DETAILED ACTION
Examiner Notes
2. The Examiner has cited particular paragraphs or columns and line numbers in the references applied to the claims below for the convenience of the applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings of the art and are applied to specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. It is respectfully requested of the applicant in preparing responses, to fully consider the references in their entirety as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the Examiner. The prompt development of a clear issue requires that the replies of the Applicant meet the objections to and rejections of the claims. Applicant should also specifically point out the support for any amendments made to the disclosure (see MPEP §2163.06). Applicant is reminded that the Examiner is entitled to give the Broadest Reasonable Interpretation (BRI) of the language of the claims. Furthermore, the Examiner is not limited to Applicant’s definition which is not specifically set forth in the claims. SEE MPEP 2141.02 [R-07.2015] VI. PRIOR ART MUST BE CONSIDERED IN ITS ENTIRETY, INCLUDING DISCLOSURES THAT TEACH AWAY FROM THE CLAIMS: A prior art reference must be considered in its entirety, i.e., as a whole, including portions that would lead away from the claimed invention. W.L. Gore & Associates, Inc. v. Garlock, Inc., 721 F.2d 1540, 220 USPQ 303 (Fed. Cir. 1983), cert, denied, 469 U.S. 851 (1984). See also MPEP §2123.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
4. Claim(s) 1-15
is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
5. The determination of whether a claim recites patent ineligible subject matter is a 2 step inquiry.
STEP 1: the claim does not fall within one of the four statutory categories of invention (process, machine, manufacture or composition of matter), see MPEP 2106.03, or
STEP 2: the claim recites a judicial exception, e.g. an abstract idea, without reciting additional elements that amount to significantly more than the judicial exception, as determined using the following analysis: see MPEP 2106.04
STEP 2A (PRONG 1): Does the claim recite an abstract idea, law of nature, or natural phenomenon? see MPEP 2106.04(II)(A)(1)
STEP 2A (PRONG 2): Does the claim recite additional elements that integrate the judicial exception into a practical application? see MPEP 2106.04(II)(A)(2) and 2106.05(a) thru (d) for explanations.
STEP 2B: Does the claim recite additional elements that amount to significantly more than the judicial exception? see MPEP 2106.05
101 Analysis – Step 1
6. Claim(s) 1-13 is/are directed to a method.
Therefore, claim(s) 1-13 is/are within at least one of the four statutory categories.
7. Claim(s) 14 is/are directed to an apparatus.
Therefore, claim(s) 14 is/are within at least one of the four statutory categories.
8. Claim(s) 15 is/are directed to a program.
Therefore, claim(s) 15 is/are not within at least one of the four statutory categories and the claim is not patent eligible.
Representative Claim
9. Claim 1 will be used as a representative claim for the remainder of the 101 rejection. The recited abstract ideas are emphasized below [with the category of abstract idea in brackets] and they are analyzed in 101 Analysis – Step 2A, Prong I section. The additional limitations beyond the abstract ideas are underlined below [with a description of the additional limitations in brackets]) and they are analyzed in 101 Analysis – Step 2A, Prong II section. Claim 1 recites:
An information processing method executed by a computer [applying the abstract idea using generic computing module, Apply it 2106.05(f)], the method comprising:
calculating a route of a mobile body to a target point [mental process/step];
detecting an obstacle based on a distribution of a cluster group indicating a surrounding object [mental process/step]; and
evaluating safety of the route based on a positional relationship between the obstacle and the route [mental process/step].
101 Analysis – Step 2A, Prong I
10. Regarding Prong I of the Step 2A analysis in the 2019 PEG, the claims are to be analyzed to determine whether they recite subject matter that falls within one of the following groups of abstract ideas: a) mathematical concepts, b) certain methods of organizing human activity, and/or c) mental processes. see MPEP 2106(A)(II)(1) and MPEP 2106.04(a)-(c).
11. Independent claim(s) 1, and 14-15 include(s) limitations that recite an abstract idea. As mentioned above, claim 1 will be used as a representative claim for the remainder of the 101 rejection.
12. The Examiner submits that the foregoing bolded limitation(s) constitute a “mental process” because under its broadest reasonable interpretation, the claim covers steps that could be carried out in the human mind. For example, “calculating a route …,” “detecting an obstacle …,” and “evaluating safety of the route …” step(s) encompass(es) a user, such as driver of a vehicle, making observation, evaluation or judgement about finding a route to a destination and detecting obstacle on the route and evaluating the safety of the route, could all be carried out in one’s mind. The same user looking at the collected data could form a simple judgement and conclude whether it is safe to continue the route. Accordingly, the claim recites at least one abstract idea.
101 Analysis – Step 2A, Prong II
13. Regarding Prong II of the Step 2A analysis, the claims are to be analyzed to determine whether the claim, as a whole, integrates the abstract into a practical application. see MPEP 2106.04(II)(A)(2) and MPEP 2106.04(d)(2). It must be determined whether any additional elements in the claim beyond the abstract idea integrate the exception into a practical application in a manner that imposes a meaningful limit on the judicial exception. The courts have indicated that additional elements merely using a computer to implement an abstract idea, adding insignificant extra solution activity, or generally linking use of a judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use do not integrate a judicial exception into a “practical application.”
14. For the following reason(s), the examiner submits that the above identified additional limitations do not integrate the above-noted abstract idea into a practical application.
15. Regarding the additional limitation(s) of “executed by a computer” the Examiner submits that these limitation(s) is/are an attempt to generally link additional element(s) to a technological environment. In particular, the “executed by a computer” is recited at a high level of generality and merely automates the generating, detecting and evaluating steps, therefore acting as a generic computer to perform the abstract idea. The “executed by a computer” is claimed generically and is operating in its ordinary capacity and does not use the judicial exception in a manner that imposes a meaningful limit on the judicial exception, such that the claim is more than a drafting effort designed to monopolize the exception. The additional limitation is no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a computer.
16. Thus, taken alone, the additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application. Further, looking at the additional limitation(s) as an ordered combination or as a whole, the limitation(s) add nothing that is not already present when looking at the elements taken individually. For instance, there is no indication that the additional elements, when considered as a whole, reflect an improvement in the functioning of a computer or an improvement to another technology or technical field, apply or use the above-noted judicial exception to effect a particular treatment or prophylaxis for a disease or medical condition, implement/use the above-noted judicial exception with a particular machine or manufacture that is integral to the claim, effect a transformation or reduction of a particular article to a different state or thing, or apply or use the judicial exception in some other meaningful way beyond generally linking the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment, such that the claim as a whole is not more than a drafting effort designed to monopolize the exception. see MPEP § 2106.05. Accordingly, the additional limitation(s) do/does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because it does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea.
101 Analysis – Step 2B
17. Regarding Step 2B of the Revised Guidance, representative independent claim 1 does not include additional elements (considered both individually and as an ordered combination) that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception for the same reasons to those discussed above with respect to determining that the claim does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application. As discussed above with respect to integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, the additional element of “executed by a computer” amounts to nothing more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component. Mere instructions to apply an exception using a generic computer component cannot provide an inventive concept.
18. As established above claim 1 is representative of all independent claims and therefore claim(s) 14-15 is/are rejected for the same reason.
19. Dependent claim(s) 2-13 does/do not recite any further limitations that cause the claim(s) to be patent eligible. Rather, the limitations of dependent claims are directed toward additional aspects of the judicial exception and do not integrate the judicial exception into a practical application. Therefore, dependent claims 2-13 are not patent eligible under the same rationale as provided for in the rejection of 1.
20. Therefore, claim(s) 1-15 is/are ineligible under 35 USC §101.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
22. Claim(s) 1, and 14-15
is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Shiraishi et al. (WO-2021235100-A1).
In regard to claim 1
, Shiraishi discloses an information processing method executed by a computer (See at least [0007-0009]: an information processing method [i.e., an information processing method] uses a processing unit [i.e., executed by a computer]), the method comprising:
calculating a route of a mobile body to a target point (See at least Fig. 2, and [0023-0024]: the information processing device 10 includes a map construction unit 110, a route planning unit 120, and a self-position estimation unit 130. The information processing device 10 constructs an environmental map of the surroundings of the mobile object 1 [i.e., a mobile body] based on data acquired by the sensor unit 20, and use the constructed environmental map to plan the movement route [i.e., calculating a route] of the mobile object 1 to its destination [i.e., a target point]);
detecting an obstacle based on a distribution of a cluster group indicating a surrounding object (See at least Fig. 3, and [0026 & 0030-0031]: the sensor unit 20 outputs the sensing results of the environment around the moving object 1 as point cloud data, which is a collection of points. The map construction unit 110 includes a clustering unit 111, a cluster extraction unit 112, and a map generation unit 113, and uses point cloud data acquired by the sensor unit 20 to construct an environmental map that represents the environment around the moving object 1. The clustering unit 111 generates cluster data containing multiple clusters by clustering the point cloud data acquired by the sensor unit 20. The map generation unit 113 uses the clusters generated by the clustering unit 111 to construct an environmental map that represents the environment surrounding the mobile object 1. The map generation unit 113 represents each cluster on the environment map in a shape that reflects the degree of dispersion (i.e., covariance) of the point clouds included in the cluster. In other words, the map generation unit 113 represents a group of minute planes on the surface of objects [i.e., detecting an obstacle] surrounding the moving object 1 using the ellipsoids of each cluster [i.e., a distribution of a cluster group indicating a surrounding object] generated by clustering by the clustering unit 111); and
evaluating safety of the route based on a positional relationship between the obstacle and the route (See at least Fig. 4, and [0041-0044 & 0058]: the nearest cluster determination unit 121 determines the nearest cluster on the environment map to a reference point set between the current position A of the mobile object 1 and the destination B, based on the degree of cluster dispersion. The distance calculation unit 122 calculates the distance between the reference point RP and the nearest cluster CL5 based on the degree of cluster dispersion. The path calculation unit 123 evaluates the field values [i.e., evaluating safety] at the reference point RP and sequentially calculates paths that ensure a sufficient margin for the nearest cluster [i.e., based on a positional relationship between the obstacle and the route], thereby planning the movement path of the moving object 1 from its current position A to its destination B. The route planning unit 120 moves the mobile object 1 to its destination safely by repeatedly calculating a route such that the Mahalanobis distance between a reference point and the nearest cluster satisfies a predefined threshold until the mobile object 1 reaches its destination).
In regard to claim 14
, Shiraishi discloses an information processing apparatus comprising (See at least Figs. 1-2, and [0023]: an information processing device 10 [i.e., an information processing apparatus] includes a map construction unit 110, a route planning unit 120, and a self-position estimation unit 130):
a route calculation unit configured to calculate a route of a mobile body to a target point (See at least Fig. 2, and [0023-0024]: the information processing device 10 includes a map construction unit 110, a route planning unit 120 [i.e., a route calculation unit ], and a self-position estimation unit 130. The information processing device 10 constructs an environmental map of the surroundings of the mobile object 1 [i.e., a mobile body] based on data acquired by the sensor unit 20, and use the constructed environmental map to plan the movement route [i.e., calculating a route] of the mobile object 1 to its destination [i.e., a target point]); and
a route evaluation unit configured to detect an obstacle based on a distribution of a cluster group indicating a surrounding object (See at least Fig. 3, and [0026 & 0030-0031]: the sensor unit 20 outputs the sensing results of the environment around the moving object 1 as point cloud data, which is a collection of points. The map construction unit 110 includes a clustering unit 111, a cluster extraction unit 112, and a map generation unit 113, and uses point cloud data acquired by the sensor unit 20 to construct an environmental map that represents the environment around the moving object 1. The clustering unit 111 generates cluster data containing multiple clusters by clustering the point cloud data acquired by the sensor unit 20. The map generation unit 113 uses the clusters generated by the clustering unit 111 to construct an environmental map that represents the environment surrounding the mobile object 1. The map generation unit 113 represents each cluster on the environment map in a shape that reflects the degree of dispersion (i.e., covariance) of the point clouds included in the cluster. In other words, the map generation unit 113 represents a group of minute planes on the surface of objects [i.e., detecting an obstacle] surrounding the moving object 1 using the ellipsoids of each cluster [i.e., a distribution of a cluster group indicating a surrounding object] generated by clustering by the clustering unit 111) to evaluate safety of the route based on a positional relationship between the obstacle and the route (See at least Fig. 4, and [0041-0044 & 0058]: the nearest cluster determination unit 121 determines the nearest cluster on the environment map to a reference point set between the current position A of the mobile object 1 and the destination B, based on the degree of cluster dispersion. The distance calculation unit 122 calculates the distance between the reference point RP and the nearest cluster CL5 based on the degree of cluster dispersion. The path calculation unit 123 evaluates the field values [i.e., evaluating safety] at the reference point RP and sequentially calculates paths that ensure a sufficient margin for the nearest cluster [i.e., based on a positional relationship between the obstacle and the route], thereby planning the movement path of the moving object 1 from its current position A to its destination B. The route planning unit 120 moves the mobile object 1 to its destination safely by repeatedly calculating a route such that the Mahalanobis distance between a reference point and the nearest cluster satisfies a predefined threshold until the mobile object 1 reaches its destination).
In regard to claim 15
, Shiraishi discloses a program causing a computer to implement (See at least [0008]: a program causes a computer to function as a path planning unit that plans a travel path using a reference point on an environmental map represented by point cloud data, and causes the path planning unit to determine the nearest point cloud from the reference point based on the position and dispersion of each point cloud included in the point cloud data, calculate the distance between the nearest point cloud and the reference point based on the position and dispersion of the nearest point cloud, and plan the travel path based on the distance):
calculating a route of a mobile body to a target point (See at least Fig. 2, and [0023-0024]: the information processing device 10 includes a map construction unit 110, a route planning unit 120, and a self-position estimation unit 130. The information processing device 10 constructs an environmental map of the surroundings of the mobile object 1 [i.e., a mobile body] based on data acquired by the sensor unit 20, and use the constructed environmental map to plan the movement route [i.e., calculating a route] of the mobile object 1 to its destination [i.e., a target point]);
detecting an obstacle based on a distribution of a cluster group indicating a surrounding object (See at least Fig. 3, and [0026 & 0030-0031]: the sensor unit 20 outputs the sensing results of the environment around the moving object 1 as point cloud data, which is a collection of points. The map construction unit 110 includes a clustering unit 111, a cluster extraction unit 112, and a map generation unit 113, and uses point cloud data acquired by the sensor unit 20 to construct an environmental map that represents the environment around the moving object 1. The clustering unit 111 generates cluster data containing multiple clusters by clustering the point cloud data acquired by the sensor unit 20. The map generation unit 113 uses the clusters generated by the clustering unit 111 to construct an environmental map that represents the environment surrounding the mobile object 1. The map generation unit 113 represents each cluster on the environment map in a shape that reflects the degree of dispersion (i.e., covariance) of the point clouds included in the cluster. In other words, the map generation unit 113 represents a group of minute planes on the surface of objects [i.e., detecting an obstacle] surrounding the moving object 1 using the ellipsoids of each cluster [i.e., a distribution of a cluster group indicating a surrounding object] generated by clustering by the clustering unit 111); and
evaluating safety of the route based on a positional relationship between the obstacle and the route (See at least Fig. 4, and [0041-0044 & 0058]: the nearest cluster determination unit 121 determines the nearest cluster on the environment map to a reference point set between the current position A of the mobile object 1 and the destination B, based on the degree of cluster dispersion. The distance calculation unit 122 calculates the distance between the reference point RP and the nearest cluster CL5 based on the degree of cluster dispersion. The path calculation unit 123 evaluates the field values [i.e., evaluating safety] at the reference point RP and sequentially calculates paths that ensure a sufficient margin for the nearest cluster [i.e., based on a positional relationship between the obstacle and the route], thereby planning the movement path of the moving object 1 from its current position A to its destination B. The route planning unit 120 moves the mobile object 1 to its destination safely by repeatedly calculating a route such that the Mahalanobis distance between a reference point and the nearest cluster satisfies a predefined threshold until the mobile object 1 reaches its destination).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
24. Claim(s) 2-4, and 7-8
is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shiraishi et al. (WO-2021235100-A1) in view of Wekel et al. (US-20210063578-A1).
In regard to claim 2
, Shiraishi discloses the information processing method according to claim 1, accordingly the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated.
Shiraishi is silent on comprising generating a projection image of the cluster group viewed from a viewpoint of the mobile body, wherein
the evaluating process of the route extracts a free area including the target point without interfering with the obstacle from the projection image and evaluates the safety of the route based on a positional relationship between a side portion of a safety space having the free area as a bottom portion and the route.
However, Wekel teaches one or more deep neural networks (DNNs) are used to detect objects from LiDAR data and/or other sensor data that captures a three dimensional (3D) environment. LiDAR range image DNN-based processing is executed in the form of a combined point cloud segmentation [i.e., cluster group viewed from a viewpoint of the mobile body] and bounding box regression network. The input to the DNN(s) is formed from LiDAR data, such as a LiDAR range image, a projection of a LiDAR point cloud, etc. The 3D LiDAR ground truth data is projected to a 2D LiDAR range image domain [i.e., [i.e., generating a projection image]]. As such, a ground truth encoder uses the projected 2D LiDAR range image to compute instance segmentation masks, per-class semantic segmentation masks, and/or 2D range image bounding shapes corresponding to the 2D LiDAR range image. With reference to Fig. 2B, to generate class segmentation masks, the image labels 106 include bounding contours 212A, corresponding to the car 204, 212B, corresponding to the pedestrian 206, and 212C, corresponding to a drivable-free space boundary [i.e., extracts a free area including the target point without interfering with the obstacle from the projection image, especially when the target point is within the drivable-free space boundary] (See at least Figs. 1-10, and [0024-0029 & 0036]). Examiner notes, as the cameras and sensors are onboard the vehicle, the captured images and data are necessarily from the viewpoint of the mobile body or the vehicle. Furthermore, as portrayed by Figs. 2A-2D, the bounding contours of the drivable-free space boundary does not interfere with the obstacles. As illustrated by Fig. 2B-2D, the vehicle is within bounding contours of the drivable-free space boundary. That is, the side portion of a safety space has the free area as a bottom portion and the route.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to modify the invention of Shiraishi, by incorporating the teachings of Wekel, with a reasonable expectation of success, as all inventions are directed to the same field of endeavor – mobile objects or vehicles, such that the 3D LiDAR ground truth data is projected to a 2D LiDAR range image domain and then the drivable-free space boundary is detected and the method of Shiraishi is used to evaluate the safety of the drivable-free space boundary.
The motivation to modify is that, as acknowledged by Wekel, to enable a vehicle to be controlled at a required level of safety for autonomous driving (See at least [0003]) which one of ordinary skill would have recognized allows the vehicle to avoid accidents and to keep the road safe for everyone.
In regard to claim 3
, Shiraishi, as modified by Wekel, teaches the information processing method according to claim 2, comprising:
clustering a point cloud to generate cluster data including position information of the cluster group (See at least Figs. 1-4, and [0030-0031 & 0037]: the map construction unit 110 includes a clustering unit 111, a cluster extraction unit 112, and a map generation unit 113, and uses point cloud data acquired by the sensor unit 20 to construct an environmental map that represents the environment around the moving object 1. The clustering unit 111 generates cluster data containing multiple clusters by clustering the point cloud data [i.e., clustering a point cloud to generate cluster data] acquired by the sensor unit 20. The cluster extraction unit 112 extracts parameters indicating the position and shape of each cluster [i.e., position information of the cluster group] generated by the clustering unit 111); and
integrating the cluster data acquired from a plurality of viewpoints to generate an accumulation map of a surrounding environment used for generation of the projection image (See at least Fig. 1, and [0038-0039]: the map generation unit 113 uses the clusters generated by the clustering unit 111 to construct an environmental map that represents the environment surrounding the mobile object 1. The map generation unit 113 groups one or more clusters generated by clustering by the clustering unit 111 according to the objects present in the environment map).
Further, Wekel teaches the sensor data—such as LiDAR data—are accumulated from multiple sensors, such as some or all of a plurality of surrounding LiDAR sensor(s) 864 from different locations [i.e., data acquired from a plurality of viewpoints] of the autonomous vehicle 800, and are transformed to a single vehicle coordinate system, centered around the vehicle [i.e., generate an accumulation map of a surrounding environment]. The sensor data are accumulated over time in order to increase the density of the accumulated sensor data. The accumulated, ego-motion compensated sensor data are encoded into a suitable representation such as a projection image [i.e., for generation of the projection image] (See at least Figs. 1-10, and [0074-0076]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to modify the invention of Shiraishi, as modified by Wekel, by further incorporating the teachings of Wekel, with a reasonable expectation of success, as all inventions are directed to the same field of endeavor – mobile objects or vehicles, such that sensor data are accumulated from multiple sensors and different locations and transformed to a single vehicle coordinate system to generate an accumulation map of the surrounding environment and then the accumulation map is encoded into a suitable representation such as a projection image.
The motivation to do so is the same as acknowledged by Wekel in regard to claim 2.
In regard to claim 4
, Shiraishi, as modified by Wekel, teaches the information processing method according to claim 3, wherein the calculating process of the route calculates the route using the accumulation map (See at least Figs. 1-12, and [0040]: the route planning unit 120 includes a nearest neighbor cluster determination unit 121, a distance calculation unit 122, and a route calculation unit 123, and plans the movement route of the mobile object 1 on the environmental map constructed by the map construction unit 110).
Further, Wekel teaches the sensor data—such as LiDAR data—are accumulated from multiple sensors, such as some or all of a plurality of surrounding LiDAR sensor(s) 864 from different locations of the autonomous vehicle 800, and are transformed to a single vehicle coordinate system, centered around the vehicle [i.e., the accumulation map] (See at least Figs. 1-10, and [0074]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to modify the invention of Shiraishi, as modified by Wekel, by further incorporating the teachings of Wekel, with a reasonable expectation of success, as all inventions are directed to the same field of endeavor – mobile objects or vehicles, such that the accumulation map of a surrounding environment of Wekel is used by the route calculation unit of Shiraishi to plan the movement route of the mobile object.
The motivation to do so is the same as acknowledged by Wekel in regard to claim 2.
In regard to claim 7
, Shiraishi, as modified by Wekel, teaches the information processing method according to claim 4, wherein the generating process of the projection image acquires a distribution of the cluster group included in a range wider than an actual visual field range of the mobile body from the accumulation map to generate the projection image based on the acquired distribution of the cluster group.
Further, Wekel teaches the LiDAR data is accumulated, transformed to a single coordinate system, centered around the ego-actor/vehicle [i.e., the accumulation map], ego-motion-compensated, to a latest known position of the ego-actor/vehicle, and projected to form a projection image of a desired size. The accumulated, ego-motion compensated detections is projected to form a projection image of a desired size. Any desired view of the environment is selected for the projection image, such as a top down view, a front view, a perspective view, and/or others. A LIDAR point cloud is projected spherical, cylindrical, or pinhole, to form a LiDAR range image 102 with a perspective view of the environment (See at least Figs. 1-10, and [0072-0076]). Examiner notes, when the projected image is spherical, the range is wider than the actual visual field range of the mobile body.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to modify the invention of Shiraishi, as modified by Wekel, by further incorporating the teachings of Wekel, with a reasonable expectation of success, as all inventions are directed to the same field of endeavor – mobile objects or vehicles, such that the LIDAR point cloud is projected spherically.
The motivation to do so is the same as acknowledged by Wekel in regard to claim 2.
In regard to claim 8
, Shiraishi, as modified by Wekel, teaches the information processing method according to claim 4, wherein the generating process of the projection image acquires a distribution of the cluster group to be detected at a viewpoint retracted to a rear side of an actual viewpoint of the mobile body from the accumulation map to generate the projection image based on the acquired distribution of the cluster group.
Further, Wekel teaches the LiDAR data is accumulated, transformed to a single coordinate system, centered around the ego-actor/vehicle [i.e., the accumulation map], ego-motion-compensated, to a latest known position of the ego-actor/vehicle, and projected to form a projection image of a desired size. The accumulated, ego-motion compensated detections is projected to form a projection image of a desired size. Any desired view of the environment is selected for the projection image, such as a top down view, a front view, a perspective view, and/or others. A LIDAR point cloud is projected spherical, cylindrical, or pinhole, to form a LiDAR range image 102 with a perspective view of the environment (See at least Figs. 1-10, and [0072-0076]). Examiner notes, when the projected image is spherical, it includes a viewpoint retracted to a rear side of an actual viewpoint of the mobile body.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to modify the invention of Shiraishi, as modified by Wekel, by incorporating the teachings of Wekel, with a reasonable expectation of success, as all inventions are directed to the same field of endeavor – mobile objects or vehicles, such that the LIDAR point cloud is projected spherically.
The motivation to do so is the same as acknowledged by Wekel in regard to claim 2.
25. Claim(s) 5-6, 9-11, and 13
is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shiraishi et al. (WO-2021235100-A1) in view of Wekel et al. (US-20210063578-A1) and further in view of Oshima et al. (US-20140095009-A1).
In regard to claim 5
, Shiraishi, as modified by Wekel, teaches the information processing method according to claim 4,
the evaluating process of the route (See at least Figs. 1-12, and [0041-0044 & 0058]: the nearest cluster determination unit 121 determines the nearest cluster on the environment map to a reference point set between the current position A of the mobile object 1 and the destination B, based on the degree of cluster dispersion. The distance calculation unit 122 calculates the distance between the reference point RP and the nearest cluster CL5 based on the degree of cluster dispersion. The path calculation unit 123 evaluates the field values [i.e., evaluates safety] at the reference point RP and sequentially calculates paths that ensure a sufficient margin for the nearest cluster, thereby planning the movement path of the moving object 1 from its current position A to its destination B. The route planning unit 120 moves the mobile object 1 to its destination safely by repeatedly calculating a route such that the Mahalanobis distance between a reference point and the nearest cluster satisfies a predefined threshold until the mobile object 1 reaches its destination).
Shiraishi, as modified by Wekel, is silent on wherein the calculating process of the route calculates a route to a goal point at a position invisible from the mobile body using the accumulation map, and
sets a relay point on the route at a position visible from the mobile body as the target point, and … the target point to be the relay point.
However, Oshima teaches the candidate routes at the minimum traffic width are obtained as the rectangles 220 to 224. The straight line represented by the dotted line in the figure connecting the autonomous movable body 100 to the route trace target point 205 [i.e., a goal point at a position invisible from the mobile body] is used as the reference (zero degree), the lengths of the rectangles 220 to 224 in the direction of the straight line as the trafficable distances are obtained with a cosine function (cosine), and the tip of the rectangle having the maximum length, the rectangle 223, is decided as an obstacle avoidance target point 225. The obstacle avoidance target point 225 [i.e., a relay point on the route at a position visible from the mobile body] is the farthest point to which the autonomous movable body 100 can advance in the direction of the route trace target point 205 (See at least Figs. 3-6, and [0070]). Examiner notes, as illustrated by Fig. 5 of Oshima (reproduced and annotated for Applicant’s convenience), the target point 205 is the goal point and it is invisible from the mobile body 100, as it is blocked by the obstacle 210. As mentioned above, the point 225, or the relay point, is set as a new target point that the mobile body can advance to. The goal point 205 is visible form the new target point 225. As such, Oshima teaches calculating a route to a goal point at a position invisible from the mobile body using the accumulation map, and setting a relay point on the route at a position visible from the mobile body as the target point, and evaluates safety of the route for a route to the target point to be the relay point.
Figure 1 - Annotated Fig. 5 of Oshima
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to modify the invention of Shiraishi, as modified by Wekel, by incorporating the teachings of Oshima, with a reasonable expectation of success, as all inventions are directed to the same field of endeavor – mobile objects or vehicles, such that when the goal point is invisible from the movable body on the accumulation map, then a relay point is set as the target point in a manner that the goal point is visible form the set target point and a route is set based on evaluating safety of the route as taught by Shiraishi.
The motivation to modify is that, as acknowledged by Oshima, to materialize an autonomous movement system always having both safety and swiftness even in a narrow path or in a large space when a vehicle runs autonomously through a reference route specified on a map with a self-location estimated (See at least [0008]) which one of ordinary skill would have recognized allows the vehicle to navigate through the environment safely.
In regard to claim 6
, Shiraishi, as modified by Wekel and Oshima, teaches the information processing method according to claim 5, wherein the evaluating process of the route sets a point farthest from the obstacle on the projection image as the target point using nearest neighbor search (See at least Figs. 1-12, and [0040-0041]: the route planning unit 120 includes a nearest neighbor cluster determination unit 121. The nearest neighbor cluster determination unit 121 determines the cluster that is the closest neighbor to the reference point [i.e., the target point] on the environment map based on the Mahalanobis distance).
In regard to claim 9
, Shiraishi, as modified by Wekel, teaches the information processing method according to claim 2, wherein the evaluating process of the route includes:
acquiring the obstacle as an elliptical cluster group (See at least [0056]: the map generation unit 113 constructs an environmental map in which each cluster is represented by an ellipsoid [i.e., elliptical cluster group] of the extracted position and shape);
Shiraishi, as modified by Wekel, is silent on performing area division with the target point on the projection image as a center;
detecting a side of a bounding box of a cluster closest to the target point for each divided area; and
extracting an area along a side detected in each area as the free area.
However, Oshima teaches the route decision means 118 successively decides a traffic width expansion target point at the step S103. As shown in Fig. 6, rectangles 230 to 232 are obtained as rectangles having a length identical to the trafficable distance obtained in Fig. 5 and having the maximum widths not containing an obstacle inside as trafficable widths. Here, although it not shown in the figure, a search angle range and search angular intervals are decided as needed. The trafficable width is increased up to an upper limit in the right and left directions by using the direction of the obstacle avoidance target point 225 as a starting point and a rectangle the trafficable distance of which does not reduce [i.e., detecting a side of a bounding box of a cluster closest to the target point for each divided area] is searched. The tip of a rectangle either in the direction closest to the direction of the obstacle avoidance target point 225 in the rectangles the trafficable distances of which have reached the upper limit or in the direction allowing the maximum trafficable width in the case where there is no rectangle that reaches the upper limit among the rectangles satisfying the above condition is defined as a traffic width expansion target point. By deciding an obstacle avoidance target point through the above procedure, it is possible to run through a location of a higher degree of safety in response to the size of a space while a narrow route is selected at a narrow path. Here, the upper limit of the trafficable width is set at not less than the distance separating the autonomous movable body 100 from an obstacle in the right and left directions [i.e., extracting an area along a side detected in each area as the free area] when the autonomous movable body 100 moves at an upper limit speed in the speed decision means 120 (See at least Fig. 3-6, and [0072-0074]). Examiner notes, according to paragraph [0086] of Applicant’s disclosure: “the center of the area division is set as the target point TP. However, any point other than the target point TP can be set as the center of the area division. For example, the route evaluation unit 122 sets a point farthest from the obstacle OB on the projection image FV as the center of the area division using the nearest neighbor search.” Therefore, setting the target point as center is a design choice and as Applicant has pointed out, any point other than the target point TP can be set as the center of the area division. As such, one can easily choose any point, such as target point 225, as center point and expand the bounding box on the opposite side of the movable body 100 and accomplish the same result.
Figure 2 – Modified and annotated Fig. 6 of Oshima
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to modify the invention of Shiraishi, as modified by Wekel, by incorporating the teachings of Oshima, with a reasonable expectation of success, as all inventions are directed to the same field of endeavor – mobile objects or vehicles, such that the target point is set as the center and the trafficable width is increased up to an upper limit to form a limit area and a distance separating the autonomous movable body from an obstacle in all directions are set based to extract the free area for the movable object to navigate through.
The motivation to do so is the same as acknowledged by Oshima in regard to claim 5.
In regard to claim 10
, Shiraishi, as modified by Wekel and Oshima, teaches the information processing method according to claim 9, wherein the evaluating process of the route adjusts a size of each area acquired by area division according to control followability of the mobile body.
Further, Oshima teaches the route decision means 118 successively decides a traffic width expansion target point at the step S103. As shown in Fig. 6, rectangles 230 to 232 are obtained as rectangles having a length identical to the trafficable distance obtained in Fig. 5 and having the maximum widths not containing an obstacle inside as trafficable widths. Here, although it not shown in the figure, a search angle range and search angular intervals are decided as needed. The trafficable width is increased up to an upper limit in the right and left directions by using the direction of the obstacle avoidance target point 225 as a starting point and a rectangle the trafficable distance of which does not reduce is searched. The tip of a rectangle either in the direction closest to the direction of the obstacle avoidance target point 225 in the rectangles the trafficable distances of which have reached the upper limit or in the direction allowing the maximum trafficable width in the case where there is no rectangle that reaches the upper limit among the rectangles satisfying the above condition is defined as a traffic width expansion target point. By deciding an obstacle avoidance target point through the above procedure, it is possible to run through a location of a higher degree of safety in response to the size of a space while a narrow route is selected at a narrow path. Here, the upper limit of the trafficable width is set at not less than the distance separating the autonomous movable body 100 from an obstacle in the right and left directions when the autonomous movable body 100 moves at an upper limit speed in the speed decision means 120 [i.e., adjusts a size of each area acquired by area division according to control followability of the mobile body] (See at least Fig. 3-6, and [0072-0074]). Examiner notes, as mentioned above, the distance separating the autonomous movable body 100 from an obstacle in the right and left directions is set based on the upper limit speed which is considering an error in control followability of the mobile body based on the speed of the vehicle.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to modify the invention of Shiraishi, as modified by Wekel and Oshima, by further incorporating the teachings of Oshima, with a reasonable expectation of success, as all inventions are directed to the same field of endeavor – mobile objects or vehicles, such that a distance separating the autonomous movable body from an obstacle in all directions is set based on the upper speed of the vehicle as a safety distance and the remaining area forms the free area for the movable body to pass through.
The motivation to do so is the same as acknowledged by Oshima in regard to claim 5.
In regard to claim 11
, Shiraishi, as modified by Wekel, teaches the information processing method according to claim 2, accordingly the rejection of claim 2 is incorporated.
Shiraishi, as modified by Wekel, is silent on wherein the evaluating process of the route acquires an area having a maximum size capable of containing the target point without interfering with the obstacle as a limit area, and extracts an area smaller than the limit area by a size corresponding to an error in control followability of the mobile body as the free area.
However, Oshima teaches the route decision means 118 successively decides a traffic width expansion target point at the step S103. As shown in Fig. 6, rectangles 230 to 232 are obtained as rectangles having a length identical to the trafficable distance obtained in Fig. 5 and having the maximum widths not containing an obstacle inside as trafficable widths. Here, although it not shown in the figure, a search angle range and search angular intervals are decided as needed. The trafficable width is increased up to an upper limit [i.e., an area having a maximum size capable of containing the target point without interfering with the obstacle as a limit area] in the right and left directions by using the direction of the obstacle avoidance target point 225 as a starting point and a rectangle the trafficable distance of which does not reduce is searched. The tip of a rectangle either in the direction closest to the direction of the obstacle avoidance target point 225 in the rectangles the trafficable distances of which have reached the upper limit or in the direction allowing the maximum trafficable width in the case where there is no rectangle that reaches the upper limit among the rectangles satisfying the above condition is defined as a traffic width expansion target point. By deciding an obstacle avoidance target point through the above procedure, it is possible to run through a location of a higher degree of safety in response to the size of a space while a narrow route is selected at a narrow path. Here, the upper limit of the trafficable width is set at not less than the distance separating the autonomous movable body 100 from an obstacle in the right and left directions [i.e., extracts an area smaller than the limit area by a size corresponding to an error in control followability of the mobile body as the free area] when the autonomous movable body 100 moves at an upper limit speed in the speed decision means 120 [i.e., a size corresponding to an error in control followability of the mobile body as the free area] (See at least Fig. 3-6, and [0072-0074]). Examiner notes, as mentioned above, a distance separating the autonomous movable body 100 from the obstacle in the right and left directions is set. That means the free area that the movable body 100 drives through is smaller than the limit area. Furthermore, the distance separating the autonomous movable body 100 from an obstacle in the right and left directions is set based on the upper limit speed which is considering an error in control followability of the mobile body based on the speed of the vehicle.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to modify the invention of Shiraishi, as modified by Wekel, by incorporating the teachings of Oshima, with a reasonable expectation of success, as all inventions are directed to the same field of endeavor – mobile objects or vehicles, such that the trafficable width is increased up to an upper limit to form a limit area and a distance separating the autonomous movable body from an obstacle in the right and left directions is set based on the upper speed of the vehicle as a safety distance and the remaining area forms the free area for the movable body to pass through.
The motivation to do so is the same as acknowledged by Oshima in regard to claim 5.
In regard to claim 13
, Shiraishi, as modified by Wekel, teaches the information processing method according to claim 2, accordingly the rejection of claim 2 is incorporated.
Shiraishi, as modified by Wekel, is silent on wherein the free area is a linear area, and
the safety space is a triangular or rectangular area having the free area as a base.
However, Oshima teaches as shown in Fig. 5, process is carried out on the basis of the self-location information, the route trace target point 205, and obstacles 210 and 211. A candidate route of the autonomous movable body 100 is represented by a rectangle and a distance (it means the length of the rectangle and is called a trafficable distance hereunder) runnable at a traffic width required minimally for the running of the autonomous movable body 100 is computed for each of given angular intervals. The candidate routes at the minimum traffic width are obtained as the rectangles 220 to 224. The straight line represented by the dotted line in the figure connecting the autonomous movable body 100 to the route trace target point 205 is used as the reference (zero degree), the lengths of the rectangles 220 to 224 in the direction of the straight line as the trafficable distances are obtained with a cosine function (cosine), and the tip of the rectangle having the maximum length, the rectangle 223, is decided as an obstacle avoidance target point 225 [i.e., wherein the free area is a linear area]. The obstacle avoidance target point 225 is the farthest point to which the autonomous movable body 100 advances in the direction of the route trace target point 205 (See at least Fig. 5, and [0069-0070]). Examiner notes, the rectangle 223 in Fig. 5, is the safety space having the free area as a base.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to modify the invention of Shiraishi, as modified by Wekel, by incorporating the teachings of Oshima, with a reasonable expectation of success, as all inventions are directed to the same field of endeavor – mobile objects or vehicles, such that the free area includes a straight line to the target point or a relay point, and the safety space is rectangular.
The motivation to do so is the same as acknowledged by Oshima in regard to claim 5.
26. Claim(s) 12
is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shiraishi et al. (WO-2021235100-A1) in view of Wekel et al. (US-20210063578-A1) and further in view of Chakravarthy et al. (US-20180290747-A1).
In regard to claim 12
, Shiraishi, as modified by Wekel, teaches the information processing method according to claim 2, accordingly the rejection of claim 2 is incorporated.
Shiraishi, as modified by Wekel, is silent on wherein the free area is a planar area, and
the safety space is a conical or columnar area having the free area as a bottom surface.
However, Chakravarthy teaches systems, devices, and apparatus for autonomously controlling a robotic vehicle to execute a precise three-dimensional (3-D) maneuver through an opening. The control requirement commands is combined with orifice (opening) information, including position and/or velocity information for the orifice, using relative velocity kinematics 318 to determine the orientation, velocity, and position of the vehicle 301 relative to the opening. These orientation, velocity, and position information then is used to update the safe passage cone computations 320 given the current control commands and relative positioning, orientation, and velocity between the vehicle 301 and the orifice. Figs. 11A-D, 12A-D, 13A-D, and 14A-D show geometries illustrating different scenarios of the relative velocity vector V being located on a planar section [i.e., the free area is a planar area] of the safe-passage cone XAX′ [i.e., the safety space is a conical or columnar area having the free area as a bottom surface] (See at least Figs. 1-14D, and [0048 & 0059 & 0093]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to modify the invention of Shiraishi, as modified by Wekel,, by incorporating the teachings of Chakravarthy, with a reasonable expectation of success, as all inventions are directed to the same field of endeavor – mobile objects or vehicles, such that the safe passage cone computations of Chakravarthy is used to set the free area as a planar section and generate a safe-passage cone as the safety space for the mobile object of Shiraishi.
The motivation to modify is that, as acknowledged by Chakravarthy, to execute a precise three-dimensional (3-D) maneuver through an opening (See at least [0003]) which one of ordinary skill would have recognized allows the mobile object to avoid possible accidents.
Conclusion
27. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Tokuyama et al. (US-20170017237-A1) teaches setting a rectangle at the passable distance to avoid obstacles.
/P.J.M./Examiner, Art Unit 3661
/MATTHIAS S WEISFELD/Examiner, Art Unit 3661