DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
The limitation “paddle” in claim 10 is interpreted in a manner consistent with the description in paragraph [0090] of the as-field specification.
Claim Objections
Claims 1-10 are objected to because of the following informalities: the word “Claim” appears to be marked for deletion in the listing of claims. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Specifically, lines 4 and 5 of claim 1 recite “among conductive layers electrically connected to the photoelectric conversion layer,” however, it is unclear whether the conductive layers recited are components of the claimed photoelectric conversion element. Claims 2-10 are rejected due to their respective dependence on claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Okabe et al. (JP 2015091960 A – see attached machine translation).
Regarding claim 1, Okabe discloses a photoelectric conversion element ([0001]) comprising: a substrate ([0341] backsheet 10); at least one photoelectric conversion layer provided on the substrate ([0296],[0297] 6 in Figures 2 and 3; it is noted that the limitation “on” does not require direct physical contact or the absence of intermediate components); a distal-side conductive layer, among conductive layers electrically connected to the photoelectric conversion layer, located farthest from the substrate ([0047],[0261]; 101 in Fig. 1); a sealing layer provided on the distal-side conductive layer ([0317],[0319], [0365] 3 and 9 in Fig. 2); a barrier layer covering an upper surface and a side surface of the sealing layer ([0335]; 4 and 8 in Fig. 2; it is noted that the limitation “covering” does not require direct physical contact or the absence of intermediate components. Additionally, the limitation “upper” is dependent on the spatial orientation of the device), wherein the sealing layer contains a paraxylylene-based polymer ([0317],[0319],[0365]), and the barrier layer contains an inorganic metal oxide ([0313],[0327],[0335]).
It is noted that with regard to the limitation “film formation,” the limitation is directed to the manner in which the apparatus is intended to be used, and a recitation directed to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be used does not distinguish the claimed apparatus from the prior art, if the prior art has the capability to so perform. See MPEP 2111.02, 2112.01 and 2114-2115.
Regarding claim 2, Okabe discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above. Okabe further discloses the barrier layer contains an oxide of aluminum ([0335]).
Regarding claim 3, Okabe discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above. Okabe further discloses the distal-side conductive layer and the barrier layer have light transparency ([0261]; 4 in Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 4, Okabe discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above.
With regard to the limitation “wherein a refractive index of the barrier layer at a wavelength of 589.3 nm is smaller than a refractive index of the sealing layer at a wavelength of 589.3 nm,” as set forth above, Okabe discloses the sealing layer is a paraxylylene-based polymer and the barrier layer contains an oxide of aluminum, and when the structure recited in the reference is substantially identical to that of the claims, claimed properties or functions are presumed to be inherent. Where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established. In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1255, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977).
Regarding claims 5 and 6, Okabe discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above. Okabe further discloses the barrier layer contains silicon dioxide ([0313],[0327]).
Regarding claim 7, Okabe discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above.
With regard to the limitation “wherein a refractive index of the distal-side conductive layer at a wavelength of 589.3 nm is greater than a refractive index of the sealing layer at a wavelength of 589.3 nm,” Okabe discloses materials which form the distal-side conductive layer ([0262]) which are similar to those described in the as-filed specification in paragraphs [0017] and [0018]), and Okabe discloses the sealing layer is a paraxylylene-based polymer, and when the structure recited in the reference is substantially identical to that of the claims, claimed properties or functions are presumed to be inherent. Where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established. In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1255, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977).
Regarding claim 8, Okabe discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above. Okabe further discloses an inorganic oxide layer between the barrier layer and the distal-side conductive layer ([0273] discloses the material of layer 106 is quartz; 106 is between layers 4 and 101 as depicted in Figures 1 and 2). With regard to the limitation “wherein a refractive index of the inorganic oxide layer at a wavelength of 589.3 nm is greater than a refractive index of the sealing layer at a wavelength of 589.3 nm and is smaller than a refractive index of the distal-side conductive layer at a wavelength of 589.3 nm,” based on the similarity of the materials disclosed in Okabe for the inorganic oxide layer and the distal-side conductive layer to those described in the as-filed specification, and Okabe’s disclosure of a paraxylylene-based polymer for the sealing layer, the claimed properties are presumed to be inherent. When the structure recited in the reference is substantially identical to that of the claims, claimed properties or functions are presumed to be inherent. Where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established. In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1255, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977).
Regarding claim 9, Okabe discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above. Okabe further discloses a photoelectric conversion module comprising the photoelectric conversion element ([0098], Figures 1 and 2; it is noted that the disclosed photoelectric conversion element is a photoelectric conversion module).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Okabe et al. (JP 2015091960 A – see attached machine translation) as applied to claim 9 above, in view of Wyatt (US 3,152,774 A).
Regarding claim 10, Okabe discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above.
Okabe does not explicitly disclose a paddle comprising the photoelectric conversion module.
Wyatt discloses a paddle comprising a photoelectric conversion module (C2/L45).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to use the photoelectric conversion module of Okabe in a paddle, as disclosed by Wyatt, because as evidenced by Wyatt, the use of a photoelectric conversion module in a paddle amounts to the use of a known component in the art for its intended purpose to achieve an expected result, and one of ordinary skill would have a reasonable expectation of success when using the photoelectric conversion module of Okabe in a paddle based on the teaching of Wyatt.
Conclusion
/TAMIR AYAD/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1726