DETAILED ACTION
Claim Status
This action is in response to the application filed on 09/17/2025. Claims 1-9 are pending and examined below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 20230092314 A1 (“Ueda”).
Regarding claim 1, Ueda teaches a plurality of driving wheels and a plurality of driven wheels; a wheel speed sensor that senses each of rotational speeds of the plurality of driving wheels and the plurality of driven wheels (see at least [0038]);
an electric motor that drives the plurality of driving wheels (see at least [0029]); and
a controller that controls the electric motor, wherein the electrically driven hauling vehicle includes a wheel load sensor that senses each of pieces of information on wheel loads as loads applied in a vertical direction to the plurality of driving wheels and the plurality of driven wheels (see at least [0022]),
the controller has functional sections including a wheel load computing section configured to compute the wheel load based on the information sensed by the wheel load sensor (see at least [0051]),
a tire force computing section configured to compute a tire force as a frictional force that occurs against at least one of the plurality of driving wheels and the plurality of driven wheels on a road surface (see at least [0053]),
a slip index computing section configured to compute a slip index indicating a degree of slipping that occurs at least one of the plurality of driving wheels and the plurality of driven wheels (see at least [0055]),
a friction coefficient computing section configured to compute a friction coefficient by dividing the tire force as a result of the computation of the tire force computing section by the wheel load as a result of the computation of the wheel load computing section (see at least [0055]), and
a friction coefficient ratio computing section configured to compute a friction coefficient ratio by dividing the friction coefficient as a result of the computation of the friction coefficient computing section by the slip index as a result of the computation of the slip index computing section (see at least [0057]), and
the controller controls the driving of the electric motor based on the friction coefficient ratio as a result of the computation of the friction coefficient ratio computing section (see at least [0055]).
Regarding claim 2, Ueda teaches the tire force computing section is configured to compute each of first directional tire forces as the tire force, the first directional tire forces being frictional forces that occur against the plurality of driving wheels in a longitudinal direction of an orientation of the plurality of driving wheels (see at least [0132]),
the slip index computing section is configured to compute each of slip ratios of the plurality of driving wheels as the slip index, the slip ratios being computed based on the rotational speeds of the plurality of driving wheels and the rotational speeds of the plurality of driven wheels sensed by 86 the wheel speed sensor (see at least [0055]),
the friction coefficient computing section is configured to compute first friction coefficients as the friction coefficient, the first friction coefficients being obtained by dividing the first directional tire forces as a result of the computation of the tire force computing section by the wheel loads as the computation result of the wheel load computing section (see at least [0153]),
the friction coefficient ratio computing section is configured to compute first friction coefficient ratios as the friction coefficient ratio, the first friction coefficient ratios being obtained by dividing the first friction coefficients as a result of the computation of the friction coefficient computing section by the slip ratios as a result of the computation of the slip index computing section (see at least [0015]), and
the controller controls the driving of the electric motor based on the first friction coefficient ratios as a result of the computation of the friction coefficient ratio computing section (see at least [0062]).
Regarding claim 3, Ueda teaches a power transmitting mechanism that transmits power of the electric motor to the driving wheels (see at least [0030]),
the tire force computing section is configured to compute the first directional tire forces based on the wheel loads as the computation result of the wheel load computing section, a rolling resistance coefficient per unit load, driving torque of the electric motor, and moment of inertia of 87 the power transmitting mechanism (see at least [0032]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20230092314 A1 (“Ueda”) in view of US 10337909 B2 (“Minoshima”).
Regarding claim 4, Ueda discloses a yaw rate sensor that senses a yaw angular velocity of the electrically driven hauling vehicle (see at least [0045]);
a lateral acceleration sensor that senses a lateral acceleration as an acceleration in a direction orthogonal to a forward-rearward direction of the electrically driven hauling vehicle (see at least [0093]); and
the tire force computing section is configured to compute each of second directional tire forces as the tire force based on the information sensed by the wheel speed sensor and the information sensed by the yaw rate sensor, the second directional tire forces being frictional forces that occur in directions orthogonal to rotational planes of the plurality of driving wheels and the plurality of driven wheels (see at least [0105]),
the slip index computing section is configured to compute each of slip angles of the plurality of driving wheels and the plurality of driven wheels as the slip index, the slip angles being computed based on the information sensed by the wheel speed sensor, the information sensed by the yaw rate sensor, information sensed by the lateral acceleration sensor (see at least [0113]),
the friction coefficient computing section is configured 88 to compute second friction coefficients as the friction coefficient, the second friction coefficients being obtained by dividing the second directional tire forces as a result of the computation of the tire force computing section by the wheel loads as the computation result of the wheel load computing section (see at least [0153]),
the controller controls the driving of the electric motor based on the second friction coefficient ratios as a result of the computation of the friction coefficient ratio computing section (see at least [0062]).
Ueda is not explicit on a steering angle sensor that senses a steering angle of a steering mechanism that steers the plurality of driven wheels, wherein the friction coefficient ratio computing section is configured to compute second friction coefficient ratios as the friction coefficient ratio, the second friction coefficient ratios being obtained by dividing the second friction coefficients as a result of the computation of the friction coefficient computing section by the slip angles as a result of the computation of the slip index computing section, however,
Minoshima discloses a steering angle sensor that senses a steering angle of a steering mechanism that steers the plurality of driven wheels (see at least Col. 3 lines 51-59), wherein
the friction coefficient ratio computing section is configured to compute second friction coefficient ratios as the friction coefficient ratio, the second friction coefficient ratios being obtained by dividing the second friction coefficients as a result of the computation of the friction coefficient computing section by the slip angles as a result of the computation of the slip index computing section (see at least Col. 8 lines 11-20).
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine the system disclosed by Ueda with the load measuring apparatus for a working machine disclosed by Minoshima because loads applied to respective front and rear, left and right suspension cylinders, which are disposed between a body frame and the wheels, are unbalanced and become unstable, and as a consequence, an error may arise in a cargo load measured by a load measuring apparatus (Minoshima, Col. 1 lines 58-67).
Regarding claim 5, Ueda discloses a yaw rate sensor that senses a yaw angular velocity of the electrically driven hauling vehicle (see at least [0045]);
a lateral acceleration sensor that senses a lateral acceleration as an acceleration in a direction orthogonal to a forward-rearward direction of the electrically driven hauling vehicle (see at least [0093]);
the tire force computing section is configured to compute each of first directional tire forces as the tire force, the first directional tire forces being frictional forces that occur against the plurality of driving wheels in a longitudinal direction of an orientation of the plurality of driving wheels (see at least [0093]), and
compute each of second directional tire forces as the tire force on a basis of information sensed by the wheel speed sensor and information sensed by the yaw rate sensor, the second directional tire forces being frictional forces that occur in directions orthogonal to rotational planes of the plurality of driving wheels and the plurality of driven wheels (see at least [0105]),
the slip index computing section is configured to compute each of slip ratios of the plurality of driving wheels as the slip index, the slip ratios being computed on a basis of the rotational speeds of the plurality of driving wheels and the rotational speeds of the plurality of driven wheels sensed by the wheel speed sensor (see at least [0053]), and
compute each of slip angles of the plurality of driving wheels and the plurality of driven wheels as the slip index, the slip angles being computed on a basis of the information sensed by the wheel speed sensor, the information sensed by the yaw rate sensor, information sensed by the lateral acceleration sensor (see at least [0113]),
the friction coefficient computing section is configured to compute first friction coefficients as the friction coefficient, the first friction coefficients being obtained by dividing the first directional tire forces as a computation 90 result of the tire force computing section by the wheel loads as the computation result of the wheel load computing section, and compute second friction coefficients as the friction coefficient, the second friction coefficients being obtained by dividing the second directional tire forces as a computation result of the tire force computing section by the wheel loads as the computation result of the wheel load computing section (see at least [0153]),
the friction coefficient ratio computing section is configured to compute first friction coefficient ratios as the friction coefficient ratio, the first friction coefficient ratios being obtained by dividing the first friction coefficients as a computation result of the friction coefficient computing section by the slip ratios as a computation result of the slip index computing section (see at least [0055]), and
compute second friction coefficient ratios as the friction coefficient ratio, the second friction coefficient ratios being obtained by dividing the second friction coefficients as a computation result of the friction coefficient computing section by the slip angles as a computation result of the slip index computing section (see at least [0062]), and
the controller is configured to select one of the first friction coefficient ratios and the second friction coefficient ratios as computation results of the friction coefficient ratio computing section on a basis of the slip ratios and the slip angles as the computation results of the slip index computing section (see at least [0055]), and
control the driving of the electric motor on a basis of the selected one (see at least [0085]).
Ueda is not explicit on a steering angle sensor that senses a steering angle of a steering mechanism that steers the plurality of driven wheels, however,
Minoshima discloses a steering angle sensor that senses a steering angle of a steering mechanism that steers the plurality of driven wheels (see at least Col. 3 lines 51-59).
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine the system disclosed by Ueda with the load measuring apparatus for a working machine disclosed by Minoshima because loads applied to respective front and rear, left and right suspension cylinders, which are disposed between a body frame and the wheels, are unbalanced and become unstable, and as a consequence, an error may arise in a cargo load measured by a load measuring apparatus (Minoshima, Col. 1 lines 58-67).
Regarding claim 6, Ueda is not explicit on first suspensions provided between the plurality of driving wheels and a vehicle body frame and second suspensions provided between the plurality of driven wheels and the vehicle body frame, wherein the first suspensions and the second suspensions include a hydraulic cylinder filled with a hydraulic operating fluid, and the wheel load sensor is a pressure sensor that senses a pressure of the hydraulic operating fluid in the hydraulic cylinder, however,
Minoshima discloses first suspensions provided between the plurality of driving wheels and a vehicle body frame and second suspensions provided between the plurality of driven wheels and the vehicle body frame, wherein the first suspensions and the second suspensions include a hydraulic cylinder filled with a hydraulic operating fluid (see at least Col. 2 lines 29-52]), and
the wheel load sensor is a pressure sensor that senses a pressure of the hydraulic operating fluid in the hydraulic cylinder first suspensions provided between the plurality of driving wheels and a vehicle body frame and second suspensions provided between the plurality of driven wheels and the vehicle body frame, wherein the first suspensions and the second suspensions include a hydraulic cylinder filled with a hydraulic operating fluid (see at least Col. 2 lines 1-21), and
the wheel load sensor is a pressure sensor that senses a pressure of the hydraulic operating fluid in the hydraulic cylinder (see at least Col. 4 lines 7-17).
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine the system disclosed by Ueda with the load measuring apparatus for a working machine disclosed by Minoshima because loads applied to respective front and rear, left and right suspension cylinders, which are disposed between a body frame and the wheels, are unbalanced and become unstable, and as a consequence, an error may arise in a cargo load measured by a load measuring apparatus (Minoshima, Col. 1 lines 58-67).
Regarding claim 7, Ueda is not explicit on a notifying device that notifies that a road surface is slippery, wherein the controller causes the notifying device to drive when the friction coefficient ratio as the computation result of the friction coefficient ratio computing section is smaller than a threshold value set in advance, however,
Minoshima discloses a notifying device that notifies that a road surface is slippery (see at least Col. 2 lines 1-21),
the controller causes the notifying device to drive when the friction coefficient ratio as the computation result of the friction coefficient ratio computing section is smaller than a threshold value set in advance (see at least Col. 9 lines 32-43).
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine the system disclosed by Ueda with the load measuring apparatus for a working machine disclosed by Minoshima because loads applied to respective front and rear, left and right suspension cylinders, which are disposed between a body frame and the wheels, are unbalanced and become unstable, and as a consequence, an error may arise in a cargo load measured by a load measuring apparatus (Minoshima, Col. 1 lines 58-67).
Regarding claim 8, Ueda is not explicit on the controller is configured to estimate a maximum friction coefficient of the road surface from the friction coefficient ratio as the computation result of the friction coefficient ratio computing section, compute an upper limit value of a travelling speed of the electrically driven hauling vehicle by using the maximum friction coefficient as a result of the estimation, and control the driving of the electric motor such that the travelling speed of the electrically driven hauling vehicle does not exceed the upper limit value as a result of the computation, however,
Minoshima discloses the controller is configured to estimate a maximum friction coefficient of the road surface from the friction coefficient ratio as the computation result of the friction coefficient ratio computing section (see at least Col. 10 lines 26-42),
compute an upper limit value of a travelling speed of the electrically driven hauling vehicle by using the maximum friction coefficient as a result of the estimation and control the driving of the electric motor such that the travelling speed of the electrically driven hauling vehicle does not exceed the upper limit value as a result of the computation (see at least Col. 10 lines 26-42).
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine the system disclosed by Ueda with the load measuring apparatus for a working machine disclosed by Minoshima because loads applied to respective front and rear, left and right suspension cylinders, which are disposed between a body frame and the wheels, are unbalanced and become unstable, and as a consequence, an error may arise in a cargo load measured by a load measuring apparatus (Minoshima, Col. 1 lines 58-67).
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20230092314 A1 (“Ueda”) in view of US 20160250930 A1 (“Collins”).
Regarding claim 9, Ueda is not explicit on the operation control system comprising a map database that stores map information related to a travelling path on a site where the plurality of electrically driven hauling vehicles are operated, wherein the plurality of electrically driven hauling vehicles are the electrically driven hauling vehicles according to An electrically driven hauling vehicle operation control system for controlling operation of a plurality of electrically driven hauling vehicles, the operation control system comprising a map database that stores map information related to a travelling path on a site where the plurality of electrically driven hauling vehicles are operated, wherein the plurality of electrically driven hauling vehicles are the electrically driven hauling vehicles according to the plurality of electrically driven hauling vehicles are each configured to estimate a maximum friction coefficient of a road surface by using the friction coefficient ratio, and notify the operation control system of the maximum friction coefficient as a result of the estimation in association with positional information on each of the plurality of electrically driven hauling vehicles, the operation control system is configured to compute an upper limit of a travelling speed by using the map information of the map database and the maximum friction coefficient notified from each of the plurality of 93 electrically driven hauling vehicles and associated with the positional information, and associate the upper limit as a result of the computation as a speed limit of a travelling path corresponding to the positional information with the map information of the map database, and the operation control system is configured to notify an electrically driven hauling vehicle, the electrically driven hauling vehicle having notified the operation control system of the positional information, of the upper limit associated with a travelling path corresponding to the positional information as a limit of the travelling speed by referring to the map database, however,
Collins discloses an electrically driven hauling vehicle operation control system for controlling operation of a plurality of electrically driven hauling vehicles, the operation control system comprising a map database that stores map information related to a travelling path on a site where the plurality of electrically driven hauling vehicles are operated (see at least [0042]),
wherein the plurality of electrically driven hauling vehicles are the electrically driven hauling vehicles according to the plurality of electrically driven hauling vehicles are each configured to estimate a maximum friction coefficient of a road surface by using the friction coefficient ratio, and notify the operation control system of the maximum friction coefficient as a result of the estimation in association with positional information on each of the plurality of electrically driven hauling vehicles (see at least [0009]),
the operation control system is configured to compute an upper limit of a travelling speed by using the map information of the map database and the maximum friction coefficient notified from each of the plurality of 93 electrically driven hauling vehicles and associated with the positional information (see at least [0012]), and
associate the upper limit as a result of the computation as a speed limit of a travelling path corresponding to the positional information with the map information of the map database (see at least [0012]), and
the operation control system is configured to notify an electrically driven hauling vehicle, the electrically driven hauling vehicle having notified the operation control system of the positional information, of the upper limit associated with a travelling path corresponding to the positional information as a limit of the travelling speed by referring to the map database (see at least [0012]).
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine the system disclosed by Ueda with the slip mitigation control for electric ground vehicles disclosed by Collins Currently, traction control systems for electric ground vehicles are insufficient to adequately mitigate longitudinal slip (Collins, 0006])).
Conclusion
/MATHEW FRANKLIN GORDON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3665