DETAILED ACTION
*Note in the following document:
-1. Texts in italic bold format are limitations quoted either directly or conceptually from claims/descriptions disclosed in th-e instant application.
2. -Texts in regular italic format are quoted directly from cited reference or Applicant’s arguments.
3. Te-xts with underlining are added by the Examiner for emphasis.
4. Te-xts with
5. Acronym “PHOSITA” stands for “Person Having Ordinary Skill In The Art”.
Claim Objections
Claim 8-11 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 8/9/10/11 recites the control apparatus being configured to … (line 7/7/8/8). However only a control apparatus control method earlier in those claims and a control apparatus control method does not inherently include a control apparatus.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: the image capturing device having a tracking function for tracking and capturing … in Claim 1/7/8/9/10/11; an output unit that outputs one or more crop videos in Claim 5; the control apparatus being configured to be capable of setting … in Claim 8/9/10/11.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang et al. (US 2024/0397196 A1) in view of Yuji (JP 2010/199666 A).
Regarding Claim 1, Wang discloses a control apparatus that controls an image capturing device (Fig.12: notice cameras 1-N (1350),
the image capturing device having a tracking function for tracking and capturing a video of a subject ([0005]: By implementing the method according to the first aspect, the electronic device may identify the objects in the image collected by the camera, and select a focus tracking object from the objects, namely, a protagonist), and a crop function for generating a crop video obtained by cropping the captured video and cutting out a partial region from the captured video ([0032]: By implementing the method according to the first aspect, in some embodiments, the method further includes: When the second object is included, the focus tracking module crops the image displayed in the first window from the image to be sent for display), and
the control apparatus comprising:
a processor (Fig.12 Processor 1); and
a memory containing instructions (Fig.12 Internal memory 129) that, when executed by the processor, cause the processor to:
set, to the image capturing device, a target position in the captured video within which the subject is to stay in the tracking function (Fig.1C and [0083]: When displaying the user interface shown in FIG. 1B, the terminal 100 may detect a user operation performed on any selection box. In response to the operation, the terminal 100 may determine an object corresponding to the selection box as a protagonist. For example, referring to a user interface shown in FIG. 1C, the terminal 100 may detect a user operation performed on the selection box 122. In response to the operation, the terminal 100 may determine the person 2 corresponding to the selection box 122 as a protagonist. Also see [0005]: By implementing the method according to the first aspect, the electronic device may identify the objects in the image collected by the camera, and select a focus tracking object from the objects, namely, a protagonist);
cause a display unit to display a graphical user interface (GUI) for receiving at least one of a setting of the target position (see Fig.1C above, GUI of receiving the at least one of a setting of the target position),
wherein, in the displaying, a first GUI component is displayed on the display unit (Fig.1D notice the target position 142).
Wang discloses cropping out the targeted object ([0028]: By implementing the method according to the first aspect, in some embodiments, the image that includes the second object and that is displayed in the first window is cropped based on the image displayed in the preview window) and displaying it in a small window as shown in Fig.1D. Wang further discloses In some examples, a display location of the small window may be further adjusted based on a location of the protagonist in the preview window, to avoid blocking the protagonist in the preview window 113. Further, the terminal 100 may further adjust a location and a size of the small window based on a user operation ([0094]).
Wang discloses tracking and cropping out a target object and displaying the cropped image in a picture-in-picture form. As shown in Fig.1D. Wang further discloses displaying a first GUI related to the position of the target object (Fig.1C). But Wang fails to disclose cause a display unit to display a graphical user interface (GUI) for receiving a setting of the crop region; cause a display unit to display a graphical user interface (GUI) for receiving a setting of the crop region and wherein, in the displaying, a second GUI component that respectively indicate the crop region are displayed on the display unit.
However Yuji, in the same field of endeavor, teaches or suggests cutting out a partial area of parent screen and displaying the cropped out image in picture-in-picture format (p.3 sixth paragraph: a partial area of the parent screen designated by the user is cut out from the parent screen, enlarged and reduced, and assigned to the child screen. Also see Fig.2
).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention using graphical user interface (GUI) to accept user’s instruction had been already known to a PHOSITA as showed by Wang (Fig.1C). Therefore it would have been obvious to a PHOSITA before the effective filing date to incorporate the teaching of Yuji into that of Wang and to include the limitation of cause a display unit to display a graphical user interface (GUI) for receiving a setting of the crop region; cause a display unit to display a graphical user interface (GUI) for receiving a setting of the crop region and wherein, in the displaying, a second GUI component that respectively indicate the crop region are displayed on the display unit in order to allow a viewer to observe and select the interested object in an appropriate cropping size.
Regarding Claim 2, Wang modified by Yuji teaches or suggests wherein, in the displaying, the first GUI component and the second GUI component are superimposed and displayed on the captured video (Wang Fig.1C and Yuji Fig.3: the sub-screen setting unit 5D and p.3 sixth paragraph: wherein, in the displaying, the first GUI component and the second GUI component are superimposed and displayed on the captured video).
Regarding Claim 3, Wang modified by Yuji further teaches or suggests wherein the instructions further cause the processor to obtain, from the image capturing device, a captured image captured by the image capturing device, a setting of the target position set to the image capturing device, and a setting of the crop region set to the image capturing device, and in the displaying, the first GUI component is displayed based on the obtained setting of the target position, and the second GUI component is displayed based on the obtained setting of the crop region (refer to Wang’s Fig.1C and Yuji’s Fig.2)
Regarding Claim 4, Wang modified by Yuji further teaches or suggests wherein, in the displaying, moving and/or transforming of the first GUI component is received in a first setting mode for receiving a setting of the target position, and moving and/or transforming of the second GUI component is received in a second setting mode for receiving a setting of the crop region (see Wang Fig.2C and [0111]: After starting recording a video, the terminal 100 may further provide a protagonist switching service. Referring to the user interface shown in FIG. 2C, at the 5th second after video recording is started, the terminal 100 may detect a user operation performed on the selection box 121. The operation may be referred to as a user operation of protagonist switching. In response to the operation, the terminal 100 may set the person 1 corresponding to the selection box 121 as a protagonist. In this case, the person 2 previously set as the protagonist is no longer the protagonist).
Regarding Claim 5, Wang modified by Yuji further teaches or suggests wherein the crop function is capable of generating a plurality of crop videos each obtained by cutting out a different partial region from the captured video, the image capturing device comprises an output unit that outputs one or more crop videos included in the plurality of crop videos, in the obtaining, output information relating to a crop video being output from the output unit is further obtained, and in the displaying, the second GUI component is displayed based on only a setting of a crop region corresponding to the crop video indicated by the output information (Yuji Fig.2: notice the plurality of cutting out regions).
Regarding Claim 6, Wang discloses after detecting a user operation performed on the SOLO CUT mode 1154, to enable a SOLOCUT mode shooting function. The user operation performed on the SOLO CUT mode 1154 is, for example, an operation of tapping the SOLO CUT mode 1154. In response to the operation, the terminal 100 may execute an algorithm corresponding to the SOLO CUT mode, to enter a SOLO CUT mode shooting scenario, referring to FIG. 1B ([0076]).
Therefore Wang teaches or suggests wherein the instructions further cause the processor to receive a first designation relating to whether or not the first GUI component is to be displayed in the GUI, and a second designation relating to whether or not the second GUI component is to be displayed in the GUI, and in the displaying, a determination of whether or not to display the first GUI component in the GUI is made based on the first designation, and a determination of whether or not to display the second GUI component in the GUI is made based on the second designation (the first/second designation is mapped to the user’s operation on the SOLO CUT mode button 1154. Wang teaches after receiving the detection of the user’s operation performed on the SOLO CUT mode 1154, related GUI is displayed).
Regarding Claim 7, Wang discloses a control apparatus that controls an image capturing device (Fig.12: notice cameras 1-N (1350),
the image capturing device having a tracking function for tracking and capturing a video of a subject ([0005]: By implementing the method according to the first aspect, the electronic device may identify the objects in the image collected by the camera, and select a focus tracking object from the objects, namely, a protagonist), and a crop function for generating a crop video obtained by cropping the captured video and cutting out a partial region from the captured video ([0032]: By implementing the method according to the first aspect, in some embodiments, the method further includes: When the second object is included, the focus tracking module crops the image displayed in the first window from the image to be sent for display), and
the control apparatus comprising:
a processor (Fig.12 Processor 1); and
a memory containing instructions (Fig.12 Internal memory 129) that, when executed by the processor, cause the processor to:
select a subject to be a tracking target in the tracking function from among a plurality of subjects in the captured video, and set the selected subject to the image capturing device ([0083]: When displaying the user interface shown in FIG. 1B, the terminal 100 may detect a user operation performed on any selection box. In response to the operation, the terminal 100 may determine an object corresponding to the selection box as a protagonist. For example, referring to a user interface shown in FIG. 1C, the terminal 100 may detect a user operation performed on the selection box 122. In response to the operation, the terminal 100 may determine the person 2 corresponding to the selection box 122 as a protagonist. [0150]: According to the shooting method in the SOLO CUT mode provided in this embodiment of this application, in a process of sending and displaying the raw image by the CameraHAL, the CameraHAL may further perform image identification and focus tracking on the raw image, to implement the shooting functions in the SOLO CUT mode shown in FIG. 1A-FIG. 1J, FIG. 2A-FIG. 2I, and FIG. 3A-FIG. 3C);
display, on a display unit, a graphical user interface (GUI) for receiving at least (see Fig.1C above, GUI of receiving the at least one of a setting of the target position),
wherein, in the displaying, a first GUI component is displayed on the display unit (Fig.1D notice the target 142).
Wang discloses cropping out the targeted object ([0028]: By implementing the method according to the first aspect, in some embodiments, the image that includes the second object and that is displayed in the first window is cropped based on the image displayed in the preview window) and displaying it in a small window as shown in Fig.1D. Wang further discloses In some examples, a display location of the small window may be further adjusted based on a location of the protagonist in the preview window, to avoid blocking the protagonist in the preview window 113. Further, the terminal 100 may further adjust a location and a size of the small window based on a user operation ([0094]).
Wang discloses tracking and cropping out a target object and displaying the cropped image in a picture-in-picture form. As shown in Fig.1D. Wang further discloses displaying a first GUI related to the position of the target object (Fig.1C). But Wang fails to disclose set, to the image capturing device, a crop region in the captured video that is to be cut out by the crop function; and display, on a display unit, a graphical user interface (GUI) for receiving .
However Yuji, in the same field of endeavor, teaches or suggests cutting out a partial area of parent screen and displaying the cropped out image in picture-in-picture format (p.3 sixth paragraph: a partial area of the parent screen designated by the user is cut out from the parent screen, enlarged and reduced, and assigned to the child screen. Also see Fig.2
).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention using graphical user interface (GUI) to accept user’s instruction had been already known to a PHOSITA as showed by Wang (Fig.1C). Therefore it would have been obvious to a PHOSITA before the effective filing date to incorporate the teaching of Yuji into that of Wang and to include the limitation of set, to the image capturing device, a crop region in the captured video that is to be cut out by the crop function; and display, on a display unit, a graphical user interface (GUI) for receiving at least one of a selection of the subject and a setting of the crop region, wherein, in the displaying, a first GUI component and a second GUI component respectively indicating the selected subject and the crop region are displayed on the display unit in order to allow a viewer to observe and select the interested object in an appropriate cropping size.
Regarding Claim 8, Claim 8 is/are similar to Claim 1 except in the format of method. Therefore the same reason(s) for rejection is/are applied to Claim 1 is/are also applied to Claim 8.
Regarding Claim 9, Claim 9 is/are similar to Claim 7 except in the format of method. Therefore the same reason(s) for rejection is/are applied to Claim 7 is/are also applied to Claim 9.
Regarding Claim 10, Claim 10 is/are similar to Claim 1 except in the format of non-transitory computer-readable recording medium. Therefore the same reason(s) for rejection is/are applied to Claim 1 is/are also applied to Claim 10.
Regarding Claim 11, Claim 11 is/are similar to Claim 7 except in the format of method non-transitory computer-readable recording medium. Therefore the same reason(s) for rejection is/are applied to Claim 7 is/are also applied to Claim 11.
Conclusion
/YINGCHUN HE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2613