DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
This action is a non-final rejection
Claims 1-20 are pending
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-6, 13-16, 18-20 are rejected under 35 USC § 102
Claims 7-12, 17 are rejected under 35 USC § 103
Priority
Acknowledgement is made of Applicant’s claim for a foreign priority date of 3-30-2023
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 6-21-2024, and 9-22-2025 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-20 are not patent eligible because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
Analysis
First, claims are directed to one or more of the following statutory categories: a process, a machine, a manufacture, and a composition of matter. Regarding claims 1-20 the claims recite an abstract idea of “performing a clinical assessment”.
Independent Claims 1, 18 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C 101 based on the following analysis.
-Step 1 (Does the claim fall within a statutory category? YES): claims 1, 18 and 20 recite respectively a non-transitory computer readable medium, system and method for “assisting an imaging examination of a patient”.
-Step 2A Prong One (Does the claim fall within at least one of the groupings of abstract ideas?: YES): The claimed invention:
obtain examination monitoring information related to the imaging examination and transmitting the examination monitoring information to a remote user,
the examination monitoring information including at least a screen mirroring data stream of a controller of an imaging device used to perform the imaging examination of the patient;
track a status of the imaging examination from the obtained examination monitoring information;
determine one or more indicators of an issue with the imaging examination based on the tracked status of the imaging examination; and
output a warning indicative of the determined one or more indicators of the issue with the imaging examination.
belonging to the grouping of mental processes under concepts performed in the human mind (including an observation, evaluation, judgement, opinion) as it recites “assisting an imaging examination of a patient”. Alternatively, the selected abstract idea belongs to the grouping of certain methods of organizing human activity under managing personal behavior or relationships or interactions between people as it recites “assisting an imaging examination of a patient”. (refer to MPP 2106.04(a)(2)). Accordingly this claim recites an abstract idea.
-Step 2A Prong Two (Are there additional elements in the claim that imposes a meaningful limit on the abstract idea? NO).
Claim 1 recites:
non-transitory computer readable medium;
a processor;
a controller of an imaging device used to perform the imaging examination.
Claim 18 recites:
using an imaging device controlled by an imaging device controller;
a screen mirroring connection configured to perform screen mirroring of a display of the imaging device controller;
a processor.
Claim 20 recites:
a controller of an imaging device used to perform the imaging examination of the patient.
Amounting to mere instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely use a computer as a tool to implement the abstract idea. (refer to MPEP 2106.05(f)). Accordingly, these additional elements, when considered separately and as an ordered combination do not integrate the judicial exception/abstract idea into a “practical application” of the judicial exception because they do not impose any meaningful limit on practicing the judicial exception.
-Step 2B (Does the additional elements of the claim provide an inventive concept?: NO. As discussed previously with respect to Step 2A Prong Two, claims 1 and 39 recites:
Claim 1 recites:
non-transitory computer readable medium;
a processor;
a controller of an imaging device used to perform the imaging examination.
Claim 18 recites:
using an imaging device controlled by an imaging device controller;
a screen mirroring connection configured to perform screen mirroring of a display of the imaging device controller;
a processor.
Claim 20 recites:
a controller of an imaging device used to perform the imaging examination of the patient
Amounting to mere instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely use a computer as a tool to implement the abstract idea. (refer to MPEP 2106.05(f)) Accordingly, even when viewed as a whole the claim does not provide an inventive concept (significantly more than the abstract idea) and hence the claim is ineligible.
Dependent Claims:
Step 2A Prong One: The following dependent claims 3-7, 10-20 recite additional limitations that further define the abstract idea of “assisting an imaging examination of a patient”.
Step 2A Prong Two (Are there additional elements in the claim that imposes a meaningful limit on the abstract idea? NO). The following dependent claims 2-4, 6-10, 13-15, 17-20 amount to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer, or merely using a computer as a tool to implement the abstract idea as even in combination, these additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application and do not amount to significantly more than the abstract idea itself. (refer to MPEP 2106.05(f)). Accordingly, the claims as a whole do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because they do not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea.
Step 2B (Does the additional elements of the claim provide an inventive concept?: NO). As discussed previously with respect to Step 2A Prong Two, the following dependent claims 2-4, 6-10, 13-15, 17-20 amount to mere instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely use a computer as a tool to implement the abstract idea. (refer to MPEP 2106.05(f)). Accordingly, the additional elements alone, and in combination do not provide an inventive concept (significantly more than the abstract idea) and hence the claim is ineligible.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-6, 13-16, 18-20 are rejected by 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Starobinets et.al (US 20210145280 A1) hereinafter “Starobinets”
Regarding claims 1, 18 and 20 Starobinets teaches:
A non-transitory computer readable medium storing instructions for assisting an imaging examination of a patient, the instructions, when executed by a processor, cause the processor to: (See at least [0009] via: ‘...a non-transitory computer readable medium stores instructions executable by at least one electronic processor for performing a method of providing remote assistance... The method includes, over the course of medical imaging examinations..”; in addition see at least [0034] via: “... The non-transitory storage media 26 stores instructions which are readable and executable by the at least one electronic processor 20 (of the workstation 12, as shown, and/or the electronic processor or processors of a server or servers on a local area network or the Internet) to perform disclosed operations including performing the method or process 100...”)
A system for assisting an imaging examination of a patient performed using an imaging device controlled by an imaging device controller, the system comprising: a screen mirroring connection configured to perform screen mirroring of a display of the imaging device controller; and a processor (See at least [0008] via: ‘...an apparatus provides remote assistance to a local operator of a medical imaging device disposed in a medical imaging device bay via a communication link from a remote location that is remote from the medical imaging device bay to the medical imaging device bay. The apparatus includes a workstation disposed at the remote location including at least one workstation display. At least one electronic processor is programmed to, over the course of a medical imaging examination performed using the medical imaging device: extract successive image frames from video or screen sharing of a controller display of the medical imaging device; screen-scrape information related to the medical imaging examination from the successive image frames over the course of the medical imaging examination; maintain status information on the medical imaging examination at least in part using the screen-scraped information; and output an alert perceptible at the remote location when the status information on the medical imaging examination satisfies an alert criterion...”; in addition see at least [0032] via: “...the remote workstation 12... which is operatively connected to receive and ...present the screen mirroring data stream 18 as a mirrored screen..”)
obtain examination monitoring information related to the imaging examination and transmitting the examination monitoring information to a remote user, (See at least [0008] via: ‘...an apparatus provides remote assistance to a local operator of a medical imaging device disposed in a medical imaging device bay via a communication link from a remote location that is remote from the medical imaging device bay to the medical imaging device bay. The apparatus includes a workstation disposed at the remote location including at least one workstation display. At least one electronic processor is programmed to, over the course of a medical imaging examination performed using the medical imaging device: extract successive image frames from video or screen sharing of a controller display of the medical imaging device; screen-scrape information related to the medical imaging examination from the successive image frames over the course of the medical imaging examination; maintain status information on the medical imaging examination at least in part using the screen-scraped information; and output an alert perceptible at the remote location when the status information on the medical imaging examination satisfies an alert criterion...”; in addition see at least [0032] via: “...the remote workstation 12... which is operatively connected to receive and ...present the screen mirroring data stream 18 as a mirrored screen..”; in addition see at least [0037] via: “...at an operation 106, the at least one electronic processor 20 of the workstation 12 in the remote location 4 is programmed to screen-scrape information related to the medical imaging examination from the extracted successive image frames over the course of the medical imaging examination (although this operation may take place in the medical device imaging bay 3 and transmitted to the remote location)..”) implying transmitting the screen mirroring data stream (as part of the examination monitoring information) to the remote workstation which is then presented to the remote operator, see also Fig. 1.
the examination monitoring information including at least a screen mirroring data stream of a controller of an imaging device used to perform the imaging examination of the patient; (See at least [0020] via: “... a remotely based senior technician (i.e. "super-tech") is provided with.... screen sharing of the console display...”; in addition see at least [0032] via: “... FIG. 1 also shows, in the remote service center 4 including the remote workstation 12, such as an electronic processing device, a workstation computer, or more generally a computer, which is operatively connected to receive and present the video 17 of the medical imaging device bay 3 from the camera 16 and to present the screen mirroring data stream 18 as a mirrored screen...”) i.e. a screen mirroring data stream.
track a status of the imaging examination from the obtained examination monitoring information; (See at least [0034] via: ”... the method includes a screen sharing process 101 which performs screen scraping on the controller display 24' of the medical imaging device 2, and the method or process 100 includes maintaining status information on the ongoing medical imaging examination based on information obtained by the screen scraping 101...”)
determine one or more indicators of an issue with the imaging examination based on the tracked status of the imaging examination; (See at least [0037] via: “...the maintained status information can provide information indicating that there is a problem with the imaging examination, or may detect some other situation such as a warning displayed on the controller display 24', which indicates that intervention by the remote operator RO may be advantageous...”). and
output a warning indicative of the determined one or more indicators of the issue with the imaging examination. (See at least [0037] via: ”...the workstation 12 in the remote location 4 is programmed to output an alert 30 perceptible at the remote location when the status information on the medical imaging examination satisfies an alert criterion..”)
Regarding claim 2: Starobinets teaches the invention as claimed and detailed above with respect to claim 1. Starobinets also teaches:
wherein to track the status, the instruction, when executed by the processor, causes the processor to one of:
perform an optical character recognition process on text from the examination monitoring information; (See at least [0024] via: ”... optical character recognition (OCR) performed on the scraped screen can be used to identify (possibly vendor-specific) labels annotated to various types of information..”) and
match one or more templates with an image of the examination monitoring information.
Regarding claim 3: Starobinets teaches the invention as claimed and detailed above with respect to claim 1. Starobinets also teaches:
wherein the examination monitoring information includes one or more of: a modality of the imaging device, an imaging scan being performed, and, a location of the patient relative to the imaging device (See at least [0022] via: ”... The scraped screen is analyzed to identify relevant information on the current status of the imaging examination, such as imaging settings or imaging sequence parameters, any alerts shown on the screen, textual labels of importance such as a textual label of the type of imaging examination being performed, and so forth. The console user interface (UI) presented on the controller display of the medical imaging device typically has a number of different dialog screens, such as examination or scan selection dialog screen(s), scan settings dialog screen(s), acquisition monitoring dialog screen(s), and so forth, each of which contain different types of information. The screen scraping is therefore performed continuously to detect when new dialog screens are accessed by the local technician and to extract the information contained in each accessed dialog screen, and to detect when (for example) the value of a particular scan setting is updated by the local technician and extract the updated value...”; in addition see at least [0034] via: ”... The remote workstation 12 is configured as described above to perform a method or process 100 for providing assistance the local operator LO. The method or process 100 includes a screen sharing process 101 which performs screen scraping on the controller display 24′ of the medical imaging device 2, and the method or process 100 includes maintaining status information on the ongoing medical imaging examination based on information obtained by the screen scraping 101. The screen scraping process 101 operates to extract (from the video 17 or the screen sharing 18) successive image frames of the controller display 24′ of the medical imaging device 2, and to screen-scrape information related to the medical imaging examination from the successive image frames over the course of the medical imaging examination. The non-transitory storage medium 26 stores instructions which are readable and executable by the at least one electronic processor 20 (of the workstation 12, as shown, and/or the electronic processor or processors of a server or servers on a local area network or the Internet) to perform disclosed operations including performing the method or process 100. In some examples, the method 100 may be performed at least in part by cloud processing. In particular, the GUI 28 presented on the display 24 of the remote workstation 12 preferably includes a window presenting the video 17, and a window presenting the mirrored screen of the medical imaging device controller 10 constructed from the screen mirroring data stream 18, and status information on the medical imaging examination that is maintained at least in part using the screen-scraped information. This allows the remote operator RO to be aware of the content of the display of the medical imaging device controller 10 (via the shared screen) and also to be aware of the physical situation, e.g. position of the patient in the medical imaging device 2 (via the video 17), and to additionally be aware of the status of the imaging examination as summarized by the status information. During an imaging procedure, the natural language communication pathway 19 is suitably used to allow the local operator LO and the remote operator RO to discuss the procedure and in particular to allow the remote operator to provide advice to the local operator...”)
Regarding claim 4: Starobinets teaches the invention as claimed and detailed above with respect to claim 1. Starobinets also teaches:
wherein determining one or more indicators of an issue with the imaging examination based on the tracked status of the imaging examination includes: detecting an error message displayed on a display of the controller of an imaging device, the indicator of the issue being the error message and the issue being identified by the error message; (See at least [0037] via: “...Accordingly, at an operation 106, the at least one electronic processor 20 of the workstation 12 in the remote location 4 is programmed to screen-scrape information related to the medical imaging examination from the extracted successive image frames over the course of the medical imaging examination (although this operation may take place in the medical device imaging bay 3 and transmitted to the remote location). The extraction and screen scraping operations 104, 106 correspond to the screen-scrapping process 101 of FIG. 1. At an operation 108, the at least one electronic processor 20 is programmed to maintain status information on the medical imaging examination at least in part using the screen-scraped information. As diagrammatically indicated by looping arrow 109, the operations 102, 104, 106, 108 are repeated in iterative fashion over the course of a medical imaging examination performed using the medical imaging device 2 in order to maintain real time current status information generated at operation 108. During a routine imaging examination, or during routine portions of an imaging examination, the maintained status information will indicate the imaging examination is progressing favorably, and is unlikely to benefit from intervention by the remote operator RO. This is advantageous, because in many practical situations the remote operator RO may be tasked with assisting a number of ongoing imaging examinations concurrently, and cannot continuously monitor all of the simultaneous imaging examinations tasked to the remote operator RO. However, the maintained status information can provide information indicating that there is a problem with the imaging examination, or may detect some other situation such as a warning displayed on the controller display 24′, which indicates that intervention by the remote operator RO may be advantageous. Accordingly, at an operation 110, the at least one electronic processor 20 of the workstation 12 in the remote location 4 is programmed to output an alert 30 perceptible at the remote location when the status information on the medical imaging examination satisfies an alert criterion (or, some other alert criterion is met, such as detecting a warning displayed on the controller display 24′ via the screen scraping 101)...”) (wherein a warning message is detected) and
Regarding claim 5: Starobinets teaches the invention as claimed and detailed above with respect to claim 1. Starobinets also teaches:
wherein determining one or more indicators of an issue with the imaging examination based on the tracked status of the imaging examination includes: determining the issue as a deviation of the tracked status of the imaging examination from an expected imaging examination workflow that is expected for the imaging examination. (See at least [0026] via: “...In some embodiments disclosed herein, the system further includes workflow templates for various imaging examination workflows, optionally along with standard values for those workflows where available. The appropriate workflow template is retrieved based on information scraped from the console screen, or based on information otherwise provided to the remote service center (e.g., based on a schedule of examinations being supervised by the super-tech). Alert criteria are applied to the scraped information to detect critical events such as extensive editing of scan settings by the local technician, alerts or warnings or error messages issued on the console, multiply repeated imaging sequences, an imaging examination that is running excessively long, or so forth. When a critical event is detected, a human-perceptible (e.g. visual and/or audible) alert is issued to the super-tech ..”) (wherein e.g. multiply repeated sequences are such a deviation)
Regarding claim 6: Starobinets teaches the invention as claimed and detailed above with respect to claims 1 and 5. Starobinets also teaches:
wherein the instructions, when executed by the processor, further cause the processor to: obtain the expected workflow based on the obtained examination monitoring information. (See at least [0026] via: “...In some embodiments disclosed herein, the system further includes workflow templates for various imaging examination workflows, optionally along with standard values for those workflows where available. The appropriate workflow template is retrieved based on information scraped from the console screen, or based on information otherwise provided to the remote service center (e.g., based on a schedule of examinations being supervised by the super-tech). Alert criteria are applied to the scraped information to detect critical events such as extensive editing of scan settings by the local technician, alerts or warnings or error messages issued on the console, multiply repeated imaging sequences, an imaging examination that is running excessively long, or so forth. When a critical event is detected, a human-perceptible (e.g. visual and/or audible) alert is issued to the super-tech...”) (The appropriate workflow template is retrieved based on information scraped from the console screen)
Regarding claim 13: Starobinets teaches the invention as claimed and detailed above with respect to claim 1. Starobinets also teaches:
wherein the instruction, when executed by the processor, causes the processor to: determine whether the one or more determined indicators of the issue with the imaging examination satisfies a predetermined warning threshold; and output the warning when the one or more determined indicators of the issue exceed the predetermined warning threshold: (See at least [0046] via: “...At the operation 110, the alert 30 is output when the status information on the medical imaging examination satisfies an alert criterion. To do so, in one example, the status information is compared with information in one or more workflow templates 32 retrieved based on the information screen-scraped in the operation 106. The alert 30 can be output when this comparison of the status information with the information in the templates 32 satisfies the alert criterion (e.g., an echo time in the status information being above or below a threshold listed in the template(s)). In another example, setting values shown in the status information are compared with corresponding values in the template(s) 32, and the alert 30 is output when one or more of the values is outside a range of corresponding values in the information of the template (s) 32. In a further example, the alert 30 is output when the alert criterion based on the status information indicates significant changes in the imaging examination, such as extensive editing of scan settings on the GUI 28′ by the local operator LO, the local operator multiple-repeating imaging sequences, an imaging session running excessively long, and so forth..”) (disclosing warning thresholds for deviation from a workflow template)
Regarding claim 14: Starobinets teaches the invention as claimed and detailed above with respect to claim 1. Starobinets also teaches:
wherein the instruction, when executed by the processor, causes the processor to: provide a natural communication pathway between a local operator performing the imaging examination and a remote user monitoring the medical examination: (See at least [0034] via: “...The remote workstation 12 is configured as described above to perform a method or process 100 for providing assistance the local operator LO. The method or process 100 includes a screen sharing process 101 which performs screen scraping on the controller display 24′ of the medical imaging device 2, and the method or process 100 includes maintaining status information on the ongoing medical imaging examination based on information obtained by the screen scraping 101. The screen scraping process 101 operates to extract (from the video 17 or the screen sharing 18) successive image frames of the controller display 24′ of the medical imaging device 2, and to screen-scrape information related to the medical imaging examination from the successive image frames over the course of the medical imaging examination. The non-transitory storage medium 26 stores instructions which are readable and executable by the at least one electronic processor 20 (of the workstation 12, as shown, and/or the electronic processor or processors of a server or servers on a local area network or the Internet) to perform disclosed operations including performing the method or process 100. In some examples, the method 100 may be performed at least in part by cloud processing. In particular, the GUI 28 presented on the display 24 of the remote workstation 12 preferably includes a window presenting the video 17, and a window presenting the mirrored screen of the medical imaging device controller 10 constructed from the screen mirroring data stream 18, and status information on the medical imaging examination that is maintained at least in part using the screen-scraped information. This allows the remote operator RO to be aware of the content of the display of the medical imaging device controller 10 (via the shared screen) and also to be aware of the physical situation, e.g. position of the patient in the medical imaging device 2 (via the video 17), and to additionally be aware of the status of the imaging examination as summarized by the status information. During an imaging procedure, the natural language communication pathway 19 is suitably used to allow the local operator LO and the remote operator RO to discuss the procedure and in particular to allow the remote operator to provide advice to the local operator..”)
Regarding claim 15: Starobinets teaches the invention as claimed and detailed above with respect to claim 1. Starobinets also teaches:
wherein the instruction, when executed by the processor, causes the processor to: display the warning on a display device. (See at least [0043] via: “...one of the image frames under analysis by the remote operator RO is screen-scraped to detect an error or warning message depicted on the controller display 24′ of the medical imaging device 2. The output operation 110 includes outputting an alert 30 perceptible at the remote location 4 (e.g., visually displayed on the workstation display 24, audibly output with a speaker (not shown), and so forth) when the detected error or warning messages satisfies an error or warning alert criterion. In one approach, the set of templates 32 include templates for most or all error or warning messages that can be issued by the GUI 28′ of the imaging device 2, and the detection of the error or warning message entails matching the screen scraped error or warning message with the template. Such matching could be done in image space, where the error or warning message templates 32 are images, or could be done after OCR screen scrapes the text of the error or warning message, in which case the matching entails matching the OCR'd error or warning text with textual templates 32..”) (output operation 110 includes outputting an alert 30 perceptible at the remote location 4 (e.g., visually displayed on the workstation display 24)
Regarding claim 16: Starobinets teaches the invention as claimed and detailed above with respect to claim 1 and 15. Starobinets also teaches:
wherein the display is operable by a local operator performing the imaging examination, or a remote user monitoring the imaging examination. (See at least [0043] via: “...one of the image frames under analysis by the remote operator RO is screen-scraped to detect an error or warning message depicted on the controller display 24′ of the medical imaging device 2. The output operation 110 includes outputting an alert 30 perceptible at the remote location 4 (e.g., visually displayed on the workstation display 24, audibly output with a speaker (not shown), and so forth) when the detected error or warning messages satisfies an error or warning alert criterion. In one approach, the set of templates 32 include templates for most or all error or warning messages that can be issued by the GUI 28′ of the imaging device 2, and the detection of the error or warning message entails matching the screen scraped error or warning message with the template. Such matching could be done in image space, where the error or warning message templates 32 are images, or could be done after OCR screen scrapes the text of the error or warning message, in which case the matching entails matching the OCR'd error or warning text with textual templates 32..”) (output operation 110 includes outputting an alert 30 perceptible at the remote location 4 (e.g., visually displayed on the workstation display 24)
Regarding claim 19: Starobinets teaches the invention as claimed and detailed above with respect to claims 1 and 18. Starobinets also teaches:
an imaging device; and an imaging device controller operatively connected to control the imaging device; a camera arranged to acquire video of at least an area of the imaging device; wherein the examination monitoring information further includes video acquired by the camera (See at least [0029] via: “...The image acquisition device 2 can be a Magnetic Resonance (MR) image acquisition device, a Computed Tomography (CT) image acquisition device; a positron emission tomography (PET) image acquisition device; a single photon emission computed tomography (SPECT) image acquisition device; an X-ray image acquisition device; an ultrasound (US) image acquisition device; or a medical imaging device of another modality. The imaging device 2 may also be a hybrid imaging device such as a PET/CT or SPECT/CT imaging system. While a single image acquisition device 2 is shown by way of illustration in FIG. 1, more typically a medical imaging laboratory will have multiple image acquisition devices, which may be of the same and/or different imaging modalities. For example, if a hospital performs many CT imaging examinations and relatively fewer MRI examinations and still fewer PET examinations, then the hospital's imaging laboratory (sometimes called the “radiology lab” or some other similar nomenclature) may have three CT scanners, two MRI scanners, and only a single PET scanner. This is merely an example. Moreover, the remote service center 4 may provide service to multiple hospitals. The local operator controls the medical imaging device 2 via an imaging device controller 10. The remote operator is stationed at a remote workstation 12 (or, more generally, an electronic controller 12)..”)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
non-obviousness.
Claims 7, 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being un-patentable by Starobinets in view of Starobinets et.al (US 20220044798 A1) hereinafter “Starobinets2”
Regarding claim 7 Starobinets teaches the invention as claimed and detailed above with respect to claim 1. However Starobinets is silent the following claim taught by Starobinets2:
wherein the deviation of the tracked status of the imaging examination from the expected imaging examination workflow comprises an absence or a poor quality of an operative connection with the imaging device of a component that is expected to be operatively connected based on an expected imaging examination workflow that is expected for the imaging examination. (See at least [0044] via “... the detected event includes an issue with either the medical imaging device 2 itself, or with a workflow step of the medical imaging device. In one example, the detected event comprises a misplacement of a hardware component of the imaging device 2 detected by analysis of the video feed 17, and the corresponding alert 30 indicates the hardware component is misplaced. In other examples, the detected event can include malfunction hardware components, difficulty with positioning or attaching hardware components“...)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Starobinets with Starobinets2. Starobinets teaches an apparatus that provides remote assistance to a local operator of a medical imaging device disposed in a medical imaging device bay via a communication link from a remote location that is remote from the medical imaging device bay to the medical imaging device bay. However, Starobinets fails to disclose alerting the local operator of malfunction of hardware components that would compromise the workflow of the imaging device as taught by Starobinets2. Combining Starobinets and Starobinets2 is helpful in providing additional valuable data to the operators of the medical imaging device by alerting them of a malfunction.
Regarding claim 11 Starobinets teaches the invention as claimed and detailed above with respect to claim 1. However Starobinets is silent the following claim taught by Starobinets2:
wherein determining one or more indicators of an issue with the imaging examination based on the tracked status of the imaging examination includes: identifying, from patient data, patient-specific considerations impacting the imaging examination. (See at least [0041] via “...an alert 30 can be output if the patient is not wearing appropriate clothing compatible with the medical imaging device 2 (e.g., leisure wear vs. a hospital gown; or, a watch or other metal-containing wearable may be detected in the video, which is not permitted in an Mill examination)..”; in addition see at least [0043] via “...In other examples, the detected event includes movement of a patient during an imaging examination detected by analysis of the video feed 17, and the corresponding alert 30 indicates patient movement. In one example, the detected event includes whether patient is attempting to get up (or otherwise move) from during the medical imaging examination. A corresponding alert 30 can be output to indicated movement, and also may include an indication to review the images and potentially restart the examination if the images are unusable due to the detected patient motion..”)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Starobinets with Starobinets2. Starobinets teaches an apparatus that provides remote assistance to a local operator of a medical imaging device disposed in a medical imaging device bay via a communication link from a remote location that is remote from the medical imaging device bay to the medical imaging device bay. However, Starobinets fails to disclose alerting the local operator of issues with the patient such as movement during examination or wearing of items that are not compatible with obtaining an accurate image. Combining Starobinets and Starobinets2 is helpful in providing additional valuable data to the operators of the medical imaging device by alerting them of issues related with the patient that would interfere with a good image.
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being un-patentable by Starobinets in view of Starobinets2, in further view of view of Tsunamoto et.al (US 20210074409 A1) hereinafter “Tsunamoto”
Regarding claim 8 Starobinets teaches the invention as claimed and detailed above with respect to claim 1, and Starobinets2 teaches the invention as claimed and detailed above with respect to claim 7. However Starobinets and Starobinets2 are silent the following claim taught by Tsunamoto:
wherein the component is an electrocardiogram or respiratory monitor and the operative connection with the ECG or respiratory monitor comprises a gating signal expected to be input to the imaging device by the ECG or respiratory monitor. (See at least [0061] via “...The electrocardiogram device 2c detects the electrocardiographic waveform, and obtains and records the waveform data. The electrocardiogram device 2c transmits the generated image data (waveform data) to the medical image management apparatus 3...”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Starobinets and Starobinets2 with Tsunamoto. Starobinets and Starobinets teach an apparatus that provides remote assistance to a local operator of a medical imaging device disposed in a medical imaging device bay via a communication link from a remote location that is remote from the medical imaging device bay to the medical imaging device bay in addition to alerting the local operator of malfunction of hardware components that would compromise the workflow of the imaging device. However Starobinets and Starobinets2 fail to identify the specific hardware to be an electrocardiogram device as taught by Tsunamoto. Combining Starobinets and Starobinets2 with Tsunamoto is helpful in providing additional valuable data to the operators of the medical imaging device by alerting them of a malfunction of a specific hardware device such an electrocardiogram device.
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being un-patentable by Starobinets in view of Starobinets2, in further view of view of Leussler et.al (EP 4085831 A1) hereinafter “Leussler”
Regarding claim 9 Starobinets teaches the invention as claimed and detailed above with respect to claim 1, and Starobinets2 teaches the invention as claimed and detailed above with respect to claim 7. However Starobinets and Starobinets2 are silent the following claim taught by Leussler:
wherein the imaging device comprises a magnetic resonance imaging scanner and the component is an MRI coil, and the operative connection comprises a wired or wireless communication connection between the MRI coil and the MRI scanner. (See at least [0017] via “... the medical imaging scanner is an MRI image unit, and the at least one sensor comprises at least one wireless MRI compatible coil. ..”)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Starobinets and Starobinets2 with Leussler. Starobinets and Starobinets teach an apparatus that provides remote assistance to a local operator of a medical imaging device disposed in a medical imaging device bay via a communication link from a remote location that is remote from the medical imaging device bay to the medical imaging device bay in addition to alerting the local operator of malfunction of hardware components that would compromise the workflow of the imaging device. However Starobinets and Starobinets2 fail to identify the specific hardware to be a wireless MRI compatible coil as taught by Leussler. Combining Starobinets and Starobinets2 with Leussler is helpful in providing additional valuable data to the operators of the medical imaging device by alerting them of a malfunction of a specific hardware device such an MRI coil.
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being un-patentable by Starobinets in view of Burdick et.al (JP 2007216016 A) hereinafter “Burdick”
Regarding claim 10 Starobinets teaches the invention as claimed and detailed above with respect to claim 1. However Starobinets is silent the following claim taught by Burdick:
determining the issue as radio frequency leakage of a Faraday cage enclosing the MRI scanner based on analysis of an MRI image acquired by the MRI scanner during the imaging examination. (See at least [Page 3, lines 39-45] via “...a novel circuit package packaging and integration technique that provides EMI shielding for one or more circuit devices that are attached (ie, packaged with a receiver coil). is doing. This enables an environment free from the influence of RF noise suitable for excellent signal fidelity and high imaging operation performance. As will be described in more detail below, aspects of the present invention make this coil receiver electronics a strong EMI environment by placing sensitive MRI coil receiver electronics inside the receiver element / coil. It is contemplated to solve problems that were previously problematic when operating in or near. FIG. 2 is a partial perspective view of a single receiver element 20...”; in addition see at least [Page 4, lines 21-24] via “...the package implementation for the internal circuit device defined by the receiver coil effectively forms a Faraday cage around the circuit device. That is, it forms a conductive structure that prevents the electromagnetic field from entering and leaking around the circuit device. Thus, the circuit device is substantially protected from the effects of EMI and the fidelity of the MR coil signal and the resulting image quality are improved...”)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Starobinets with Burdick. Starobinets teaches an apparatus that provides remote assistance to a local operator of a medical imaging device disposed in a medical imaging device bay via a communication link from a remote location that is remote from the medical imaging device bay to the medical imaging device bay. However Starobinets fails to identify spurious RF noise during an MRI scan that would interfere with the obtained quality of the image obtained as taught by Burdick. Combining Starobinets with Burdick is helpful in providing additional valuable data to the operators of the medical imaging device by alerting them of spurious RF noise during an MRI scan that would interfere with the obtained quality of the image.
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being un-patentable by Starobinets in view of Starobinets et.al (WO 2022106251 A1) hereinafter “Starobinets3”
Regarding claim 12 Starobinets teaches the invention as claimed and detailed above with respect to claim 1. Starobinets also teaches:
wherein the issue is determined based on the tracked status of the imaging examination and further based on the local operator profile of the operator. (See at least [0046] via “... the alert 30 is output when the alert criterion based on the status information indicates significant changes in the imaging examination, such as extensive editing of scan settings on the GUI 28′ by the local operator LO, the local operator multiple-repeating imaging sequences, an imaging session running excessively long, and so forth
However Starobinets is silent the following claim taught by Starobinets3:
identifying, from medical facility personnel data, a local operator profile for an operator performing the imaging examination; (See at least [0038] via “...A first performance metric 32 can include a “performance” icon 36 that includes a single local operator’s LO performance for specific imaging examinations, or the performance of multiple local operators for a specific type of examination. This performance metric can include an option of identifying imaging examinations with poor patient feedback, extended procedure durations, and so forth for further analysis. A second performance metric 32 can include an “indicators” icon 38 that includes key performance indicators (KPIs) indicative of performance of a specific local operator LO compared to other, similar local operators. This performance metric 32 can be used to identify local operators LO for advancement (i.e., from junior tech to senior tech)..”; in addition see at least [0039] via “... A third performance metric 32 can include a “growth” icon 40 including analytics of local operator LO performance over a selected time duration (e.g., six months, twelve months, etc.) to show improvements and identify areas that require further attention for particular local operator. A fourth performance metric 32 can include a “goals” icon 42 for setting goals for local operators LO based on their performance (i.e. improving proficiency in breast imaging, start scanning pediatric patients, work toward shortening procedure durations for Musculo-Skeletal (MSK) scans). Training opportunities can be identified based on the performance and goals of individual local operators LO
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Starobinets with Starobinets3. Starobinets teaches an apparatus that provides remote assistance to a local operator of a medical imaging device disposed in a medical imaging device bay via a communication link from a remote location that is remote from the medical imaging device bay to the medical imaging device bay. However Starobinets fails to identify the local operator who’s performance and capability regarding the operation of the imaging device is subpar as taught by Starobinet3. Combining Starobinets with Starobinets3 is helpful in providing additional valuable data regarding the quality of the image may have been compromised due to local operator who’s performance and capability regarding the operation of the imaging device is subpar.
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being un-patentable by Starobinets in view of Gawlick et.al (WO 2011103388 A1) hereinafter “Gawlick”
Starobinets teaches the invention as claimed and detailed above with respect to claims 1 and 15. However Starobinets is silent the following claim taught by Gawlick:
wherein the instruction, when executed by the processor, causes the processor: obtain, on the display device, an indication that the warning is resolved. (See at least [0063] via “... Alert description window 1300 may include a condition priority value 1302, an alert rule identifier 1304, an alert description 1306, an alert content 1308, an alert proposed action 1310, an alert time and date 1312, a resolution indicator 1314, a solve button 1316, and an OK button 1318..”; in addition see at least [0064] via “...Resolution indicator 1314 indicates whether or not an action has been taken to resolve the alert. Upon receipt of an indication of a user selection of solve button 1316, a text box window is opened to allow the user to enter an explanation of the action taken to resolve the alert. Upon receipt of an indication of a user closing the text box window, the explanation of the action taken to resolve the alert may be shown in resolution indicator 1314 and solve button 1316 may be removed from alert description window 1300. For example, with reference to Fig. 14, a second alert description window 1400 may be presented under control of browser application 31 1 in combination with second medical alert application 310 and through interaction with medical alert application 210 at medical personnel alert device 104' after receipt of an indication of a user selection of an oxygen alert 1214 shown with reference to Fig. 12. Resolution indicator 1314 includes the explanation of the action taken to resolve the alert as entered by the user in the text box window. Upon receipt of an indication of a user selection of OK button 1318, second alert description window 1400 is closed. Additionally, with reference to Fig. 12, oxygen alert 1214 may include a resolution indicator 1216 indicating that the alert has been resolved...”)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Starobinets with Gawlick. Starobinets teaches an apparatus that provides remote assistance to a local operator of a medical imaging device disposed in a medical imaging device bay via a communication link from a remote location that is remote from the medical imaging device bay to the medical imaging device bay. However Starobinets fails to identify that an initial alert regarding and issue related to the functioning of the medical imaging device has been resolved by receipt of a resolution indicator, indicating that the alert has been resolved as taught by Gawlick. Combining Starobinets with Gawlick is helpful to the operators of the medical imaging device by notifying the that whatever issue regarding the optimal functioning of the imaging device, was solved.
Prior Art Made of Record
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to Applicant's disclosure, and is listed in the attached form PTO-892 (Notice of References Cited). Unless expressly noted otherwise by the Examiner, all documents listed on form PTO-892 are cited in their entirety.
AMTHOR (WO 2021228541 A1) - SYSTEMS AND METHODS FOR EXTRACTION AND PROCESSING OF INFORMATION FROM IMAGING SYSTEMS IN A MULTI-VENDOR SETTING - teaches: A non-transitory computer readable medium stores instructions executable by at least one electronic processor to perform a method of providing assistance from a remote expert to a local operator of a medical imaging device during a medical imaging examination. The method includes: extracting image features from image frames displayed on a display device of a controller of the medical imaging device operable by the local operator during the medical imaging examination; converting the extracted image features into a representation of a current status of the medical imaging examination; and providing a user interface displaying the representation on a workstation operable by the remote expert.
Conclusion
/PIERRE L MACCAGNO/Examiner, Art Unit 3687
/ALAAELDIN M. ELSHAER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3687