DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 4 and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 4, the limitation “wherein a shim interposed between the first end face and the stopping surface is fixed to the first end face or the stopping surface” is unclear and indefinite. Claim 4 is dependent on claim 1, which recites “the stopping surface abutting against the first end face of the spool”. Therefore it is unclear and indefinite how there can also be a shim between the surfaces.
Claims not specifically referenced are rejected as being dependent on a rejected base claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 6, and 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kasagi et al. (U.S. 2012/0199771).
Annotated Figure 1 from Kasagi.
Regarding claim 1, Kasagi discloses:
A spool valve (11) that switches a hydraulic fluid path, the spool valve (11) comprising:
a spool 60 (see paragraph 0037; see Figure 1)
a housing (27, 41) having a sleeve bore (inner 41) into which the spool (60) is inserted, and housing the spool (60) so as to allow the spool (60) to reciprocate along an axis (see Figure 1)
an electric device (20) connected to the spool (60) and switching the hydraulic fluid path by moving the spool (60) along the axis (see paragraphs 0036 and 0037)
wherein the spool (60) includes a first end face (see annotated figure above) on a first side in a direction along the axis, the first end face (see annotated figure above) being perpendicular to the axis
the housing (27, 41) includes a stopping surface (see annotated figure above) perpendicular to the axis, the stopping surface (see annotated figure above) abutting against the first end face (see annotated figure above) of the spool 60
either one or both of the first end face (see annotated figure above) and the stopping surface have one or more projections or recesses 66 (see paragraph 0045)
Regarding claim 2, Kasagi discloses:
wherein either one or both of the first end face (see annotated figure above) and the stopping surface are provided with a recessed portion (66) recessed from the first end face (see annotated figure above) or the stopping surface (see Figure 1; see paragraph 0045)
Regarding claim 3, Kasagi discloses:
wherein either one or both of the first end face (see annotated figure above) and the stopping surface are provided with a protruding portion (61) protruding from the first end face (see annotated figure above) or the stopping surface (see Figure 1)
Regarding claim 6, Kasagi discloses:
a spring (42) that biases the spool (60) toward a neutral position by abutting against a second end face (see annotated figure above) opposite from the first end face (see annotated figure above) in the direction along the axis
wherein the electric device (20) is connected to the first end face (see annotated figure above) of the spool (60) and moves the spool (60) in a direction in which the first end face (see annotated figure above) and the stopping surface (see annotated figure above) move away from each other, against a biasing force of the spring 42 (see Figure 1; see paragraphs 0040 and 0042)
Regarding claim 7, Kasagi discloses:
wherein the spool valve (11) is for use (see paragraph 0035)
Please note that a recitation with respect to the manner in which the claimed apparatus is intended to be employed (i.e. “in an aircraft”) does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus satisfying the claimed structural limitation.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4 and 5, as best understood, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kasagi in view of JP H0312596.
Regarding claims 4 and 5, Kasagi discloses the invention was essentially claimed, but fails to disclose wherein a shim interposed between the first end face and the stopping surface is fixed to the first end face or the stopping surface; wherein the shim has a notch extending in a direction perpendicular to the axis.
JP H0312596 teaches a solenoid spool valve wherein a shim (20) interposed between a first end face and a stopping surface is fixed to the first end face or the stopping surface (see Figures 1 and 2a); wherein the shim (20) has a notch (34) extending in a direction perpendicular to the axis (see Figure 2b).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to have modified Kasagi to provide wherein a shim interposed between the first end face and the stopping surface is fixed to the first end face or the stopping surface; wherein the shim has a notch extending in a direction perpendicular to the axis, as taught by JP H0312596. Doing so would prevent sticking between the spool and stopping surface.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Lee (U.S. 2003/0164194) discloses a spool valve comprising a spool; a housing having a sleeve bore with the spool reciprocating inside; an electric device moving the spool; the spool having an end face with a protrusion which contacts a stopping surface. Harigovindan et al. (U.S. 2022/0252165) discloses a spool valve for use in an aircraft comprising a spool in a sleeve bore of a housing, which has a recess on an end face that contacts a stopping surface.
/KELSEY E CARY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3753