DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 922/2025 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the LIN controller provided of Claim 6 lines 1-2 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Objections
Claims 3, 8, and 15 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 3 line 3 “a carrier material (23)” should be --a carrier material--
Claim 8 line 2 “by LED’s” should be --by LEDs--
Claim 15 line 4 “housing (2)” should be --housing--
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 10-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
With regards to Claim 10 and 11, Claim 10 line 2 recites the limitation “the cover element has a different light permeability”. It is unclear as to what the cover element has a light permeability different from. For the purpose of examination, the examiner understands this limitation such that the cover element has portions which have light permeability that differs from one another. The applicant is encouraged to clarify in the claim language the intended difference in light permeability of the cover element, fully supported by the original disclosure.
Applications filed after March 15th 2013
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5, 9, 17, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lin et al. (CN 206086633; please see attached translation for reference to pages) in view of Shi et al. (CN 115153162; please see attached translation for reference to pages).
With regards to Claim 1, Lin et al. discloses an illuminated seat belt buckle for a seat belt device of a motor vehicle (see bottom of page 1), comprising a housing [10] (see top half of page 4 and Figure 1), a push button [2] which can be moved in the housing [10] (see bottom half of page 5 and Figures 4 and 5), an insert slot for inserting a belt tongue which can be locked in the seat belt buckle (see Figures 4 and 5; one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize an insert slot for inserting the belt tongue of portion [3]), and at least one annular light source [11] (see bottom of page 4 and Figure 1) which surrounds the insert slot and the push button [2] (see Figures 1, 2, and 4), and a cover element [12] which covers the annular light source [11] toward the radial outer face and the end face of the seat belt buckle (see middle of page 5 and Figures 1, 2, and 4), wherein the light source [11] is made of a plurality of individual light sources [112] (see bottom of page 4 and Figure 1).
Lin et al. does not explicitly disclose the plurality of individual light sources can be actuated independently of one another.
Shi et al. teaches the plurality of individual light sources can be actuated independently of one another (see middle of page 8; Shi et al. discloses a plurality of LEDs which can be activated separately and thereby substantially actuated independently of one another).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the plurality of light sources of Lin et al. to be actuated independently of one another as taught by Shi et al. One would have been motivated to do so in order to provide a desired colored light output from separately colored LEDs (see Shi et al. middle of page 8).
With regards to Claim 2, Lin et al. and Shi et al. disclose the illuminated seat belt buckle as discussed above with regards to Claim 1.
Lin et al. does not explicitly disclose the individual light sources emit light with a different light intensity and/or color.
Shi et al. teaches the individual light sources emit light with a different light intensity and/or color (see middle of page 8; Shi et al. discloses a plurality of LEDs which can be activated separately and thereby substantially actuated independently of one another).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the individual light sources of Lin et al. to emit light with a different light intensity and/or color as taught by Shi et al. One would have been motivated to do so in order to provide a desired colored light output from separately colored LEDs (see Shi et al. middle of page 8) to indicate different conditions (see Shi et al. bottom of page 8 and top of page 9).
With regards to Claim 3, Lin et al. and Shi et al. disclose the illuminated seat belt buckle as discussed above with regards to Claim 1.
Lin et al. further discloses the individual light sources [112] are connected to one another by a carrier material [111] to form the annular light source (see bottom of page 4 and top of page 5 and Figure 1).
With regards to Claim 4, Lin et al. and Shi et al. disclose the illuminated seat belt buckle as discussed above with regards to Claim 3.
Lin et al. further discloses in the carrier material [111], an electrical conductor structure is provided to which the individual light sources [112] are electrically connected (see bottom of page 4 and top of page 5 and Figure 1; the carrier material [111] is a control circuit board which substantially includes an electrical conductor structure to which the light sources [112] are connected).
With regards to Claim 5, Lin et al. and Shi et al. disclose the illuminated seat belt buckle as discussed above with regards to Claim 4.
Lin et al. further discloses the individual light sources [112] have a central, common power supply (see bottom of page 4; the annular light source [11] of which the individual light sources [112] are part, is provided with an independent power supply).
With regards to Claim 8, Lin et al. and Shi et al. disclose the illuminated seat belt buckle as discussed above with regards to Claim 1.
Lin et al. further discloses the individual light sources [112] are formed by LEDs (see bottom of page 4).
With regards to Claim 9, Lin et al. and Shi et al. disclose the illuminated seat belt buckle as discussed above with regards to Claim 1.
Lin et al. further discloses the cover element [12] is formed integrally from a translucent material (see middle of page 4).
With regards to Claim 17, Lin et al. and Shi et al. disclose the illuminated seat belt buckle as discussed above with regards to Claim 1.
Lin et al. further discloses the cover element [12] has an integrally formed light-conducting portion which has a light entry surface arranged in parallel with and opposite to a light-emitting surface of the light source [11] (see middle of page 4 and Figures 1, 2, and 4).
With regards to Claim 20, Lin et al. and Shi et al. disclose the illuminated seat belt buckle as discussed above with regards to Claim 2.
Lin et al. further disclose the individual light sources [112] are connected to one another by a carrier material [111] to form the annular light source [11] (see bottom of page 4 and Figure 1).
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lin et al. (CN 206086633; please see attached translation for reference to pages) as modified by Shi et al. (CN 115153162; please see attached translation for reference to pages), further in view of Effenberger (US 2017/0280830).
With regards to Claim 6, Lin et al. and Shi et al. disclose the illuminated seat belt buckle as discussed above with regards to Claim 1.
Lin et al. further discloses a controller is provided to control the individual light sources [112] (see bottom of page 4).
Lin et al. does not explicitly disclose an LIN controller.
Effenberger teaches an LIN controller is provided to control the individual light sources (see paragraph 14).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the controller of Lin et al. to be an LIN controller, as taught by Effenberger. One would have been motivated to do so in order for the individual light sources to be activated in interaction with all functions and illumination variations within the particular vehicle (see Effenberger paragraph 24).
Claims 7 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lin et al. (CN 206086633; please see attached translation for reference to pages) as modified by Shi et al. (CN 115153162; please see attached translation for reference to pages), further in view of Dennis (US 11,273,756).
With regards to Claim 7, Lin et al. and Shi et al. disclose the illuminated seat belt buckle as discussed above with regards to Claim 1.
Lin et al. does not explicitly disclose the individual light sources are formed by OLED segments.
Dennis teaches light sources [634] which are formed by OLED segments (see column 7 lines 30-39 and Figure 6).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the individual light sources of Lin et al. to be formed by OLED segments, as taught by Dennis. One would have been motivated to do so in order to provide video display (see Dennis column 7 lines 30-49).
With regards to Claim 19, Lin et al. and Shi et al. disclose the illuminated seat belt buckle as discussed above with regards to Claim 1.
Lin et al. does not explicitly disclose the cover element is arranged contactlessly with respect to the light source.
Dennis teaches the cover element (comprising the element disposed at [222] through which light from light source elements [634] is directed, see column 7 lines 8-44 and Figure 6) is arranged contactlessly with respect to the light source [634] (see Figure 6).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the arrangement of the cover member of Lin et al. such that the cover element is arranged contactlessly with respect to the light source, as taught by Dennis. One would have been motivated to do so in order to house the light source in an interior space of the housing away from the cover element (see Dennis column 7 lines 30-32).
Claims 10-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lin et al. (CN 206086633; please see attached translation for reference to pages) as modified by Shi et al. (CN 115153162; please see attached translation for reference to pages), further in view of Han et al. (WO 2019096153).
With regards to Claim 10, Lin et al. and Shi et al. disclose the illuminated seat belt buckle as discussed above with regards to Claim 9.
Lin et al. ‘663 does not explicitly disclose the cover element has a different light permeability.
Han et al. teaches the cover element [4,3] has a different light permeability (see page 3 lines 8-17 and page 7 lines 13-26 and Figure 3a).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the cover element of Lin et al. to have a different light permeability, as taught by Han et al. One would have been motivated to do so in order to eliminate a bright spot over a position of an LED (see Han et al. page 7 lines 19-21).
With regards to Claim 11, Lin et al., Shi et al., and Han et al. disclose the illuminated seat belt buckle as discussed above with regards to Claim 10.
Lin et al. ‘663 does not disclose the cover element has a lower light permeability in the portions covering the individual light sources than in the portions covering the portions between the individual light sources.
Han et al. teaches the cover element [3,4] has a lower light permeability in the portion covering the individual light source than in the portions covering the portions other than the portion covering the individual light source (see page 7 lines 13-26 and Figure 3a).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the cover element of Lin et al. to have a lower light permeability in portion covering the individual light source than in other portions, as taught by Han et al. One would have been motivated to do so in order to eliminate a bright spot over a position of an LED (see Han et al. page 7 lines 19-21).
Han et al. does not explicitly disclose the individual light sources such that the lower light permeability is in the portions covering the individual light sources than in the portions covering the portions between the individual light sources. However, one of ordinary skill in the art would be able to utilize the teaching of Han et al., namely using a lower light permeability at a portion of the cover at a position aligning with a light source (see Han et al. page 7 lines 13-26) in order to provide uniform illumination throughout the cover element including between adjacent portions aligning with the light source and positions not aligning with the light source (see Han et al. page 7 lines 13-26). Therefore, It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the cover element of Lin et al., Shi et al., and Han et al. to include the cover element has a lower light permeability in the portions covering the individual light sources than in the portions covering the portions between the individual light sources. One would have been motivated to do so in order to eliminate a bright spot over a position of an LED (see Han et al. page 7 lines 19-21).
Claims 12-16 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lin et al. (CN 206086633; please see attached translation for reference to pages) as modified by Shi et al. (CN 115153162; please see attached translation for reference to pages), further in view of Chen et al. (CN 211391103; please see attached translation for reference to pages).
With regards to Claim 12, Lin et al. and Shi et al. disclose the illuminated seat belt buckle as discussed above with regards to Claim 1.
Lin et al. does not explicitly disclose the cover element has an integrally formed fastening attachment by means of which the cover element is fastened to the housing of the seat belt buckle.
Chen et al. teaches the cover element [10,300] has an integrally formed fastening attachment [13] by means of which the cover element [10,300] is fastened to the housing [1] of the seat belt buckle (see bottom of page 5 and Figures 7 and 8; the cover element portion [300] has a fastening attachment [13] formed thereon which couples with portion [14] of the housing [1]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the cover element of Lin et al. to have an integrally formed fastening attachment by means of which the cover element is fastened to the housing, as taught by Chen. One would have been motivated to do so in order to prevent the cover element from moving in a vertical direction (see Chen et al. bottom of page 5).
With regards to Claim 13, Lin et al., Shi et al., and Chen et al. disclose the illuminated seat belt buckle as discussed above with regards to Claim 12.
Lin et al. does not disclose the fastening attachment has at least one latching hook by means of which the fastening attachment is latched to an undercut of the housing.
Chen et al. teaches the fastening attachment [13] has at least one latching hook by means of which the fastening attachment [13] is latched to an undercut [14] of the housing [1] (see bottom of page 5 and Figures 7 and 8; the fastening attachments [13] are each substantially a hook locking on to a respective undercut [14] in the housing [1]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the cover element of Lin et al. such that the fastening attachment has at least one latching hook by means of which the fastening attachment is latched to an undercut of the housing, as taught by Chen et al. One would have been motivated to do so in order to prevent the cover element from moving in a vertical direction (see Chen et al. bottom of page 5).
With regards to Claim 14, Lin et al. and Shi et al. disclose the illuminated seat belt buckle as discussed above with regards to Claim 1.
Lin et al. further discloses the housing [10] has a closed annular portion [101,102] which encompasses the insert slot and the push button [2] (see Figures 1 and 2).
Lin et al. does not disclose the housing closed annular portion delimits an annular cavity toward the radial inner side, the annular cavity is delimited toward the radial outer face and toward the end face of the seat belt buckle by the cover element, and the light source is arranged in the annular cavity.
Chen et al. teaches the housing [1] closed annular portion [4] delimits an annular cavity toward the radial inner side (comprising the annular cavity formed at portion [4], see Figure 2), the annular cavity is delimited toward the radial outer face and toward the end face of the seat belt buckle by the cover element [300,10], and the light source [9] is arranged in the annular cavity (see bottom half of page 5 and Figures 6 and 8).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the housing of Lin et al. such that the housing closed annular portion delimits an annular cavity toward the radial inner side, the annular cavity is delimited toward the radial outer face and toward the end face of the seat belt buckle by the cover element, and the light source is arranged in the annular cavity, as taught by Chen et al. One would have been motivated to do so in order to provide the cover at an exterior of the housing to illuminate the surrounding environment of the housing interior (see Chen et al. middle of page 5).
With regards to Claim 15, Lin et al., Shi et al., and Chen et al. disclose the illuminated seat belt buckle as discussed above with regards to Claim 14.
Lin et al. does not disclose the annular portion protrudes from a base surface of the housing, and the cover element rests radially on the outside on a portion of the housing that forms the base surface.
Chen et al. teaches the annular portion [4] protrudes from a base surface of the housing [1] (see Figure 2), and the cover element [10,300] rests radially on the outside on a portion of the housing [1] that forms the base surface (see middle of page 5 and Figures 6 and 8).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the housing and cover element of Lin et al. such that the annular portion protrudes from a base surface of the housing, and the cover element rests radially on the outside on a portion of the housing that forms the base surface, as taught by Chen et al. One would have been motivated to do so in order to provide the cover at an exterior of the housing to illuminate the surrounding environment of the housing interior (see Chen et al. middle of page 5).
With regards to Claim 16, Lin et al., Shi et al., and Chen et al. disclose the illuminated seat belt buckle as discussed above with regards to Claim 15.
Lin et al. does not disclose the light source is arranged on the base surface radially on the outside of the annular portion of the housing.
Chen et al. teaches the light source [9] is arranged on the base surface radially on the outside of the annular portion [4] of the housing [1] (see Figures 6 and 8).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the illuminated seat belt buckle of Lin et al. such that the light source is arranged on the base surface radially on the outside of the annular portion of the housing, as taught by Chen et al. One would have been motivated to do so in order to provide the cover at an exterior of the housing to illuminate the surrounding environment of the housing interior (see Chen et al. middle of page 5).
With regards to Claim 18, Lin et al. and Shi et al. disclose the illuminated seat belt buckle as discussed above with regards to Claim 17.
Lin et al. does not disclose a gap is provided between the integrally formed light-conducting portion and a radially outer edge of the cover element.
Chen teaches a gap is provided between the integrally formed light-conducting portion [10] and a radially outer edge (comprising a radially outward edge of portion [300], see Figure 8) of the cover element [10,300] (see Figure 8).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the cover element of Lin et al. such that a gap is provided between the integrally formed light-conducting portion and a radially outer edge of the cover element, as taught by Chen et al. One would have been motivated to do so in order to provide a collar portion of the cover element (see Chen et al. bottom of page 5) in addition to a light-transmitting portion of the cover element (see Chen et al. middle of page 5).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. In addition to the prior art discussed in this action, the applicant is directed to form 892, and particularly the references Sőhnchen (WO 2017025499), which discloses at least an illuminated seat belt buckle for a seat belt device of a motor vehicle, including a housing, a push button, an insert slot, an annular light source disposed about the insert slot and push button, and a cover element, the annular light source including an OLED light source, Bichlmeiere (DE 102008042472), which discloses at least an annular light source including individual light sources, a light-transmitting cover element having light permeability differing at portions corresponding to the location of the individual light sources as compared to portions corresponding to portions between adjacent light sources, Chen (CN 218457497), which discloses at least an illuminated seat belt buckle for a seat belt device of a motor vehicle, including a housing, a push button, an insert slot, an annular light source disposed about the insert slot and push button, and a cover element, and Lin (CN 205273406), which discloses at least an illuminated seat belt buckle for a seat belt device of a motor vehicle, including a housing, a push button, an insert slot, an arc-shaped light source disposed about the insert slot and push button and including individual light sources disposed on a carrier material, and a cover element.
/ERIN KRYUKOVA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2875