DETAILED ACTION
Response to Remarks
General
Applicant does not appear to point out support for any of the provided claim amendments. In the interest of compact prosecution and timely examination, Examiner respectfully requests that Applicant point out the support for any claim amendments which are considered to have changed the scope of a claim in accordance with the guidance of MPEP 2163. Lack thereof may be considered as an indication that Applicant does not find the claim scope to have changed or may establish a prima facie case for a rejection under 35 USC § 112(a). MPEP 2163 relates.
Claim Objections
The objections to the claims are withdrawn in light of Applicant’s amendments.
Claim Interpretation
Examiner does not agree with Applicant’s characterization “that one of ordinary skill in the art would understand that a clear different exists between a "terminal device" and a "robot control device," in the context suggested, i.e. of being different devices without further limitation. Computer implemented functions are not inherently required to be performed by different devices and may freely be performed by one or more devices, separately, together, etc. in a distributed or separated form. In other words, wherein a noun phrase recites a functionality, the associated limitation is no more than that of the function; no inherent structural limitation requiring separation of functions is generally required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
The rejections are updated and maintained, except for that of Claim 5 which explicitly recites a limitation of “cause the welding robot to execute production of the workpiece based on the second teaching program” wherein Applicant has indicated that the practical application and technical improvement is merely of automated data gathering, in specific the generation of a “welding condition table” (See referenced [0089] – [0090] of Applicant’s Remarks, Pages 6 – 7). All remaining claims merely recite the implementation of an abstract idea via generic computer components, particularly and especially as the nature of “extracting and outputting” is not claimed with any level of specificity. Even if an improvement to the abstract idea as appears argued on Page 6 of Applicant’s Remarks, “an improvement in the abstract idea itself (e.g. a recited fundamental economic concept) is not an improvement in technology” (MPEP 2106 .05(a)(II) relates).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Applicant's arguments filed 08/07/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant’s arguments appear to rely on limitations not present within the claims, in addition or in relation to interpreting claim limitations much narrower than their plain meaning (broadest reasonable interpretation). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
As specific examples:
On Page 8 of Applicant’s Remarks, Applicant states “the presently claimed invention does not require recording data before and after changing welding conditions”. The claims are presently constructed under the transitional phrase “comprising”. Consequently, it is immaterial what any reference additionally teaches beyond the claimed subject matter. MPEP 2111.03(I) relates. Furthermore, the claims do not presently claim that data is not recorded before changing welding conditions. Additionally, the claims do not even recite recording changing welding conditions and instead recite “acquiring” or “recording” “a second teaching program” which is/was “created by correcting a welding condition of the first teaching program”. Thus, there is no limitation that the acquisition/recording itself contains the information of a welding condition.
On Page 8 of Applicant’s Remarks, Applicant states “executing welding based on the result of correction of a welding condition of the first teaching program performed by an actual on-site operator using a teach pendant” (emphasis added). The claims do not presently require the emphasized portion. For example, Claim 1 recites “a second teaching program created by correcting a welding condition of the first teaching program based on a user operation with a teach pendant”. Thus, while the teaching program was created by correcting a welding condition, the correction itself was not as stated by Applicant “performed by an actual on-site operator using a teach pendant”. Instead, the limitation is much broader. The correction is merely “based on a user operation with a teach pendant”. This may be as broad as a user operation providing initial values which are corrected, as the correction would therefore be “based on” said user operation. In other words, Applicant uses the extremely broad phrasing of “based on” without further limitation, and a step of user operation or similar is never positively claimed.
On Page 8 of Applicant’s Remarks, Applicant states “recording … various data at the time of welding”. The claims never recite “various data” and instead only “welding history data” which is extremely broad and not required to be “various” in any way. Welding history data may simply be a single piece of information.
Thus, it is respectfully submitted that these are not features of the claimed invention as asserted.
Claim Interpretation
Applicant makes frequent use of phrases which indicate only an intended purpose, result, outcome, or similar (e.g. “for”) and phrases merely indicating capability (e.g. “capable of”), rather than a particular structure, functional limitation (such as “configured to” or similar), or (for a method claim) step.
In the case of some claims, such as Claim 4, what would appear to be the intended positively recited limitation of “record”, “acquiring” and “extracting and outputting” thus are non-positively recited as they depend from “the process” which is merely indicated as the intended purpose of the “welding condition management program”. While in the interest of compact prosecution Examiner has addressed most claim recitations as if they were constructed in a positively recited manner, this does not change what is indicated here as the broadest reasonable interpretation thereof.
The term “welding condition” appears to have a particularly broad meaning under the plain meaning. The claims do not presently appear to claim the meaning of the term with any particularity, and even as disclosed is particularly broad; only general examples appear to be given rather than any specific definition given. The plain meaning of the term thus appears to be simply that of any condition related to welding to be, or having been, performed. In view of Figures 5, 11, and the associated disclosure wherein these are indicated as illustrating “welding condition tables”, this meaning appears furthermore inclusive of “time”, “program no.”, and “position name”.
Many of the terms/noun phrases of the claims are effectively labels or titles for computer implemented functionalities and do not inherently carry any structural distinction between said terms/noun phrases. E.g. a single computer device as recognized by its physical structure may perform the functions of a terminal device, a robot controller, a teach pendant, and input/output device, a network node, a datalogger, etc.
The term “teach pendant” does not appear to be disclosed with a special definition and is never illustrated with any particularity. The broadest reasonable interpretation therefore appears to be a device by which operation values or information may be inputted by a user or operator (and thus “taught”) which may be remote and/or portable from the device the program values are directed towards.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1 – 4 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more. Independent Claim 5 is rejected below and is considered representative of independent Claims 1, 4, and 6 – 7.
Claim 4 recites:
A non-transitory computer readable medium storing a welding condition management program for causing a terminal device to execute a welding condition management process, the process comprising:
preparing, with the terminal device, a first teaching program for causing a welding robot connected with the terminal device through a network to execute welding;
acquiring, with the terminal device, a second teaching program created by correcting a welding condition of the first teaching program based on a user operation with a teach pendant, and welding history data related to welding executed by using the second teaching program; and
extracting and outputting, with the terminal device, a welding condition at the time of the welding based on the second teaching program and the welding history data.
101 Analysis – Step 1: Statutory Category – Yes
The claim recites a system. The claim falls within one of the four statutory categories. MPEP 2106.03 relates.
101 Analysis – Step 2A Prong One Evaluation: Judicial Exception – Yes – Mental Processes
In Step 2A, Prong one of the 2019 Patent Eligibility Guidance (PEG), a claim is to be analyzed to determine whether it recites subject matter that falls within one of the following groups of abstract ideas: a) mathematical concepts, b) mental processes, and/or c) certain methods of organizing human activity.
The Office submits that the foregoing bolded limitation(s) constitutes judicial exceptions in terms of “mental processes”. MPEP 2106.04(a)(2) relates.
The claim recites limitations of “preparing …”, “acquiring …”, and “extracting and outputting …”, which may be readily be performed human mind or by a human using a pen and paper. The limitations are furthermore claimed at such a high level of generality that they encompass an extremely broad set of possibilities. Consequently, a person may simply think of and/or write down a program for welding which may encompass something as simple as a basic program command of a particular voltage or current, then they may “acquire” a second version thereof by changing that program, possibly by simply changing a single written down or thought of value, word, letter, etc., and mentally or by writing record welding history data. Similarly, the limitations of “extracting and outputting” do not appear to hold a distinction therebetween and may be performed by simply writing down or mentally thinking about a value. The limitations of “based on a user operation with a teach pendant” is tied to the larger limitation of “created by correcting …” and does not positively recite the correcting step structurally or functionally in Claim 4, or equivalently is not positively recited in any method claim as a method step. This is the same as “related to welding executed” which is both recited extremely generically under “related to” with no limitation placed on said relation, and which again does not recite actual execution as a function, structure, or step in any claim.
These limitations, as drafted, are a basic process or processes that, under their broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitations in the mind but for the recitation of performance by or using a “non-transitory computer readable medium”, “a terminal device”, “a robot control device”, “a teach pendant”, or similar. That is, other than reciting the underlined limitations nothing in the claim elements precludes the step from practically being performed in the mind. The mere nominal recitation of being performed by a generic computer or components thereof does not take the claim limitations out of the mental process grouping.
Thus, the claim recites mental processes.
101 Analysis – Step 2A Prong Two Evaluation: Practical Application – No
In Step 2A, Prong two of the 2019 PEG, a claim is to be evaluated whether, as a whole, it integrates the recited judicial exception into a practical application. As noted in MPEP 2106.04(d), it must be determined whether any additional elements in the claim beyond the abstract idea integrate the exception into a practical application in a manner that imposes a meaningful limit on the judicial exception, such that the claim is more than a drafting effort designed to monopolize the judicial exception. The courts have indicated that additional elements such as: merely using a computer to implement an abstract idea, adding insignificant extra solution activity, or generally linking use of a judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use do not integrate a judicial exception into a “practical application.”
The Office submits that the foregoing underlined limitation(s) recite additional elements that do not integrate the recited judicial exception into a practical application.
The claim recites additional elements of generic computer components.
Furthermore, and alternatively, even if “extracting and outputting …” were considered an additional element, they do not appear to be more than mere data gathering and outputting which are judicially recognized insignificant extra-solution activity. See MPEP 2106.05(g).
The “terminal device”, “a robot control device”, etc. and any related structures appears to merely describe how to generally “apply” the otherwise mental judgements or collection of data using a generic or general-purpose computer or components thereof. It is recited at a high level of generality and is merely automating certain activities.
Accordingly, even in combination, these additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because they do not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea.
101 Analysis – Step 2B Evaluation: Inventive Concept – No
In Step 2B of the 2019 PEG, a claim is to be evaluated as to whether the claim, as a whole, amounts to significantly more than the recited exception, i.e., whether any additional element, or combination of additional elements, adds an inventive concept to the claim. MPEP 2106.05 relates.
Under the 2019 PEG, a conclusion that an additional element is insignificant extra-solution activity in Step 2A should be re-evaluated in Step 2B.
As discussed with respect to Step 2A Prong Two, the additional elements in the claim, if any, amount to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer. The same analysis applies here in 2B, i.e., mere instructions to apply an exception on a generic computer cannot integrate a judicial exception into a practical application at Step 2A or provide an inventive concept in Step 2B. Applicant’s specification does not provide any indication that the data-processing hardware is anything other than a conventional computer or components thereof.
Thus, the claim is ineligible.
With respect to independent Claims 1 and 6 – 7, the claims recite similar limitations and subject matter as Claim 4, often with less generic computer components or non-mental process limitations recited further simplifying the existing analysis, and therefore rejected under the same logic present above.
With respect to the dependent claims of independent Claim 1 (Claims 2 – 3), the claims merely recite additional details to the mental processes recited in the independent claims and/or additional generic computing components or other extra-solution activities which do not meaningfully alter the rejections made above with respect to Claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 – 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Takahashi et al. (US 20220066429 A1).
Regarding Claim 1, Takahashi teaches:
A welding condition management method performed by a terminal device (See at least manufacturing condition setting automating apparatus 100), the method comprising:
preparing, with the terminal device, a first teaching program (The nature of “preparing” is not claimed with any particularity. Preparation is therefore inclusive of any preparatory activity, including facilitation of data entry or even being powered on. See at least “[0059] A program (not depicted) such as firmware is stored on the storage unit 120 mentioned below. When a power supply of the manufacturing condition setting automating apparatus 100 is turned on, the control unit 110 reads in the program stored on the storage unit 120, and executes the program, and performs the overall operation control of the manufacturing condition setting automating apparatus 100. Additionally, the control unit 110 executes the functionality that is depicted about each functional unit mentioned below”) for (Intended purpose of the program) causing a welding robot (See at least [0080] “in a case that the manufacturing facility 200 is an automatic welding machine, the product processing unit 260 is a welding unit or a positioning unit”) connected with the terminal device through a network (See communication network 400 and Figures 1, 2, and 3 illustrating connection via network 400) to execute welding;
acquiring, with the terminal device, a second teaching program (See at least [0035] “The devised system implements countermeasures of changing a manufacturing condition (the set value of a voltage), and setting the manufacturing condition for the welding machine, for example, on the basis of the past condition change history in a case that it is judged that the quality has become deteriorated as compared to a predetermined threshold”) created by correcting a first teaching program (See at least [0057] “For example, the input/output unit 130 receives input of information further necessary for creating or changing data recorded in the storage unit 120, and outputs, on a display screen, information representing completion of the creation, and changes, and results of manufacturing condition candidate creation, and setting” and [0075] “a process of receiving input of initial values of manufacturing conditions managed by the manufacturing condition managing unit 240”) based on a user operation with a teach pendant (The nature of “based on” is not claimed with any particularity and thus any user operation, even that only slightly influencing correction, qualifies.
See either the input/output device 130 or 220 of the manufacturing condition setting automating apparatus 100 or the manufacturing facility 200. The user provides initializing information and information controlling the nature of correction via these devices.
For example, for 130 see at least [0056] “The input/output unit 130 … receives input, and output from a user of the manufacturing condition setting automating apparatus 100. … the input/output unit 130 includes an apparatus like a so-called smartphone or tablet equipment that is capable of input, and output singly”,
[0057] “For example, the input/output unit 130 receives input of information further necessary for creating or changing data recorded in the storage unit 120, … An input and output process implemented at the input/output unit 130 may be executed at an input/output unit installed on another apparatus through the communication unit 140”, and
[0072] “The storage unit 120 stores manufacturing management data 121, feature quantity settings 122, manufacturing condition settings 123, a condition change history 124, the facility data 125, manufacturing condition candidates 126, and imbalance-preventing candidate creation settings 127”
Examiner notes the final sentence of [0057] indicates that any other input/output unit including 220 shares functionality.
For 220, see at least [0075] “The input/output unit 220 is an apparatus that receives input, and output from a user. For example, the input/output unit 220 is an apparatus that executes processes such as a process of receiving input of setting information to the control unit 210, a process of receiving input of initial values of manufacturing conditions managed by the manufacturing condition managing unit 240 or a process of receiving input of settings related to data collection to the data collecting unit 250”), and welding history data (See at least [0034] “It is assumed that facility data such as values of voltage applied to a processing unit when predetermined portions of products are to be welded, differences in the thicknesses of the products before and after the welding (hereinafter, the values of the differences are referred to as “change amounts”), or values of current supplied to the processing unit is collected for each product at all times from an automatic welding machine installed in a target process, and recorded in a database”) related to (Extremely broad phrasing, any relationship qualifies) welding executed by using the second teaching program (See again [0035] and [0039] “As described above, while the target process (welding machine) is executing normal manufacturing, the manufacturing condition setting automating apparatus is activated at predetermined time intervals, and reads out facility data of a predetermined number of latest consecutive products or in a predetermined length of a preceding time range. In a case that it is judged that the process capability (index) has deteriorated, the manufacturing condition setting automating apparatus performs a condition change on the manufacturing condition (the set value of the voltage) of the applicable target process (welding machine) on the basis of the past condition change history”
It is thus clear that a potentially infinite number of programs will exist starting from some user specified initial values and the system is constantly undergoing teaching/learning to improve and adapt to conditions impacting quality and other metrics, wherein a user may specify settings which determine or change said corrections performed); and
extracting and outputting, with the terminal device, a welding condition at the time of the welding based on the second teaching program and the welding history data (See again at least [0039] above, “reads out facility data”. Examiner notes that the nature of “extracting” “outputting” and “based on” are not claimed with any particularity. Consequently, extracting and outputting appear synonymous or at least inherent to one another and may be accomplished through various items including simply data transmission, and as the welding history data is already “related to … welding executed by using the second teaching program”, being based on welding history data inherently includes being based on the second teaching program, particularly inasmuch as what exactly “based on” constitutes is unclaimed).
Regarding Claim 2, Takahashi teaches:
The welding condition management method according to claim 1, wherein
the terminal device generates and outputs welding condition management data in which the extracted welding condition at the time of the welding is applied to a predetermined format (See at least [0082] FIG. 4 is a figure depicting one example of the manufacturing management data 121 in the first embodiment” and [0143] “FIG. 18 depicts an example in which the manufacturing condition output unit 117 displays, on a screen, a situation of the manufacturing condition setting process performed by the input/output unit 130 at Step S700. A display screen 117a has: … a manufacturing situation display field 117c that displays the manufacturing management data 121”.
The nature of “applied” or “predetermined format” is not claimed with any particularity. Applicant’s disclosure does not indicate any special definitions or particularly narrowing meaning. It is not even claimed if the extracted welding condition is part of the welding condition management data, or even what said data comprises or consists of. Furthermore, this is a method claim and “is applied” is a passive recitation rather than a positively recited step. As all data has some format, this limitation appears to amount to no more than “the terminal device generates and outputs welding condition management data”.).
Regarding Claim 3, Takahashi teaches:
The welding condition management method according to claim 1, wherein
the terminal device is configured to receive a specification operation (The nature of this term is not even disclosed with any particularity, and thus appears to be any operation specifying anything) related to the welding condition at the time of the welding (See again at least [0039] above) to be extracted (This phrase of “to be extracted” merely indicates an intended purpose of the prior noun phrase of “the welding condition at the time of the welding”), and extract the welding condition at the time of the welding based on a specified welding condition (See at least [0119] “At Step S304, each feature quantity (the set value S, the feature quantity A, the feature quantity B, and the feature quantity Q) computed at S303 is used as a search key to perform a search to know whether or not the feature quantity matches a corresponding one of the manufacturing condition after a change, the feature quantity A before the change, the feature quantity B before the change, and the feature quantity Q before the change of each condition change history record registered in the condition change history 124 with an error which is within an error range from a separately specified threshold. Then, condition change history records with feature quantities all of which match (are similar to) the feature quantities acquired at S303 with errors within the error ranges are acquired” or
alternatively, the initial values discussed prior which predicate all following values causing them to therefore be based thereon).
Regarding Claim 4, the claim is directed to effectively the same subject matter as Claim 1 with respect to the application of prior art, as evidenced by Applicant’s Remarks filed 08/07/026 which only argue the limitations of Claim 1, and which states “Claims 4-7 recite features generally corresponding to the above-noted features of claim 1” on Page 9. Claim 4 only appears to recite the addition of non-transitory computer readable storage medium. See at least storage unit 120 of Takahashi. The claim is therefore rejected under the same logic as Claim 1 above.
Regarding Claim 5, Takahashi teaches:
A welding condition management system comprising:
a terminal device configured to receive an operation from a user (See at least manufacturing condition setting automating apparatus 100); and
a robot control device (See at least [0076] “The control unit 210 is an apparatus that controls the manufacturing facility 200. For example, the control unit 210 is an apparatus that executes processes such as a process of controlling the operation of the product processing unit in accordance with manufacturing conditions managed by the manufacturing condition managing unit 240 or a process of controlling the manufacturing facility 200 to stop at the time of the occurrence of an abnormality”) connected with the terminal device through a network such that data can be transmitted and received (See communication network 400 and Figures 1, 2, and 3 showing connections made thereby), the robot control device being capable of controlling a welding robot that produces a workpiece by welding (See at least [0080] “The product processing unit 260 is an apparatus that implements predetermined processing on products (products to be subjected to processing) fed into the manufacturing facility 200. For example, in a case that the manufacturing facility 200 is an automatic welding machine, the product processing unit 260 is a welding unit or a positioning unit”), wherein
the robot control device is configured to:
receive a change in a first teaching program (See at least [0057] “For example, the input/output unit 130 receives input of information further necessary for creating or changing data recorded in the storage unit 120, and outputs, on a display screen, information representing completion of the creation, and changes, and results of manufacturing condition candidate creation, and setting” and [0075] “a process of receiving input of initial values of manufacturing conditions managed by the manufacturing condition managing unit 240”) for causing the welding robot to execute the welding (See again at least [0080]), and create a second teaching program obtained by correcting a welding condition the first teaching program based on the change (The change above inherently creates a second teaching program. Therefore, see again above), the change being based on a user operation with a teach pendant (The nature of “based on” is not claimed with any particularity and thus any user operation, even that only slightly influencing correction, qualifies.
See either the input/output device 130 or 220 of the manufacturing condition setting automating apparatus 100 or the manufacturing facility 200. The user provides initializing information and information controlling the nature of correction via these devices.
For example, for 130 see at least [0056] “The input/output unit 130 … receives input, and output from a user of the manufacturing condition setting automating apparatus 100. … the input/output unit 130 includes an apparatus like a so-called smartphone or tablet equipment that is capable of input, and output singly”,
[0057] “For example, the input/output unit 130 receives input of information further necessary for creating or changing data recorded in the storage unit 120, … An input and output process implemented at the input/output unit 130 may be executed at an input/output unit installed on another apparatus through the communication unit 140”, and
[0072] “The storage unit 120 stores manufacturing management data 121, feature quantity settings 122, manufacturing condition settings 123, a condition change history 124, the facility data 125, manufacturing condition candidates 126, and imbalance-preventing candidate creation settings 127”
Examiner notes the final sentence of [0057] indicates that any other input/output unit including 220 shares functionality.
For 220, see at least [0075] “The input/output unit 220 is an apparatus that receives input, and output from a user. For example, the input/output unit 220 is an apparatus that executes processes such as a process of receiving input of setting information to the control unit 210, a process of receiving input of initial values of manufacturing conditions managed by the manufacturing condition managing unit 240 or a process of receiving input of settings related to data collection to the data collecting unit 250”), and welding history data (See at least [0034] “It is assumed that facility data such as values of voltage applied to a processing unit when predetermined portions of products are to be welded, differences in the thicknesses of the products before and after the welding (hereinafter, the values of the differences are referred to as “change amounts”), or values of current supplied to the processing unit is collected for each product at all times from an automatic welding machine installed in a target process, and recorded in a database”) related to (Extremely broad phrasing, any relationship qualifies) welding executed by using the second teaching program (See again [0035] and [0039] “As described above, while the target process (welding machine) is executing normal manufacturing, the manufacturing condition setting automating apparatus is activated at predetermined time intervals, and reads out facility data of a predetermined number of latest consecutive products or in a predetermined length of a preceding time range. In a case that it is judged that the process capability (index) has deteriorated, the manufacturing condition setting automating apparatus performs a condition change on the manufacturing condition (the set value of the voltage) of the applicable target process (welding machine) on the basis of the past condition change history”); and
cause the welding robot to execute production of the workpiece based on the second teaching program (See again [0035] and [0039] “As described above, while the target process (welding machine) is executing normal manufacturing, the manufacturing condition setting automating apparatus is activated at predetermined time intervals, and reads out facility data of a predetermined number of latest consecutive products or in a predetermined length of a preceding time range. In a case that it is judged that the process capability (index) has deteriorated, the manufacturing condition setting automating apparatus performs a condition change on the manufacturing condition (the set value of the voltage) of the applicable target process (welding machine) on the basis of the past condition change history”
It is thus clear that a potentially infinite number of programs will exist starting from some initial values and the system is constantly undergoing teaching/learning to improve and adapt to conditions impacting quality and other metrics), and transmit welding history data related to welding executed by using the second teaching program (See at least [0034] “It is assumed that facility data such as values of voltage applied to a processing unit when predetermined portions of products are to be welded, differences in the thicknesses of the products before and after the welding (hereinafter, the values of the differences are referred to as “change amounts”), or values of current supplied to the processing unit is collected for each product at all times from an automatic welding machine installed in a target process, and recorded in a database”) to the terminal device (See at least [0069] “The communication unit 140 is for the manufacturing condition setting automating apparatus 100 to communicate with manufacturing facilities 200 through the communication network 400” and [0070] “For example, the communication unit 140 executes communication for storing, in the manufacturing condition setting automating apparatus 100, facility data acquired at manufacturing facilities 200. In addition, the communication unit 140 executes communication for transmitting manufacturing condition change candidate results to manufacturing facilities 200”), and
the terminal device is configured to extract and output a welding condition at the time of the welding based on the second teaching program and the welding history data (See again at least [0039] above, “reads out facility data”. Examiner notes that the nature of “extract” “output” and “based on” are not claimed with any particularity. Consequently, extracting and outputting appear synonymous or at least inherent to one another and may be accomplished through various items including simple data transmission, and as the welding history data is already “related to … welding executed by using the second teaching program”, being based on welding history data inherently includes being based on the second teaching program, particularly inasmuch as what exactly “based on” constitutes is unclaimed).
Regarding Claims 6 and 7, the claims are directed to effectively the same subject matter as Claims 1 – 5 with respect to the application of prior art, as evidenced by Applicant’s Remarks filed 08/07/026 which only argue the limitations of Claim 1, and which states “Claims 4-7 recite features generally corresponding to the above-noted features of claim 1” on Page 9. The claims merely appear to slightly rephrase or alter which particular limitations are emphasized or included, but which are demonstrated above with respect to the referenced claims as clearly disclose. This is particularly true wherein the distinction between “acquire” and “record” in a computer-implemented system wherein all data must at least be temporarily recorded is effectively non-existent. The claims are therefore rejected under the same logic as Claims 1 – 5 above.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Ikeda et al. (US 20080302773 A1) which discloses teaching a robot a welding program, logging data related thereto, and selection and change of welding conditions related thereto. As the present claims appear to focus simply on changing an existing program and recording data related to execution thereof, this appears to be a clear reference for combination with any reference disclosing updating/changing a program.
Shimono et al. (JP 2014092954 A) which was recited in the European Search Report dated 03/12/2025 as disclosing at least original claims 1 and 4 – 7.
Furukawa et al. (US 20230241703 A1) which discloses error feedback for an initial program based on captured image data performed while adjusting settings with respect to at least one welding condition among other related features.
Kotera (US 20240009748 A1) Which discloses changing welding conditions to find the appropriate settings.
Yoshida et al. (US 20240316669 A1) which discloses program settings for welding.
Ogata et al. (US 20240424611 A1) which discloses a robot-operation welding-condition correction part.
Aoyama et al. (US 20130026148 A1) which discloses weld condition settings.
/MATTHEW C GAMMON/Examiner, Art Unit 3657
/ADAM R MOTT/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3657