Detailed Action
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed on 10/14/2026 has been entered. All previous objections and 112 rejections have been withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 16-26 and 28-34 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 provides for the thrust washers to be fastened to the housing by a screw connection. However, claims 32 and 34 additional require that the thrust washers are fixed to the housing with “a fastening” by screws or spring-loaded contact. Examiner is unsure whether the “fastening” in the dependent claims provides for new fastening measures in addition to that provided in claim 1 or if it was merely redundantly mentioned. As such, these claims are indefinite. Examiner requests clarification and/or amendment to resolve the matter.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 37 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over GB577423A (‘423) in view of Smith (US 6,217,289).
Claim 37: ‘423 discloses a radial piston compressor comprising an eccentric shaft (5/6) with a rotational axis, including an eccentric disk (5) with an eccentric bearing (9); at least one piston-working chamber combination (1) which extends radially from the eccentric shaft; and a housing (note housing around 1); wherein the piston-working chamber combination includes a working chamber (note chamber above 1) and a piston (1) which is displaceable in the working chamber along a piston axis and which can be driven by the eccentric shaft (Fig. 1); wherein a swivel segment (8) is arranged between the eccentric bearing and the piston (Figs. 1-2); wherein the eccentric bearing and the swivel segment are axially fixed at least in portions between a first thrust washer (note one of 12) and a second thrust washer (note other of 12); wherein at least one of the thrust washers is rotationally fixedly connected to the housing (see page 3, col. 1, lines 12-14). ‘423 is not explicit about the thrust washers fixed relative to the housing are provided with a fastening. However, Smith teaches a pump/compressor arrangement (Fig. 3) in which its thrust washer (90) is fixed relative to its housing with a fastening (see col. 4, lines 42-49). It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the invention to a skilled artisan to utilize a fastening as taught by Smith into the apparatus of ‘423 in order to make the thrust washer non-rotatable (see col. 4, lines 42-49).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments with respect to claim 37 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. With regard to new claim 37, Examiner has introduced the Smith reference.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 16-26 and 28-34 would be allowable if rewritten or amended to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action.
Claims 35-36 are allowed.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance: regarding claim 35, the prior art of record discloses a radial piston compressor comprising an eccentric shaft with a rotational axis, including an eccentric disk with an eccentric bearing; at least one piston-working chamber combination which extends radially from the eccentric shaft; and a housing; wherein the piston-working chamber combination includes a working chamber and a piston which is displaceable in the working chamber along a piston axis and which can be driven by the eccentric shaft; wherein a swivel segment is arranged between the eccentric bearing and the piston; wherein the eccentric bearing and the swivel segment are axially fixed at least in portions between a first thrust washer and a second thrust washer; wherein at least one of the thrust washers is rotationally fixedly connected to the housing; however, the prior art of record does not further disclose or reasonably teach in combination wherein the housing includes a collar at a shoulder in the housing, wherein at least one thrust washer lies against the collar and forms a spring contact on an end face. As can be appreciated from Applicant’s disclosure (see pages 1-2), this kind of arrangement allows for an improved radial piston compressor which has lower friction losses and less wear.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/NATHAN C ZOLLINGER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3746