DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
A rejection based on double patenting of the “same invention” type finds its support in the language of 35 U.S.C. 101 which states that “whoever invents or discovers any new and useful process... may obtain a patent therefor...” (Emphasis added). Thus, the term “same invention,” in this context, means an invention drawn to identical subject matter. See Miller v. Eagle Mfg. Co., 151 U.S. 186 (1894); In re Vogel, 422 F.2d 438, 164 USPQ 619 (CCPA 1970); In re Ockert, 245 F.2d 467, 114 USPQ 330 (CCPA 1957).
A statutory type (35 U.S.C. 101) double patenting rejection can be overcome by canceling or amending the claims that are directed to the same invention so they are no longer coextensive in scope. The filing of a terminal disclaimer cannot overcome a double patenting rejection based upon 35 U.S.C. 101.
Claims 1-20 are provisionally rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 as claiming the same invention as that of claims 1-20 of copending Application No. 19/471,660 (reference application). This is a provisional statutory double patenting rejection since the claims directed to the same invention have not in fact been patented.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-7 and 11-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being clearly anticipated by Tanaka, US Patent Publication 2009/0315925.
Regarding independent claim 1, Tanaka teaches an image display apparatus, comprising:
a rendering section that scans a region in which an image is rendered on a basis of image information input and renders the image (as given in paragraphs 0023-0024);
and a scanning range setting section that sets a scanning range of a region smaller than a maximum scannable range in which the scanning is possible (the luminous flux generator 20 scans using a horizontal scanning unit 70 and vertical scanning unit 80 on a retina that is smaller than the maximum to different sizes like “large” and “middle” and “small” as given in paragraphs 0066 and 0070), wherein
the rendering section renders the image in a rendering range provided in the scanning range (as given in paragraphs 0069-0070).
Regarding claim 2, Tanaka teaches the image display apparatus according to claim 1, wherein a scanning time of the scanning range is less than 100% with respect to a scanning time of 100% of the maximum scannable range (paragraphs 0057-0058 explain how the timing is changed and set as desired to change the image size).
Regarding claim 3, Tanaka teaches the image display apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the rendering range is smaller than the scanning range (range Z of the drawing range is smaller than swing range W of scanning range as depicted in figures 2 and 8 and given in paragraph 0037).
Regarding claim 4, Tanaka teaches the image display apparatus according to claim 3, wherein the rendering section includes a rendering position selection mechanism that selects a rendering position to be performed in the rendering range (paragraphs 0042, 0052, and 0056 explain how the positions are determined).
Regarding claim 5, Tanaka teaches the image display apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the rendering section includes a scanning mirror, and performs the scanning with the scanning mirror (“scanning mirror” of scanning elements 71 and 81 as given in paragraphs 0030-0033).
Regarding claim 6, Tanaka teaches the image display apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the scanning is performed by a combination of two axes of a non-resonance axis direction and a resonance axis direction (paragraphs 0029-0030 and 0032-0034 explain how the horizontal scanning is performed by a resonant scanning element 71 and vertical scanning is performed by scanning element 81 that is driven without resonance), and the scanning of the scanning range is performed by adjusting movement in the non-resonance axis direction (vertical scanning is adjusted by adjusting the movement of scanning element 81 that is driven without resonance).
Regarding claim 7, Tanaka teaches the image display apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the scanning is performed with a horizontal direction as a resonance axis (paragraphs 0029 and 0032-0034 explain how the horizontal scanning is performed by a resonant scanning element 71).
Regarding claim 11, Tanaka teaches the image display apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the rendering section includes a laser unit, and the rendering is performed by the laser unit (light source part 30 of figure 1 as given in paragraphs 0026 and 0029).
Regarding claim 12, Tanaka teaches the image display apparatus according to claim 11, wherein a plurality of the laser units is provided (lasers 34, 35, 36 and laser drivers 31, 32, 33 as given in paragraph 0026).
Regarding claim 13, Tanaka teaches the image display apparatus according to claim 1, further comprising a wide angle-of- view rendering section that renders a wide angle-of-view image having a wider angle of view than the image rendered by the rendering section (paragraphs 0023-0024 explain the rendering of the full image such that the portion that renders the widest angles-of-view is the wide angle-of-view rendering section and the portion that does more narrow angles-of-view is the rendering section).
Regarding claim 14, Tanaka teaches the image display apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the scanning range setting section sets the scanning range by an external input (paragraphs 0023, 0026, and 0060-0063 explain how the user sets the scanning range through an input unit 26 of figure 1).
Regarding claim 15, Tanaka teaches the image display apparatus according to claim 1, further comprising a line-of-sight detection section that detects a line of sight of a user, wherein the scanning range is set according to eyeball information detected by the line-of-sight detection section (paragraph 0022 explains how the optical flux is incident on the pupil of the user to allow the image to be in front of the pupil of the user’s eye such that eyeball and line of sight is detected to allow the image to be in front of the pupil of the eye as given in paragraph 0023).
Regarding claim 16, Tanaka teaches the image display apparatus according to claim 11, wherein the image rendered by the rendering section is output to a display section worn by the user (paragraph 0006 discusses the use of head-mounted displays as conventional).
Regarding claim 17, Tanaka teaches the image display apparatus according to claim 15, wherein the output to the display section is performed by a retinal direct rendering method (as given in paragraph 0022).
Regarding claim 18, Tanaka teaches a head-mounted display comprising the image display apparatus according to claim 15 (paragraph 0006 discusses the use of head-mounted displays as conventional).
Regarding claim 19, Tanaka teaches a projector comprising the image display apparatus according to claim 1 (paragraphs 0021 and 0024 explain the use of the projector as a laser display).
Regarding independent claim 20, Tanaka teaches an image display method comprising:
a scanning step of scanning a region where an image is rendered on a basis of image information input (as given in paragraph 0023); and
a rendering step of rendering the image (as given in paragraphs 0023-0024),
wherein the scanning step sets a scanning range of a region smaller than a maximum scannable range in which the scanning is possible (the luminous flux generator 20 scans using a horizontal scanning unit 70 and vertical scanning unit 80 on a retina that is smaller than the maximum to different sizes like “large” and “middle” and “small” as given in paragraphs 0066 and 0070), and
the rendering step renders the image in a rendering range provided in the scanning range (as given in paragraphs 0069-0070).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 8-10 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: none of the prior art, taken alone or in combination, teaches the specifics of “wherein the scanning range set is scanned, and setting of a next scanning range is repeatedly performed” as recited in claim 8. Claims 9-10 are objected to as being dependent on an allowable base claim.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The closest prior art is made of record in the attached notice of references cited.
/PARUL H GUPTA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2627