DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 10-12, 15, 22-24, 28, and 32 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ikeda (US 20190238839 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Ikeda discloses an intra prediction encoding method (119 of fig. 2, discloses the prediction unit for predicting angular prediction modes; A to D of fig. 5 and fig. 11, discloses the extended intra prediction mode is a mode that selects an angular intra prediction mode of the basic intra prediction mode at every predetermined number, so as to include an intra prediction modes indicating the horizontal direction, vertical direction, and diagonal direction as reference directions), wherein the method is performed by an encoder and the method comprises (fig. 2, discloses an encoder):
generating bitstream information of a video image frame (fig. 2, [0086], discloses the encoder generates a coded stream including information, [0183] to [0185] an extension flag (extension information)),
wherein the bitstream information of the video image frame comprises first indication information corresponding to a target primary angular prediction mode (Fig. 11, flag = 0, [0186] and [0188]) and second indication information corresponding to a target extended angular prediction mode (Fig. 11, flag = 1, [0186] and [0188], flag = 1 indicating the target extended angular prediction, [0194] to [0199]), and
the target primary angular prediction mode and the target extended angular prediction mode are angular prediction modes (Figs. 5 and 11, angular prediction modes comprise the target primary prediction mode, A of Fig. 5 and Fig. 11, flag = 0, and the target extended angular prediction mode, B, C, and D of Fig. 5 and Fig. 11, flag = 1, where the angular extended angular prediction is in variant) for
performing a high order intra prediction on a to-be-predicted pixel in a prediction unit in the video image frame ([0073] the prediction information Pinfo includes an intra prediction mode number as the intra prediction mode information indicating the intra prediction mode of the PU, a line number as the reference line information indicating the reference line of the PU, and the like. The intra prediction mode number is a number unique to the intra prediction mode; [0187] the selection unit 101A selects the intra prediction mode from the 67 intra prediction modes proposed by the JVET of line 0, and selects line 0 as the reference line. Therefore, in a case where the selected intra prediction mode is the angular intra prediction mode, the intra prediction information related to the intra prediction set by the setting unit 101B is one of the intra prediction mode number among the intra prediction modes 2 to 66 selected by the selection unit 101A); and
sending the bitstream information of the video image frame to a decoder (Fig. 2, [0086] and [0140], an encoder 100 sends the coded stream to a decoder, Fig. 9, a decoder 200).
Regarding claim 10, Ikeda discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein the method further comprises:
determining a plurality of candidate primary angular prediction modes corresponding to the prediction unit (Fig. 11, flag = 0);
determining a plurality of candidate extended angular prediction modes corresponding to each candidate primary angular prediction mode of the plurality of candidate primary angular prediction modes (Fig. 11, flag = 1); and
determining M candidate angular prediction mode groups according to the plurality of candidate primary angular prediction modes ([0187] the 67 intra prediction modes), and
the plurality of candidate extended angular prediction modes corresponding to each candidate primary angular prediction mode of the plurality of candidate primary angular prediction modes ([0187] the intra prediction modes 2 to 66; example: B, C, and D of fig. 5, and fig. 11, flag = 1),
wherein each candidate angular prediction mode group of the M candidate angular prediction mode groups comprises a candidate primary angular prediction mode of the plurality of candidate primary angular prediction modes (B, C, and D of fig. 5 and flag = 1 of fig. 11), and a candidate extended angular prediction mode corresponding to the candidate primary angular prediction mode; and M is an integer greater than 1 ([0172] and [0198] the extended intra prediction mode number assigned for each line and angular intra prediction mode is 2 to 65).
Regarding claim 11, Ikeda discloses the method according to claim 10, wherein the plurality of candidate primary angular prediction modes corresponding to the prediction unit comprise: a plurality of most probable modes corresponding to the prediction unit and first P angular prediction modes in a rate-distortion optimization (RDO) list, where P is a positive integer ([0117] to [0122] most probable mode (MPM), [0071], [0078] and [0079] Rate-Distortion Optimization (RDO));
or
the plurality of candidate primary angular prediction modes corresponding to the prediction unit comprise: a plurality of most probable modes corresponding to the prediction unit ([0117] to [0118] MPM); or the high order intra prediction comprises a first version and a second version, and a number of the candidate angular prediction mode groups determined by the first version of the high order intra prediction is greater than a number of the candidate angular prediction mode groups determined by the second version of the high order intra prediction.
Regarding claim 12, Ikeda discloses the method according to claim 11, wherein in a case where the plurality of candidate primary angular prediction modes corresponding to the prediction unit comprise: a plurality of most probable modes corresponding to the prediction unit ([0117] to 0122]) and first P angular prediction modes in a rate-distortion optimization (RDO) list, where P is a positive integer ([0075], [0078], and [0079] RDO), the plurality of candidate extended angular prediction modes corresponding to the candidate primary angular prediction mode comprise an angular prediction mode with a same type as the candidate primary angular prediction mode among all angular prediction modes ([0108] the reference direction indicated by the 33 extended intra prediction modes is the same as the reference direction indicated by the angular intra prediction mode of the HEV);
or in a case where the plurality of candidate primary angular prediction modes corresponding to the prediction unit comprise: a plurality of most probable modes corresponding to the prediction unit ([0118] to [0122] MPM), the plurality of candidate extended angular prediction modes corresponding to the candidate primary angular prediction mode comprise: a plurality of most commonly-used extended angular prediction modes corresponding to the candidate primary angular prediction mode ([0144] the image coding apparatus 100 transmits the line number of the reference line only in a case where the intra prediction mode common to the basic intra prediction mode and the extended intra prediction mode is selected; [0153] and [0154]).
Regarding claim 15, Ikeda discloses the method according to claim 12, wherein the plurality of most commonly-used extended angular prediction modes corresponding to the candidate primary angular prediction mode are related to a size of a coding unit in the video image frame ([0073], [0075], and [0079]).
Regarding claims 22 and 32, Ikeda discloses a communication apparatus (fig. 13), comprising: a memory and a processor; wherein the memory is coupled with the processor; the memory is configured to store instructions executable by the processor; and the processor, when executing the instructions ([0211], [0216], and [0217]), performs an intra prediction decoding method (figs. 9 and 10, a decoder performs a video decoding method), wherein the method is performed by a decoder (fig. 9) and the method comprises:
receiving bitstream information of a video image frame (200 of fig. 9, [0146] the decoder 200 decodes the coded stream from the encoder, 100 of fig. 2),
wherein the bitstream information of the video image frame comprises first indication information corresponding to a target primary angular prediction mode (Fig. 11, flag = 0, [0186] and [0188]) and second indication information corresponding to a target extended angular prediction mode (Fig. 11, flag = 1, [0186] and [0188], flag = 1 indicating the target extended angular prediction, [0194] to [0199]), and
the target primary angular prediction mode and the target extended angular prediction mode are angular prediction modes (Figs. 5 and 11, angular prediction modes comprise the target primary prediction mode, A of Fig. 5 and Fig. 11, flag = 0, and the target extended angular prediction mode, B, C, and D of Fig. 5 and Fig. 11, flag = 1, where the angular extended angular prediction is in variant) for
performing a high order intra prediction on a to-be-predicted pixel in a prediction unit in the video image frame ([0073] the prediction information Pinfo includes an intra prediction mode number as the intra prediction mode information indicating the intra prediction mode of the PU, a line number as the reference line information indicating the reference line of the PU, and the like. The intra prediction mode number is a number unique to the intra prediction mode; [0187] the selection unit 101A selects the intra prediction mode from the 67 intra prediction modes proposed by the JVET of line 0, and selects line 0 as the reference line. Therefore, in a case where the selected intra prediction mode is the angular intra prediction mode, the intra prediction information related to the intra prediction set by the setting unit 101B is one of the intra prediction mode number among the intra prediction modes 2 to 66 selected by the selection unit 101A);
determining the target primary angular prediction mode based on the first indication information ([0169] to [0170] determines whether or not the prediction mode selected in step S204 is an intra prediction mode. In a case where it is determined in step S205 that the mode is the intra prediction mode, the process proceeds to step S206; selects the intra prediction mode of the intra prediction mode number out of the prediction information Pinfo from the basic intra prediction mode of the 0th line and the extended intra prediction mode of first and subsequent lines as the intra prediction mode of the PU to be coded); and
determining the target extended angular prediction mode based on the second indication information ([0172] In step S208, the selection unit 211 selects the line of the line number out of the prediction information Pinfo from reference lines 0 to 4 as a reference line, and advances the process to step S211; [0173] in a case where it is determined in step S207 that the number is not a common number, the process proceeds to step S209. In step S209, the selection unit 211 selects the 0th line as the reference line from the 0th to 4th lines, and advances the process to step S211).
Regarding claim 23, Ikeda discloses the method according to claim 22, wherein the second indication information is used to indicate an index value of the target extended angular prediction mode ([0153] and [0171] the selection unit 211 determines whether or not the intra prediction mode number of the intra prediction mode selected in step S206 is a common number. In a case where it is determined in step S207 that the number is a common number, the process proceeds to step S208).
Regarding claim 24, Ikeda discloses the method according to claim 23, wherein the index value of the target extended angular prediction mode is an index value of the target extended angular prediction mode in a set comprising all angular prediction modes; or the index value of the target extended angular prediction mode is an index value of the target extended angular prediction mode in a set comprising a plurality of most commonly-used extended angular prediction modes corresponding to the target primary angular prediction mode ([0153] and [0171] the common number).
Regarding claim 28, Ikeda discloses the method according to claim 22, wherein the bitstream information of the video image frame further comprises at least one of:
first identification information, wherein the first identification information is used to indicate whether the high order intra prediction is enabled for the video image frame (Fig. 11, flag = 0, a case where the extension flag (extension information) is set to 0, the extension flag indicates that the extension of the intra prediction is extension in the reference direction indicated by the intra prediction mode; [0186]);
second identification information, wherein the second identification information is used to indicate an index value of an extended angular prediction mode of the high order intra prediction ([0185] in a case where the extension flag is set to 1, the extension flag indicates that the extension of the intra prediction is extension of the reference line);
third identification information, wherein the third identification information is used to indicate whether the high order intra prediction is disabled for all video image frames;
fourth identification information, wherein the fourth identification information is used to indicate whether the high order intra prediction is enabled for the prediction unit ([0073] and [0076]-[0077]);
prediction residual information, wherein the prediction residual information is used to indicate a residual value between a predicted pixel value and an original pixel value of a to-be- predicted pixel in the prediction unit ([0073] prediction mode information indicating whether the prediction mode of PU (CU) is intra prediction mode or inter prediction mode, the size of PB, and the like; [0074] if the prediction mode of the PU is the inter prediction mode, the prediction information Pinfo includes a motion vector and the like. Of course, the prediction information Pinfo may include any contents, and any information other than the above example may be included in the prediction information Pinfo; [0078] and [0155]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 17-21, 25-26, and 29-31 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Kim et al. (US 20200021800 A1) discloses the intra prediction mode may include two non-directional or non-angular intra prediction modes and 65 directional or angular intra prediction modes.
Xiu et al. (US 20190166370 A1) discloses the encoder/decoder to derive the actual 6 MPMs, the same rule used in HEVC is firstly applied to obtain 3 MPMs; then, the remaining 3 MPMs are defined as the 3 intra modes closest to (in terms of prediction direction) the angular modes which have already been included in the list of MPMs.
Contact Information
TUNG T. VO
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2425
/TUNG T VO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2425