The following is Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status
Claim Objections
Claims 7, 14, and 20 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 7 says “one or more of the plurality of IoT devices” in lines 2-3 whereas in Claim 1, which it depends upon says “one or more IoT devices”.
Examiner suggests it read as –one or more IoT devices—as it is formatted in Claim 1, line 4.
Claim 14 says “one or more of the one or more IoT devices” in lines 2-3.
Examiner suggests it read as –one or more IoT devices—
Claim 20 says “cause the IoT device to further implement determining a sleep period after completing the transmit period determine a next wake for the IoT device to capture a next sensor measurement.” in lines 3-4
Examiner suggests it has a comma added after transmit period to make it clear such as
-- cause the IoT device to further implement determining a sleep period after completing the transmit period , determine a next wake for the IoT device to capture a next sensor measurement--
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 16 recites the limitation ”the respective delays” in line 4 after mentioning “a delay” in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Examiner suggests amending this claim to say –the respective delay--.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over SOLOMON U.S. Patent Publication No. 2020/0213688, in view of SATOH U.S. Patent Publication No. 2022/0070801, further in view of ARAB ET AL. U.S. Patent No. 10433270.
Regarding Claim 1, .SOLOMON and SATOH and ARAB teach
A system, comprising: one or more Internet of Things (IoT) devices, respectively comprising at least one processor, a memory;
(¶[0011] , “….More particularly, the present technique may utilize mobile devices (e.g., smartphones, tablets, PDAs) to locate the presence of a leak in an underground pipeline network. As will be described in further detail below, in an exemplary embodiment of the present technique, two or more mobile devices, such as smartphone devices, may be used to locate a presence of a leak in the underground pipeline network. In such a configuration, each of the smartphone devices may be coupled to a sensor that is further coupled to the network. Such sensors are adapted to detect the presence of signals indicative of leak within the network and to provide an indication of a possible leak within the pipeline network.”)(SOLOMON)
(¶[0006], “In the case of collecting sensor data from sensors installed at a plurality of positions on a structure, it is effective to use a wireless network using specific low-power radio from a viewpoint of installation cost and the like. However, when time synchronization is performed by one-to-one communication between a gateway and sensor nodes using a wireless network by specific low-power radio, there is a problem that fluctuation of communication completion time occurs due to a packet retransmission process and the like that occur when the wireless communication state is bad (radio wave collision with other communications, radio waves temporarily not reaching a sensor node, and the like), and synchronization accuracy decreases.”)(SATOH)
(¶[0057] Each of the plurality of sensor nodes 11 includes a control unit configured with a CPU, a memory, an input/output port and the like, and the control unit is also responsible for functions as functional arithmetic units that execute subdivided processes, respectively. Specifically, the control unit of the sensor node 11a includes a synchronization unit 111a, a difference calculation unit 112a, a measurement unit 113a, a correction information transmission unit 114a and a clock unit 115a. The synchronization unit 111a synchronizes time of the sensor node with synchronization time indicated in a received synchronization packet.”)(SATOH)
(Claim 11, “A device comprising: a memory configured to store instructions; and a processor configured to execute the instructions to: identify a plurality of Internet of Things (IoT) devices associated with a wireless IoT network, wherein the device is configured as a coordinator for the wireless IoT network; determine a clock error rate associated with the wireless IoT network; determine a last synchronization time; determine a data time period during which one or more of the plurality of IoT devices are expected to send data to the device; set a wakeup time period for the device based on the determined clock error rate, the determined last synchronization time, and the determined data time period; enter a sleep mode; exit the sleep mode when the wakeup time period begins; and perform a clock synchronization between the device and at least one of the plurality of IoT devices during the wakeup time period.”)(ARAB)
SOLOMON and SATOH, but not ARAB teach
wherein the one or more IoT devices are configured to:
receive respective measurement configurations that synchronize respective sensor measurements captured by the one or more IoT devices according to an absolute time reference,
(¶[0022], “A method is provided. In some embodiments, the method includes scheduling, using a server, a scheduled recording time for a plurality of sensors, each sensor of the plurality of sensors coupled to a computing device of a plurality of computing devices, and each computing device of the plurality of computing devices coupled to a synchronization adaptor of a plurality of synchronization adaptors. The method further includes estimating at each computing device a local recording time based at least in part on a local clock for each computing device and the scheduled recording time. The method further includes recording sensor measurements at each sensor beginning at the local recording time for the computing device to which each sensor is coupled. The method further includes receiving at each computing device the sensor measurements and a timing synchronization signal on a communication channel from the synchronization adaptor to which each computing device is coupled.”) (SOLOMON)
(¶[0074], “Hence, in one exemplary embodiment of the present technique, the server 26 can provide a uniform clock to both the smartphones 20 and 22 so that both devices are synchronized in time, thereby enabling devices 20 and 22 to provide correlated measurements of vibration signals obtained via the sensors 12 and 16. In so doing, each of the smartphones 20 and 22 can obtain repeated samples of each time within a certain duration. Upon achieving sufficient time samples, each of the smartphones can effect certain prescribed algorithms (e.g., statistical analysis) on the sample for ultimately obtaining an accurate measurement of time between the two smartphones that ranges between 2 ms-5 ms.”) (SOLOMON)
(¶[0127] The process continues at step 906. At step 906, the application server schedules an absolute recording time for all mobile sensors in the pairing. The absolute time as scheduled by the application server is a single point in time when all mobile sensors in the pairing should begin recording sensor measurement. This time is referred to as “absolute” in the sense that it denotes the time on a “true” clock, i.e., one without local offset from the true time, when the recording should begin…..”)(SOLOMON)
(¶[0128] The process continues at step 908. At step 908, the application server transmits the absolute recording time to the mobile devices. This transmission may be accompanied by other information as necessary to allow the mobile devices to prepare for sensor measurement recording.”) (SOLOMON)
(¶[0055] “In the case of desiring to acquire signals of sensors connected to a plurality of nodes among the nodes with a synchronization accuracy within 1 ms, in a sensor system using a specific low-power wireless network, it is difficult to realize the desire because of influence of loss of a wireless communication packet, the operating clock accuracy of the sensor nodes (in the case of using a crystal oscillator, generally, about ±15 ppm for a narrow deviation type) and the like. Therefore, until now, sensor signals are synchronized with a high accuracy by implementing a GPS module, an atomic clock and the like for each sensor node and using highly accurate time information. However, since the GPS module and the atomic clock are expensive and are required in proportion to the number of sensor nodes, there is a problem that cost of the monitoring system increases. Therefore, in the present example embodiment, such a problem is solved by a gateway apparatus transmitting a synchronization packet to each sensor node.”)(SATOH)
(¶[0056] “The gateway apparatus 13 includes a control unit configured with a CPU (central processing unit), a memory, an input/output port and the like, and the control unit is also responsible for functions as functional arithmetic units that execute subdivided processes, respectively. Specifically, the control unit of the gateway apparatus 13 includes a synchronization packet transmission unit 131 that transmits a synchronization packet specifying synchronization time and measurement start time to the plurality of sensor nodes 11a, . . . , 11n by broadcast communication, a correction unit 132 that corrects each of times of pieces of measured data from the plurality of sensor nodes 11a, . . . , 11n, and a clock unit 133. Though the clock unit 133 of the gateway apparatus 13 has a crystal oscillator, it may include a GPS module and an atomic clock if higher precision and accuracy are required.”)(SATOH)
wherein the respective measurement configurations comprise:
a configuration period;
(¶[0063] “Before start of measurement of sensors, the gateway apparatus 13 transmits a synchronization packet SP instructing each of the sensor nodes 11a, 11b, . . . , 11n by broadcast communication to start measurement (step S201). The synchronization packet includes information on synchronization time (ex. 12:30.000) for time synchronization and measurement start time (ex. 12:30.600). As described later, the gateway apparatus 13 transmits the synchronization packet SP by broadcast communication each time it instructs each of the sensor nodes 11a, 11b, . . . , 11n to measure physical quantities (acquire sensor data)”).(SATOH)
(¶[0128], SOLOMON)
a measurement period;
(¶[0178] At step 1104, the mobile sensor begins recording sensor measurements because the local recording time has been reached.”)(SOLOMON)
(¶[0067] Each of the sensor nodes 11a, 11b, . . . , 11n starts acquisition of a sensor signal at the measurement start time according to the synchronization packet received from the gateway apparatus 13 (step S207). Since the synchronization packet SP shows measurement start time T4 (12:30.600) as described above, each sensor node starts measurement at the same time T4 (12:30.600) on the clock unit 115 of the sensor node when receiving the synchronization packet SP sent by broadcast communication.”)(SATOH)
(¶[[0070] Here, explanation will be made on a case where the sampling frequency is 400 Hz, and the measurement time is thirty seconds as an example. If ETa described above is 1 ms, the measurement timing of the last measured value is a value measured after 30.001 seconds from the measurement start point of time.”)(SATOH)
SOLOMON, SATOH and ARAB teach
and a transmit period;
(¶[0180], “The process continues at step 1108. At step 1108, the mobile device transmits the stored measurement information to the application server.”)(SOLOMON)
(¶[0068], “At a point of time when acquisition of sensor data corresponding to a measurement time determined in advance is completed, each sensor node ends acquisition of sensor data. For example, when sensor data is acquired for a measurement time of thirty seconds at a sampling period of 400 Hz, pieces of sensor data acquired at the sensor node 11a are called D.sub.a0, D.sub.a1, D.sub.a2, . . . , D.sub.aN at the clock unit 115 of each sensor node 11a. After that the sensor node 11a transmits the acquired pieces of sensor data (D.sub.a0, D.sub.a1, D.sub.a2, . . . , D.sub.aN) and time synchronization difference information (TDa) to the gateway apparatus 13 at a timing specified for each sensor node. It is assumed that the same goes for the other sensor nodes 11b, . . . , 11n (step S208).”)(SATOH)
(Col.3 , Lines 33-41, “Thus, implementations described herein relate to an IoT device that includes a computer device configured as a coordinator node in a wireless IoT network. The IoT device may identify a group of IoT devices in a wireless IoT network, determine a clock error rate associated with the wireless IoT network; determine a last synchronization time period; determine a data time period during which one or more of the group of IoT devices are expected to send data to the IoT device;….”)(ARAB)
SOLOMON and SATOH, but not ARAB teach
capture the respective sensor measurements according to the absolute time reference,
(¶[0067], SATOH)|(¶[0127-0128], SOLOMON)
wherein to capture the respective sensor measurements, the one or more IoT devices are configured to:
execute configuration instructions within the configuration period to
prepare the one or more IoT devices to capture the sensor measurement;
(¶[0127-0128], [0177-0180] , [0186-0187], SOLOMON)
execute measurement capture instructions to capture the sensor measurement, starting at a measurement start time determined based on the absolute time reference and the configuration period;
(¶[0127-0128], [0177-0180] , [0186-0187], SOLOMON)|(¶[0067], SATOH)
SOLOMON and SATOH and ARAB teach
and wirelessly transmit the sensor measurement to a recipient device within the transmit period.
(¶[0180], SOLOMON)|(¶[0068], SATOH)|(Claim 11, ARAB)
SOLOMON, SATOH and ARAB are analogous art because each is directed to coordinating time dependent operation of distributed sensor or IoT devices. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement SOLOMON’s absolute time synchronized sensor acquisition with SATOH’s synchronization packet and measurement start sequence because both references address accurate alignment of measurements from multiple distributed sensors. It would have further been obvious to incorporate ARAB’s selected IoT data transmission periods because the combined sensor nodes must communicate their acquired measurements, and ARAB provides a known mechanism for coordinating those transmissions according to synchronized device timing. The combination uses known timing and scheduling techniques for their established functions and predictably yields synchronized acquisition followed by orderly wireless reporting.
Regarding Claim 2, SOLOMON, SATOH and ARAB teach the system of Claim 1 as previously discussed. However, SOLOMON and SATOH, do not teach the system of claim 1, wherein a first IoT device of the one or more IoT devices has a first wake time that is different from a second wake time of a second IoT device of the one or more IoT devices. ARAB teaches determining respective wakeup time periods for IoT/end-node devices. In particular ARAB maintains wakeup time period records 510 associated with respective end-node devices and determines the wakeup time period of an IoT device based upon device specific timing information. ARAB also teaches that the wakeup time periods associated with the respective end-node devices may differ according to the timing characteristics and scheduled communication of the devices.
(Col. 11, Lines 12-21, “FIG. 5 is a diagram illustrating exemplary components of synchronization DB 445. In some implementations, synchronization DB 445 may be stored as a distributed data set among CN devices 130-A to 130-Y. In other implementations, particular CN devices 130 may maintain their own versions of synchronization DB 445. In yet other implementations, IoT management system 155 may maintain a master version of synchronization DB 445 and may provide updates to synchronization DBs 445 stored in particular CN devices 130.”)
(Col. 11, Lines 22-30, " As shown in FIG. 5, synchronization DB 445 may include one or more wakeup time period records 510, one or more device records 530, and an events record 550. Each wakeup time period record 510 may store information associated with a particular scheduled wakeup time period. Wakeup time period record 510 may include a wakeup time period field 512, a device identifier (ID) field 514, a synchronization field 516, a data posting field 518, and a load balancing field 520.”)
(Col. 11, Lines 31-46, “Wakeup time period field 512 may store information identifying the particular scheduled wakeup time period. Device ID field 514 may store information identifying one or more devices in wireless IoT network 110 that are expected to send data during the particular scheduled wakeup time period. Synchronization field 516 may store information identifying whether synchronization information is to be sent to devices during the particular scheduled wakeup time period. Data posting field 518 may store information identifying whether collected data is to be posted to IoT management system 155 during the particular scheduled wakeup time period. Load balancing field 520 may store information identifying whether load balancing is to be performed during the particular scheduled wakeup time period to select another CN device 130 as the active CN device 130.”)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configure the first and second IoT devices of the combined SOLOMON and SATOH system according to ARAB’s respective wakeup scheduling such that a first IoT devices has a first wake time different from the wake time of a second IoT device, because ARAB teaches individually determining wakeup periods according to device specific synchronization and communication timing. Doing so would predictably permit each device to wake when needed for its respective synchronization and/or communication operation rather than requiring all devices to remain awake or wake simultaneously.
Regarding Claim 3, SOLOMON, SATOH and ARAB teach the system of Claim 1 as previously discussed. SATOH further teaches that prior to measurement each sensor node receives a synchronization packet specifying a synchronization time and later measurement start time, synchronizes its internal clock to the synchronization time, calculates and stores a respective synchronization difference, and then waits until the specified measurement start time before beginning measurement
SATOH expressly teaches an example synchronization time of 12:30:000 and measurement start time of 12:30:600 and states that the time from receipt of the synchronization packet to the measurement start time is 600 ms. (e.g. delay between configuration and measurement). SATOH further teaches in FIG.7 that , after setting its time according to the received synchronization packet the sensor node enters a measurement waiting state until the measurement start time and then after begins measurement at the specified measurement time.
(¶[0090]. “FIG. 7 shows measurement operations of sensor nodes according to cases of states of receiving measurement start synchronization packets from a gateway apparatus. In this example, a measurement start synchronization packet is transmitted from the gateway three times, at times T1, T2 and T3 at intervals of 200 ms. Each measurement start synchronization packet includes information about synchronization time and measurement start time. Each one-way arrow in FIG. 7 indicates that a sensor node is operating for measuring. Case 1 is a case where a sensor node could receive a measurement start synchronization packet SP1. The sensor node sets time of its own using the time information in the measurement start synchronization packet, enters a measurement waiting state until the measurement start time in the measurement start synchronization packet, and starts measurement at the measurement start time……”)
SOLOMON further teaches selecting the scheduled absolute recording time sufficiently in the future to permit preparatory operations, including time synchronization, and then waiting until the determined local recording time before beginning sensor measurement.
ARAB additionally teaches determining device specific timing/wakeup periods based upon synchronization and clock information.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of SOLOMON, SATOH and ARAB to configure each IoT device of the combined system to determine, following completions of its configuration/synchronization operations, the remaining delay until the scheduled measurement start time and to begin execution of measurement capture instructions after expiration of that respective delay, to allow each IoT device sufficient time to complete synchronization before beginning measurement. SATOH expressly teaches that each sensor node independently performs synchronization and after remains in a measurement waiting state until the specified common measurement start time , while SOLOMON teaches intentionally providing sufficient time between synchronization/preparation and measurement acquisition.
Regarding Claim 4, SOLOMON, SATOH and ARAB teach the system of Claim 1 as previously discussed. SOLOMON teaches capturing and storing sensor measurement information and subsequently transmitting the store measurement information to the application server. SATOH teaches completing acquisition of sensor data during a predetermined measurement period and then after transmitting the acquired sensor data from the respective sensor nodes to the gateway. ARAB further teaches determining a data time period during which IoT devices are expected to send data, wherein data time period field 540 identifies the data time period during which a particular device is expected to send data to the coordinator (FIG. 5 ; FIG. 6 (630)). ARAB further teaches selecting the data time period for a particular end-node device to send data during the selected data time period, as well as instructing IoT devices to wait before sending data.
(Claim 6, “The method of claim 1, further comprising: instructing the plurality of IoT devices to wait to send data to the IoT device until the IoT device exits the sleep mode.”)
(Claim 7, “The method of claim 1, wherein determining the data time period during which one or more of the plurality of IoT devices are expected to send data to the IoT device includes: selecting the data time period based on the determined clock error rate; and instructing the at least one of the plurality of IoT devices to send the data to the IoT device during the selected data time period.”)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configure the sensor devices of SOLMON and SATOH to determine a respective delay following completion of sensor measurement and to begin transmission after expiration of that delay in accordance with ARAB’s respective selected data transmission periods, thereby coordinating transmission of sensor data with the scheduled availability of the receiving device and reducing unnecessary wireless activity. The combination would have predictably allowed each IoT device to delay transmission of its captured sensor data until its respective scheduled data transmission period. Thereby coordinating wireless communication with the receiving device and conserving device power.
Regarding Claim 5, SOLOMON, SATOH and ARAB teach the system of Claim 1 as previously discussed. However, SOLOMON does not teach the system of claim 1, wherein to capture the respective sensor measurements, the one or more IoT devices are further configured to determine respective delays prior to wirelessly transmitting the sensor measurement according to device-specific delay assignments provided to the one or more IoT devices as part of the respective measurement configurations, wherein different ones of the one or more IoT devices receive different device-specific delay assignments.
SATOH teaches that after acquisition of sensor data is completed, the respective sensor nodes transmit their acquired sensor data at specified times (¶[0068], step S208) as previously discussed. Thereby teaching individually specified transmission timing for the respective sensor devices.
ARAB further teaches device specific transmission scheduling, where the coordinator selects the data time period for a particular end-node device to transmit during its selected time period and that such data time periods may be established by the coordinator instructing the end-node devices when and/or how frequently to transmit.(FIG. 5)
(Col. 12, Lines 9-20, “Data delivery history field 538 may store information identifying time periods during which the particular device sent data to the active CN device 130 and/or information identifying how frequently data was sent by the particular device during a particular time period. Data time period field 540 may store information identifying a data time period during which the particular device is expected to send data to the active CN device 130 and/or may store information identifying how frequently the particular device is expected to send data to the active CN device 130 during the data time period. Data time period 540 may be determined based on information stored in data delivery history field 538.”)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate ARAB’s device specific transmission scheduling to the individually specified sensor node transmission timings of SATOH such that different sensor devices are provided respective transmission delay assignments following measurement acquisition, thereby allowing devices to transmit their captured sensor measurements at individually scheduled times. The combination would have predictably allowed the respective IoT devices to transmit their sensor measurements at individually assigned times, thereby coordinating wireless transmissions and reducing simultaneous transmissions and resulting communication bottlenecks.
Regarding Claim 6, SOLOMON, SATOH and ARAB teach the system of Claim 1 as previously discussed. SOLOMON teaches client devices obtaining accurate time information from the time server 560 using the Network Time Protocol or alternative time distributions.
([0090], “FIG. 5B illustrates a system for detecting locations of leaks in a pipeline network in accordance with some embodiments. FIG. 5B shows elements similar to those shown in the system of FIG. 5A. However, in FIG. 5B, a time server 560 is provided. While GPS modules 520 and 522 are not shown in FIG. 5B, GPS modules 520 and 522 may be used in embodiments also incorporating the time server 560 of FIG. 5B. As shown, smartphones 20 and 22 communicate with time server 560 by way of network 524. In the embodiments shown in FIG. 5B, network 524 is used by smartphones 20 and 22 to communicate with both application server 26 and time server 560. However, in other embodiments, smartphones 20 and 22 may communicate with time server 560 through a network different from the network used by smartphones 20 and 22 to communicate with application server 26. Time server 560 may provide time information to smartphones 20 and 22. For example, protocols such as the Network Time Protocol (“NTP”) can be used in order to provide accurate time information from a server to client devices. Time server 560 may implement NTP in some embodiments. Time server 560 may use an alternative time distribution technique in other embodiments.”)
(¶[0159], “If the mobile device determines that the GPS system will not be used for time synchronization at step 1002, then the process continues at step 1012. At step 1012, the mobile device retrieves a time value from a time server. This time server may be as previously described, such as one implementing the Network Time Protocol (“NTP”).”)
SOLOMON further teaches Time t0 1601 as being the point in time to begin scheduled measurements.(¶[0178])
(¶[0215], “At time t0 1601, the computing device has been connected to the synchronization adaptor, and the synchronization adaptor has been connected to the sensor. Furthermore, the sensor has been connected to a signal source of the sensor measurements. Time t0 1601 may be a point in time scheduled for beginning sensor measurements. This may be an absolute time or an absolute time with a local offset value as previously described herein.”)
SATOH teaches transmitting synchronization time from the network connected gateway apparatus to the plurality of sensor nodes and thereafter beginning measurement according to the synchronized local clock of each sensor node. (FIG. 2)
ARAB further teaches in the context of an IoT network, that an end-node devices receives synchronization data from the coordinator and synchronizes its clock based on that received data, including receiving an instruction to adjust its clock to a time corresponding to the coordinator’s clock and the sending the sensor measurements to the coordinator node as data packets.
(Col. 2, Lines 37-50, “Furthermore, the coordinator node may determine a clock error rate for the wireless IoT network based on, for example, the accuracy of clock crystals associated with the coordinator node device and the end-node devices in the wireless IoT network. The coordinator node device may further determine the wakeup time intervals based on clock error rate to ensure that the differences in clock errors do not result in the wakeup time of the coordinator node device to become out of sync with the time period during which an end-node is expected to send data to the coordinator node device. The coordinator node device may perform a synchronization with the end-node devices, and/or other coordinator node devices, at particular intervals during a wakeup time period to correct for the clock error rates.”)
(Col. 16, Lines 24-33, “FIG. 9 is an exemplary signal flow 900 of synchronizing a wireless IoT network according to an implementation described herein. Signal flow 900 may be performed by wireless IoT network 110 implemented in a parking garage and/or parking lot in which low-cost, low-power magnetic sensors are connected to a wireless MCU via an Inter-Integrated Circuit (I.sup.2C) interface. The magnetic sensors measure the occupancy of the parking garage and/or parking lot and report the occupancy data to IoT management system 155 at particular intervals via Cat-M1.”)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to synchronize the respective local clocks of SOLOMON’s sensor devices using the network timing techniques of SATOH and ARAB so that each device could perform sensor measurement according to an accurately synchronized local time, thereby improving alignment of measurements captured by the different devices.
Regarding Claim 7, SOLOMON, SATOH and ARAB teach the system of Claim 1 as previously discussed. However, SOLOMON does not expressly teach the system of claim 1, wherein the measurement configuration is received wirelessly from a network server that communicates with one or more of the plurality of IoT devices. SATOH teaches wireless delivery measurement configuration information from a network connected gateway to a plurality of sensor devices, wherein the gateway broadcast synchronization packets specifying synchronization time and measurement start time and thereby instructs the sensor notes to measure physical quantities/acquire sensor data. (¶[0056])|(¶[0063])|(FIG. 1; FIG. 8)
(¶[0054] The gateway apparatus 13 is communicably connected to the plurality of sensor nodes 11a, . . . , 11n via the wireless network 12.”)(e.g. a gateway is a network server)
Thus, SATOH teaches wirelessly providing measurement configuration information to the respective sensor devices.
ARAB further teaches an IoT management system 155 (FIG. 1) implemented using one or more server devices and a coordinator node device communicating with the IoT management system through a wireless connection such as NB-IoT or Cat-M1. ARAB further teaches that the coordinator may receive updates and instructions from the IoT management system and forward those to the end-node IoT devices.
(Col. 4, Lines 27-32, “The coordinator node device may be configured to forward the data received from the end-node devices to an IoT management system (e.g., implemented via one or more server devices) via a long-range wireless connection, such as an NB-IoT connection, a Cat-M1 connection, and/or another type of cellular connection…….”)
(Col.5, Lines 20-24 , “The active CN device 130 may also receive updates and/or instructions from IoT management system 155 and may forward the received updates and/or instructions to EN device 120 and/or other CN devices 130.”)(e.g. measurement configuration instructions)
Thus, ARAB teaches a network server architecture for wirelessly supplying instructions to devices of an IoT network.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide SATOH’s measurements/synchronization configuration through the server based wireless IoT architecture taught by ARAB, such that measurement configuration information originating from a network server is communicated wirelessly to the IoT sensor devices, thereby permitting centralized configuration and coordination of distributed sensor devices. The combination would have predictably enabled centralized wireless distribution of measurement configurations from a network server to the respective IoT devices.
Claims 8-14 are rejected for the same reasons discussed above for Claims 1-7.
Regarding Claims 8-14 it is the method form counterpart of the system claimed in Claims 1-7
Claims 15-20 are rejected for the same reasons as Claims 1-7 as previously discussed, to the extent they recite the corresponding program/processor instruction implementation of the synchronization configuration, measurement and transmission operations.
Regarding Claim 15 , SOLOMON and SATOH each describe processor controlled devices executing the timing and measurement operations, and SATOH expressly describes control units including CPU and memory. ARAB expressly recites memory storing instructions and a processor executing instructions for IoT synchronization and scheduled data time operations
Regarding Claims 16-19, they are rejected using the corresponding timing/delay, transmission scheduling, and local/common-time teachings of SOLOMON, SATOH and ARAB discussed above.
Regarding Claim 20, ARAB further teaches managing an IoT device according to respective transmission, sensing, and sleep periods where Ttx corresponds to transmission time, Tsens corresponds to a sensor measurement time, and Tsleep corresponds to sleep mode time, and further teaches that sleep periods of IoT devices may be dynamically determined to maximize battery life(Eq. (1)). (e.g. determine sleep , wake, and transmit periods to preserve battery life)
(Col. 3, Lines 18-32, “For an end-node device, such as a sensor, T.sub.sens may be optimized to prolong battery life based on the application. For example, for a smart parking application, an occupancy sensor device, which uses a magnetic sensor to sense whether a parking spot is occupied in a garage, may be configured to have a short sensing period (which may drain battery life but reduce reporting latency) during rush hours and to have a long sensing period (which conserves battery life) during off-peak hours. Similarly, for a coordinator node device, T.sub.sens may refer to the length of time that the coordinator node device is in a wake mode, listening for messages from the end-node devices. Thus, the sleep time periods for the end-node devices and/or coordinator node devices may be determined dynamically based on the application to maximize battery life.”)
(Col. 3, Lines 33-50, “Thus, implementations described herein relate to an IoT device that includes a computer device configured as a coordinator node in a wireless IoT network. The IoT device may identify a group of IoT devices in a wireless IoT network, determine a clock error rate associated with the wireless IoT network; determine a last synchronization time period; determine a data time period during which one or more of the group of IoT devices are expected to send data to the IoT device; and set a wakeup time period for the IoT device based on the determined clock error rate, the determined last synchronization time period, and the determined data time period. The IoT device may then enter a sleep mode and exit the sleep mode when the wakeup time period begins. The IoT device may perform clock synchronization between the IoT device and the IoT devices during the wakeup time period. Synchronization of end-node devices with coordinator node devices may conserve battery power and prolong the life of a wireless IoT network.”)
ARAB additionally teaches determining a data time period, setting a wakeup time period based upon the determined timing information, entering a sleep mode and exiting the sleep mode. (FIG. 6). ARAB also teaches determining a new data time period based upon received data and setting a new wakeup time period based upon the newly determined data time period, thereby teaching dynamically determining a subsequent wake period following a preceding operation/communication cycle.
In view of SOLOMON and SATOH’s teachings of performing sensor acquisition at scheduled measurement times, it would have been obvious to use ARAB’s dynamically determined sleep and subsequent wake periods to place the sensor IoT device into a power saving state following completion of its transmission period and wake the device for its next scheduled sensor measurement operation. The combination would have predictably conserved battery power by placing IoT sensor devices into a dynamically determined sleep period after transmission and waking the device in time to perform its next scheduled sensor measurement.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
MIRFAKHRAEI ET AL. U.S. Patent Publication No. 2020/0359312 discloses TWT- based wake, sensing, and uplink-transmission scheduling; sleep between scheduled sensor operations
ANVARI U.S. Patent Publication No. 2020/0152340 discloses common time of day/absolute time reference used to synchronize, schedule, and control IoT device activities
/J.D.M./Examiner, Art Unit 2686
/BRIAN A ZIMMERMAN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2686