DETAILED ACTION
Notices to Applicant
This communication is a non-final rejection. Claims 1-20, as filed 09/15/2025, are pending and have been considered below.
Priority is generally acknowledged as shown on the filing receipt with the earliest priority date being 03/30/2023.
The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon and the rationale supporting the rejection would be the same under either status.
Claim Objections
Claims 8, 9, and 15 are objected to because of the following informalities. Claims 8 and 9 recite “the vital data of the user.” This limitation is interpreted as “vital data of the user.” Additionally, claim 15 recites “the user,” which the Examiner interprets as “a user.”
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
The claim limitation “an estimator that estimates a candidate for an activity input by a user to a user terminal for recording” has been interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) because it uses a generic placeholder “estimator” coupled with functional language “estimates a candidate for an activity input by a user to a user terminal for recording” without reciting sufficient structure to achieve the function. Furthermore, the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier.
Because the claim limitation invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f), claim 20 has been interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification that achieves the claimed function, and equivalents thereof. The specification describes the processor 52 as performing this estimation as that structure ([0058]-[0060], [0064], [0128]).
If applicant wishes to provide further explanation or dispute the examiner’s interpretation of the corresponding structure, applicant must identify the corresponding structure with reference to the specification by page and line number, and to the drawing, if any, by reference characters in response to this Office action.
For more information, see MPEP § 2173 et seq. and Supplementary Examination Guidelines for Determining Compliance With 35 U.S.C. 112 and for Treatment of Related Issues in Patent Applications, 76 FR 7162, 7167 (Feb. 9, 2011).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
Step 1
The claims fall within the statutory categories of a process (claims 1-19) and a machine (claim 20). Claim 1 recites:
A support method comprising:
estimating a candidate for an activity input by a user to a user terminal (insignificant extra-solution activity, namely, mere data gathering) for recording using an activity corpus that manages an activity record item that chronologically describes an activity recognized and recorded by the user and context information that chronologically describes information about the user in association with each other in chronological order (abstract idea – mental process; the user terminal is recited at a high level of generality, and its use amounts to merely applying the abstract idea with a computer); and
presenting the candidate for the activity estimated to the user (additional element – insignificant extra-solution activity, namely, outputting a result).
Claim 1 is exemplary, and the same analysis applies to claims 2-20.
Step 2A Prong One
Under the broadest reasonable interpretation, the italicized portions recite mental processes. They are analogous to what a behavioral activation therapist does when helping a patient fill in a paper activity record sheet. For example, but for the “user terminal” language, estimating a candidate for the activity the patient is recording, from the patient’s earlier time-ordered activity records and notes on the patient’s circumstances, is what a therapist does by reading back through the patient’s earlier record sheets and suggesting what the patient likely did. Other than generic computer components such as the user terminal, the estimator, and the UI unit, nothing in the claims precludes the italicized portions from practically being performed in the human mind.
The dependent claims further narrow the abstract idea. For example, claims 2, 3, 14, 17, and 18 recite the kinds of context information, claims 4-9 and 16 recite how the candidate is estimated including a matching degree calculated from a distance between feature amounts (claim 8), claim 10 recites determining a timing from the distribution of input times, and claims 11 and 19 recite impressions, link information, and recommending an activity.
Step 2A Prong Two
The judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application because the additional elements:
amount to mere instructions to apply the exception. For example, the user terminal, the estimator and the UI unit (claim 20), and the adaptive UI and the activity bookmark (claims 12 and 13) amount to invoking a computer as a tool to perform the abstract idea (see applicant’s specification [0129]; MPEP 2106.05(f)).
add insignificant extra-solution activity to the abstract idea. For example, presenting the candidate (claims 1 and 20) and notifying the user (claim 10) amount to mere data output and receiving the user input amounts to mere data gathering (see MPEP 2106.05(g)).
The dependent claims add no additional elements beyond those above. Viewed as an ordered combination, the additional elements add nothing beyond the elements taken individually. Nothing indicates that the combination improves the functioning of a computer or any other technology. Collectively, the additional elements provide a generic computer implementation of the abstract idea and do not impose a meaningful limit on it.
Step 2B
The claims do not include additional elements sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. As discussed under Step 2A Prong Two, the additional elements amount to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception and insignificant extra-solution activity. The extra-solution activity is also well-understood, routine, and conventional. For example, presenting the candidate and notifying the user on the user terminal and gathering user input are described only generally ([0017]-[0018]), in a manner indicating it is sufficiently well-known that the specification need not describe its particulars (MPEP 2106.07(a)(III)(A)). Viewed as an ordered combination, the additional elements add nothing beyond the elements taken individually.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 4, 7, 13, 15, 16, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ishii (US20220270722A1) in view of Maliwauki (US20240177098A1).
Regarding claim 1, Ishii discloses: A support method (“A technique has been required that simplifies the user's input operation and records an accurate behavior history,” [0009]) comprising:
--estimating a candidate for an activity input by a user to a user terminal for recording (“the behavior selection means is capable of extracting the behavior estimated to have been executed by the user from the position information and the time information with reference to the behavior information accumulated in the previously constructed database,” [0031]; “the behavior effect analysis server displays the more than one behavior as choices on the user terminal through the communication network. The user selects the behavior that he/she actually executed from among the choices by use of the touch panel or the like,” [0060])
--using an activity corpus that manages an activity record item that chronologically describes an activity recognized and recorded by the user (“The behavior information accumulated in the behavior history database includes the contents of the user's behavior and the execution position and execution time of the behavior,” [0030]; “stores the behavior information pertaining to the behavior selected by the user,” [0036]).
--and context information that chronologically describes information about the user (“By the position information acquisition means and the time information acquisition means, when and where the user stayed is stored in storage means,” [0027])
--in association with each other (“the behavior information pertaining to the behavior is associated with the contents of the behavior, the position where the behavior was executed, the time of arrival at the position and the staying time at the position,” [0029]); and
--presenting the candidate for the activity estimated to the user (“When there is more than one candidate of the behavior estimated to have been executed by the user as a result of the extraction, the more than one behavior may be presented to the user as choices so that the user selects the correct behavior,” [0031]).
Ishii does not expressly disclose but Maliwauki teaches: in chronological order (“The historical time entries exhibit patterns in, for example, locations from where the time is entered, time stamps for clock-ins and clock-outs, sequence of jobs, and or any other type of historical patterns,” [0012]).
A POSITA before the effective filing date would have been motivated to expand Ishii’s behavior history database to include the chronological order of Maliwauki because this would let the user “conveniently select a desired description from the displayed set” (Maliwauki [0011]).
Additionally, each element is taught by Ishii or Maliwauki. The chronological ordering of Maliwauki does not affect the normal functioning of the elements of the claim which are taught by Ishii. Because the elements do not affect the normal functioning of each other, the results of their combination would have been predictable. Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to combine the teachings of Maliwauki with the teachings of Ishii since the result is merely a combination of old elements, and, since the elements do not affect the normal functioning of each other, the results of the combination would have been predictable.
Regarding claim 4, Ishii does not expressly disclose but Maliwauki further teaches: wherein in the estimating, the candidate for the activity is estimated based on the activity input by the user to the user terminal and the activity corpus (“The patterns may further include how the jobs/tasks are sequentially organized, i.e., what type of jobs/tasks would likely follow a job/task or a set of jobs/tasks,” [0025]). The motivation to combine is the same as in claim 1.
Regarding claim 7, Ishii discloses: wherein in the estimating, in the activity corpus, an activity of the activity record item that is associated with the context information having a matching degree that is high with the context information of the user at a time when the user inputs the activity to the user terminal is estimated as the candidate for the activity (“in a case where there is more than one behavior associated with the close position information and time information when the position information and the time information stored in the past is compared with the newly acquired position information and time information,” [0036]).
Regarding claim 13, Ishii does not expressly disclose but Maliwauki further teaches: providing an activity bookmark for the user to use to input the activity immediately or to leave information for inputting the activity at a later time (“the GUI 300 a provides a floating button 302, which the user can select to clock-in and start a timer for the work currently being performed,” [0035]).
A POSITA before the effective filing date would have been motivated to expand Ishii’s behavior input to further include the floating clock-in button of Maliwauki because this would improve the convenience of recording, since “The user will not have to go through the hassle of manually entering time and corresponding descriptions every single time” (Maliwauki [0033]).
Claim 15 is rejected with the same reasoning as claim 1. The Examiner further notes that Ishii discloses a data generation method (“accumulates the behavior information pertaining to the behavior in the behavior history database,” [0030]), wherein the activity corpus is used for estimating activity support information of the user (“the behavior selection means is capable of extracting the behavior estimated to have been executed by the user from the position information and the time information with reference to the behavior information accumulated in the previously constructed database,” [0031]).
Regarding claim 16, Ishii discloses: wherein the activity corpus is used to estimate a candidate for an activity that the user inputs into a user terminal for recording (“When there is more than one candidate of the behavior estimated to have been executed by the user as a result of the extraction, the more than one behavior may be presented to the user as choices so that the user selects the correct behavior,” [0031]; “the behavior effect analysis server displays the more than one behavior as choices on the user terminal through the communication network,” [0060]).
Claim 20 is rejected with the same reasoning as claim 1. The Examiner further notes that Ishii discloses A support system comprising: an estimator (“The behavior effect analysis server is provided with: a control unit having the position information acquisition means, the time information acquisition means, the behavior selection means,” [0058]), an UI unit that presents the candidate for the activity estimated by the estimator to the user (“the behavior effect analysis server displays the more than one behavior as choices on the user terminal through the communication network,” [0060]).
Claims 2, 3, 17, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ishii in view of Maliwauki and Allen (US20230170074A1).
Regarding claim 2, Ishii does not expressly disclose but Allen teaches: wherein the context information includes log data of the user terminal (“Other types of sensors include sensors that measure battery properties, music properties, application usage, call/message status, selfie/photo usage,” [0050]) and vital data of the user (“The real-time motion data may include raw motion data, such as steps, timestamps, heart rate, etc,” [0084]).
A POSITA before the effective filing date would have been motivated to expand the context information of Ishii and Maliwauki to include the log data and vitals data of Allen because this would improve the user’s experience of keeping the record by tracking these data automatically, which “may also alleviate some of the burden from the user, thereby improve the user's mood,” (Allen [0012]).
Additionally, each element is taught by Ishii, Maliwauki, or Allen. The chronological order of Maliwauki and the log data and vitals data of Allen do not affect the normal functioning of the elements of the claim which are taught by Ishii. Because the elements do not affect the normal functioning of each other, the results of their combination would have been predictable. Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to combine the teachings of Maliwauki and Allen with the teachings of Ishii since the result is merely a combination of old elements, and, since the elements do not affect the normal functioning of each other, the results of the combination would have been predictable.
Regarding claim 3, Ishii does not expressly disclose but Allen further teaches: wherein the log data includes at least one of: a usage log of an application running on the user terminal; an operation log of the application running on the user terminal; a position information log of the user terminal; a call log of the user terminal; or a message transmission/reception log of the user terminal (“Other types of sensors include sensors that measure battery properties, music properties, application usage, call/message status, selfie/photo usage,” [0050]). The motivation to combine is the same as in claim 2.
Claims 17 and 18 are rejected with the same reasoning as claims 2 and 3, respectively.
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ishii in view of Maliwauki and Takahashi (US20220336082A1).
Regarding claim 5, Ishii does not expressly disclose but Takahashi teaches: wherein in the estimating, in the activity corpus, activities that are chronologically arranged before and after an activity identical to the activity input by the user to the user terminal are estimated as the candidate for the activity (“specify an action, a frequency of which is equal to or larger than a threshold concerning the frequency, as the trigger action out of the actions performed before and after the target action in the action sequence,” claim 3).
A POSITA before the effective filing date would have been motivated to expand the estimation of Ishii and Maliwauki to include the actions performed before and after the target action of Takahashi because this would help change the user’s behavior, since “it is possible to change actions of the user by presenting the trigger action to the user,” (Takahashi [0087]).
Additionally, each element is taught by Ishii, Maliwauki, or Takahashi. The chronological order of Maliwauki and the before and after actions of Takahashi do not affect the normal functioning of the elements of the claim which are taught by Ishii. Because the elements do not affect the normal functioning of each other, the results of their combination would have been predictable. Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to combine the teachings of Maliwauki and Takahashi with the teachings of Ishii since the result is merely a combination of old elements, and, since the elements do not affect the normal functioning of each other, the results of the combination would have been predictable.
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ishii in view of Maliwauki and Kuriyama (US20110137836A1).
Regarding claim 6, Ishii further discloses: wherein in the estimating, a plurality of the candidates for the activity are estimated (“When there is more than one candidate of the behavior estimated to have been executed by the user as a result of the extraction, the more than one behavior may be presented to the user as choices so that the user selects the correct behavior,” [0031]) and in the presenting, the plurality of candidates for the activity are presented (“the behavior selection means presents the more than one behavior to the user as choices,” [0036]).
Ishii does not expressly disclose but Kuriyama teaches: in order of frequency in the activity corpus (“Activity detail candidates are presented to the user in descending order of hit percentage,” [0128]).
A POSITA before the effective filing date would have been motivated to expand the presentation of Ishii and Maliwauki to include the frequency ordering of Kuriyama because this would make the system more user friendly by “presenting to the user the activity detail candidates in descending order of likelihood of being chosen by the user” (Kuriyama [0128]).
Additionally, each element is taught by Ishii, Maliwauki, or Kuriyama. The chronological order of Maliwauki and the frequency ordering of Kuriyama do not affect the normal functioning of the elements of the claim which are taught by Ishii. Because the elements do not affect the normal functioning of each other, the results of their combination would have been predictable. Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to combine the teachings of Maliwauki and Kuriyama with the teachings of Ishii since the result is merely a combination of old elements, and, since the elements do not affect the normal functioning of each other, the results of the combination would have been predictable.
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ishii in view of Maliwauki and Dotan-Cohen (US20170140285A1).
Regarding claim 8, Ishii does not expressly disclose but Dotan-Cohen teaches: wherein in the estimating, the matching degree is calculated based on a distance between feature amounts of two pieces of the context information, and a feature amount of the context information includes at least one of: a feature amount obtained from date/time data; a feature amount obtained from log data of the user terminal; or a feature amount obtained from the vital data of the user (“features similarity identifier 264 may determine user activity sequence similarity (e.g., the sequence of the last K user actions prior to the current action (or a particular recent action) by determining a Levenschtein distance between the historical user action sequence and recent user action sequences),” [0083]).
A POSITA before the effective filing date would have been motivated to expand the matching of Ishii and Maliwauki to include the distance calculation of Dotan-Cohen because this would improve the value of the outputted data by “improv[ing] understanding of the user's intent” (Dotan-Cohen [0002]).
Additionally, each element is taught by Ishii, Maliwauki, or Dotan-Cohen. The chronological order of Maliwauki and the distance calculation of Dotan-Cohen do not affect the normal functioning of the elements of the claim which are taught by Ishii. Because the elements do not affect the normal functioning of each other, the results of their combination would have been predictable. Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to combine the teachings of Maliwauki and Dotan-Cohen with the teachings of Ishii since the result is merely a combination of old elements, and, since the elements do not affect the normal functioning of each other, the results of the combination would have been predictable.
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ishii in view of Maliwauki, Dotan-Cohen, and Allen.
Regarding claim 9, Ishii does not expressly disclose but Dotan-Cohen further teaches:
--wherein the feature amount obtained from the date/time data includes day of a week and time (“time-related features, such as time(s) of day(s), day of week or month,” [0060]),
--the feature amount obtained from the log data of the user terminal includes at least one of: dwell time of a screen of an application running on the user terminal; a number of screen transitions of an application running on the user terminal; or an activation time of an application running on the user terminal (“how long the user used an application associated with the activity,” [0060]; [0069]); The motivation to combine Dotan-Cohen is the same as in claim 8.
Ishii does not expressly disclose but Allen further teaches: the feature amount obtained from the vital data of the user includes at least one of: a number of steps; heart rate; hours of sleep; sleep phase; position information; or activity information (“The real-time motion data may include raw motion data, such as steps, timestamps, heart rate, etc,” [0084]).
A POSITA before the effective filing date would have been motivated to expand the context information of Ishii, Maliwauki, and Dotan-Cohen to include the log data and vitals data of Allen because this would improve the user’s experience of keeping the record by tracking these data automatically, which “may also alleviate some of the burden from the user, thereby improve the user's mood,” (Allen [0012]).
Additionally, each element is taught by Ishii, Maliwauki, Dotan-Cohen, or Allen. The chronological order of Maliwauki, the distance calculation of Dotan-Cohen, and the vitals data of Allen do not affect the normal functioning of the elements of the claim which are taught by Ishii. Because the elements do not affect the normal functioning of each other, the results of their combination would have been predictable. Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to combine the teachings of Maliwauki, Dotan-Cohen, and Allen with the teachings of Ishii since the result is merely a combination of old elements, and, since the elements do not affect the normal functioning of each other, the results of the combination would have been predictable.
Subject Matter Free from Prior Art
Claims 10-12, 14, and 19 are not anticipated or obvious in view of the prior art. The closest prior art is Ishii, Allen, and Woiceshyn (US20200302310A1). Ishii discloses presenting behaviors estimated from behavior history “to the user as choices so that the user selects the correct behavior” ([0031]). However, Ishii does not disclose a notification timing determined from the distribution of the user’s input times, primer and stage input models, a life value tag, or link information indicating the amount of change in impression between activities. Allen discloses that the user may “set a notification time to be reminded to answer the daily check-in questions” ([0067]), but the time is set by the user rather than determined from the input times in the record. Woiceshyn discloses generating “an action suggestion that is intended to modify the current user state” (Abstract), but does not disclose link information indicating the amount of change in impression between activities arranged in chronological order. None of these references, alone or in combination, teaches or suggests the limitations of claims 10-12, 14, and 19.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure.
Hashida (US20130091426A1) discloses a terminal that “selects an input candidate from the specified character string and presents the selected candidate” (Abstract).
/JOSHUA B BLANCHETTE/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3684