DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
This action is a non-final, first office action in response to the application filed 3 April 2025.
Claims 1-20 are currently pending and have been examined.
Claim Objections
Claim 5 is objected to because of the following informalities: With respect to claim 5, the Applicant has claimed, “wherein the manager is configured to….” In this case, the recitation of “the manager” lacks antecedent basis, as it has not been previously defined inside the claim or a depended upon claim. Notably, while claim 2 introduces “a manager,” claim 5 does not depend upon this claim, and thus it would need to be re-introduced in this dependent claim. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5 and 9-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Underhill et al. (US 2022/0118869 A1) (hereinafter Underhill).
With respect to claim 1, Underhill teaches:
A flexible electric cable connected to the EVSE for supplying electricity (See at least paragraphs 10, 11, 30, 37, and 56 which describe a vehicle charging station, which includes a movable cable connected to the station and used to transfer power to vehicles).
An electrical coupler connected to the cable, the coupler designed to be connectable to and dis-connectable from a charging port associated with an electric vehicle (EV) (See at least paragraphs 10, 11, 30, 35, 37, 38, 58, and 61 which describe a charge coupler that is connected to the cable and is removed from a holster of the station and provides power to a vehicle when plugged into the vehicle’s port).
A holster designed to hold the coupler when the coupler is not in use charging the EV and to release the coupler to enable connection to the charging port (See paragraphs 10, 11, 30, 37, 39, 42, 43, and 58 which describe a holster on the charging station which holds the charge coupler when not in use, and wherein the holster releases the coupler to be used to charge a vehicle).
A sensor designed to detect when the holster is in a first state and in a second state, the first state being when the coupler is held by the holster, the second state being when the coupler has been released by the holster (See at least paragraphs 10, 11, 30, 37, 39-41, 48, and 50-55 which describe a holster sensor that detects when the coupler is in the holster and when it is released from the holster).
With respect to claim 2, Underhill discloses all of the limitations of claim 1 as stated above. In addition, Underhill teaches:
A manager in electrical communication with the sensor and configured to detect when the sensor is in the first and second states (See at least paragraphs 32, 34, 36, 57, 60, and 61 which describe a master controller and server that communicates with the sensor and detects when the holster sensor reads that the coupler is in the holster or not).
With respect to claim 3, Underhill discloses all of the limitations of claims 1 and 2 as stated above. In addition, Underhill teaches:
A user communications device in electrical communication with the manager via the internet, in whole or in part (See at least paragraphs 32, 34, 36, 57, 60, and 61 which describe a master controller and server that communicates with a user device via text messaging, email, a phone app, or via an in-vehicle communication device).
With respect to claim 4, Underhill discloses all of the limitations of claims 1 and 2 as stated above. In addition, Underhill teaches:
A user communications device in electrical communication with the manager via a short message service (SMS) text message (See at least paragraphs 32, 34, 36, 57, 60, and 61 which describe a master controller and server that communicates with a user device via text messaging, email, a phone app, or via an in vehicle communication device).
With respect to claim 5, Underhill discloses all of the limitations of claim 1 as stated above. In addition, Underhill teaches:
Wherein the manager is configured to provide an output to a user that is indicative of whether or not the coupler is within a predetermined proximity of the holster (See at least paragraph 61 which describe the manager/server communicating a reminder to a user to reholster the charge coupler into the holster, if the user has failed to return it. The Examiner notes that not placing the couple back into the holster, would encompass not being within a proximity of the holster).
With respect to claim 8, Underhill discloses all of the limitations of claim 1 as stated above. In addition, Underhill teaches:
Wherein the sensor is designed to determine whether or not the coupler is within a predetermined proximity of the holster (See at least paragraphs 10, 11, 30, 37, 39-41, 48, and 50-55 which describe a holster sensor that detects when the coupler is in the holster and when it is released from the holster. The Examiner notes that inside the holster is within a proximity of the holster, and outside the holster is outside the proximity).
With respect to claim 9, Underhill teaches:
(a) a plurality of electric vehicle supply equipment (EVSE), each having: (1) a flexible electric cable connected to the EVSE for supplying electrical current (See at least paragraphs 10, 11, 30, 33, 34, 37, and 56 which describe vehicle charging stations, which include movable cables connected to the stations and used to transfer power to vehicles).
(2) an electrical coupler connected to the cable, the coupler designed to be connectable to and dis-connectable from a charging port associated with an electric vehicle (See at least paragraphs 10, 11, 30, 35, 37, 38, 58, and 61 which describe a charge coupler that is connected to the cable and is removed from a holster of the station and provides power to a vehicle when plugged into the vehicle’s port).
(3) a holster designed to hold the coupler when the coupler is not in use charging the electric vehicle and to release the coupler to enable connection to the charging port (See paragraphs 10, 11, 30, 37, 39, 42, 43, and 58 which describe a holster on the charging station which holds the charge coupler when not in use, and wherein the holster releases the coupler to be used to charge a vehicle).
(4) a sensor designed to detect when the holster is in a first state and in a second state, the first state being when the coupler is in close proximity of the holster, the second state being when the coupler is not in close proximity of the holster (See at least paragraphs 10, 11, 30, 37, 39-41, 48, and 50-55 which describe a holster sensor that detects when the coupler is in the holster and when it is released from the holster).
(b) a manager in electrical communication with the sensors and configured to detect when the sensors are each in the first and second states (See at least paragraphs 32, 34, 36, 57, 60, and 61 which describe a master controller and server that communicates with the sensor and detects when the holster sensor reads that the coupler is in the holster or not).
With respect to claim 10, Underhill discloses all of the limitations of claim 9 as stated above. In addition, Underhill teaches:
A user communications device in electrical communication with the manager via the internet, in whole or in part (See at least paragraphs 32, 34, 36, 57, 60, and 61 which describe a master controller and server that communicates with a user device via text messaging, email, a phone app, or via an in-vehicle communication device).
With respect to claim 11, Underhill discloses all of the limitations of claim 9 as stated above. In addition, Underhill teaches:
A user communications device in electrical communication with the manager via a short message service (SMS) text message (See at least paragraphs 32, 34, 36, 57, 60, and 61 which describe a master controller and server that communicates with a user device via text messaging, email, a phone app, or via an in-vehicle communication device).
With respect to claim 12, Underhill discloses all of the limitations of claim 9 as stated above. In addition, Underhill teaches:
Wherein the sensor is designed to determine whether or not the coupler is within a predetermined proximity of the holster (See at least paragraphs 10, 11, 30, 37, 39-41, 48, and 50-55 which describe a holster sensor that detects when the coupler is in the holster and when it is released from the holster. The Examiner notes that inside the holster is within a proximity of the holster, and outside the holster is outside the proximity).
With respect to claim 13, Underhill discloses all of the limitations of claim 9 as stated above. In addition, Underhill teaches:
Wherein the manager is configured to provide an output to a user that is indicative of whether or not the coupler is within a predetermined proximity of the holster (See at least paragraph 61 which describe the manager/server communicating a reminder to a user to reholster the charge coupler into the holster, if the user has failed to return it. The Examiner notes that not placing the couple back into the holster, would encompass not being within a proximity of the holster).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 6, 7, 14, and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Underhill as applied to claims 1 and 9 as stated above, and further in view of Moura et al. (US 2022/0188946 A1) (hereinafter Moura).
With respect to claims 6 and 14, Underhill discloses all of the limitations of claims 1 and 9 as stated as stated above. In addition, Underhill teaches:
Wherein the manager is configured to provide a discount that will be applied to an electricity purchase if the coupler is re-holstered after charging the EV (See at least paragraph 61 which describes the server providing a user a discount or billing credit for re-holstering the charge coupler after recharging).
Underhill discloses all of the limitations of claims 6 and 14 as stated above. Underhill does not explicitly disclose the following, however Moura teaches:
Wherein the manager is configured to provide an output to a user that indicates the cost of an electricity purchase (See at least paragraphs 9, 39, 57, 58, 61, 63, and 186 which describe a charge station controller transmitting pricing, to a user’s communication device, for using the charging service, wherein the pricing includes incentives and penalties for how the service is performed and utilized).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing the claimed invention to combine the system and method of using charging station to charge electric vehicles, wherein the charging station has a charge coupler that transfers power to the vehicle, and wherein the station provides a discount or penalty based on if the customer places the coupler back in the holster of Underhill, with the system and method of a charge station controller transmitting pricing, to a user’s communication device, for using the charging service, wherein the pricing includes incentives and penalties for how the service is performed and utilized of Moura. By providing the user’s communication device with pricing for a service, such as penalties and discounts for services tied to replacing a coupler after user, a customer will predictably be made aware of the cost of a service they will have to pay, and will be encouraged to re-holster a coupler in order to not be charged a penalty and/or receive a discount.
With respect to claims 7 and 15, Underhill discloses all of the limitations of claims 1 and 9 as stated as stated above. In addition, Underhill teaches:
Wherein the manager is configured to provide a monetary amount will be added to an electricity purchase if the coupler is not re-holstered after charging an electric vehicle (See at least paragraph 61 which describes the server providing a user a surcharge for failing to re-holster the charge coupler after recharging).
Underhill discloses all of the limitations of claims 7 and 15 as stated above. Underhill does not explicitly disclose the following, however Moura teaches:
Wherein the manager is configured to provide an output to a user that indicates the cost of an electricity purchase (See at least paragraphs 9, 39, 57, 58, 61, 63, and 186 which describe a charge station controller transmitting pricing, to a user’s communication device, for using the charging service, wherein the pricing includes incentives and penalties for how the service is performed and utilized).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing the claimed invention to combine the system and method of using charging station to charge electric vehicles, wherein the charging station has a charge coupler that transfers power to the vehicle, and wherein the station provides a discount or penalty based on if the customer places the coupler back in the holster of Underhill, with the system and method of a charge station controller transmitting pricing, to a user’s communication device, for using the charging service, wherein the pricing includes incentives and penalties for how the service is performed and utilized of Moura. By providing the user’s communication device with pricing for a service, such as penalties and discounts for services tied to replacing a coupler after user, a customer will predictably be made aware of the cost of a service they will have to pay, and will be encouraged to re-holster a coupler in order to not be charged a penalty and/or receive a discount.
Claims 16 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Underhill, and further in view of Resh et al. (WO 2013/063306 A1) (hereinafter Resh).
With respect to claim 16, Underhill teaches:
Providing a plurality of EVSE for charging electric vehicles respectively at a plurality of locations (See at least paragraphs 10, 11, 30, 33, 34, 37, and 56 which describe vehicle charging stations, which include movable cables connected to the stations and used to transfer power to vehicles).
At each EVSE, sensing when a coupler is within a predetermined proximity of a holster associated with the EVSE and generating a state signal indicative thereof (See at least paragraphs 10, 11, 30, 37, 39-41, 48, and 50-55 which describe a holster sensor that detects when the coupler is in the holster and when it is released from the holster. The Examiner notes that inside the holster is within a proximity of the holster, and outside the holster is outside the proximity).
Underhill discloses all of the limitations of claim 16 as stated above. Underhill does not explicitly disclose the following, however Resh teaches:
Monitoring the state signals in order to determine whether or not assistance is needed at one or more of the plurality of EVSE (See at least paragraphs 31, 76, 93, 98, and 107 which describe electric vehicle charging stations that are used to charge electric vehicles, wherein the station provides instructions to a user on how to use the station, including removing the charge cable, plugging it into the user’s vehicle, and returning it to the holster, and wherein the station detects whether the charger cable is removed or not and can display the instructions when it determines the user needs help).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing the claimed invention to combine the system and method of using charging station to charge electric vehicles, wherein the charging station has a charge coupler that transfers power to the vehicle, and wherein the station provides a discount or penalty based on if the customer places the coupler back in the holster of Underhill, with the system and method of electric vehicle charging stations that are used to charge electric vehicles, wherein the station provides instructions to a user on how to use the station, including removing the charge cable, plugging it into the user’s vehicle, and returning it to the holster, and wherein the station detects whether the charger cable is removed or not and can display the instructions when it determines the user needs help of Resh. By providing users with instructions on how to use a station, including removing and replacing a charger from and to a holster, when needed, a charge station can predictably ensure that users operate the equipment appropriately, thus reducing the likelihood of damage to equipment.
With respect to claim 18, the combination of Underhill and Resh discloses all of the limitations of claim 16 as stated as stated above. In addition, Underhill teaches:
Providing an output to a user that is indicative of whether or not the coupler is within the predetermined proximity (See at least paragraph 61 which describe the manager/server communicating a reminder to a user to reholster the charge coupler into the holster, if the user has failed to return it. The Examiner notes that not placing the couple back into the holster, would encompass not being within a proximity of the holster).
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Underhill and Resh as applied to claim 16 as stated above, and further in view of Roeder et al. (US 2020/019840 A1) (hereinafter Roeder).
With respect to claim 17, Underhill/Resh discloses all of the limitations of claim 16 as stated as stated above. Underhill and Resh do not explicitly disclose the following, however Roeder teaches:
Receiving an identifier that uniquely identifies a particular EVSE along with a corresponding state signal; selecting a particular communications device based upon the identifier; and communicating a message to the particular communications device that indicates a state of the particular EVSE (See at least paragraphs 13, 16, 17, 23, 29, and 35 which describe a user scanning an NFC tag, which includes an identifier of a charging station, and providing the identifier and their ID to a master controller, wherein the controller determines if the user is authorized based on the user and the station status, and if so, then communicating a message to the user device that indicates they are able to use the charger and that it’s status is active).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing the claimed invention to combine the system and method of using charging station to charge electric vehicles, wherein the charging station has a charge coupler that transfers power to the vehicle, and wherein the station provides a discount or penalty based on if the customer places the coupler back in the holster of Underhill, with the system and method of electric vehicle charging stations that are used to charge electric vehicles, wherein the station provides instructions to a user on how to use the station, including removing the charge cable, plugging it into the user’s vehicle, and returning it to the holster, and wherein the station detects whether the charger cable is removed or not and can display the instructions when it determines the user needs help of Resh, with the system and method of a user scanning an NFC tag, which includes an identifier of a charging station, and providing the identifier and their ID to a master controller, wherein the controller determines if the user is authorized based on the user and the station status, and if so, then communicating a message to the user device that indicates they are able to use the charger and that it’s status is active of Roeder. By providing users with messages concerning the specific charging station they wish to utilize, a charging station manager will predictably be able to ensure that a customer receives the desired service.
Claims 19 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Underhill and Resh as applied to claim 16 as stated above, and further in view of Moura.
With respect to claim 19, Underhill/Resh discloses all of the limitations of claim 16 as stated as stated above. In addition, Underhill teaches:
Providing a discount will be applied to an electricity purchase if the coupler is re-holstered after (See at least paragraph 61 which describes the server providing a user a discount or billing credit for re-holstering the charge coupler after recharging).
Underhill discloses all of the limitations of claim 19 as stated above. Underhill does not explicitly disclose the following, however Moura teaches:
Providing an output to a user that indicates the cost of an electricity purchase (See at least paragraphs 9, 39, 57, 58, 61, 63, and 186 which describe a charge station controller transmitting pricing, to a user’s communication device, for using the charging service, wherein the pricing includes incentives and penalties for how the service is performed and utilized).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing the claimed invention to combine the system and method of using charging station to charge electric vehicles, wherein the charging station has a charge coupler that transfers power to the vehicle, and wherein the station provides a discount or penalty based on if the customer places the coupler back in the holster of Underhill, with the system and method of electric vehicle charging stations that are used to charge electric vehicles, wherein the station provides instructions to a user on how to use the station, including removing the charge cable, plugging it into the user’s vehicle, and returning it to the holster, and wherein the station detects whether the charger cable is removed or not and can display the instructions when it determines the user needs help of Resh, with the system and method of a charge station controller transmitting pricing, to a user’s communication device, for using the charging service, wherein the pricing includes incentives and penalties for how the service is performed and utilized of Moura. By providing the user’s communication device with pricing for a service, such as penalties and discounts for services tied to replacing a coupler after user, a customer will predictably be made aware of the cost of a service they will have to pay, and will be encouraged to re-holster a coupler in order to not be charged a penalty and/or receive a discount.
With respect to claim 20, Underhill discloses all of the limitations of claims 1 and 9 as stated as stated above. In addition, Underhill teaches:
Providing a monetary amount will be added to an electricity purchase if the coupler is not re-holstered after charging an electric vehicle (See at least paragraph 61 which describes the server providing a user a surcharge for failing to re-holster the charge coupler after recharging).
Underhill discloses all of the limitations of claim 20 as stated above. Underhill does not explicitly disclose the following, however Moura teaches:
Wherein the manager is configured to provide an output to a user that indicates the cost of an electricity purchase (See at least paragraphs 9, 39, 57, 58, 61, 63, and 186 which describe a charge station controller transmitting pricing, to a user’s communication device, for using the charging service, wherein the pricing includes incentives and penalties for how the service is performed and utilized).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing the claimed invention to combine the system and method of using charging station to charge electric vehicles, wherein the charging station has a charge coupler that transfers power to the vehicle, and wherein the station provides a discount or penalty based on if the customer places the coupler back in the holster of Underhill, with the system and method of electric vehicle charging stations that are used to charge electric vehicles, wherein the station provides instructions to a user on how to use the station, including removing the charge cable, plugging it into the user’s vehicle, and returning it to the holster, and wherein the station detects whether the charger cable is removed or not and can display the instructions when it determines the user needs help of Resh, with the system and method of a charge station controller transmitting pricing, to a user’s communication device, for using the charging service, wherein the pricing includes incentives and penalties for how the service is performed and utilized of Moura. By providing the user’s communication device with pricing for a service, such as penalties and discounts for services tied to replacing a coupler after user, a customer will predictably be made aware of the cost of a service they will have to pay, and will be encouraged to re-holster a coupler in order to not be charged a penalty and/or receive a discount.
Conclusion
Michael Harrington
Primary Patent Examiner
3 March 2026
Art Unit 3628
/MICHAEL P HARRINGTON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3628