DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1, 3-6, and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 1 and 8 recite “…which is a starting point of an undercut part where the inner bag interferes with the outer shell when pulling the inner bag from the container body.” This is indefinite or unclear.
The term “interferes with” is generally defined as to interpose in a way that hinders or impedes, or to come into collision or be in opposition.1 However, it appears the claim intends to identify that the constricted part forms an area in which the inner bag is removably held in place in such a manner that a pulling force removing the bag from the outer shell is obstructed. However, it may also be that an “interference fit” is intended between the bag and the outer shell.
For the purposes of examination, it will be assumed that the claim intends to identify that the constricted part and undercut part is dimensioned and configured to provide a resistive force against the removal of the inner bag by a pulling motion applied to the bag.
All dependent claims are rejected as being dependent on a rejected base claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Marco (US 3851781).
Regarding Claim 8, Marco discloses a double container comprising a container body having an inner bag (10) and an outer shell (26) arranged to cover the inner bag, wherein the inner bag is configured to be pullable from the container body. Marco further discloses the outer shell is dimensioned and configured to provide a resistive force against the removal of the inner bag by a pulling motion applied to the bag when pulling the inner bag from the container body at an undercut region (32). While Marco does not disclose the wall thicknesses of the inner bag and the outer shell, a person having ordinary skill in the art would recognize and find obvious that the dimensions and thicknesses of the inner bag and outer shell may be modified and adjusted to provide different degrees of engagement between the bag and outer shell or to accommodate differences in dimensions of the components.
Claims 1-6 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Marco (US 3851781) in view of Yamaguchi (US 2020/0231321) or alternatively, Yamaguchi in view of Marco.
Regarding Claim 1, Marco discloses a double container comprising a container body having an inner bag (10) and an outer shell (26) arranged to cover the inner bag, wherein the inner bag is configured to be pullable from the container body, and a constricted part (32) is provided on an inner surface of the outer shell at a first height position, which is a starting point of an undercut part where the outer shell is dimensioned and configured to provide a resistive force against the removal of the inner bag by a pulling motion applied to the bag.
Marco discloses the constricted part is on an inner surface and not on an outer surface as claimed. Yamaguchi discloses a similar container comprising an inner bag (3) and an outer shell container (2) wherein the inner opening section includes a lower end contact section (at 29 below flange 11 as shown below) where the outer surface of the outer shell is constricted as shown in Applicant Element 3d.
It would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the internal surface having a constricted part as disclosed in Marco with the external surface having a constricted part as disclosed in Yamaguchi in order to provide an alternative shape of the outer shell near the outlet to stably fix the inner bag (Paragraph 0055).
Alternatively, Yamaguchi discloses a container body having an inner bag and an outer shell arranged to cover the inner bag and a constricted part is provided on an outer surface of the outer shell at a first height position. Yamaguchi does not disclose the inner bag is configured to be pullable from the container body or that an undercut part of the outer shell is configured to obstruct a pulling movement to remove the bag portion.
Marco discloses an undercut region and constricted area where the outer shell is dimensioned and configured to provide a resistive force against the removal of the inner bag by a pulling motion applied to the bag.
It would have been obvious to modify the container and bag structure of Yamaguchi with the constricted area and removable bag feature of Marco in order to allow a user to remove the flexible bag for disposal (Col. 2 Lines 58-64).
Regarding Claim 2, both Marco and Yamaguchi disclose a double container comprising a container body having an inner bag and an outer shell arranged to cover the inner bag. Marco discloses the inner bag is configured to be pullable from the container body. Yamaguchi discloses the container body comprises a mouth part, a body part, and a bottom part; the mouth part is a tubular portion having an opening end; the body part is arranged adjacent to the mouth part on a side further from the opening end than the mouth part and has an outer diameter larger than that of the mouth part; and the bottom part is configured to close a lower end of the body part, the body part comprises a shoulder part whose outer diameter increases with distance from the mouth part. Yamaguchi further discloses the mouth part is provided with a flange (11) and that a constricted part is provided between the flange and the shoulder part.
Regarding claims 3-6 and 12, a person having ordinary skill in the art would be capable of modifying the dimensions of the shell and inner bag to ensure proper engagement and desired fitment of the components.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
/GIDEON R WEINERTH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3736
1 https://www.merriam-webster.com/dictionary/interfere