DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
Paragraph (0063) refers to “individual conveyors 32”; reference numeral 32 designates the webs. It appears “46” as intended.
Paragraph (0074) refers to “individual conveyors 44” and “the frame 20”. It appears “46” and “45” were intended.
Paragraph (0082) refers to “transfer conveyor 14”. It appears “44” as intended.
The Brief Description of the Drawings describes Fig. 7A-7H as “receiving a transport item form a DTV via a transfer station onto a continuous conveyor.” Figs. 7A-7H show the DTV receiving the item from the continuous conveyor (See Paragraph 0091).
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim limitation “a locking device allowing movement of the transport item only in the direction toward the continuous conveyor in claim 7 ” invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. However, the written description fails to disclose the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the entire claimed function and to clearly link the structure, material, or acts to the function. “Device” is a generic placeholder, it is modified by functional language and the claim recites no structure for performing the function. Therefore, the claim is indefinite and is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph.
The corresponding structure described in the specification is rollers of the transfer conveyor that are rotatable in one direction only; or a fixed wedge-shaped stop or a spring-loaded stop at the lower end of the transfer conveyor; and equivalents thereof.
If applicant does not intend this limitation to be interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f).
Applicant may:
(a) Amend the claim so that the claim limitation will no longer be interpreted as a limitation under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph;
(b) Amend the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites what structure, material, or acts perform the entire claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(c) Amend the written description of the specification such that it clearly links the structure, material, or acts disclosed therein to the function recited in the claim, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)).
If applicant is of the opinion that the written description of the specification already implicitly or inherently discloses the corresponding structure, material, or acts and clearly links them to the function so that one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize what structure, material, or acts perform the claimed function, applicant should clarify the record by either:
(a) Amending the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function and clearly links or associates the structure, material, or acts to the claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(b) Stating on the record what the corresponding structure, material, or acts, which are implicitly or inherently set forth in the written description of the specification, perform the claimed function. For more information, see 37 CFR 1.75(d) and MPEP §§ 608.01(o) and 2181.
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
More specifically, Claim 1 does not positively recite the continuous conveyor; it recites a transfer station configured to exchange an item with a continuous conveyor “horizontally couplable thereto”. Claim 1 further does not require the continuous conveyor to be driven.
Claim 3 uses the term “pilgrim-step movement”, it should be noted that this term is given the meaning expressly defined in Paragraph (00100) “a movement in which the DTV passes only underneath the transfer station (or its transfer conveyor), but no underneath the continuous conveyor, and then exits again.
Claim 7 recites the phrase “only in the direction toward the continuous conveyor” which lacks antecedent basis for “the direction.” Examiner suggest “only in a direction toward the continuous conveyor”.
Claim 7 recites the phrase “rises exclusively in the direction of the continuous conveyor” which lacks antecedent basis for “the direction”.
Claim 12 discloses (A). the receiving branch recites entering “until the at least one finger member is positioned behind a rear edge of the transport item and a front edge rest on the LHD”. It is unclear whether “a front edge” refers to a front edge of the transport item or of some other element. In the interest of compact prosecution it has been interpreted as meaning “a front edge of the transport item”
(B). “ a finger member” at its downstream end”. The claim does not establish a reference direction (travel direction or item flow) from which “downstream” is measured and the DTV both enters and exits in opposite direction. The metes and bounds of the location are therefore unclear.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 9, 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Maetaki (JPS5831815).
Citations are to paragraph numbers of the English translation provided with this action.
Referring to Claim 1. Maetaki discloses a “Load Conveyor”. See Figs. 1-2 and respective portions of the specification. Maetaki further discloses a driverless transport system (automated guided vehicle 4) comprising: at least one ramp-like transfer station configured to exchange a transport item with a continuous conveyor horizontally couplable thereto (Inclinded portion of arms (3b) of mounting table (3), define downwardly slanted sliding surface, at the leading end of conveying mechanism (1)) (See at least Sect. 0001, Figs. 1-2); a driverless transport vehicle (4, 4a) for transporting the items from and/or to the at least one transfer station (See Sect. 0001, Fig. 1-4); wherein the DTV comprises a load-handling device (4c) forming a flat transport surface on which the transport item rests during a transport travel, wherein the load-handling device has, in an end portion thereof, at least one finger member (4d) which is switchable between a raised position and a lowered position, wherein the at least one finger member, in the raised position protrudes from the transport surface (See Sect. 0001, Figs. 3A-3C, 4A-4C); wherein each of the transfer stations consists of an inclined non-driven multitrack transfer conveyor (the inclined portions of the pair of parallel arms 3b, each carrying freely rotatable free rollers 3d, the roller tops defining inclined sliding surface (See Sect. 0001, Figs. 1-2) being configured to be meshingly underpassed by the DTV (lower body 4b has a width W2 smaller than the spacing between arms 3b and a height H1 smaller than height H2 to the lower end of the free rollers 3d, and a loading platform 4c has a width W3 smaller than the gap W4 between the opposed free rollers 3d and a height H3 between the upper end H4 and lower end H5 of inclined surface, so that the vehicle slips under arms 3b with platform 4c received in the free space between the two roller tracks) (Sect. 0001, Figs. 1-2) so that: in case, while the transport item rests on transfer conveyor, in case, while the transport item rests on transfer conveyor, the transport item is received by the DTV from the transfer conveyor by the DTV exiting the transfer conveyor and the at least one finger member being in the raised position (the DTV/vehicle enters below mounting table (3) with fingers (4d) stored, then projects finger member 4d at the leading end in the entry direction once beneath load 2, and exits, whereby the finger pushes the rear face of load 2 so that the load slides over free rollers 3d onto platform 4c (Sect. 0001, Figs. 3A-3C); and in case, while the transport item rests on the transfer conveyor, the transport item is delivered by the DTV to the continuous conveyor by the DTV entering the transfer conveyor and the at least one finger member being in the raised position (Sect. 0001, Figs. 4A-4C). It should be noted that under BRI, the conveying mechanism (1) combined with the horizontal free roller section reads on the continuous conveyor and the free-roller section which is inclined and is coupled horizontally to the conveyor at is upper end, reads on the transfer station consisting of an inclined non-driven multi-track transfer conveyor.
Referring to claim 9. Maetaki discloses the driverless transport system, wherein the loading-handling device comprising, in an opposite end portion thereof, at least one additional finger member protruding from the transport surface (fingers 4d are provided at both the front and the rear of platform 4c, the rear finger 4d protruding above the platform/surface when raised to push load 2 during delivery, See Sect. 0001, Figs. 1, 4A-4B).
Referring to claim 11. Maetaki discloses the driverless transport system, wherein the transfer conveyor rises exclusively in the direction of the continuous conveyor (inclined sliding surface rises from the top of arms 3b toward conveying mechanism 1, See Sect. 0001, Fig. 2).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Maetaki in view of Lyu (CN206544772).
Referring to claim 1. Maetaki discloses the system as set forth above as applied to claim 1. Maetaki does not disclose that each transfer station consists of an inclined non-driven multi-track transfer conveyor coupled to the continuous conveyor. Lyu discloses an “On-Line Device”. See Figs. 1-5 and respective portions of the specification. Lyu further discloses a transfer station consisting of an inclined non-driven multi-track transfer conveyor coupled directly to a continuous conveyor (guide plate 3.4, whose upper end is an inclined surface 3.41 carrying two side by side sets of guide rollers 3.42 mounted on body support 3.1 and leading directly into narrow belt line group 3.2, power element 3.5 drives only the belt line group 3.2, See Example 1). Lyu further discloses that the vehicle (DTV) passes beneath the station and that the bin is moved up the inclined guide plate solely by the forward thrust of the vehicle (See Example 1). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Maetaki’s arms (3b) so that inclined free roller section coupleds directly to conveying rollers (1c) of the conveying mechanism (1), without intervening horizontal section, as taught by Lyu, which would have been simple substitution of one known transfer station configuration for another to obtain predictable results, and omitting the horizontal section which wouldn’t be needed as no holding surface would be required when handing load directly to and from the conveyor.
Referring to claim 2. Maetaki in view of Lyu disclose the combination as set forth above as applied to claim 1. Maetaki further discloses receiving by entering with the finger member lowered and exiting with it raised, so that when the finger was loaded the finger member could be positioned beneath the load and then when raised to protrude to help discharge the load through the exit.
Claim(s) 5-7, 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Maetaki in view of Lyu and in further view of Yokomori (JPH04130238).
Referring to claim 5. Maetaki in view of Lyu disclose the combination as set forth above as applied to claim 1. Maetaki doesn’t explicitly disclose the at least one ramp-like transfer station comprises a first transfer station for delivering the transport item from the DTV to the continuous conveyor and a second transfer station for receiving the transport item by the DTV from the continuous conveyor. Yokomori discloses “a transfer apparatus for loading and unloading an automatic guided vehicle”. See Figs. 1-14 and respective portions of the specification. Yokomori discloses an automatic guided vehicle (1) with a loading platform (4), a fixed rear stopper (5) protruding from the rear upper surface of the platform and a front stopper (6) that is tilted down by guide bar (14) and spring back up and further loading/unloading stations (12), each formed by a pair of load-placing members (13) having a horizontal surface (13a) and an inclined surface (13b) (See Detailed Description & Figs. 1, 4-11). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide Maetaki’s modified system with a first station dedicated to delivering loads to the continuous conveyor and a second station dedicated to receiving loads from it, as taught by Yokomori’s use of separate stations for receiving and delivering, which would have allowed inbound and outbound loads to be handled at the same time, increasing throughput and saving time.
Referring to claim 6. . Maetaki in view of Lyu disclose the combination as set forth above as applied to claim 1. Maetaki further discloses the driverless transport system, wherein the transfer conveyor of the first transfer station is couplable to the continuous conveyor in a stepless manner (the upper end of the inclined free-roller section lies at the level of the conveying surface of rollers the same level as the horizontal surface, See Fig. 2).
Referring to claim 7. Maetaki in view of Lyu disclose the combination as set forth above as applied to claim 1. Maetaki discloses not disclose the transfer conveyor of the first transfer station comprising a locking device allowing movement of the transport item only in the direction toward the continuous conveyor. Lyu discloses a locking device (stop mechanism 3.3, lock plate 3.33, torsion spring 3.34 returns lock plate 3.33 unit is card slot C engages, locking shaft 3.31 so that the bin is blocked from moving down, See Utility Model Content & Example 1). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the free roller transfer conveyor of Maetaki as modified with Lyu’s bin stop mechanism, because a load pushed partway up freely rotating inclined rollers tends to roll back down when the force is removed, and Lyu teaches that its stop blocks the bin and prevents it from further falling).
Referring to claim 17. Maetaki in view of Lyu disclose the combination as set forth above as applied to claim 1. Maetaki discloses an additional finger member at the opposite end portion (rear 4d) but Maetaki does not discloses wherein the additional finger member is immovable. Yokomori dlscloses an immovable additional finger member protruding from the transport surface at the end opposite the switchable finger (rear member 5 protruding form the upper surface of the loading platform, used to push low W up inclined surface 3b, See at least Figs. 4, 10-11). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute Yokomori’s fixed rear stopper for Maetaki’s retractable rear finger (4d), as this substitution would eliminate the actuator and control for the rear finger, which would simply the vehicle and reduce cost.
Claim(s) 5-7, 17 are are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Maetaki in view of Lyu and in further view of Yokomori (JPH04130238).
Claim(s) 10, 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Maetaki in view of Lyu and in further view of Malow (US6223875).
Referring to claim 10. Maetaki in view of Lyu disclose the combination as set forth above as applied to claim 1. Maetaki does not disclose at least one stop arranged at a lower end of the transfer conveyor. Malow discloses a “Conveyor Section Having A Stop”. See Figs. 1-3 and respective portions of the specification. Malow further discloses a roller conveyor section having a stop that retains items on the conveyor (stop roller 2 urged by spring 23 to an upper position in which it rises above transport plane 11 and stops the transport container 3). Malow further discloses wherein the conveyor section is inclined and where the force on the stop may result from the gravitational force of the item (See Col. 3 L. 1 – Col. 4 L. 35, Figs. 1-3). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide Malow’s stop at the lower end of the inclined free roller transfer conveyor of Maetaki, with the horizontal section omitted, a load conveyed form conveying mechanism (1) onto the inclined free rollers (3d) to await pickup would roll down off the arms, with the addition of the teachings from Malow’s provided spring stop the stop would hold items on an inclined conveyor section against their own weight.
Referring to claim 18. Maetaki in view of Lyu disclose the combination as set forth above as applied to claim 1. Maetaki discloses that the transport surface of the DTV lies at a height H3 between the upper end H4 and the lower end H5 of the inclined transfer conveyor (See Fig. 2). Malow discloses a stop that rises only at least partially above the transport plane of the conveyor. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to size the stop at the lower end so that its highest point lies below the transport surface, as a stop projecting above the surface would obstruct the load during the receiving operation.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4, 18, 16 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claims 12-15, 19-20 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/TERRELL H MATTHEWS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3653