DETAILED ACTION
The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. There is a total of 10 claims and claims 1-10 are pending.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 09/06/2025 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d) which papers have been placed of record in the file.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5 and 8-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being unpatentable over Gutke et al. (US 2022/0129841 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Gutke discloses an information processing apparatus comprising([see in Fig. 2]-package tracking process): a controller configured to acquire an image captured using an imager included in an outdoor unit of an intercom system([0017],[claim 7]- capturing, via the package detection system, one or more images of the package and the identified delivery area) and execute a process to notify a user according to at least one of clothing information, included in the acquired image, for a visitor([see in Fig. 2]- the imagers 22 may be operable to provide a live feed of the field-of-view 14 that is viewable via the recipient's mobile phone 44 or other suitable devices to monitor the package delivery process. In other embodiments, the imagers 22 may record video of the field-of-view and/or may periodically obtain still images of the package 10 and the delivery person 12 when positioned within its field-of-view) and unattended delivery information, included in the acquired image, for a delivery item delivered by the visitor([see in Fig. 2-4],[claim 7 ], [ 0003]- a delivery truck to monitor and steal delivered packages that are left unattended at a recipient's home. In other instances, delivery people themselves may steal packages by alleging to have delivered a package when in fact the package was never delivered or intentionally delivered to another home for later recovery).
Regarding claim 2, Gutke discloses wherein the image acquired by the controller is captured by a wide-angle camera, included in the imager, having an angle of view including an entire body of the visitor to a ground directly below the outdoor unit([see in Fig. 1]- the package detection system 20 may be a doorbell camera, an overhead security camera, a standalone camera, or other suitable device preferably with video capabilities for monitoring the field-of-view. Multiple cameras (e.g., doorbell camera, overhead cameras, etc.) may be used and integrated into the package delivery system 20 such that multiple viewing angles may be provided for a more complete view of the delivery area).
Regarding claim 3, Gutke discloses wherein the clothing information includes information on a full-body uniform worn by the visitor as a delivery person of a delivery company([see in Fig. 2]- the imagers 22 may be operable to provide a live feed of the field-of-view 14 that is viewable via the recipient's mobile phone 44 or other suitable devices to monitor the package delivery process. In other embodiments, the imagers 22 may record video of the field-of-view and/or may periodically obtain still images of the package 10 and the delivery person 12 when positioned within its field-of-view), and the controller is configured to detect the visitor as the delivery person by image analysis based on information on the uniform([see in Fig. 2]- the imagers 22 may be operable to provide a live feed of the field-of-view 14 that is viewable via the recipient's mobile phone 44 or other suitable devices to monitor the package delivery process. In other embodiments, the imagers 22 may record video of the field-of-view and/or may periodically obtain still images of the package 10 and the delivery person 12 when positioned within its field-of-view).
Regarding claim 4, Gutke discloses wherein the unattended delivery information includes placement of the delivery item on the ground as first information ([see in Fig. 2-3]- FIG. 2, in some embodiments, the package detection system 20 may include one or more imaging cameras or imagers 22 housed therein and operable to detect the presence of the package 10 for tracking purposes. In some embodiments, the imagers 22 may be operable to provide a live feed of the field-of-view 14 that is viewable via the recipient's mobile phone 44 or other suitable devices to monitor the package delivery process. In other embodiments, the imagers 22 may record video of the field-of-view and/or may periodically obtain still images of the package 10 and the delivery person 12 when positioned within its field-of-view), and the controller is configured to detect that the delivery item has been placed by unattended delivery by image analysis based on the first information([0017]- processing unit 28 is in communication with the imagers 22 and/or the data reading engine 26 and capable of performing image-processing techniques to analyze the captured video and/or images).
Regarding claim 5, Gutke discloses wherein the unattended delivery information includes an appearance of the delivery item placed on the ground as second information([see in Fig. 2-3]- FIG. 2, in some embodiments, the package detection system 20 may include one or more imaging cameras or imagers 22 housed therein and operable to detect the presence of the package 10 for tracking purposes. In some embodiments, the imagers 22 may be operable to provide a live feed of the field-of-view 14 that is viewable via the recipient's mobile phone 44 or other suitable devices to monitor the package delivery process. In other embodiments, the imagers 22 may record video of the field-of-view and/or may periodically obtain still images of the package 10 and the delivery person 12 when positioned within its field-of-view), and the controller is configured to detect a type of the delivery item by image analysis based on the second information([0017]- processing unit 28 is in communication with the imagers 22 and/or the data reading engine 26 and capable of performing image-processing techniques to analyze the captured video and/or images).
Regarding claim 8, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 1. Hence; all limitations for system claim 8 have been met in apparatus claim 1.
Regarding claim 9, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 1. Hence; all limitations for method claim 9 have been met in apparatus claim 1.
Regarding claim 10, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 1. Hence; all limitations for claim 10 have been met in apparatus claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gutke as applied to claim 1 and 2 above and further in view of Nakamura et al. ( JP 2022100385 A).
Regarding claim 6, Gutke does not exclusively disclose wherein the controller is configured to detect a position of a face of the visitor by image analysis based on the image, enlarge a region containing the face, and cause an indoor unit of the intercom system to display the region.
In an analogous art, Nakamura discloses wherein the controller is configured to detect a position of a face of the visitor by image analysis based on the image, enlarge a region containing the face, and cause an indoor unit of the intercom system to display the region([see in Fig. 8A-8C], [0081]- the second image generation unit 112 has the same image size and the same shooting range as the original image A30 (see FIG. 8A) taken by the camera 5 (FIG. 8A). 8B) is generated. Then, when the face detection unit 116 detects the visitor's face in the original image A30 taken by the camera 5, the extraction unit 113 displays a partial image of a predetermined size range B3 including the visitor's face as the first image A31. Extract as (see FIG. 8C)). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the technique of Nakamura to the modified system of Gutke a method for outputting images from a shared entrance intercom, performs distortion correction processing, which reduces distortion in image for face recognition and improves the accuracy of face recognition.
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gutke as applied to claim 1 and 3 above and further in view of Senechal et al. ( US 2021/0001862 A1).
Regarding claim 7, Gutke does not exclusively disclose wherein the controller is configured to execute the image analysis using an application constructed based on machine learning that includes deep learning using a neural network.
In an analogous art, Senechal discloses wherein the controller is configured to execute the image analysis using an application constructed based on machine learning that includes deep learning using a neural network([see in Fig. 7]- FIG. 7 is an example showing a convolutional neural network (CNN). A convolutional neural network such as network 700 can be used for various applications such as deep learning, where the deep learning can be applied to vehicular in-cabin facial tracking using machine learning. In-cabin sensor data of a vehicle interior is collected. The in-cabin sensor data includes images of the vehicle interior. A set of seating locations for the vehicle interior is determined. The set is based on the images. The set of seating locations is scanned for performing facial detection for each of the seating locations using a facial detection model. A view of a detected face is manipulated. The manipulation is based on a geometry of the vehicle interior. Cognitive state data of the detected face is analyzed. The cognitive state data analysis is based on additional images of the detected face). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the technique of Nakamura to the modified system of Gutke techniques, vehicular in-cabin facial tracking is performed using machine learning to avoid vehicular accidents that can cause damage to property, and tragically, can cause injury to themselves or other vehicle occupants, pedestrians, bicyclists, pets, or wild animals [abstract; Senechal].
Citation of Pertinent Prior Art
The prior art are made of record and not relied upon but considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure:
1. Sawada, Keisuke, US 2021/0005331 A1, discloses a management device comprising a device information storage section that stores sense data identification information identifying sense data output by each of a plurality of sensor apparatuses that communicate via a network, in association with the each sensor apparatus, predicting.
2. TORIGOE et. al., US 2020/0374276 A1, discloses a provisioning method. In the provisioning method, a computer may determine device identification information unique to a delivery target network device to be connected to a network at a delivery destination, before delivery of the delivery target network device.
3. Westmacott et al., US 2013/0201338 A1, discloses a video monitoring and analysis system detect subjects when they are entering and/or exiting from a room.
4. Ding et al., US. 2012/0140069 A1, discloses methods of gathering statistics on the viewers of out-of-home mass media content and providing viewer-driven content, and more specifically to systems and methods of providing "out-of-home" (OOH) mass media content based on gathered statistics and the characteristics of a detected viewer.
5. Pasternak; Shawn, US 2017/0195640 A1, a wireless security system.
Conclusion
/MD N HAQUE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2487