DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities: in [0084], “racks 66, 68” should recite - - racks 64, 66 - - to keep the reference numbers consistent.
Appropriate correction is required.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because reference number 264, which is in reference to the first rack in the specification ([0117], [0118]), is not correctly pointing to the first rack in Figs. 8A-8C. Instead, reference number 264 is pointed at the same structure as housing 223.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 4, 5, 8 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 4 recites the limitation "a second rack". There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. The term “second” would imply there is a first rack. However, no such rack has been introduced in claim 1 nor claim 4. Therefore, the scope of claim 4 is indefinite and it is not clear how many racks are required by the claim.
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected as being dependent on, and failing to cure the deficiencies of, their rejected respective parent claims.
Claim 8 recites the limitation "the second rack". There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 16 recites the limitation "the corresponding actuation features of the first rack and the second rack".
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
“a retraction mechanism” (generic placeholder) coupled with the functional language of “configured to retract the expandable member through the sealant” without further structural modifiers (claims 9 and 18).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
(b) the invention was patented or described in a printed publication in this or a foreign country or in public use or on sale in this country, more than one year prior to the date of application for patent in the United States.
Claim(s) 1-3 is/are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102(b) as being anticipated by Terwey (US 2010/0286727).
Terwey discloses the following limitations:
Claim 1. A closure system (Figs. 5A-5I) for closing a puncture (218) in a vessel wall (228), the closure system comprising:
a tubular member (216) ([0038]);
a positioning member (204) extending through the tubular member and having an expandable member (208; wherein anchor 208 is considered expandable in the radial dimension when transitioning from its low profile in Fig. 5A to its expanded profile in Figs. 5B-5I. This transition results in the radial dimension, orthogonal to the longitudinal axis of the system, expanding in Figs. 5B-5I)) at a distal end thereof;
a sealant (210) positioned in a distal end of the tubular member (Fig. 5A; [0042]);
a support member (212) proximal to the sealant ([0044], [0045]); and
a handle portion (see annotated solid box below, the region enclosed by the box is interpreted as the ‘handle portion’ since any portion therein can be handled by the user) at a proximal end of the tubular member, the handle portion comprising an actuator (see region enclosed by the annotated dashed box below) configured to both deploy the sealant within the puncture and to tamp the sealant against the vessel wall ([0061]).
Claim 2. The closure system of claim 1, wherein the actuator is actuatable to move the tubular member (216) proximally ([0056]).
Claim 3. The closure system of claim 1, wherein the actuator is actuatable to move the support member (212) distally ([0061]).
Double Patenting
Claims 11-20 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 5 of copending Application No. 18/929,373 (reference application).
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the elements of claims 11-20 of the instant application are to be found in claim 5 of the reference application. Thus the difference between claims 11-20 of the instant application and claim 5 of the reference application lies in the fact that the reference application claim includes many more elements and is thus much more specific. Thus, the invention of claim 5 of the reference application is in effect a “species” of the “generic” invention of claims 11-20 of the instant application. It has been held that the generic invention is “anticipated” by the “species”. See In re Goodman, 29 USPQ2d 2010 (Fed. Cir. 1993). Since claims 11-20 are anticipated by claim 5 of the reference application, it is not patentably distinct from claim 5 of the reference application.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6-10 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claims 11-20 are allowable if the double patenting rejection and 35 U.S.C. 112 rejections are obviated.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for indicating allowable subject matter:
In regards to claims 6 and 9, the closest prior art of record, Terwey, discloses the invention substantially as claimed above.
Specifically, in regards to claim 6, the prior art of record does not disclose or fairly suggest either singly or in combination the claimed closure system comprising, inter alia, handle portion further includes a first rack configured to engage with the actuator, the first rack being connected to the tubular member. Therefore, in view of the prior art and its deficiencies, Applicant’s invention is rendered novel and non-obvious, and thus, is allowable as claimed.
Specifically, in regards to claim 9, the prior art of record does not disclose or fairly suggest either singly or in combination the claimed closure system comprising, inter alia, a retraction mechanism configured to retract the expandable member through the sealant. Instead, the cited expandable member of Terwey is intended to bio-reabsorb into the body ([0041]) and therefore does not require a need for retraction. Therefore, in view of the prior art and its deficiencies, Applicant’s invention is rendered novel and non-obvious, and thus, is allowable as claimed.
In regards to claim 11, the closest prior arts of record include Forsberg (US 2006/0229674) and Weldon et al (US 2003/0191516).
Forsberg discloses a system (200) for closing a puncture in a vessel wall ([0040]; Figs. 5-8), comprising: a housing (252); a tubular member (202) comprising a lumen; a support member (212), wherein at least a portion of the support member is positioned within the tubular member lumen ([0044]-[0046]); a sealant (210) positioned in a distal end of the tubular member lumen, wherein a distal end of the support member is positioned adjacent to a proximal end of the sealant ([0043]; elongate member 204 is threaded through perforations of sealant 210)(Fig. 5; [0044]).
Weldon et al discloses a system (Figs. 2-3) for delivering a device (10) into a blood vessel, the device comprising: a first rack member (34); a tubular member (28) coupled to a distal end of the first rack member and movable with the first rack member (Figs. 2A-2C; [0035], [0037]), wherein the tubular member further comprises a lumen; a second rack member (36); a support member (27) coupled to a distal end of the second rack member and movable with the second rack member ([0035], [0037]), and wherein at least a portion of the support member is positioned within the tubular member lumen (Figs. 2A-2C); a device (10) positioned in a distal end of the tubular member lumen, and wherein a distal end of the support member is positioned adjacent a proximal end of the device; and a deployment actuator (48 or 49) configured to both: engage the first rack member to actuate the first rack member in a first direction; engage the second rack member to actuate the second rack member in a second direction opposite the first direction (Figs. 3A, 3B; [0039]).
It would not have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Forsberg with the racks and deployment actuator of Weldon et al as this would destroy the intended purpose of the mechanism of Forsberg. Forsberg discloses the importance of its automatic variable gear ratio transmission (240) to perform automatic driving of the tubular member (212). A scroll gearset (244) of the automatic variable gear ratio transmission is drive by a spool (248) the elongate member (204) is wound upon. It would require undue experimentation by one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the deployment actuation and racks of Weldon et al into the deployment mechanism of Forsberg without destroying or altering the automatic driving of the tubular member (212). Therefore, in view of the prior art and its deficiencies, Applicant’s invention is rendered novel and non-obvious, and thus, is allowable as claimed.
Conclusion
/KATHERINE M SHI/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3771