DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Pluta (US 20240224942 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Pluta discloses a safety leash apparatus comprising: an elongated strap or cord (fig. 9, L, BH and 20) having a unitary leg loop section (34) that is adjustable to fit around a front leg of a dog (fig. 9, [0047] as 34 constricts and expands, and so is adjustable to fit around the front leg of the dog), the elongated strap or cord further having a body loop section (BH, TS and CS) that is fittable around a neck and shoulders of the dog (fig. 9), wherein the unitary leg loop section is tethered to the body loop section (fig. 9 as the unitary leg loop section is tethered to the body loop section via 24” and 64) to prevent the unitary leg loop section from slipping down and off the front leg of the dog (fig. 9 and [0047] as 24” will prevent the unitary leg loop section from slipping down and off the front leg of the dog as 64 is attached to TS), wherein the elongated strap or cord having the unitary leg loop section and the body loop section forms a single piece of the safety leash apparatus (fig. 9, note that the unitary leg loop section and the body loop section forms a single piece once the unitary leg loop section is connected to the body loop section).
Regarding claim 2, Pluta discloses the safety dog leash apparatus of claim 1, further comprising a clip connector (46) that is attached to one end of the elongated strap or cord (fig. 9 as 46 is attached to the end of 22).
Regarding claim 3, Pluta discloses the safety leash apparatus of claim 2, further comprising a leash handle (LH) that is attached to an opposing end (end of L where it meets with LH in fig. 9) of the elongated strap or cord (fig. 9 as LH is attached to the end of L).
Regarding claim 4, Pluta discloses the safety leash apparatus of claim 3, wherein the leash handle comprises a hand loop (fig. 9, loop of LH).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pluta in view of Horiuchi (US 20110297105 A1).
Regarding claim 5, Pluta teaches the safety leash apparatus of claim 1, wherein the unitary leg loop section is adjustable via a ring (62; fig. 9, [0047] as 22 slides freely within 62, which leads to the unitary leg loop section 34 to constrict and expand) to which a portion of the elongated strap or cord feeds through (fig. 9 and [0047] as 22 slides freely within 62), wherein a pulling force of the dog against the elongated strap or cord causes the unitary leg loop section to tighten around the front leg of the dog ([0047] as the pulling force of the dog against the elongated strap or cord will cause the unitary leg loop section 34 to tighten around the front leg of the dog as the unitary leg loop section 34 will constrict when 22 is pulled).
However, Pluta is silent about a slide adjuster mechanism.
Horiuchi teaches a slide adjuster mechanism (106L and 106R).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include a slide adjuster mechanism as taught by Horiuchi into the apparatus of Pluta in order to adjust the length of the strap to accommodate the front leg of various sized animals ([0037] Horiuchi).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Kamath (US 11140871 B2) teaches a unitary leg loop section.
Wais (US 3769939 A) teaches a unitary leg loop section.
Rovang (US 20230035255 A1) teaches a unitary leg loop section.
/SAHAR ALMATRAHI/Examiner, Art Unit 3643
/PETER M POON/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3643