DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is sent in response to Applicants’ Communication received on September 22, 2025 for application number 19/167,649. This Office hereby acknowledges receipt of the following and placed of record in file: Specification, Drawings, Abstract, Oath/Declaration, and Claims.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDSs) submitted on September 22, 2025; December 1, 2025 and August 17, 2026 are noted. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “circuitry” must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. In Claim 1 the limitation “circuitry”, fails to comply with the written description requirement. However, to advance prosecution, the Examiner will interpret and read said limitation as “circuit”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kinomura (JP 2008169748 A), hereinafter “Kinomura”.
Regarding claim 1, Kinomura discloses a control device for a cooling device that cools an internal combustion engine using cooling water (Abstract), the control device comprising: circuitry (Fig. 1 (defined by elements 7a, 7b, 7c)), wherein the circuitry (Fig. 1 (defined by elements 7a, 7b, 7c)) is configured to: determine boiling of the cooling water; and control a flow rate of the cooling water based on a result of the boiling determination (paragraphs 13-16), and the circuitry (Fig. 1 (defined by elements 7a, 7b, 7c)) determines the boiling of the cooling water based on a difference between a maximum value and a minimum value of a temperature of the cooling water during a predetermined time and a subcooling degree that is based on the temperature of the cooling water (paragraphs 13-16, 20).
Regarding claim 2, Kinomura discloses the control device according to claim 1, wherein the circuitry (Fig. 1 (defined by elements 7a, 7b, 7c)) determines that the cooling water is boiling when magnitude of the difference between the maximum value and the minimum value of the temperature of the cooling water is equal to or greater than a predetermined value and the subcooling degree is at a predetermined position or lower (paragraphs 16, 20-22).
Regarding claim 3, Kinomura discloses the control device according to claim 1, wherein the cooling device includes an electric water pump (Fig. 1 (5)) that circulates the cooling water, and the circuitry controls the flow rate of the cooling water by controlling the electric water pump (Abstract; paragraphs 13-15).
Regarding claim 4, Kinomura discloses the control device according to claim 1, wherein the circuitry controls the flow rate of the cooling water based on a use environment of the internal combustion engine (paragraphs 14-18).
Regarding claim 5, Kinomura discloses the control device according to claim 1, wherein the subcooling degree is a difference between the temperature of the cooling water and a temperature corresponding to a use environment of the internal combustion engine (paragraphs 18-25).
Regarding claim 6, Kinomura discloses the control device according to claim 4, wherein the use environment of the internal combustion engine is an outside air pressure of the internal combustion engine (paragraphs 14, 15).
Regarding claim 7, Kinomura discloses a control method performed by a processor (Fig. 1 (50)) to control a cooling device that cools an internal combustion engine using cooling water (Abstract), the control method comprising: determining boiling of the cooling water based on a difference between a maximum value and a minimum value of a temperature of the cooling water during a predetermined time and a subcooling degree that is based on the temperature of the cooling water (paragraphs 13-16, 20); and controlling a flow rate of the cooling water based a result of the determination of the boiling (paragraphs 13-16).
Regarding claim 8, Kinomura discloses a non-transitory computer-readable medium storing a control program for causing a processor to execute a process to control a cooling device that cools an internal combustion engine using cooling water (Abstract; paragraphs 13-16), the process comprising: determining boiling of the cooling water based on a difference between a maximum value and a minimum value of a temperature of the cooling water during a predetermined time and a subcooling degree that is based on the temperature of the cooling water (paragraphs 13-16, 20); and controlling a flow rate of the cooling water based a result of the determination of the boiling (paragraphs 13-16).
Conclusion
/O.M/Examiner, Art Unit 3747
/LINDSAY M LOW/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3747