DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, claims 1-5 and 9-12 in the reply filed on 8/12/26 is acknowledged.
Claims 6-8 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 8/12/26.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3-5 and 10-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ichi et al. (WO 2022/172847), when taken with 1-Methyl-2-pyrrolidinone SDS and Benzylamine SDS. Ichi et al. (WO 2022/172847) English machine translation for citation.
Regarding claims 1 and 5: Ichi et al. (WO ‘847) discloses a method of producing a conductive pigment paste [abstract; 0063], by mixing pigment dispersing resin (A), electrically conductive pigment (B), solvent (C), fluororesin (D), and high-polarity low-molecular weight component (E), and then dispersing in a high speed mixer. Thereafter, carbon nanotubes (F) were added and further dispersed [0063]. Ichi et al. (WO ‘847) discloses Example 37 [Ex. 37; X-37; 0063-0065; Table 4, Ex. 37] contains 3 parts by mass (A)-A (hexaaceteate vinyl-vinyl alcohol copolymer; hydroxyl group concentration 17.2 mmol/g [0070]), 75 parts by mass (B)-C (carbon black [0071]), 10 parts by mass (F)-CNT (carbon nanotubes [0075]), 480 parts by mass (C)-NMP (N-methyl-2-pyrrolidone [0072]; bp 202 oC), 20 parts by mass (E)-Be-A (benzylamine [0074]; bp 185 oC) {corresponding to (202 - 10) > 185}, and 10 parts by mass (D)-PVDF (polyvinylidene fluoride [0073]) [Ex. 37; X-37; 0063-0065; Table 4, Ex. 37].
1-Methyl-2-pyrrolidinone SDS provides evidence for a boiling point (bp) of 202 oC [§9].
Benzylamine SDS provides evidence for a boiling point (bp) of 184-185 oC [§9].
Regarding claim 3: Ichi et al. (WO ‘847) discloses the water content of the paste X-37 was 0.1% by mass or less (1000 ppm or less) [0064].
Regarding claim 4: Ichi et al. (WO ‘847) discloses ~ 1.7 mass% carbon nanotubes [Ex. 37; X-37; 0063-0065; Table 4, Ex. 37].
Regarding claims 10-12: Ichi et al. (WO ‘847) discloses NMP and metallic particles (G1) (Na2/3Ni1/3Mn2/3O2) {cathode material} were added to conductive paste X-37, and the mixture was stirred [0086].
While Ichi et al. (WO ‘847) does not specifically disclose the mixture paste is for a lithium ion secondary battery, a recitation of the intended use of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim [see MPEP 2111.02; 2144.07].
Claim(s) 2 and 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ichi et al. (WO 2022/172847) as applied to claim 1 above, when taken with 1-Methyl-2-pyrrolidinone Product Specification.
Regarding claim 2: Ichi et al. (WO ‘847) discloses the basic claimed method [as set forth above with respect to claim 1]; wherein Ichi et al. (WO ‘847) discloses the solvent (C) (ex. NMP) is substantially free of water; i.e. 0.1% by mass or less (1000 ppm or less) [0025]. Ichi et al. (WO ‘847) discloses NMP contains 0.01% or less (100 ppm or less) of amine [0025].
Ichi et al. (WO ‘847) does not specifically disclose NMP is a regenerated product. However, “[E]ven though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process.” In re Thorpe, 777 F.2d 695, 698, 227 USPQ 964, 966 (Fed. Cir. 1985) [See MPEP 2113].
1-Methyl-2-pyrrolidinone Product Specification provides evidence for 0.01% by mass or less (100 ppm or less) of free amine (CH3NH2) [§Test].
Regarding claim 9: Ichi et al. (WO ‘847) discloses NMP and metallic particles (G1) (Na2/3Ni1/3Mn2/3O2) {cathode material} were added to conductive paste X-37, and the mixture was stirred [0086].
While Ichi et al. (WO ‘847) does not specifically disclose the mixture paste is for a lithium ion secondary battery, a recitation of the intended use of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim [see MPEP 2111.02; 2144.07].
See attached form PTO-892.
Correspondence
/MICHAEL F PEPITONE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1767