DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2, 5, 8 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 2, line 3 of the claim, “the vehicle type” lacks proper antecedent basis.
Regarding claim 5, the phrase "in particular" similar to “such as” and renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitations following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
Fore examination purposes, the claim is interpreted as “wherein a means for deflecting the light,
Regarding claim 8, the phrase "in particular" similar to “such as” and renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitations following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
For examination purposes, claim 8 is interpreted as follows: “the lighting device according to claim 1, wherein the lighting device has at least one opticor an optic and a lens.
Regarding claim 9, the phrase "in particular" is similar to “such as” and renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitations following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
For examination purposes, claim 9 is interpreted as follows: “the lighting device according to claim 1, wherein the illuminating means is an LED,
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ette et al. (US 2019/0111856 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Ette et al. teaches a lighting device on a vehicle door (door 2; figure 1) of a motor vehicle (1; figure 1), having an illuminating means (illuminants; see paragraph [0067]), a light guide (light guide module 60) which can be connected to the illuminating means ((illuminants; see paragraph [0067])) and an imaging means, wherein by means of the lighting device a variable display (LCD display – paragraph [0080]) can be generated, wherein the lighting device (figure 2) is arranged at least partly in an operating element (see paragraph [0049] where operating element is disclosed) that can be moved out of the vehicle (1).
Regarding claim 2, Ette et al. teaches the lighting device according to claim 1, wherein the illuminating means is arranged in a manner spaced apart from the operating element in the vehicle door (2).
Regarding claim 3, Ette et al. teaches the lighting device according to claim 1, wherein at least one means (LCD display – paragraph [0080]) for varying the light incident into the light guide (60) is arranged between the illuminating means (several luminants (not illustrated) disclosed in paragraph [0067]) and the light guide (60).
Regarding claim 4, Ette et al. teaches the lighting device according to claim 3, wherein the light variation means is an LCD or DLP panel (LCD display – paragraph [0080]) and/or a polarization filter.
Regarding claim 5, Ette et al. teaches the lighting device according to claim 1, wherein a means for deflecting the light, a mirror (paragraph [0105] discloses reflecting operating element) or a prism, can be arranged in the operating element (40).
Regarding claim 6, Ette et al. teaches the lighting device according to claim 5, wherein the deflection means can be designed as a movably controllable mirror (paragraph [0105] discloses reflecting operating element).
Regarding claim 7, Ette et al. teaches the lighting device according to claim 5, wherein the deflection means interact with a polarization filter (see paragraph [0105]), so that the display (see paragraph [0080] where display is disclosed) generated by means of the light source (light from the light guiding module 60) and the light variation means (function unit 40; see paragraph [0067]) can be separated.
Regarding claim 8, Ette et al. teaches the lighting device according to claim 1, wherein the lighting device has at least one optic (window area 35) or an optic and a lens.
Regarding claim 9, Ette et al. teaches the lighting device according to claim 1, wherein the illuminating means is an LED (see paragraph [0051] where LEDs and color changing LEDs are disclosed), a color-changeable LED, or a laser.
Regarding claim 10, Ette et al. teaches the lighting device according to claim 1, wherein the light guide (light guide module 60; light guide elements 243-248; figure 5) can be designed as a rigid or flexible light guide (see light guide 60 in figure 5).
Conclusion
/JESSICA M APENTENG/ Examiner, Art Unit 2875
/EVAN P DZIERZYNSKI/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2875