Detailed Action
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 and 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kato (US20180328358A1).
Claim 1: Kato discloses a maintenance method for replacing a main body unit on a scroll fluid machine (Figs. 1-6) including the main body unit that has a fixed scroll (2), an orbiting scroll (3) for forming working chambers between itself and the fixed scroll (see paragraph 24), a support (note support portion near 22 in Fig. 3B which is analogous to the support depicted by Applicant’s disclosure as 13 in Fig. 3) supporting the orbiting scroll for orbiting motion thereon, and a main body casing (14) connected to the fixed scroll and accommodating the orbiting scroll and the support therein (Figs. 2-3), and a motor unit (20) that is connected to the main body unit to allow the orbiting scroll to undergo orbiting motion via a crankshaft (6/6A), wherein the motor unit has a flange (15) having a protruding portion (see Figure below, Examiner noting that the protruding portion can begin within the recess of the flange) that extends toward the main body unit and has an outer circumferential side first fitting surface (see Figure below) and an outer circumferential side second fitting surface (see Figure below) at positions different from each other in a circumferential direction or a radial direction (Fig. 5), the main body casing of the main body unit before the replacement has an inner circumferential side third fitting surface fitted on only the first fitting surface (see Figure below, Examiner noting that this fit will be present before replacement), and the main body casing of the main body unit after the replacement has an inner circumferential side fourth fitting surface fitted on only the second fitting surface (see Figure below, Examiner noting that this fit will be present after replacement).
Claim 4: Kato discloses a scroll fluid machine (Figs. 1-6) including a main body unit that has a fixed scroll (2), an orbiting scroll (3) for forming working chambers between itself and the fixed scroll (see paragraph 24), a support (note support portion near 22 in Fig. 3B which is analogous to the support depicted by Applicant’s disclosure as 13 in Fig. 3) supporting the orbiting scroll for orbiting motion thereon, and a main body casing (14) connected to the fixed scroll and accommodating the orbiting scroll and the support therein (Figs. 2-3), and a motor unit (20) that is connected to the main body unit to allow the orbiting scroll to undergo orbiting motion via a crankshaft (6/6A), wherein the motor unit has a flange (15) having a protruding portion (see Figure below, Examiner noting that the protruding portion can begin within the recess of the flange) that extends toward the main body unit and has an outer circumferential side first fitting surface (see Figure above) and an outer circumferential side second fitting surface (see Figure above) at positions different from each other in a circumferential direction or a radial direction (see Fig. 5), and the main body casing of the main body unit selectively (Examiner noting that the following limitations can be fulfilled/satisfied via the replacement process of the main body casing) has one of an inner circumferential side third fitting surface fitted on only the first fitting surface (see Figure above, Examiner noting that this fit will be present before replacement) and an inner circumferential side fourth fitting surface fitted on only the second fitting surface (see Figure above, Examiner noting that this fit will be present after replacement).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-3 and 5-6 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: regarding claim 2, the prior art of record does not further disclose or reasonably teach in combination that the first fitting surface and the second fitting surface are each three or more fitting surfaces at positions different from one another in the circumferential direction, and the third fitting surface and the fourth fitting surface are each three or more fitting surfaces at positions different from one another in the circumferential direction. In view of Applicant’s disclosure (see specification, paragraphs 5-8), this kind of arrangement allows for, during maintenance, only needing to replace the main body unit and not the flange of the motor unit.
Regarding claim 5, the prior art of record does not further disclose or reasonably teach in combination that the first fitting surface and the second fitting surface are each three or more fitting surfaces at positions different from one another in the circumferential direction, and the third fitting surface and the fourth fitting surface are each three or more fitting surfaces at positions different from one another in the circumferential direction. In view of Applicant’s disclosure (see specification, paragraphs 5-8), this kind of arrangement allows for, during maintenance, only needing to replace the main body unit and not the flange of the motor unit.
Conclusion
/NATHAN C ZOLLINGER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3746