DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-5, 12, 14, 16, 18-19 and 21-24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Aksu et al (US PG Pub No. 2024/0022787).
Regarding claims 1, 16, 18, Wang et al teaches a method of encapsulating media data into an ISOBMFF based media file, the media data comprising media data units, and a post-filter data unit, the post-filter data unit comprising parameters describing post-filter characteristics (i.e. encapsulating media data together with an NNR/post-filter data unit into an ISOBMFF media file, NNR data unit carries parameters) (Figures 8, 13; Abstract, Para. 0048, 0074-75, 0128-129, 0194), the method comprising:
generating a first track representing a sequence of samples, each sample comprising at least one of the media data units (generating media track with samples) (Figure 13, media samples 1338/1340/1342; Para. 0101-102, 0194-199), the post-filter data unit describing a post-processing filter applying to at least one of the samples of the first track (i.e. NNR data that applies to media samples of the associated media tracks) (Para. 0140-141, 0197-198, 0236), a metadata part of the first track comprising at least one parameter from the parameters of the post-filter data unit (NNR configuration parameters) (Figure 9-10, 13, NNR sample entry 1324) (Figure 13; Para. 0111-112, 0194-199, 0213-0222); and
generating a media file including the first track and comprising, in a data part of the media file (generating ISOBMFF media file with the video track and NNR payload) (Figure 13; media data 1338/1340/1342; Para. 0117, 0140-141, 0194-199, 0243).
Claim 2 is rejected wherein the data part of the media file comprising the part of the post-filter data unit is a data part of the first track (NNR data stored at track level) (Figure 13; Para. 0115, 0140, 0194-199).
Regarding claim 3, wang et al teaches wherein the post-filter data unit further comprises a post-filter payload bitstream (Figure 8; Para. 0074-79) and the method further comprises:
generating, in the media file, an entity associated with the first track and describing the data part of the media file comprising the part of the post-filter data unit (i.e. generating and description of NNR item) (Figures 9, 11; Para. 0117, 0121, 0140-141, 0145-146, 0197-198),
wherein the metadata part of the first track comprises the parameters of the post-filter data unit and the part of the post-filter data unit comprised in the data part of the media file is the post-filter payload bitstream (Figure 9-10; Para. 0145-146, 0148-151, 0221-222, 0245).
Claim 4 is rejected wherein the entity is an ISOBMFF based item (i.e. general description of ISOBMFF items in metabox) (Figure 13, 0117, 0140).
Claim 5 is rejected wherein the post-filter payload bitstream is a neural network representation, NNR, bitstream (Para. 0079, 0146, 0245).
Claim 12 is rejected wherein the metadata part of the first track comprising at least one parameter is a sample group description (i.e. description of NNR sample group description in an NNR track) (Para. 0111-112).
Regarding claims 14 and 19, Wang et al teaches a method of generating media data from an ISOBMFF based media file (i.e. reader/parser side of the file format design) (Figure 6, 7-8 and 13; Abstract, Para. 0065-66), the method comprising:
obtaining, from the media file, a first track representing a sequence of samples, each samples comprising at least one media data unit (i.e. reader accessing media tracks and their samples) (Figure 13, media samples 1338/1340/1342; Para. 0194-199);
obtaining, from a metadata part of the first track, at least one parameter describing post-filter characteristics (NNR config parameters from sample group/entry) (Figure 13, NNR sample entry 1324) (Figure 13; Para. 0194-199, 0213-222);
obtaining, from a data part of the media file, a part of a post-filter data unit, the post-filter data unit describing a post-processing filter applying to at least one of the samples of the first track (i.e. retrieving NNR bitstream data) (Figures 10, 13; 0117, 0140-141, 0194, 0228-229); and
generating the media data based on the at least one media data unit from the obtained first track, the at least one parameter and the obtained part of post-filter data unit (i.e. providing the media data and NNR post-filter) (Figure 13; media data 1338/1340/1342; Para. 0140, 0194-199, 0243).
Claim 21 is rejected wherein the data part of the media file comprising the part of the post-filter data unit is a data part of the first track (NNR data stored at track level) (Figure 13; Para. 0115, 0140, 0194-199).
Claim 22 is rejected wherein generating a post-filter data unit comprising the obtained at least one parameter and the obtained part of a post-filter data unit (i.e. reconstruction of NNR representation) (Figures 9, 11; Para. 0145-146); and
wherein obtaining the part of a post-filter data unit comprises obtaining, in the media file, an entity associated with the first track and describing the data part of the media file comprising the part of a post-filter data unit, the part of a post-filter data unit being obtained via the entity (Figure 9-10, 13; Para. 0145-146, 0194-199); and
generating the media data is based on the at least one media data unit from the obtained first track and the generated post-filter data unit (i.e. NNR data being applied to media samples of the associated media track) (Figures 8, 13) (Para. 0194-199).
Claim 23 is rejected wherein the entity is an ISOBMFF based item (i.e. general description of ISOBMFF items in metabox) (Figure 13, 0117, 0140).
Claim 24 is rejected wherein the part of post-filter data unit comprises a post-filter payload bitstream, the post-filter payload bitstream being a neural network representation, NNR, bitstream (Para. 0079, 0146, 0245).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 7-8, 10, 13, 20 and 25 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Aksu et al, in view of Wang et al (US 20250193457).
Regarding claim 7, Aksu et al teaches parameters describing the post-filter characteristics. The reference is unclear with respect to information indicating the purpose of the post-processing filter.
In similar field of endeavor, Wang et al teaches information indicating the purpose of the post-processing filter (Para. 0037; Table 20). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the reference before the effectively fling date of the claimed invention for the common knowledge purpose to give reconstructed data unit a concrete, decodable structure.
Regarding claim 8, Aksu et al teaches parameters describing the post-filter characteristics. The reference is unclear with respect to information indicating the complexity of the post-processing filter.
In similar field of endeavor, Wang et al teaches information indicating the complexity of the post-processing filter (Para. 0030; 8.28). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the reference before the effectively fling date of the claimed invention for the purpose to give reconstructed data unit a concrete, decodable structure in addition to whether device can process information.
Regarding claim 10, Aksu et al teaches parameters describing the post-filter characteristics. The reference is unclear with respect to information indicating a base or an update.
In similar field of endeavor, Wang et al teaches information indicating a base or an update (Para. 0036). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the reference before the effectively fling date of the claimed invention for the purpose to give reconstructed data unit a concrete, decodable structure.
Regarding claims 13, 20 and 25, Aksu et al teaches limitations discussed with respect to claims 1, 3 and 23. The reference is unclear with respect to the post-filter data unit is a neural-network post-filter characteristics, NNPFC, SEI message.
In similar field of endeavor, Wang et al teaches the post-filter data unit is a neural-network post-filter characteristics, NNPFC, SEI message (Figure 4; Abstract). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the reference before the effectively fling date of the claimed invention for the purpose to give reconstructed data unit a concrete, decodable structure.
Conclusion
/KUNAL LANGHNOJA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2425