DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-7 and 12-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 1-2, 4-7, 12-17 recite the term “first mean.” However, neither the claims nor the specification state what “first mean” is. Thus, the scope of the claims cannot be ascertained.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 6-7, 12-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Choi et al. (US 2026/0136029 A1).
Consider claim 1, Choi teaches a method of decoding tensors for video frames from a bitstream, the method comprising: decoding a first mean from the bitstream ([0057] – [0058]); generating first tensors for a first video frame using the first mean ([0059]); determining whether to use the first mean to generate second tensors for a second video frame, wherein the second video frame is different from the first video frame (1620 in Fig. 16. [0070] – [0087]); and generating the second tensors using the first mean, when the first mean is to be used for generating the second tensors ([0070] – [0087]).
Consider claim 2, Choi teaches the first mean is decoded based on a flag in the bitstream ([0070] – [0087]).
Consider claim 3, Choi teaches the flag is decoded once per video frame ([0070] – [0087] and Fig. 16).
Consider claim 6, Choi teaches a method of encoding tensors for video frames into a bitstream, the method comprising: generating a first mean for tensors of a first video frame ([0051] – [0055]; [0070] – [0087]); encoding the first mean into the bitstream ([0051] – [0055]; [0070] – [0087]); determining whether to use the first mean to encode information of a second video frame, wherein the second video frame is different from the first video frame ([0070] – [0087]), generating the information using the first mean ([0070] – [0087]); and encoding the information into the bitstream ([0051] – [0055]; [0070] – [0087]).
Consider claim 7, Choi teaches a flag is encoded indicating the presence of the first mean for a video frame ([0070] – [0087]).
Consider claim 12, claim 12 recites a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium which stores a program ([0013], [0016], [0104] claim 17) for executing the method recited in claim 1. Thus, it is rejected for the same reasons.
Consider claim 13, claim 13 recites a video decoder configured to perform the operations recited in claim 1. Thus, it is rejected for the same reasons.
Consider claim 14, claim 14 recites a system comprising: a memory ([0038] – [0039]); and a processor ([0038] – [0042]), wherein the processor is configured to execute code stored on the memory ([0013], [0016], [0038] – [0039], [0104] claim 17) for implementing the method recited in claim 1. Thus, it is rejected for the same reasons.
Consider claim 15, claim 15 recites a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium which stores a program ([0013], [0016], [0104] claim 17) for executing the method recited in claim 6. Thus, it is rejected for the same reasons.
Consider claim 16, claim 16 recites a video encoder configured to perform the operations recited in claim 1. Thus, it is rejected for the same reasons.
Consider claim 17, claim 17 recites a system comprising: a memory ([0038] – [0039]); and a processor ([0038] – [0042]), wherein the processor is configured to execute code stored on the memory ([0013], [0016], [0038] – [0039], [0104] claim 17) for implementing the method recited in claim 1. Thus, it is rejected for the same reasons.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4-5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Choi et al. (US 2026/0136029 A1) in view of Jain et al. (US 2022/0300815 A1).
Consider claim 4, Choi teaches all the limitations in claim 1 but does not explicitly teach the first mean is used for generating a plurality of sets of basis vectors decoded from the bitstream.
Jain teaches the first mean is used for generating a plurality of sets of basis vectors decoded from the bitstream ([0149] – [0171]; [0187] – [0202]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the known technique of generating a plurality of sets of basis vectors because such incorporation would reduce inference complexity. [0029].
Consider claim 5, Jain teaches the first mean is decoded once and used for generating the plurality of sets of basis vectors ([0098], [0149] – [0171]; [0187] – [0202]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the known technique of generating a plurality of sets of basis vectors because such incorporation would reduce inference complexity. [0029].
Conclusion
/TAT C CHIO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2486