DETAILED ACTION
The preliminary amendment filed 22 September 2025 has been entered. Currently Claims 1-17 are pending.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because the character of the lines, numbers and letters are not suitable for satisfactory reproduction per 37 CFR 1.84.
All drawings must be made by a process which will give them satisfactory reproduction characteristics. Every line, number, and letter must be durable, clean, black (except for color drawings), sufficiently dense and dark, and uniformly thick and well-defined. The weight of all lines and letters must be heavy enough to permit adequate reproduction. This requirement applies to all lines however fine, to shading, and to lines representing cut surfaces in sectional views. Lines and strokes of different thicknesses may be used in the same drawing where different thicknesses have a different meaning.
Every line, number, and letter must be durable, clean, black (except for color drawings), sufficiently dense and dark, and uniformly thick and well-defined. The weight of all lines and letters must be heavy enough to permit adequate reproduction. This requirement applies to all lines however fine, to shading, and to lines representing cut surfaces in sectional views. Lines and strokes of different thicknesses may be used in the same drawing where different thicknesses have a different meaning.
Claim Objections
Claim 6 is objected to because of the following informalities: “to either claim 4” should be replaced by --to claim 4--.
Claim 13 is objected to because “an end face of the belt buckle” on line 3 is already introduced in Claim 1 and should be rephrased as –the end face--.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the radial outer face" and “the end face” in lines 9-10. There is insufficient antecedent basis for these limitations in the claim.
Claims 2-17 are rejected for their dependency on Claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
The applicant is respectfully advised that in examining a pending application, the claims are interpreted as broadly as their terms reasonably convey. In re American Academy of Science Tech Center, 70 USPQ2d. 1827, 1834 (Fed. Cir. May 13, 2004). MPEP § 2111.01.
Claims 1-2, 4-8, 10-14 and 16-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Betz (U.S. Patent No. 10,631,597).
Regarding Claim 1, Betz discloses in Figures 1-14, an illuminated seat belt buckle 10 for a seat belt device of a motor vehicle, comprising
- a housing (casing 12) , a push button 17 which is displaceable in the housing 12,
- an insertion slot (insertion opening 14) for the insertion of a belt tongue which can be locked in the seat belt buckle 10, and
- at least one annular light source (illuminations system 24 having a light conductor 26 Col 7, lines 4-7) comprising the insertion slot 14 and the push button 17, and
- a cover element (front panel 22 comprising diffuser 58, Figures 1 and 14) which covers the annular light source 24, 26 towards a radial outer face and towards an end face of the seat belt buckle 10 , wherein (Col 8, lines 55-60)
- the cover element 22, 58 is formed integrally from a translucent material (the front panel 22 has a diffuser 58 with a roughened translucent texture Col 8, lines 40-45).
Regarding Claim 2, Betz discloses in Figures 1-14, the Illuminated seat belt buckle (1) according to claim 1 wherein the cover element 22 has an integrally formed fastening attachment (locking gluing or welding to the light conductor which is attached to the casing members Col 8, lines 30-35), by means of which it is fastened to the housing 12 of the seat belt buckle 10.
Regarding Claim 4, Betz discloses in Figures 1-14, the illuminated seat belt buckle 10 according to claim 1, wherein the housing 12 has a closed annular portion comprising the insertion slot 14 and the push button 17, which portion delimits an annular cavity towards the radial inner face, wherein - the annular cavity is delimited by the cover element 22, 58 towards the radial outer face and towards the end face of the seat belt buckle 10, and the light source 26 is arranged in the annular cavity.
Regarding Claim 5, Betz discloses in Figure 14, the Illuminated seat belt buckle 10 according to claim 4, wherein - the cover element 22, 58 in the region of the end face of the seat belt buckle rests against the annular portion of the housing 12.
Regarding Claim 6, Betz discloses in Figures 4 and 14, the illuminated seat belt buckle according to either claim 4, wherein - the annular portion (8) projects from a base surface of the housing 12 (the housing 12 and projection 54 forms a base surface of housing 12 Figure 4) , and- the cover element 22, 58 radially outwardly abuts a portion of the housing 12 forming the base surface.
Regarding Claim 7, Betz discloses in Figures 1-14, the illuminated seat belt buckle 10 according to claim 6, wherein - the light source 26 is arranged on the base surface 54 radially on the outside with respect to the annular portion of the housing 12.
Regarding Claim 8, Betz discloses in Figures 1-14, the illuminated seat belt buckle according to Claim 7, wherein - the cover element 22, 58 has an integrally formed light-conducting portion 26 which has a light-entry surface arranged parallel and opposite to a light-emitting surface of the light source 24, 26.
Regarding Claim 10, Betz discloses in Figures 7-9, the illuminated seat belt buckle according to claim 6, wherein - the light source 24, 26 is formed by an annular light conductor 26 which rests against the radial outer face of the annular portion (of housing 12) and has a light exit surface (end face 48 Col 8, lines 40-47).
Regarding Claim 11, Betz discloses in Figures 1-14, the illuminated seat belt buckle 10 according to claim 10, wherein - the light conductor 26 is partially circular in cross section, and- the light exits from the light conductor 26 both towards the radial outer face of the seat belt buckle 10 and towards the end face of the seat belt buckle 10.
Regarding Claim 12, Betz discloses in Figures 1 and 14, the illuminated seat belt buckle according to claim 1 wherein - the cover element 22, 58 is arranged without contact with the light source 24, 26 (the parts of the cover 22, 58 do not contact the light source 24 as shown in Figure 14).
Regarding Claim 13, Betz discloses in Figures 1 and 14, the illuminated seat belt buckle 10 according to claim 1 wherein- the cover element 22, 58 has a first portion which extends in the direction of an end face of the seat belt buckle 10, and- the cover element 10, 58 has a second portion which extends on the end face of the seat belt buckle 10 in the direction of the push button 17 and the insertion slot 14.
Regarding Claim 14, Betz discloses in Figures 11-12 seat belt buckle according to claim 13, wherein - the second portion has a greater thickness than the first portion (in Figure 10, the first portion is proximate 58 and the other end comprising has a thicker wider portion).
Regarding Claim 16, the Illuminated seat belt buckle 10 according to claim 13 wherein - the cover element 22 has a different surface finish on the outer face of the first portion (20) than on the outer face of the second portion (the front panel 22 can have opaque chrome portions that vary Col 8, lines 34-45).
Regarding Claim 17, Betz discloses in Figures 1-14, the seat belt buckle 10 according to claim 13 wherein the cover element 22 in the region of the first portion is locally opaque due to a coating, printing or surface treatment (Col 8, lines 34-45).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
The applicant is respectfully advised that in examining a pending application, the claims are interpreted as broadly as their terms reasonably convey. In re American Academy of Science Tech Center, 70 USPQ2d. 1827, 1834 (Fed. Cir. May 13, 2004). MPEP § 2111.01.
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Betz (U.S. Patent No. 10,631,597) in view Haberl (DE 102020127760A).
Betz does not disclose the fastening attachment has at least one latching hook by means of which it is latched to an undercut of the housing.
Haberl discloses a cover 10 for a belt buckle having a latch 22 hook that is configured to latch to an undercut of a buckle assembly.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to configure a latch with hook configuration for attaching eh cover 22 of Betz to the housing 12.
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Betz (U.S. Patent No. 10,631,597).
Betz does not explicitly disclose a marking , preferably an information symbol, is provided on the first portion and/or the second portion.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use a symbol, marking, logo with the first or second portions of the cover 22, 58. The claim would have been obvious because the technique using insignia, symbols, or logo formed on a belt buckle cover was part of the ordinary capabilities of a person of ordinary skill in the art, in view of the teaching of the technique for improvement as taught by Betz. See KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 9 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: the closest art Betz does not teach or suggest alone or combination a gap is provided between the integrally formed light-conducting portion 26 and a radially outer edge of the cover element 22, 58.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. SÖHNCHEN (DE102015215254) discloses an illuminated belt buckle for a vehicle.
/ROBERT J MAY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2875