DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by WO 2023/049307 A1 (CHINOOK LABS LLC [US]) 30 March 2023 (2023-03-30) (hereafter “Chinook”).
Regarding claim 1, Chinook discloses a system comprising (figure lA):
an image sensor configured for imaging a subject (paragraphs 3 and 48; figure lA; (102));
an optical component positioned between the image sensor and the subject (paragraphs 3 and 48; figure lA; (110));
a set of fiducials integrated with the optical component in a region associated with a field of view of the image sensor, the set of fiducials implementing respective discontinuities in a refraction plane of the optical component (paragraphs 3-4 and 48; figure lA; (120): fiducial pattern is etched into camera-facing surface of the cover glass; figure 5, (520) and (530), fiducial sub-pattern and fiducial pattern);
a processor (paragraphs 49-50; figure lA; (150): controller) configured to perform a process comprising:
receiving an image of the subject from the image sensor (paragraph 68; figure 6; (600): frames are collected);
detecting, using the image and based on anomalous light propagation through the respective discontinuities, an arrangement of the set of fiducials (paragraph 68; figure 6; (620) -(640): the response of the fiducial pattern is recovered and a peak detection is performed to detect the centroids of a diffraction pattern);
based on the arrangement, performing a calibration operation to account for an effect of the optical component on light detected by the image sensor (paragraphs 50, 51, and 56: the detected centroid positions are used to calibrate the camera).
Independent claims 15 and 19 repeat the subject-matter of claim 1 in terms of method steps and computer-readable medium features. Therefore, the independent claims 15 and 19 are rejected for the same reasons as independent claim 1.
Regarding claims 2, 16, 20, Chinook discloses wherein the process further comprises:
receiving a plurality of images of the subject from the image sensor, the plurality of images including the image, and based on the plurality of images, generating a filtered image in which dynamic image content is filtered out (paragraph 68, discloses images are filtered); and the detecting the arrangement of the set of fiducials is performed using the filtered image (paragraph 68; figure 6, discloses the reception and filtering of multiple images to detect a set of fiducials).
Regarding claims 3, 5, 17, 18, Chinook discloses a light source configured to inject light into the optical component at an angle that facilitates a fiducial illumination function in which the injected light reflects between surfaces of the optical component before exiting at a fiducial of the set of fiducials (paragraph 35 and 48, discloses that light is injected into the cover glass to illuminate the fiducials wherein the light source is activated for calibration); wherein the process further comprises: enabling, immediately before performing a calibration sequence that includes the calibration operation, the light source to inject the light into the optical component (paragraph 33 and 35, discloses a calibration, paragraph 51 discloses the calibrated locations of the glass, so the injected light is used for indicating the operational state of the system); and disabling, immediately after completing the calibration sequence, the light source from injecting the light into the optical component (Note: when the performing the calibration is completed, the system disables the light source).
Regarding claim 4, Chinook discloses wherein the process further comprises enabling the light source to inject the light into the optical component whenever the system is operational, the light source thereby performing both the fiducial illumination function and an operational indication function (paragraphs 33, 35 and 51 discloses the calibrated location of the glass, so the injected light is used for indicating the operational state of the system).
Regarding claim 6, Chinook discloses wherein the optical component is configured to allow ambient light into the optical component at an angle that facilitates a fiducial illumination function in which the ambient light reflects between surfaces of the optical component before exiting at a fiducial of the set of fiducials (paragraphs 32 and 34 discloses that ambient light may be used to illuminate the fiducials in a passive mode).
Regarding claim 7, Chinook discloses wherein: the optical component is implemented as a planar component having a first planar surface, a second planar surface opposite the first planar surface (figure 1A, (110), discloses the glass that has planar surfaces); and
a perimeter edge connecting the first planar surface and the second planar surface (figure 1A, (110), the glass 110 has an edge); and
at least a portion of the perimeter edge is configured to reflect light propagating between the first planar surface and the second planar surface to deter the light from exiting the optical component at the perimeter edge (fig. 1A, (110), a portion of the light being propagated through the cover glass may exit the cover glass at the etched spots of the fiducial pattern in the glass).
Regarding claims 8, Chinook discloses implemented as an extended reality presentation system that includes a head-mounted display device in which the image sensor and the optical component are integrated (paragraphs 44 and 47; figure lA, discloses that an extended reality system including a head-mounted device wherein the fiducials are in the field of view of the camera and the user);
wherein the optical component is implemented by a cover glass for the head-mounted display device and the image sensor is implemented by a world-facing camera behind the cover glass in the head-mounted display device (paragraphs 44 and 47; figure lA, discloses that an extended reality system including a head-mounted device wherein the fiducials are in the field of view of the camera and the user).
Regarding claim 9, Chinook discloses wherein the set of fiducials is integrated with the optical component both in the region associated with the field of view of the image sensor and further in a sub-region associated with a field of view presented to a user (paragraphs 44 and 47; figure lA discloses that an extended reality system including a head-mounted device wherein the fiducials are in the field of view of the camera and the user).
Regarding claim 10; Chinook discloses an extended reality presentation system that includes a head-mounted display device in which the image sensor and the optical component are integrated; wherein the optical component is associated with an internal display for the head- mounted display device and the image sensor is associated with an eye-tracking camera integrated within the head-mounted display device to track eye movements of a user viewing the internal display (paragraphs 49 and 88, discloses that the system may be used for eye tracking).
Regarding claim 11, Chinook discloses wherein the calibration operation is performed as part of a factory calibration sequence in which a baseline calibration model is generated (paragraphs 33 and 50, discloses calibration, so it is common practice to use factory or online calibration sequences, paragraph 74, discloses a calibration of the device performed during or after manufacturing).
Regarding claim 12, Chinook discloses wherein the calibration operation is performed as part of an online calibration sequence in which a baseline calibration model that was previously generated is updated to reflect changes to the optical component exhibited by the arrangement (paragraphs 33 and 50, discloses calibration, so it is common practice to use factory or online calibration sequences; paragraph 74, discloses a calibration of the device performed during or after manufacturing).
Regarding claim 13, Chinook discloses wherein the set of fiducials includes a first fiducial implemented by removing material from the optical component at a first location to implement a first discontinuity in the refraction plane of the optical component at the first location (paragraphs 35 and 37 discloses that the fiducials may be created by removing material from the optical component by etching or by adding a diffuser film).
Regarding claim 14, Chinook discloses wherein the set of fiducials includes a second fiducial implemented by adding material to the optical component at a second location to implement a second discontinuity in the refraction plane of the optical component at the second location (paragraphs 35 and 36, discloses that the fiducials may be created by removing material from the optical component by etching or by adding a diffuser film).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Valli et al. (US 20210185303 A1) discloses near-eye display glasses may have a camera embedded that captures the content displayed on the screen and tracking the screen enables the 3D content to be displayed from varying viewing distances and angles.
Gupta et al. (US 20230314828 A1) discloses fiducial patterns that produce 2D Barker code-like diffraction patterns at a camera sensor are etched or otherwise provided on a cover glass in front of a camera.
Contact Information
TUNG T. VO
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2425
/TUNG T VO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2425