Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore:
the tool inserted and the window in the connector housing recited in claim 5,
the sleeve on the connector body recited in claim 9, and
the lever recited in claim 10 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Objections
Claims 1-4, 6, and 9 are objected to because of the following informalities:
In claim 1, line 5, “the inner tube” should read -- an inner tube -- and in line 8, “an inner tube” should read -- the inner tube –
In claim 1, line 8, “a groove” should read -- the groove --.
In claim 2, “the latch assembly” lacks proper antecedent basis.
In claim 3, “the latch assembly” lacks proper antecedent basis.
In claim 4, “the plunger” lacks proper antecedent basis.
In claim 4, “the grippers” lacks proper antecedent basis.
In claim 4, “the force” lacks proper antecedent basis.
In claim 4, “the tool” lacks proper antecedent basis.
In claim 4, “the connector housing” lacks proper antecedent basis.
In claim 6, “the spring force” lacks proper antecedent basis.
In claim 9, “the connector body” lacks proper antecedent basis.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 4-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 4, claim 4, which is an independent claim, is rejected under 112(b) because:
“releasing the force on the plunger” is unclear. the claim does not identify which force is being released or who/what is releasing the force. Accordingly, the metes and bounds of the claimed method cannot be determined with reasonable certainty. For the purpose of examination, it would be assumed to be releasing/removing the biasing force of the spring on the plunger.
The claim further recites “removing the inner tube from the latch assembly”. It is unclear as to whether the claimed step requires merely disconnecting the inner tube from the latch assembly or removing the inner tube from a wellbore. For the purpose of examination, it would be assumed to be “disconnection”.
In addition, the claim also recites “removing the tool from the connector housing”. This is indefinite. The claim fails to provide antecedent basis or otherwise identify the recited “tool”, such that it is unclear what structure is being removed from the connector housing. For examination purposes, “the tool” will be assumed to be the inner tube
Claims 5-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being dependent on rejected claim 4.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by O. Colquitt (U.S. 2,682,388).
Regarding claim 1, O. Colquitt discloses a quick-release inner tube connection (see figs. 5-6) for core retrieval during wireline core drilling (refer to col. 1, lines 1-19), comprising:
a connector housing (11, figs. 5-6);
grippers (18) within the connector housing (11) providing mechanical interference with a groove (20) in the inner tube (13);
a plunger (21) controlling the position of the grippers (18; see figs. 5-6 and refer to col. 3, lines 16-38);
a spring (24) applying force on the plunger (21; as shown in figs. 5-6); and
an inner tube (13) with a groove (20) to accept the grippers (18; as shown in fig. 5).
Regarding claim 2, O. Colquitt discloses wherein the grippers (18) are configured to extend into the groove (20) of the inner tube (13), preventing separation from the latch assembly (as shown in fig. 5).
Regarding claim 3, O. Colquitt discloses wherein depressing the plunger (21; as shown in fig. 6) allows retraction of the grippers (28), facilitating disconnection of the inner tube (13) from the latch assembly (as shown in fig. 6. Also refer to col. 3, lines 16-38).
Regarding claim 4, O. Colquitt discloses a method for connecting and disconnecting an inner tube (13; see figs. 5-6) from a latch assembly during wireline core drilling (examiner notes that no wireline or features of a wireline has been claimed or shown on the figures), comprising:
depressing the plunger (21) to retract the grippers (18; see fig. 6);
removing the inner tube (13) from the latch assembly (as shown in fig. 6; examiner has interpreted “removing” to mean that they are disconnected. This interpretation is consistent with applicant’s invention);
releasing the force on the plunger (as shown from fig. 5-6, the biasing force of the spring 24 is removed and the plunger is allowed to move downward; also refer to the 112b rejection above); and
removing the tool (13; as shown in fig. 6; refer to the 112b rejection above) from the connector housing (10, 11).
Regarding claim 5, O. Colquitt discloses wherein the depression of the plunger (21) is achieved by inserting a tool (29) through a window (opening in 10 through which 29 enters. Note that the claimed window is not shown in the drawings) in the connector housing (10, 11) and applying pressure on the plunger (as shown in fig. 6; also refer to col. 3, lines 26-38).
Regarding claim 6, O. Colquitt discloses wherein the grippers (18) are retained in an extended position (as shown in fig. 5) by the spring force (force of spring 24) when the plunger (21) is not depressed (as shown in fig. 5).
Regarding claim 7, O. Colquitt discloses a quick-release inner tube connection system (see figs. 5-6) for core retrieval during wireline core drilling (refer to col. 1, lines 1-19; examiner notes that no wireline or features of a wireline has been claimed or shown on the figures), comprising:
means for extending and retracting grippers (18) within a connector housing (11, figs. 5-6);
means (“plunger 21”) for controlling the position of the grippers (18);
means (“ball 29”) for applying force on the controlling means (“plunger 21”); and
an inner tube (13) with a groove (20) to accept the grippers (18; as shown in fig. 5).
Regarding claim 8, O. Colquitt discloses wherein the controlling means comprises a plunger (21; see figs. 5-6 and refer to col. 3, lines 16-38).
Regarding claim 9, O. Colquitt discloses wherein the means for extending and retracting grippers includes a sleeve (22) on the outside of the connector body (23).
Regarding claim 10, O. Colquitt discloses wherein the means for applying an outside force to disconnect the joint comprises a lever (29; note that the claimed “lever” is not shown and the shape is not described in the specification. In fact, it is only mentioned once in the entire specification).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Iondov (U.S. 9,528,337 B2), Drenth et al. (U.S. 8,485,280 B2), Rector (U.S. 5,127,482), and J.H. Koontz (U.S. 3,225,845).
/YANICK A AKARAGWE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3672