DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Mitani et al. (US 2011/0141236 A1 – hereinafter Mitani).
Regarding claim 1, Mitani discloses a method for information display, performed by a terminal device (Fig. 14 – a method performed by a terminal 1 comprising a receiver 300 and a sink 200), and comprising: creating a global container (Fig. 6; [0075]-[0076] – creating a data structure as a global container for transmission of the 3D video images on the basis of information preliminarily acquired from display device 200) and a virtual display corresponding to the terminal device (Fig. 3; [0057]-[0062] – creating a virtual display according to information acquired from the display device 200, e.g. a virtual display for displaying 3D images with predefined image sizes and a viewing distance); performing, based on a naked-eye 3D film parameter of the virtual display (Figs. 4C, 4D; [0057] – based on a naked-eye 3D film parameter, which is any parameter described in [0059] and [0061]-[0063], of the virtual display, i.e. when the “3D capable” indicates either lenticular method or parallax barrier method), image splitting processing on a resource to be displayed to obtain left-right eye views with a naked-eye 3D effect (Figs. 5A-5E; [0083] – image splitting processing on a resource, which is the received video stream, to be displayed to obtain left-right views with a naked-eye 3D effect shown in Figs. 4C-4D and described in [0067]-[0068], before interleaving them into the stream, i.e. dividing into dots, fields, etc.); performing image interleaving processing on the left-right eye views to obtain a current vector texture corresponding to the resource to be displayed (Fig. 8; [0082]-[0083] – interleaving the divided dots or fields to obtain a current vector texture, which, when rendered on a physical display device, would have a texture shown in Figs. 5A-5D); and pushing the current vector texture to the global container (Fig. 6; [0082]-[0083] – pushing the current vector texture to the global container, i.e. placing the data into the fields of the transmission format structure shown in Fig. 6 for transmission to a display), and outputting the current vector texture to the virtual display based on the global container, to render the current vector texture by using the virtual display (Figs. 4C-4D – outputting the current vector texture to the virtual display defined by the image size).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2 and 17-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mitani as applied to claim 1 above.
Regarding claim 2, see the teachings Mitani as discussed in claim 1 above. However, Mitani does not disclose creating a virtual display corresponding to a terminal device comprises: loading a graphics driver model in the terminal device; and invoking a video present network function in the graphics driver model, and creating the virtual display by using the video present network function.
Official Notice is taken that creating a virtual display corresponding to a terminal device comprises: loading a graphics driver model in the terminal device; and invoking a video present network function in the graphics driver model, and creating the virtual display by using the video present network function is well known in the art, e.g. VidPN in Windows.
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to incorporate such a creating of a virtual display into the method taught by Mitani to save developing time since they do not need to write code for the functions from scratch, to improve code reliability because the functions are developed and tested by experienced developers, etc.
Regarding claim 17, see the teachings of Mitani as discussed in claim 1 above. However, Mitani does not explicitly disclose a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium having a computer program stored thereon, wherein the computer program, when executed by a processor, implements the recited method.
Official Notice is taken that a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium having a computer program stored thereon, wherein the computer program, when executed by a processor, implements a method is well known in the art.
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to implement the method taught by Mitani using a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium having a computer program stored thereon, wherein the computer program, when executed by a processor, implement the method because such an implementation would have been advantageous due to lower production costs and ease of updating, etc.
Regarding claim 18, Mitani also discloses an electronic device (Fig. 14 – device 2) to implement the method as discussed in claim 1 above. However, Mitani does not explicitly disclose the electronic device, comprising: a processor; and a memory, configured to store an executable instruction by the processor; wherein the processor is configured, by executing the executable instruction, to perform the recited method.
Official Notice is taken that an electronic device, comprising: a processor; and a memory, configured to store an executable instruction by the processor; wherein the processor is configured, by executing the executable instruction, to perform a method is well known in the art.
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to implement the method taught by Mitani using an electronic device comprising a processor and a memory configured to store an executable instruction by the processor; wherein the processor is configured, by executing the executable instruction, to perform the method because such an implementation would have been advantageous due to lower production costs and ease of updating, etc.
Claim 19 is rejected for the same reason as discussed in claim 2 above.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3-16 and 20-21 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/HUNG Q DANG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2484