim 6, Michikawauchi et al fails to explicitly disclose, but Kiiski et al discloses wherein the alkyl nitrate is 2-ethylhexyl nitrate. See claims 1-12, Examples 1 and 2, Table 1, and page 7, lines 4-19.
Claims 15-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Michikawauchi et al and Cloud, as applied above, in view of Goto US 2004/0011303.
Regarding claim 15, Michikawauchi et al fails to explicitly disclose, but Goto discloses wherein the pilot fuel contains from about 1.0% to about 30.0% by weight of the alkyl nitrate or mixture of alkyl nitrates. See paragraph [0030]. Note that “the cetane number of the pilot oil should be increased by 5% to 25% as a result of adding the ignition stimulant.” Therefore, the percentage will be optimized based on specific engine requirements.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include the teachings of Goto in the system of Michikawauchi et al to optimize the fuel combustion properties for better engine performance.
Regarding claim 16, Michikawauchi et al fails to explicitly disclose, but Goto discloses wherein the pilot fuel contains from about 1.0% to about 20.0% by weight of the alkyl nitrate or mixture of alkyl nitrates. See paragraph [0030]. Note that “the cetane number of the pilot oil should be increased by 5% to 25% as a result of adding the ignition stimulant.” Therefore, the percentage will be optimized based on specific engine requirements.
Regarding claim 17, Michikawauchi et al fails to explicitly disclose, but Goto discloses wherein the pilot fuel contains from about 1.0% to about 10.0% by weight of the alkyl nitrate or mixture of alkyl nitrates. See paragraph [0030]. Note that “the cetane number of the pilot oil should be increased by 5% to 25% as a result of adding the ignition stimulant.” Therefore, the percentage will be optimized based on specific engine requirements.
Therefore, having the improve ammonia based fuel including the nitrate addition of the
prior art disclosure, it would be apparent that one of ordinary skill in the art would have had a
reasonable expectation of success in producing the claimed invention. Therefore, the invention as a whole was prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date, as evidenced by the references, especially in the absence of evidence to the contrary.
Furthermore, "The combination of familiar elements according to known methods is likely to be obvious when it does no more than yield predictable results." KSR Int'l Co. V. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398,416 (2007). "If a person of ordinary skill can implement a predictable variation, § 103 likely bars its patentability." Id. at 417.
"Products of identical chemical composition cannot have mutually exclusive properties." A chemical composition and its properties are inseparable. Therefore, if the prior art teaches the
identical chemical product, the properties applicant discloses and/or claims are necessarily present. In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990). Also see in re Papesch, 315 F.2d 381, 391, 137 USPQ 43, 51 (CCPA 1963) ("From the standpoint of patent law, a compound and all its properties are inseparable.").
Finally, it has been held that obviousness is not rebutted by merely recognizing additional
advantages or latent properties present in the prior art process and composition. Further, the fact
that applicant has recognized another advantage which would flow naturally from following the
suggestion of the prior art cannot be the basis for patentability when the differences would
otherwise be obvious. Ex parte Obiaya, 227 USPQ 58, 60 (Bd.Pat. App. & Inter. 1985). Thereby
meeting the claim limitations.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to the person having ordinary skill in the art to have selected appropriate conditions, as guided by the prior art, in order to obtain the desired products. It is not seen where such selections would result in any new or unexpected results. Please see MPEP 2144.05, II: noting obviousness within prior art conditions or through routine experimentation.
Conclusion
/JOSEPH J DALLO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3747