DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
This action is in response to the preliminary amendment filed on 5/7/2025. In the amendment, claims 1-20 were cancelled and claims 21-40 were added.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 21-23 & 25-29 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 21 recites the limitation "anchor cap swivel" in line 5. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Since the ‘anchor cap swivel’ is positively recited in claim 24, examiner considers the recitation in claim 21 of the anchor cap swivel to be a typographical error and will be read for the purposes of examination as ‘anchor cap’
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: ‘tension component’ in claims 21, 24-31, 34-37, & 40.
Double Patenting
Claims 21, 24-31, 34-37, & 40 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 4-9, 11, & 12 of U.S. Patent No. 12,268,595 B2. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because:
19/169282
21, 24, 30
25
26
27, 35, 36
28
29
30, 31, 34
27, 30, 35, 36, 40
37
12,268,595
1
4
5
6
7
8
9
11
12
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 21-23, 25-27, and 30-39 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Gregoire et al. (US Pub. No. 2013/0197578 A1).
Regarding claim 21, Gregoire et al. disclose a surgical anchor (Fig. 2A), comprising: a distal end 30 (Fig. 2A) and a proximal end 42 (Fig. 2A), wherein the distal end 30 comprises an anchor head 32 (Fig. 2A) that is tapered to a distal tip to pierce and anchor into tissue; an anchor cap 42 (Fig. 2A) provided at the proximal end; and a tension component 48 (Fig. 2A) connecting the anchor head 32 and the anchor cap 42 swivel (see 35 USC 112, 2nd paragraph, above - ‘swivel’ will not be read as part of the anchor cap since the insertion of ‘swivel’ is considered to be a typographical error as explained in the 35 USC 112, 2nd paragraph section), wherein the tension component 48 exerts a proximal force on the anchor cap 42 when the surgical anchor is deployed into the tissue.
Regarding claim 22, Gregoire et al. further disclose wherein the tension component 48 comprises an elastomer (paragraph [0057]).
Regarding claim 23, Gregoire et al. further disclose wherein the tension component includes an elastomer (paragraph [0057]). The limitation 'overmolded to the distal end and the proximal head' is being treated as a product by process limitation; that is the product of a tension component integrally connected to the distal and proximal portions of the device is achieved by the process of overmolding. As set forth in MPEP 2113, product by process claims are not limited to the manipulation of the recited steps, only the structure implied by the steps. Once a product appearing to be substantially the same or similar is found, a 35 USC 102/103 rejection may be made and the burden is shifted to applicant to show an unobvious difference. MPEP 2113. "[E]ven though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by- process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process." In re Thorpe, 777 F.2d 695, 698, 227 USPQ 964, 966 (Fed. Cir. 1985).
Regarding claim 25, Gregoire et al. further disclose wherein the anchor cap 42 includes a non-deforming material (paragraph [0054] - may be formed of metal; additional elements may be incorporated but not required in the formation of the element 42, so it is considered to meet the 'includes a non-deforming material' limitation).
Regarding claim 26, the surgical anchor of Fig. 2A is considered to be capable of being received in an anchor receptacle of a prosthetic valve (as described in the claim) since it meets all structural requirements of claim 1. Regarding the language ‘a prosthetic valve comprising: a plurality of inflow cells situated in the proximal direction of the prosthetic valve, wherein the inflow cells are malleable; a plurality of annular cells situated medially in the prosthetic valve, forming a circular outflow track, wherein the annular cells are more rigid than the inflow cells; and a plurality of leaflet posts integral to, and extending distally beyond, the annular cells in the outflow direction of the prosthetic valve, wherein the leaflet posts are more rigid than the annular cells’, these limitations do not further limit the surgical anchor since the prosthetic valve is not positively recited as part of the surgical anchor and, therefore, are not required to be disclosed by the prior art for the purposes of anticipation.
Regarding claim 27, Gregoire et al. further disclose a plurality of barbs extending proximally from the anchor head 30 (paragraph [0075] and claim 14 discuss the addition of barbs to the anchor body to add bone fixation structure to the anchor when utilized for bone suture anchoring; the anchor head is integral to the body so it is considered to be encompassed by the anchor body).
Regarding claim 30, Gregoire et al. disclose a surgical device (Fig. 2A), comprising: an anchor (Fig. 2A), wherein the anchor includes: a distal end 30 (Fig. 2A) and a proximal end 42 (Fig. 2A), wherein the distal end 30 comprises an anchor head 32 (Fig. 2A) that is tapered to a distal tip configured to pierce and anchor into tissue; an anchor cap 42 (Fig. 2A) provided at the proximal end that has a width greater than a width of a corresponding anchor receptacle of a prosthetic valve (this dimension is based on the size of the unclaimed prosthetic valve anchor receptacle, since there is no dimension associated therewith, the proximal end of the prior art’s anchor cap is considered to be wider than any anchor receptacle having a smaller width; this limitation is dependent on the prosthetic valve which could be chosen to have a smaller anchor receptacle width than the disclosed prior art anchor cap proximal end); and a tension component 48 (Fig. 2A) connected with the anchor head 32 and the anchor cap 42, wherein the distal end of the anchor is configured to be driven by a deployment device through the corresponding anchor receptacle of the prosthetic valve into the tissue adjacent to the prosthetic valve, wherein a proximal end of the anchor is configured to be brought into apposition with the corresponding anchor receptacle, and wherein the tension component exerts a proximal force on the anchor cap when the anchor is deployed by the deployment device (the above italicized limitations are dependent on a theoretical prosthetic valve that has not been positively recited, the anchor of the prior art merely needs to be capable of being delivered in such a manner, and since the prior art’s anchor has all of the structural requirements of the claim that are claimed to be capable of performing this function, the prior art’s anchor is considered to be capable of these functional/intended use limitations).
Regarding claim 31, the limitation ‘wherein the prosthetic valve comprises: a plurality of inflow cells situated proximally in the prosthetic valve, wherein the inflow cells are malleable; a plurality of annular cells situated medially in the prosthetic valve, forming a circular outflow track, wherein the annular cells are more rigid than the inflow cells; and a plurality of leaflet posts integral to, and extending distally beyond, the annular cells in the outflow direction of the prosthetic valve, wherein the leaflet posts are more rigid than the annular cells’ fails to further define/limit the claimed surgical anchor since the prosthetic valve is not considered to be part of the surgical anchor as it is never positively recited to be associated therewith, just recited as the surgical anchor is capable of being used with such a prosthetic valve, which Gregoire et al.'s anchor is considered to be as it meets all of the structural limitations of claim 30.
Regarding claim 32, Gregoire et al. further disclose wherein the tension component 48 comprises an elastomer (paragraph [0057]).
Regarding claim 33, Gregoire et al. further disclose wherein the tension component includes an elastomer (paragraph [0057]). The limitation 'overmolded to the distal end and the proximal head' is being treated as a product by process limitation; that is the product of a tension component integrally connected to the distal and proximal portions of the device is achieved by the process of overmolding. As set forth in MPEP 2113, product by process claims are not limited to the manipulation of the recited steps, only the structure implied by the steps. Once a product appearing to be substantially the same or similar is found, a 35 USC 102/103 rejection may be made and the burden is shifted to applicant to show an unobvious difference. MPEP 2113. "[E]ven though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by- process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process." In re Thorpe, 777 F.2d 695, 698, 227 USPQ 964, 966 (Fed. Cir. 1985).
Regarding claim 34, Gregoire et al. further disclose wherein the anchor cap 42 of the anchor is configured to act on the anchor receptable of the prosthetic valve to affix the prosthetic valve to the tissue (as discussed in the above claim rejections, the prosthetic valve is not positively recited as part of the claimed invention - the anchor in the prior art merely needs to be capable of performing the function as claimed - since the anchor of Gregoire et al. comprises all of the structural requirements of claim 30, it is considered to also be capable of performing the claimed function/being used for the intended purpose since no further structural elements have been recited to perform this function in the claim).
Regarding claim 35, Gregoire et al. further disclose wherein the anchor comprises a plurality of barbs extending proximally from the anchor head 30 (paragraph [0075] and claim 14 discuss the addition of barbs to the anchor body to add bone fixation structure to the anchor when utilized for bone suture anchoring; the anchor head is integral to the body so it is considered to be encompassed by the anchor body).
Regarding claim 36, Gregoire et al. disclose a surgical anchor, comprising: a distal end and a proximal end, wherein the distal end comprises an anchor head 30 (Fig. 2A) that is tapered to a distal tip 32 (Fig. 2A) to pierce and anchor into tissue; a plurality of barbs extending proximally from the anchor head 30 (paragraph [0075] and claim 14 discuss the addition of barbs to the anchor body to add bone fixation structure to the anchor when utilized for bone suture anchoring; the anchor head is integral to the body so it is considered to be encompassed by the anchor body); an anchor cap 42 (Fig. 2A) provided at the proximal end; and a tension component 48 (Fig. 2A) connecting the anchor head 30 and the anchor cap 42, wherein the tension component 48 exerts a proximal force on the anchor cap 42 when the surgical anchor is deployed into the tissue.
Regarding claim 37, Gregoire et al. further disclose wherein the barbs resist proximal movement of the surgical anchor when the surgical anchor is engaged with the tissue (as described in paragraph [0075], the barbs are intended to fix the anchor in the bone, which would mean that the barbs are resisting movement all together, including proximal movement which would be the movement that an anchor is intending to resist since this is how it would be removed and the barbs are meant to resist removal).
Regarding claim 38, Gregoire et al. further disclose wherein the tension component 48 comprises an elastomer (paragraph [0057]).
Regarding claim 39, Gregoire et al. further disclose wherein the tension component includes an elastomer (paragraph [0057]). The limitation 'overmolded to the distal end and the proximal head' is being treated as a product by process limitation; that is the product of a tension component integrally connected to the distal and proximal portions of the device is achieved by the process of overmolding. As set forth in MPEP 2113, product by process claims are not limited to the manipulation of the recited steps, only the structure implied by the steps. Once a product appearing to be substantially the same or similar is found, a 35 USC 102/103 rejection may be made and the burden is shifted to applicant to show an unobvious difference. MPEP 2113. "[E]ven though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by- process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process." In re Thorpe, 777 F.2d 695, 698, 227 USPQ 964, 966 (Fed. Cir. 1985).40. (New) The surgical anchor of claim 31, wherein the anchor cap comprises an anchor cap swivel.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 24, 28, 29, & 40* contain no prior art rejection but are rejected under Double Patenting (see above). The prior art fails to further disclose, teach, or suggest: wherein the anchor cap comprises an anchor cap swivel [claims 24 & 40]; wherein the anchor head comprises a threaded proximal portion and the anchor cap comprises a threaded distal portion and the tension component is connected to the threaded proximal portion of the anchor head and the threaded distal portion of the anchor cap [claim 28]; and wherein the anchor head, anchor cap, and the tension component each comprise a hollow lumen, and the anchor head, the tension component, and the anchor cap are arranged to align the hollow lumens for receiving a pusher wire of an anchor deployment device [claim 29].
Conclusion
ASHLEY LAUREN FISHBACK
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3771
/ASHLEY L FISHBACK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3771 August 7, 2026