DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copy has been filed in parent Application No. 17/757,471, filed on 16 June 2022.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kurokawa (JP 2002347170 A, hereinafter “Kurokawa”).
Regarding claim 1, Kurokawa teaches a resin-coated metal sheet and cans made thereof (see paragraph 0001), wherein the cans are made through a drawing and ironing process (see paragraph 0004). Kurokawa further teaches the coating as containing a polyester resin as a main component on at least an inner surface of the can (see paragraph 0003 teaching polyester; see paragraph 0017 teaching the coating as being applied to “at least one surface”, which indicates it can be applied to both surfaces and thus necessarily includes embodiments where it is applied to at least an inner surface of the can). Kurokawa fails to explicitly teach the limitation wherein a water contact angle of a surface of the coating layer is 80° or more and 100° or less, but this limitation is inherent to Kurokawa’s composition.
Kurokawa teaches the polyester resin as most preferably polyethylene terephthalate (PET, see paragraph 0021), wherein the resin is mixed with 0.2–1.0 wt.% carnauba wax (see paragraphs 0022 and 0023), coated on the metal substrate to a thickness of 3–30 µm (see paragraph 0026), and heat treated at 220 °C (see paragraph 0036). In Applicants’ Specification, pg. 21, Table 1, Sample A1 has a single inner layer comprising 99% PET and 1 wt.% carnauba wax at a thickness of 21 µm. This embodiment is encompassed by Kurokawa’s disclosure. Furthermore, in Applicants’ Specification, pg. 28, Table 2, Sample A1 has a water contact angle of 90° after heat treatment, wherein the heat treatment takes place at 220 °C (see Specification, paragraph 0077). Because Kurokawa’s composition and processing conditions overlap with Applicants’ own composition and processing conditions, Kurokawa’s product is considered compositionally identical to Applicants’, and thus must inherently have the same properties, including water contact angle (see MPEP 2112 regarding inherency of compositions). Kurokawa is therefore considered to anticipate each and every limitation of claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Determining the scope and contents of the prior art.
Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue.
Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art.
Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness.
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kurokawa.
Regarding claim 2, Kurokawa teaches the resin-coated drawn and ironed can according to claim 1, and further teaches the limitation wherein the coating layer has a thickness of 10 µm or more and 25 µm or less (see paragraph 0026 teaching a thickness of 3–30 µm; also see MPEP 2144.05(I) regarding the obviousness of overlapping ranges). Kurokawa fails to explicitly teach the limitation wherein the coating layer has a surface indentation modulus of 2000 MPa or more and 3400 MPa or less, but this limitation is inherent to Kurokawa’s composition.
As detailed in the above rejection of claim 1, Kurokawa teaches a product that is compositionally identical to Sample A1 of Applicants’ disclosure (see Specification, Tables 1 and 2). Sample A1 is recited as having an inner surface indentation modulus of 2290 MPa, which indicates that Kurokawa’s composition inherently has the same surface indentation modulus (see MPEP 2112 regarding inherency of compositions). Kurokawa is therefore considered to teach each and every limitation of claim 2. Thus, claim 2 is rendered prima facie obvious.
Conclusion
/R.P.L./Examiner, Art Unit 1731
/ANTHONY J GREEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1731