Detailed Action
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
The following title is suggested: RADIAL PISTON COMPRESSOR WITH ECCENTRIC SHAFT AND THRUST WASHER ARRANGEMENT
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the edge ribs of claim 27 must be shown (and designated numerically) or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 21, 25-26, 30 and 32 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Claim 21 recites that the “eccentric shaft includes an eccentric disk”; however, this appears redundant as the same limitations appears in claim 1. Examiner requests clarification. In claims 25-26 and 32 the use of “in particular” makes any associated limitation indefinite because the nature of using “in particular” expresses a preference without necessarily making that preference a requirement. Examiner requests clarification with respect to these phrases but will ignore for purposes of this examination any phrases associated with “in particular” in claims 25-26 and 32. In claim 30, “the elements” has no antecedent basis; Examiner requests clarification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 16-18, 20-21, 24, 26-31 and 33 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by GB577423A (‘423).
Claim 16: ‘423 discloses a radial piston compressor comprising an eccentric shaft (5/6) with a rotational axis, including an eccentric disk (5) with an eccentric bearing (9) ; at least one piston-working chamber combination (1) which extends radially from the eccentric shaft; and a housing (note housing around 1); wherein the piston-working chamber combination includes a working chamber (note chamber above 1) and a piston (1) which is displaceable in the working chamber along a piston axis and which can be driven by the eccentric shaft (Fig. 1); wherein a swivel segment (8) is arranged between the eccentric bearing and the piston (Figs. 1-2); wherein the eccentric bearing and the swivel segment are axially fixed at least in portions between a first thrust washer (note one of 12) and a second thrust washer (note other of 12); wherein at least one of the thrust washers is rotationally fixedly connected to the housing (see page 3, col. 1, lines 12-14).
Claim 17: ‘423 further discloses that both thrust washers are rotationally fixedly connected to the housing (as can be appreciated from page 3, col. 1, lines 12-14; Fig. 1).
Claim 18: ‘423 further discloses that at least two piston-working chamber combinations are arranged in a star shape around the eccentric shaft (see, e.g., Fig. 2).
Claim 20: ‘423 further discloses that the radial piston compressor forms a low-pressure region and a high-pressure region (Examiner assigning the region near the inherent ports which supply or convey pumping fluid into the pumping chamber as the high/low pressure region).
Claim 21: ‘423 further discloses that the eccentric shaft includes an eccentric disk (Fig. 3), wherein the width of the eccentric bearing is greater than the width of the eccentric disk (Fig. 1).
Claim 24: ‘423 further discloses that a contact face is provided between the at least one thrust washer and the housing (Fig. 1, note contact between 12 and adjacent housing), wherein the contact face is oriented plane-parallel to at least one piston axis or the piston axes (Fig. 1).
Claim 26: ‘423 further discloses a thrust washer face (Fig. 1, note radial face of 12) is plane-parallel to a contact face between the housing and the thrust washer on a high-pressure side (Fig. 1).
Claim 27: ‘423 further discloses an eccentric bearing (9) is provided with edge ribs (8) for a needle cage (note mention of needle bearing on page 3, col. 1, lines 27-28) of the eccentric bearing.
Claim 28: ‘423 further discloses a clearance is provided for the thrust washers (Fig. 1, note interior clearance on radial outermost end of the thrust washers).
Claim 29: ‘423 depicts (Fig. 1) the thrust washers being fixed relative to the housing in a frictionally fitted manner and would necessarily be removable from the housing itself.
Claim 30: ‘423 further discloses that the thrust washers fixed relative to the housing are provided with plane-parallel axial contact faces (Fig. 1) for the elements (Examiner interprets the elements to be self-referential) to be secured (as can be appreciated from Fig. 1, the thrust washers in Fig. 1 are secured).
Claim 31: ‘423 further discloses that the thrust washers themselves are provided with a plane-parallel contact to the housing (Fig. 1).
Claim 33: 423 further discloses that the thrust washers fixed relative to the housing are provided with an angular orientation relative to the housing (Fig. 1, Examiner noting that some of the housing faces are perpendicular with the thrust washer faces, which would provide for a 90 degree angular orientation between the two faces).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over GB 577423A (‘423) in view of GB580320A (‘320).
Claim 19: ‘423 discloses the previous limitations. ‘423 is not explicit about seven piston-working chamber combinations are arranged in a star shape around the eccentric shaft. However, ‘320 teaches a pump/compressor which uses seven piston-working chamber combinations are arranged in a star shape around the eccentric shaft (see Fig. 2). It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the invention to utilize seven piston-working chambers in order to increase compressor/pump output.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 22-23 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claims 25 and 32 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: regarding claim 22, the prior art of record does not further disclose or reasonably teach in combination that at least one thrust washer is fastened to the housing by screw connections including fastening bores, wherein the fastening bores are arranged coaxially around the rotational axis, wherein the angle between the fastening bores advantageously corresponds to an integral multiple of the number of pistons.
Regarding claim 23, the prior art of record does not further disclose or reasonably teach in combination that both thrust washers are fastened to the housing by screw connections including fastening bores, wherein the fastening bores are arranged coaxially around the rotational axis, wherein the angle between the fastening bores advantageously corresponds to an integral multiple of the number of pistons.
Conclusion
/NATHAN C ZOLLINGER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3746